We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday didn't won't 2 come home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just come back from 11 night hols at el dorado royal, we were in room 2507 in the cassia, really great a lovely holiday, staff, waiter, well every 1 were so nice and friendly, Juan was are swim up pool waiter all way nice, really great at English aswell. omg I must have put a stone on food was amazing, weather was good in the 90 most day we went on the 30th of September for 11 nights only rain 2 day and when it rain it rain but we just stayed in swim up pool in the pool your wet anyway and it still really warm. Don't look a neg comment don't no were they went but it could not have been the royal. Even thought its a 10 hour flight it worth it we will b going back next year love it xx we swam with dolfin a great day worth the money, and go 2 coco bongo it a late night but a great night xx

Room Tip: Room 2507 a lovely room but they all look nice we would prob go for a swim up next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,153 - 5,159 of 10,170 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just come back from 11 nights at the El Dorado and it was probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived until we left the staff made us feel welcome and couldn't do enough to help. I can't understand the negative comments as we are quite critical and love our food. It was like fine dining every night. We thought we would be hungry as had read the portions were small, but we are big eaters and always came away full. The breakfast was fantastic. The waiters also, apart from a very few, were great and some recognising us each time, which considering the size of the place was brilliant. Samuel and Alfredo were particularly good but can't remember other names. Martha in the Martini bar was also very good and always helpful. We particularly liked the Martini bar, especially the Dorados. We didn't see the entertainment in the evening as we stayed in the bar(s) afterwards but were entertained on the beach at 11.00am and 4.00pm by Luiz and Orlando by watching them play volleyball. Orlando always made us laugh and both made a point of stopping and talking to us if we saw them during the day. Room was the basic Junior and if we returned would opt for that again. Massive room with a massive bed, large jacuzzi in room (not bathroom), very large shower and two basins. It was kept spotless and always felt cool. Also had a brilliant view of the gardens which were beautiful. I could go on and on, but just want to say brilliant holiday, spotless rooms - even the toilet by the beach bar had air conditioning and was always kept clean and supplied with soap and hand cream - lots of choice of food which was really nice. Can't really think of anything negative - perhaps better lighting in the room, but that is hardly a negative. Even the weather was fabulous and only experienced one day bad weather, but even that was great as we had the tail end of a tropical storm. It was great to see, the ocean was bubbling and torrential rain, but even so we were back on the beach by the afternoon. Would highly recommend this hotel and feel very sorry for those people that put the negative comments.

Room Tip: I was worried not having a sea view, but needn't have worried as I think wherever you are your v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I went on holiday to Mexico on 21st September for 7 nights. We flew with Thompson from Manchester and stopped at El Dorado Royale (not the casitas).

We certainly would not recommend the flight.. We have never travelled with Thompson and we were extremely disappointed. Upon booking we were told we would be flying in a Dreamliner there and on our return, this was a lie! We had to pay for a drinks, tea was £2.50 and maybe only served twice which was very annoying on such a long haul flight! Food was very basic and not filling at all so we would recommend to take your own food on this fight... And lots of it. We were told to upgrade so we did and paid an extra £50 to our disappointment there was very little difference. Thomson first class is the equivalent to Emirates economy class! On our return flight we asked for water and were directed to a water fountain down the isle. We were mortified with the service and state of this flight and certainly would never recommend travelling with Thompson.

Upon arriving in Mexico, be careful of the men claiming they are from Thomson. They will take your luggage to the transfer shuttle and then ask for a tip.

El Dorado Royale was stop no 4/5 on the shuttle with Sensatori being no1. We cannot recall the names of the others hotel resorts. The Sensatori hotel resort was located in what looked like a derelict location, surrounded by grass and there was no other building in site. My husband and I were so relieved we did not book this resort as this was initially our choice of accommodation based on advice it being one of the better 5* resorts from Thomsons. The other hotels we saw during the transfer did not look appealing either. We were anxious to see out hotel.

The coach finally arrived at our hotel, being the last stop and my first impression was overjoy! It was grand and looked exactly as the images portrayed it to be like on the Internet prior to booking the holiday!

We were welcomed with ice cold and refreshing champagne and orange juice served by very friendly staff. Once we checked in we were escorted to our room by a bellboy. He carried our luggage and we were whisked away in a shuttle ( golf buggie). The resort at a glance during the drive to our room was clean, attractive and simply looked amazing!

We were taken to our room and were mesmerised. We had an ocean front room which was lovely. Our room had a huge bed, a jacuzzi and large shower. The balcony had a hammock and seating area. I could not fault the accommodation even if I tried. One thing I would advise is that there is a difference between a sea view and ocean front. A sea view does not provide a full view and may only show a fraction of the sea (through the palm trees). Beware as Thomsons or other travel companies will not disclose this, and if you want to upgrade at the resort they can charge upwards of $80 per night per person.

The hotel had 9 restaurants, we had breakfast everyday at the Cocotals restaurant which was a Buffett however there are two other restaurants that served breakfast, as we enjoyed ourselves so much at Cocotals we decided to eat there every morning. The staff was one main reason we also continued to eat there. They were so friendly and the service was excellent. I have travelled quiet a bit and very rarely have I seen staff run to get you what you want!

Lunch and dinner menus were al la carte. We ate at every restaurant and cannot fault any of them. Food was perfect, each menu showed a variety of food and even if you wanted to try something different the chefs seemed more than happy to accommodate your personal choice. There was plenty of opportunity to overindulge all day every day. We would totally recommend to book all inclusive. Do not miss out on the culinary theatre called Fuentes. (Vegetarian selections can be quite limited so if this is what you are looking for it may be helpful to directly contact the resort rather than rely on your rep who will more than likely get it wrong)

From our room it took less than one minute to get to the beach. The sun lounges and beds were always available on the beach. So there were plenty of places to relax. The staff would come up to everyone on the beach individually to take drinks orders.

We changed some pounds to pesos from the hotel reception and we used that money to tip the staff for their excellent and much rewarded services. FYI I was giving 20 peso tips which roughly equates to just over a £1.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is approximately 40 minutes away from cancun, 20 minutes away from Playa de Carmen, 2,5 hours away from Chichen Itza, and approximately 40 minutes away from the airport. The hotel offers a free shuttle to Cancun and playa de Carmen on selective days. Monday to playa and Wednesday to cancun.

The only excursion we would recommend would be Chichen Itza! It was a fantastic experience and probably the best place to purchase souvenirs from. We were advised to go to Playa De Carmen and 28th Market in Cancun however Playa De Carmen was not cheap and 28th Market was blocks of shops with vendors desperately trying to sell their goods. The atmosphere was a little suffocating and the vendors were intimidating to say the least.

Travelling via taxi in Mexico is safe. It is cheaper to book a taxi from outside the resort however. The hotel and travel reps will advise differently!

The only negative advice we have about the hotel is regarding the timeshares. This was initially bought to our attention when a member of staff began to tell us that we could go down to the Casitas resort and view the presidential suites! Then when we were sent to the "el derodo exotic" office we were told we would have a 90 minute presentation that will allow us to see the other resort (Casitas).. It began with a presentation whereby personal questions were asked about past holidays and future plans. Then we were shown four different rooms. This presentation ended back in the offices (on site of resort) to meet with management, this part of the presentation got heated, we were practically being forced to buy into these time shares, smiles turned into piercing stares and the chirpy voices which we were initially greeted with turned authoritative. It all turned quite nasty and we could not run out any faster! SO BEWARE, they will entice you in and try and force you to join the club! Also beware they say 90 minutes because this is the maximum time they are allowed according to the government! In reality this turns in to around 2 hours +. They are complete cons and will kill your holiday time with complete rubbish when you could be enjoying the resort in other ways. We met one couple who's parents had singed up to the club previously and they got nothing of what they were promised! MY ADVICE, steer clear of the whole thing. The way your concierge will try and pull you in is very cleverly orchestrated! You have been warned!

Finally the weather was very hot during our stay, although it did rain on one day it was still warm and did not spoil our holiday.

This was the perfect holiday barring a few things and we would recommend stopping here. Location was paradise, staff and service were excellent, Food was delicious and the room was absolute. We would definitely come back to stay here again!

One final note, check your baggage allowance before leaving! Thomsons will charge you £18 per kilo if you are overweight! If you are overweight, the check in staff will make you open your suitcase at the desk and either put some clothes on, throw things out or pay the extra! No leniency what so ever! This can be very daunting especially when you have 50+ people in line watching you! Our rep told us they had reserved window seats for us but we found out when we boarded the plane this was another lie and by that stage nobody can help!

Finally if you are not happy or have issues, try talking to the hotel management instead of the Thomsons reps. They will do more for you!

Room Tip: Ocean front. Garden rooms are not very good and sea view are like ocean front but with like 90% of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We are seriously picky and this hotel and staff are amazing with the wow factor! I have been all over the world in various 4 and 5* hotels and this is the best holiday we have ever had! From the greeting at reception to the golf cart drivers who take your luggage to your room - 3 floors up and won't let you touch your bags!

Rooms spacious, 2 double beds, 40" flat screen tv with 50 odd channels, free mini bar, balcony with hammock and chairs. Massive bathroom, seperate wc, walk in shower and jacuzzi that will fit 2 if not more. It was all very clean, plenty of bottled water. Free room service was a novel idea and the concerige are great.

If you're going down to the Castis restaurants at night, call your concerige and they will bring the golf carts up to your room to take you down. We stayed in block in 11 by reception and it takes about 20 mins to walk all the way down to the end of Castis. After seeing both hotel complexes, the majority of restaurants, bars, activities are down the royale end and when you walk down to Castis there wasn't much to do or many customers so I definatley wouldn't upgrade to Casits.

Resort again v.clean, staff always present and willing to help and v.polite. Beach beautiful and very safe - we went kayaking, parasailing $65pp and jet ski $50 per jet. Get up early before 8 to reserve your cabana with a roof, if not you won't get much shade during the day. You get the beach towels daily from the huts where they sell the jet ski trips from. A great way to start the day is the Yoga facing the beach - it is something you will never forget!

Food is cordon bleu and if it's not how you want it they will tailor make it to your request. I didn't see any difference in service between tipping and not. The pizzeria is great for vegetarians and plenty of non pizza options. Health food bar was good as well and Kampai the asian restaurant was excellent - you need to try the tempura ice-cream!

Greenhouse tour with Luiz very interesting and you get to taste the produce. Don't worry if the weather's not great, as soon as it gets bad it's all hands on deck and the entertainment team come out with loads of things to do.

Room Tip: room 1125 great location - balcony wise you just look at trees but we were never out there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed 5days 4night as part of a destination wedding guest so we got the cheapest room class. Room was great, had a garden view. From the moment we arrived we were treated wery well. We were nervous since it was hurricane season but overall weather was good....extremely muggy (my hair felt damp the whole time hanging outdoors) but that definitely was not a dealbreaker. Be sure to meet with your concierge the day of arrival if you can (they will leave a message on your room phone) we missed out on some things that are only arranged through your assigned concierge but we still were able to take advantage of some of what he had to offer. If you can, stay when its full moon because on a clear night sitting out on the beach in a cabanna is absolutely one of the most relaxing things....but even when it rained a half day it was relaxing sitting on our room balcony. We would do it again but maybe at a different time of the year.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nemrac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having saved and saved to have a honeymoon of a lifetime we were sorely disappointed. Unfortunately my husband got the flu and as we were stuck in the room we realised there was black mould all over the ceiling, we informed Thomson via their rep and it wasn't followed. We reported to reception and it wasn't followed up. We eventually were moved to a 'premium' room which had a better hair dryer etc but had separate beds and the swim up part of the suite didn't actually lead to a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yo_Bedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the El Dorado Royale , it was an honor to host your honeymoon . It is dissappointing to hear that your the room was not up to the standards that we strive to achieve. I have discussed your comments with the operations team within the hotel , epsecially our Front office manager. The majority of our rooms have recently been refurbished , all with a king size bed or 2 doubles and we have extremely high standards of accomodations. I am currently investigating your comment concerning the quality of the room received.

It is sad to know that despite upgrading your room to the highest room category within the El Dorado Royale .We sincerely hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best Regards

Patric Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband & I stayed at EDR Sept 18-25 2013. While the resort was beautiful it just wasn't what we really hoped for in our vacation this year. We previously stayed at EDSS in 2010 and I think if we go back to a Karisma brand resort we will stick with EDSS. Here are some high and lowlights of the trip.

Let's get the bad out of the way. First EDR is HUGE. lol I had stayed at this resort back in 2007 before they expanded and I really preferred it before all the additions. I kind of think if they want to add more rooms they should just add a completely different resort.

Room service was a lowlight for me. The food was good but one thing that was odd to me was they wouldn't deliver mixed beverages to our room, in fact I even had to use some persuasion to have two cans of Coke brought along with our food as we'd drank what was in the mini-fridge. I don't know if that's SOP but most other resorts do deliver all types of drinks without hesitation and when you want to have a lazy day in your room it's nice to still be able to enjoy a glass of wine with your meal. I don't know if anyone else had this experience or not but it was just sort of off putting to me.

Another food related snafu was a night when we arrived at D'Italia (the one by the lobby). There were no other couples waiting up front or outside but we were told there was a waiting list. This was around 8:30pm and there were seriously only about 5 couples in the entire restaurant. So seeing as how we were told the only restaurant that required reservations was Fuentes, unless there was a HUGE party waiting in the wings I'm not sure why we couldn't be accommodated. We just said never mind and headed to another restaurant.

Activities are non-existent. They have them or at least they post them but they rarely happened on time. My husband and I specifically wanted to play beach volleyball which was scheduled at 11am & 4pm. We missed the 11am time so waited on the beach for the 4:00 game.....we left at 4:20 and the game still hadn't started and there was no one in sight to even start the game. Another example of this was a day when we played pool volleyball. There were Salsa dancing "lessons" scheduled for 5pm. Myself and a few other couples were interested in it but by 5:30 they still hadn't started. Of course you don't wear a watch too often at the pool so we were surprised to hear they weren't going to do them. This happened with other activities such as Zumba, Spinning class etc. There is an activities crew but we only saw them once and while they were very friendly but they were ineffective.

So enough of the mediocre. The food at this resort is delicious with El Rincon (for dinner AND lunch), Kampai & Fuentes being our favorites. The spareribs at Jojos were also delicious.

The spa at this resort is seriously phenomenal. Lucy & Daniela were our massage therapists and this was probably one of the best massages I've ever had at a resort. Lucy worked out kinks I didn't even know I had. Certainly worth every penny.

All in all we met some great couples and fun hanging out with them but had it not been for that I'd say we would have been bored silly. I think we'd have been better suited with a swim up room at this property as it seemed to have more of the social atmosphere we craved. Well, live & learn.

Room Tip: Don't miss out on Fuentes & El Rincon is certainly a good bet for lunch or dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucaDo996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Firstly I would like to thank you for your detailed review of your experiences at the El Dorado Royale however It is extremely disheartening to hear that your stay with us was certainly not at the 4 Diamond level we constantly strive to provide. It is our goal to go above and beyond to ensure our guest’s satisfaction during every aspect of their stay and it’s very disappointing to know that we did not meet that goal for you. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the service and quality irregularities you encountered as this is certainly not indicative of the high quality and service you should expect when visiting the El Dorado Royale. It is my hope that we will have an opportunity to host your holidays in the future so we can ensure that you experience the WOW factor at El Dorado Royale .

Best Regards

Patric Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,947 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $331 - $1,036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing