We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My partner & I booked our holiday through Thomson & stayed at the El Dorado Royale from the 14th to the 21st August.

Our check in process was quick & easy & we were presented with a champagne cocktail on arrival. At check in we were offered a room upgrade at a discounted rate of $600 instead of the full price of $1,900 (US dollars) but after a short conversation we decided that we would stick with the junior suite with a jacuzzi that we had already paid for.

On entering our room we were more than happy with our choice as it was exceptionally clean, modern, cool & comfortable.

A major feature of the hotel besides the superb & beautiful location is the Gormet Inclusive dining that is offered. We were never short of choices of places to eat & they also catered well for my partner who is a vegetarian. A must for everyone is an evening at the culinary theatre & although we loved the food at every restaurant & bar we ate at, a visit to the Health Bar is also a must as the food & range of shakes & smoothies were truly outstanding. However, we were slightly disappointed after returning from a trip at 4:15pm to find that the Gourmet Pizzeria corner had closed early but would also recommend room service & in addition to this Restaurant Fondue was also closed.

We were told by our rep that this resort is the only resort that offers a free shuttle service to both Cancun & Playa del Carmen (twice & three times a week respectively I think). The service is great & during our stay we went to Playa del Carmen for the evening. However, we did say that we would be happy to pay for a service that was daily giving us more choice.

A slight downfall is that there is no free wifi at the hotel & although I didn't actually mind paying to use the service which was $54 for a week the signal in some parts of the hotel was weak which shouldn't be the case if you're paying for the service.

The Karisma chain pride themselves on being ECO friendly, self sustainable & are commited to recycling. We loved the fact that the products on our plates were grown in the greenhouses in the resorts & really enjoyed the bike tour that showed us the products being grown & the working ranch on which they house & treat rescued animals.

Overall, a fabulus holiday in an amazing location!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hodger78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,413
    1,694
    619
    372
    227
See reviews for
612
6,254
98
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,480)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was the best all inclusive trip I have ever been on! The resort is the perfect mix of romance and relaxation. From start to finish, we were looked after and treated like family. Even though we got in late at night, we were greeted with the standard glass of bubbley, a cool towelette and golf cart escort to our room.

The thing that stood out to me most was the pride of the people working there. I've been to resorts with competent, curteous staff. But across the board, this group spoke about the resort with such pride, providing some of the best customer service I can remember and giving us the sense that they were just genuiely happy to be there! It's something you can't really teach or train people on; it just comes across naturally. Gavin and Luis, Angel, Santiago, and Daisy on the beach were especially excellent and memorable.

The food was just amazing, especially for a bride who starved before her wedding -ha. If there is one thing I would improve, it would be the addition of foods like fahitas and burritos, as this is what we tend to think of as "Mexican food" in Canada. But this feels petty because we literally ended up having five meals a day! The corn chowder and ribs at JoJos, the lamb and baked pear dessert at Villa d'Italia, the delicious selections and lively atmosphere at Cocotel for breakfast, the 24 hour room service... Just awesome. And the bar was really extensive, we sampled so many drinks and the staff always suggested more to try! The highlight was the candlelit dinner on the beach at sunset... best meal I've ever ever had. They went out of their way to make it a memorable experience, taking multiple photos and personalizing our dessert plate.

I just can't wait to go back and am working hard on convincing my best friend to have her wedding there (she was thinking about a destination wedding, but couldn't envision how it would all work). That's really the ultimate compliment I could give this plce. We'll never ever forget this trip and the people we met!! Thank you, El Dorado Royale.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ramnanans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Where do I begin? My new wife and I spent our honeymoon at El Dorado Royale from the 4th - 14th August and it was quite simply the best all round experience we have ever had! I have so much to say about this place that I'll break it down in to sections:

Arrival:-
The resort is about 30 minutes from the airport, 5 minutes of that is taken up by driving up a beautiful long private road to the resort, the first sign of how big this resort is. When we pulled up at the reception we were greeted by the most beautiful, refreshingly cool lobby, a huge chandelier hangs over a stunning fountain and a sweet fresh aroma which will stay with me forever. We were handed a glass of champagne and shown to the checking in desk, our first taste of the impeccable service at this Mexican Paradiso. The guy on reception was very attentive, taking us through the map of our resort, explaining where the 9 restaurants, 13 pools and 16 bars were, informing us of the entertainment programme and finally suprising us with news of our room upgrade. We were then greeted by a bell boy, who took us on a buggy ride around the resort before delivering us and our bags to our Ocean View Swim Up Suite. By this point we had already had the best holiday ever.

Room:-
El Dorado Royale has a number of options in terms of rooms. We had initially booked a Junior Swim-Up Jacuzzi Suite and were very kindly upgraded to the Ocean View Version of this room. The room had been recently renovated so was immaculate and had modern decor. Walking through the suite you have a very nice bathroom with his and hers sinks and a Jacuzzi bath, leading on to the main bedroom which had TWO double beds (which come with a pillow menu! You can choose which pillow you'd like from gel to memory foam and more), a large LED TV adorns the wall, a comfy sofa in one corner and a table and chairs for enjoying the FREE room service in the other corner. This then leads out to your private patio which comes with a hammock and table and chairs, leading onto your own private pool which is only a foot deep but awesome for lying out on your sun lounger, this then runs into a lazy-river type pool which leads round to bigger pools and swim up bars! The room also has a free Minibar which is re-stocked daily with beer, coca-cola, sprite and water! These rooms are absolutely stunning and nothing bad could be said about them at all.

Food:-
The food here is described as Gourmet Inclusive and it certainly lives up to its name! We enjoyed every single meal we had here, our favourites were Kampai (Asian Cuisine with awesome sushi and to-die-for curries) D'Italia (Amazing Italian with the best Filet Mignon ever) and La Fuentes (Fantastic night out in this 'Culinary Theatre' which has a Chef broadcast live onto 4 humongous screens around the room as he cooks the dishes that are then served to you). Starters are small and should be seen more as appetisers, they are more than happy for you to order more than one each which is often advisable as they taste so damn good! Mains are well proportioned and very tasty and the deserts are all to die for. I'd recommend: JoJo's Seared Tuna Starter and Carribean Burger main. Kampai, a selection of Sushi (especially the Vulcan) to start then Chicken Tonkatsu Curry for main. D'Italia, Beef Carpaccio to start and Filet Mignon for main. All the other restaurants are amazing too but these were our favourite. Cocotal, with its amazing buffet was our favourite for breakfast including pancakes, sausages, cereal, any pastry you can think of and a chocolate fondue as a special treat! For lunch you can go to the Pizza place at La Islas pool for pizza, burgers and awesome hot dogs, or try the Health Bar for amazing salads, sandwiches, wraps and a yummy Peanut Butter and Banana Shake. The service is impeccable, everyone seems so happy to be there and nothing is too much for them.

Drink:-
All the drinks/cocktails are made with premium spirits and the beer is fresh and cold! There is a swim-up bar in most of the pools and whilst it may take a while at peak times to get served, the cocktails are worth the wait. Our favourites were Miami Vice (a multi coloured Strawberry and Cream delight), Tropical Coconut (coffee tasting yummyness) and Electric Lemonade (refreshing citrus number). The house wine in the restaurants are good, but they also have a wine list that you can order from at an extra cost.

Entertainment:-
La Fuentas is the pool that you want to head to for day activities, being on honeymoon we opted for the quieter La Islas and Toucanos pools, however La Fuentas is a livlier pool with music and water games all day. In the evening, head over to Guacamayers bar for top class entertainment including our favourite the Circus show.

Pools:-
There are loads of pools throughout this resort, all of which with their own swim-up bar. La Fuentas and La Islas are the bigger pools, surrounded by sun loungers and four poster beds, you'll need to be up early to get one of the beds but these are in shade for most of the day so if you are a sun worshipper you may prefer to opt for a lounger at a smaller pool, which also tend to be less busy.

Honeymoon Package:-
If you are going to this resort for a honeymoon make sure you tell your travel agent to include this in your notes and take your wedding certificate with you. As it was our honeymoon they upgraded our room, we also got a couples sky massage on the beach which was devine. But the best thing was our candle lit dinner on the beach which was such an amazing meal and great experience, which began with a suprise bottle of Champagne in our room when we got back from the pool to get ready for the meal, and then when we returned from the meal they had run us a Jacuzzi with petals and bubble bath and made a heart out of towels and petals on the bed - Stunning!

Other:-
TIPPING - is commonplace here, but you dont have to break the bank, a dollar or 20 pesos to your barman or beach waiter and a couple of dollars or 60 pesos is fine for your waiter in the evening. The service will be great even if you dont tip, but these guys get paid low wages and do a fantastic job so any tips are appreciated.
GETTING AROUND - the resort is large, it took us about half an hour to have a slow walk from one end of the beach to the other. We prefered to walk as it was such nice weather and the resort is beautiful, but if you find yourself needing to get somewhere in bad weather or you have problems with walking, then there are many golf buggies driving around the resort happy to offer you a lift to whereever you want to go.
EXCURSIONS - There are many excursions available, we took advantage of the trip to Xel Ha which is a massive lagoon which offers awesome snorkling, swimming with dolphins, a hammock island and a few all inclusive bars where they serve up some great cocktails, remember to take money for snorkling deposit and bio-degradable sun cream, food and drink are included in the price of your ticket. We also went to CocoBongos in Playa Del Carmen, a nightclub owned by Jim Carrey which was quite simply the best night out we have ever had. This place is like a vegas show, NYE party, paddys day and mardi gras all rolled into one. If you opt for this, make sure you plan to be suitably hung over the next day! :)

I could go on forever, and I've already gone on too long, but just to say that if you are thinking of booking a holiday at this resort or you have already done so, then I can guarantee that you will not be disappointed. This place is exceptional and will be hard to beat!

Hip Hip Tequila!

Room Tip: The Ocean View swim up jacuzzi suites in block 500 are very well placed within reach of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Hewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iva, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was an International Travel Agent Convention/ Vacation; my husband traveled along with me and we had the best time of our lives. This was our first all-inclusive and we could not have amagined it was going to be this great. The service, rooms were superb, the food was excellent there was so much to do and enjoy; it is definite a number one choice.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny and definitely with a swim up bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwalker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and i have just come back from our honeymoon at the El Dorado Resort in Mexico. We had a great time with all the experiences of a 5 star hotel with great food and staff but one downfall. The hotel especially from friday to monday lets in large groups of young Americans who seam to take over the hotel. One group consisted of 32 American people all together in a small restaurant all screaming there heads off at the same time. Everyone else in the restaurant were couples on romantic breaks who couldn't believe how they were acting even the staff were getting annoyed until they went on to the bar then took over that as well. We were there for two weeks and saw three large American parties in that time its obviously good money for this hotel but not for the rest of us! The small groups of Americans are great but not the large ones.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Everything was great! My spa experience was amazing thanks to Irene and Javier, they were awesome! Food is deliciuos, the fastest and kindest room service :D in resume, everything was EXCELLENT, definitely one of Mexico's best hotels

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JArantzaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I (after many hours of reviews) opted for this hotel, up until this holiday our favourite best ever hol was also in Mexico but in a Rui hotel. This is now our best ever and thoroughly recommend it.
On arrival it took a bit of getting used to the a la carte meals. The size and spread of the grounds, many pools, bars and restaurants.

Only minor gripes we have are;
Catered mainly for the Americans, considering the amount of money it costs to get there from UK, it should forward lean a bit more to basic needs of Brits if requested, including having kettles for a cuppa.
The dress code was not followed by a few and not enforced by the staff. This was a shame as most people were smart and made the effort.
Thomson advised us not to take dollars and use pesos only. A small bunch of dollars for tips would have been useful. Also most items on sale are on USD.

Positives
Majority of staff mega friendly
K team (activity crew / gym staff etc) on the ball, superb.
Meals all of a high standard in every restaurant, you will find own favourites.
place is immaculate inside and out, they are always cleaning
Although big site, they have golf buggies that run a delivery service if you cant be bothered walking.
Evening activities very professional, fun packed and very high standard.

Bar service, waiters, excellent, we met a particularly friendly, witty and highly competent bar man that ensured we had a great time every time (Miguel) a small quiet beach bar near Kampia restaurant.

Seriously considering going back.

Only killer is the travel home and jetlag.....

Room Tip: All look good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GrantsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,442 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing