We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This property is extensive and the variety of food and swimming and entertainment options was wonderful. The food and drink options were of varying quality and could use some improvement, but we certainly did not suffer! We most enjoyed the Asian restaurant and least enjoyed Jo-Jos. The service was decent throughout, though with such a large property they cannot always be there when you want something. The personal concierges were great and helpful for solving even odd requests. We enjoyed the swim-up room a lot! The beach is pretty but not much for swimming (rocks). It is odd that use of the internet is quite expensive. Yoga classes in the morning were nicely challenging. And lastly, the spa is great and the water therapy stellar!

Room Tip: Swim-up is fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,620 - 5,626 of 10,499 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

This resort was simply beautiful. We felt incredible safe and relaxed the whole trip. We had a Swim-Up Junior Suite and it was such a great room. The staff is friendly and on-point with the service. We always saw them doing at least the smallest things to constantly improve the resort. We had great meals and great drinks. The only thing we can say about this resort that needs work are the toilets in rooms. At least in our suite, the door was stall-style, meaning it was open at the top and bottom. I, like most people, don't really care to hear someone else using the restroom or have someone be able to hear me. Other than that, we loved every second of this trip.

Room Tip: Spring for at least the swim-up suite...you can't beat instant pool access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are looking for a great all adult all inclusive then look no further. We were there for our honeymoon April 23-30. First impression... Great customer service. We were there before check in time so they held our luggage and we toured the property and ate lunch. Our concierge CeCe (nickname) we absolutely loved her. She is a great asset to the company. Our favorite restaurant was Rincon. It was never too crowded and we enjoyed all the food. We also loved the breakfast buffet at the restaurant beneath the lobby! Since it was our honeymoon we had the honeymoon package which included the breakfast in bed... Very very good.,, since I've been home I have tried to make the sauce that was on my French toast! Please can someone give me the recipe. It was a white sweet sauce. My only complaint is that wireless should be free but we did get it free since it was included in package. Also be cautious about travelers presentation. We will be retuning as soon as we could and I have recommended this resort to everyone I know!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsangellabran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Every part of our trip was made special by the wonderful and friendly staff. We weren't celebrating anything in particular, but everyone treated us as if we were. The food and drinks were great and there were no "surprise charges" for anything we otherwise thought was included. The only bummer was that wifi was not free. This was clearly stated in our Amenities and Accommodations section of our travel info though, so we weren't surprised. There are plenty of great activities to do on the resort and off the resort. I would go back to any of these resorts in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FaithH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our first time traveling to Mexico and El Dorado Royale. We stayed for 7 nights, and any less would have been too short (wish I could spend my whole summer there!). The food was amazing at all the restaurants. The beach and pool were very refreshing and activities provided by the K Team were very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend El Dorado Royale to anyone thinking about traveling to the Riviera Maya! Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are great, keeps you at the center of everything happening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the second time that we have booked at El Dorado Royale. This is the second time we have come back completely satisfied as well. We once again booked through Beach Bum Vacations (If you are going for an Anniversary or a Wedding make sure to use Melissa!) and she helped set up a wonderful vacation. I never quite understood the complaints about this resort. Everything the resort did was muy excelente!

Rooms:
The newly upgraded rooms in front of the beach are great. They have everything you need in it. Perfect view. Away from Guacamayas (The late night place) so you don't hear the thumping at night. We stayed in the 41 buildings last time, while we thought they were nice, they don't compare to the upgrade suites.

Food:
I don't know how people complain about bad for or small portions. If something doesn't taste right don't eat it! If it wasn't enough... ORDER MORE! I did this a number of times. I even ordered more sushi after I ate dessert and there was no problem. As for tipping the waiters, that is entirely up to you. I didn't feel like my service was changed by giving a few dollars here, but when someone does a good service why not reward them?

Best Breakfast: La Isla
Best Lunch: Jo Jo's
Dinner: Kampai
Best Dessert: The "Tina Turner" - (I ordered multiple in one sitting and I'm not a big guy)

Bars:
What can I say they serve you alcohol. If you are friendly they will be friendly with you. Never had a bad experience. Make sure to see Julio at the Beach Bar and Pedro at Guacamayas. Two awesome bartenders.

Activities:
There are plenty of things for you to do or not do. I played something everyday (volleyball, water polo, kayaking, etc..). The K-Team (Cesar, Luiz, Jessica, etc...) help to make it a fun and active environment if that is what you are into. You make the most of your own vacation.

Staff/Service:
Everyone that worked for the resort was willing to bend over backwards to make our stay an excellent one. Francisco the day manager does a wonderful job.

Some ways to get perks:
Talk to the resort in advance and see about upgrades. Talk to your concierge and if you have something special they may give you some free perks. My Wife and I got free massages, a second candlelight dinner, 50 minute massages, and breakfast in bed for our Anniversary/Return trip. Don't be afraid to ask. The worst that happens is they say no and you go on enjoying your vacation anyway.

Overall we had a great time. We stayed for over 10 days (from what I'm told rare for Americans). I would recommend that amount of days for a stay because of the various number of combinations for the restaurants and their different menus depending on the meal. Not to mention you actually get to relax. It's hard for us to try another resort because I'm not sure if anything else would live up to what we experienced here. As they say there, everything was Excelente!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was the perfect Honeymoon getaway! My wife and I had never been to an all inclusive resort and we were treated well! Our stay could not have gone better! We would definitely love to return to the area (Riviera Maya) since the beach was fantastic. Food was great! Definitely left FULL after trying many different appetizers, entrees, and desserts. Stay here and you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 891jasonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
9.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,282 reviews
2.6 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya by Artisan - All Inclusive - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,269 reviews
3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $321 - $1,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing