We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I'm not going to ramble on because all that needs to be said is that this place is an absolute MUST! Every member of staff, from the greeting at reception to every waiter/waitress, every barman (especially Miguel and his bar outside the Kampai restaurant) and every shuttle bus driver could not have been more pleasant, delightful and couldn't do enough for you! The entertainment at Caesar's pool was always so much fun and there was never an issue finding a sun bed.
The best thing about El Dorado has to be the restaurants. I ate at every one of them at varying points of the day and every one was exceptional! Especially Kampai!!!! Even room service was brilliant. Everything is of such a high standard. I will definitely be going back. You'll regret it if you don't go.

Room Tip: If you can afford it definitely go for a swim up or the Casitas but in saying that all other accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear friends from london,
It feels very rewarding to acknowledge how much our guests appreciate the service we have provided and the warmth of our people. It will be a pleasure to extend your compliments to Miguel adn Ceasar,
We are sure it will be a really nice way to encourage them to keep on being themselves.
We would like to thank you for your review, which will undoubtedly help our future guests when choosing their next destination in the Caribbean.
Looking forward to welcoming you back pretty soon,

Best regards,
Fracisco Jorge
General manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,652
    1,741
    635
    378
    233
See reviews for
668
6,450
107
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,553)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our second stay at the hotel, we knew how brilliant the facilities and services are and couldn't imagine trying anywhere else! We booked last minute for a 2 week stay and we were not disappointed. We booked a swim up suite to add that little something extra to the holiday. I am always apprehensive about holidays and this one too, simply because my expectations were so high from our last stay, but when we arrived we were checked in really quickly, with a welcome sparkly drink. We were delighted to find out we had a premium suite which is one of the remodelled rooms. It was block 5, room 05 which is in the centre of the resort, facing the ocean, just a stones throw from the main pool, beach, bars, everything really. The room had 2 double beds with a jacuzzi bath separating the bedroom and wash areas. Large walk in shower, double sink area, plenty storage space, small seating and dining area and then the terrace with seats, table, hammock and our swim up loungers. One thing to watch our for is the doors to the terrace are self locking and there is a really small transparent sticker telling you this on the door at the handle, but it's difficult to see, several couples had already locked themselves out of their rooms within hours of arriving, thankfully not us. Luckily if we had done we could escape through the swim up to the personal concierge , however I heard a story of a couple on the upper floors who locked themselves out and they literally had to shout for help from their balcony.
The room was clean and modern. The maid facilities were second to none, always did a fab job and left us a couple of towel animals, rabbits and swans, nice touch.
The restaurants were lively, clean, definitely deserve the Gourmet status for the main restaurants. Jojo's and the pizzeria are good for grabbing your lunch, as is the health bar, lovely wraps and smoothies/fruit juices. My personal favourite was the italian restaurant, Maurice was our waiter and they make you feel like the most important people in the restaurant.
The entertainment was good, movies for early evening, fire show was amazing!! Circus shows, tribute acts.there is also dorado idol, which is like karaoke, not my thing but a good laugh for those who fancy it.
The staff are so hard working, friendly, polite and nothing is too much to ask.
We used the beach bar at jojo's a lot and mostly relaxed on the beach. There are always loungers, loads of them. The drinks service at the beach is ok as long as you are not too far up the beach, we did end up at the end of the Dorado beach ( right next to the presidential suite beach) and we were lucky if we seen a waiter all day. Most of the time it was regular though. The drinks waiter also comes around the swim up suites so if we were back at the room we could still enjoy our cocktails. My drink of the holiday is the electric lemonade, which is a really sour citrus and melon drink, gorgeous.
We used the spa facilities on both visits and both times the massage is intense but worth it. The water actives are ace, we did both parasailing and wave runners.
Depending on which tour operator you travel with the trips will vary but the standard and variety are really good, snorkelling in Cancun was amazing, speed boating, pirate ship shows and surf and turf meals out on the sea. We did the dolphin swim, chichen itza, cenote swim, xel ha water park last year so gave them a miss this time.
The weather was mixed but we knew that anyway as the time of year but the sunny days outweighed the rainy.
I have fallen head over heels for this place and the chain of hotels is second to none ( we took a trip where we picked up other guests from Karisma hotels and they looked equally as spectacular). When are Karisma going to make the move to Europe??? It's high time you did.
We would definitely go back to mexico, but would probably try one of the other Karisma hotels just simply because we have done the el dorado twice now.
Thoroughly enjoyed this luxury relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: For an extra special touch get a swim up, we went for this instead of premium flight seats. The prem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misspooh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Travelers,

We really appreciate your having taken the time to write this review with such a detailed description of our facilities, services and staff. We feel very proud to acknowledge you feel so enthusiastic about your recent vacation at our premises and we hope this will not be your last visit.
As you may have surely noticed our resort is located in a reserved natural area one of the many reasons to put safety measures in the balcony doors.
Thank you for all your kind words and comments we will consider them to improve.
We hope to receive you again for another memorable vacation.

Sincerely,
Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Eldorado Royale Sept 16 - 21 (rained the first 3 days) The staff was amazing... from check in to check out, everyone seemed to be glad we where there. Our waiter Samuel at the breakfast buffet was exceptional...always ready with coffee, juice and WATER !! The property is quite large and due to the rain the golf cart shuttles were everywhere...so it made walking a little difficult (had to get off sidewalk for them to pass). This only happens when it rains because people do not like getting wet going for a nice dinner....we hopped on them too !! We did the tour of their greenhouse ... very educational...Louiz you were awesome !! We went again with friends and had Daniel as a guide...very very good !! If you are going to stay here...make sure you take the free tour of this green house.!!! I loved the no reservations needed and the 24hr room service. We enjoyed the magic/comedy show (I have not laughed that hard in a long time !!), the fire show was amazing....make sure you get to the chairs OUTSIDE on the beach as this is where it is located (not in building), the Cirqu show was very good too but had to stand during the entire program as the chairs were taken. We had the best sleep in these beds .... air cond was very quiet and you could not here it clicking on and off !! This would be an awesome resort for small groups, destination weddings, honeymoon and couples. They do have 2 very nice pools... 1 with swim up bar , which is the active pool with scheduled activities through out the day, the other is a quiet pool with a lounge within a few steps if you need refreshments. If you want the normal crystal blue Caribbean water ....don't go during their hurricane/rain season.... the waves disrupt the calmness of the water and stirs up the sand which makes it darker, cloudy and seaweed is abundant. However this can also be the best time to go because the resorts are not overly crowed and they have great specials !! It doesn't always rain or storm during Sept ..it is just more likely to happen. The water totally changes when the waves settle down to normal strength/size. We sat on the beach and enjoyed the sound of waves and the warmth of the sun and just dipped in to cool off. I am a travel agent and would recommend this adults only property to clients wanting a very very nice property.
Joan Coomes/ A1 Travel SD

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcoomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear friend Miss. Coomes :

It is indeed a pleasure to receive such a nice review highlighting our natural background, facilities, services and most of all, our staff professionalism and kindness.
Both, our entertainment manager and food and beverages manager have tuned-in very well with the spirit of our site and they have been heartily welcomed in our team to make your experience unique and wonderful.
We would all be very pleased to have you back for another memorable vacation

Best regards,
Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just got back from a 5 night stay at the El Dorado Royale. Got a great deal thru Costco Travel. Had an ocean front Jr. Suite, and was very pleased with the room. Had plenty of dining options, and checked out almost every one of them. Drank top shelf drinks all day long :-) I really liked the casual JoJo's,restaurant that was beachfront and next to the bar that had swings as seats. There was plenty to do. Met some nice people while playing beach volleyball. Had never done an all-inclusive and was worried that we'd miss some of the local culture that way. Took a taxi into Playa Del Carmen one day to do a little shopping and get a change of scenery ($25 UCD each way). Hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle on certain days, but it does fill up. PDC was a nice diversion. Also did a day excursion to Chichen Itza. Shot the whole day, but it was worth it. It would be a lot more efficient to hire a driver with another couple to go there on your own tour. Otherwise you are forced to stop and shop at several different locations as part of the all day tour. Should have been an 8 hour trip, ended up being closer to 13 with the stopping for other guests and forced shopping stops.

Did attend the time share presentation at El Dorado. Was supposed to be 30 min, but turned into 2 hours. Why haven't I seen a pattern forming?! They are never less than 2 hours!! Got a nice credit at the jewelry store for our efforts.

Anyway, beautiful beaches, plenty of lounge chairs and pools with swim up bars. The workers there really enjoy their work and are very helpful. Also met some other couples from the States and Europe, that were a lot of fun.

I would highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: They have a wide range of rooms to pick from. We did not have a swim up room. Could have upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear travelers:

We have been honored with you, having chosen our resorts and the fact that you show so satisfied with your first experience with gourmet all inclusive experience makes us feel really proud of our site and staff.
Your lovely review constitutes a great motivation for us to keep improving our team work and personalizing our services. Especialy for Exotic memebers club, like you mentioned it is optional to our guest and you can always refuse the offer.

It will be great to welcome you back in the near future for another memorable vacation.

Yours sincerely,
Francisco Jorge
Generla manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in the El Dorado Royale from 9/23 to 9/26. We read several reviews, and most were pretty accurate. One had stated the rooms were very damp, we asked the concierge about it... He told us that was true, but since then the rooms have been remodeled, ours was absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. The food is really good, a little skimpy on seafood, but otherwise something for everyone... They do have live lobster at a steep price tag of $95 each... I would recommend staying at least a week as you don't have time to try it all (we only stayed 3 nights). This resort is enormous, but there are shuttles running all the time. We spent most of our time in the room, as there wasn't many activities we were interested in. If you are in to exercising and yoga, you'll have plenty to do. We attended a cooking class, it was neat, but didn't last long. They had an array of night shows throughout the week. They do have a few American liquors in the bars, they don't have many drinks we enjoy here, like Jagermeister, Tennessee Honey or Buttery Nipples. I tried having mixed drinks, but the soda and juices tasted kinda funny. The primary beer is Dos Equis, which was great because that's a treat here at home. Most of the staff was very professional and friendly, we did not get a chance to really establish a bartender or waiter as we were there for a short time. There wasn't much music, and what music they did have was either live late at night or classic Beatles in the Martini Bar, it would've been nice to have different genres at each bar, or a dance club to go to. One description I read on the resort was that they had horseshoes, we were really disappointed to find they didn't, we actually play sanctioned games at home and really looked forward to having that. We had a couples massage treatment at the spa with hydro therapy, it was amazing and reasonably priced.
We actually joined their Exotic membership, with all things negative, we do plan on going back... I would recommend going in the spring or summer, they will be busier, but they use the fall to do renovations, one restaurant and bar was closed up until our last day there. All in all I give it a 4.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank High_voltage_277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our fist time there but wont be our last. What a place so much to see and do , many pools to choose from all with freindly staff .the food is amazing so much choice , staff so freindly and helpfull nothing to small or silly was a problem for them, they are all so hard working and helpfull to to you.the rooms are amazing with super king size beds that were turn down every night, large shower room and toilet area also a large juicuzzi and tv, mini bar stocked up every day.we will definitely be back .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fee17262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel a year after our last visit and it just gets better.

We where checked in quickly and where put in block 3 room 325 part of the premium section great spot and right in the centre of resort. The room was huge with king size bed jacuzzi bath and large shower, and a massive TV on the wall also. Most of the Royal rooms have now been renovated as we stayed in the older design last year in block 55 which was being renovated this time and only a few more blocks to do we here. Rooms cleaned daily with bed down service in the evenings which I love.

The resort is just great loads of pools to relax and activities to keep you entertained if you want to and you are not pestered if you don't want to participate in activities unlike some other hotels I have visited.

Food you are spoilt for choice cocotal for breakfast was a must and Jojo's for lunch and usually one of the Italians, Mexicans, for tea. I like the restaurants as its waiter service and there is so much choice, there is a small buffet at breakfast in mornings if you wanted. The only downside La Isla was closed when we arrived which was our favorite to have breakfast it was having the floor done but still plenty of other places to eat.

Plenty of bars to get drinks.

Resort is massive and you can get golf carts to get around.

Personal concierge are a great help and ours Zully was lovely.

All the staff are fantastic and go out of there way to help you in anyway they can.

Will I return I am 100% sure I will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boothy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,677 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,735 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing