We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$259
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$286
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$291
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (11,308)
Filter reviews
11,308 results
Traveler rating
7,883
2,025
733
414
253
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,883
2,025
733
414
253
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmartini barhealth barswim up roomsanta fesand bagscasita sectionk teamla isla poolfuentes poolour honeymoonroom serviceoutdoor showerswing bargreenhouse tourpersonal conciergewine pairingculinary theatre
Filter
Updating list...
6,406 - 6,411 of 11,308 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

After a pretty horrendous 21 hour door to door journey from Newcastle I was initially very pleased to see that the drive up to the hotel seemed to be significantly better than the previous 4 hotels that we had dropped people off at.

We were met by helpful and friendly hotel staff that had a glass of champagne (type stuff) in front of us nearly as soon as we got to the reception desk.

Throughout our stay there were so many positive aspects with possibly on a few negatives.

Positives

Staff
Numerous – never had to look far for any assistance
Extremely friendly
Very helpful
Personable
This includes every member of staff including the gardener’s and the bar staff who circulate the swimming pools.
Work ethic by far exceeds anything I’ve seen in England – no job too small

Hotel
Immaculate indoors and outdoors.
Excellent and well maintained landscape
Seemed to be a good location for the airport and day trips
Good size resort– good golf cart taxi service to travel around the complex
Rooms and beds were also very spacious with good air con.

Food
Good variety
Plenty of restaurants
Portions can be a bit small sometimes but you can order what you like so just get 2 dishes of need be!
Generally no big que's or booking required.
24hr room service food was as good as in the restaurants just a bit less choice but very efficient delivery regardless.

Beach
Bit of a shame about the strange man-made wave breakers regarding spoiling the view a bit but can’t remember if they had some sort of ecological meaning too so can’t say too much about that.
Clean and tidy, plenty of sun loungers and the bar staff make an effort to come and off drinks there too.

Day trips
Excellent – swimming with whale sharks, turtles and extreme jungle adventure were great.
Full day snorkelling – not so great in comparison + don’t think the chicken was cooked properly

Negatives – if any!!!!
Often people were smoking in the pool – though I’d be quick to say it was a cultural and respect thing of the guests (of which was lacking from some). Perhaps some well placed ‘No Smoking in Pool’ signs would help???

The Mrs. quite fancied an ice lolly or ice cream as it was generally about 40 degrees, as far as we were aware there was nowhere to get one or even buy one, could be wrong though???

Tom Vasey & Melanie McElderry - Newcastle

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank TomVasey_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing 2 week honeymoon and cannot wait to return! The grounds are amazing, food exquisite and service impeccable! I urge anyone to visit, ignore bad reviews. This is a lovely relaxing resort, not somewhere for people looking to just party and singles.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkifarrelly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband recently returned from a two week stay at the El Dorado Royale. The resort is massive and the gardens are absolutely beautiful and kept immaculate. We requested a ground floor garden room which is what we got (room 906). This is pretty central to everything but you dont hear the noise from the main entertainments area which was good. We had a couple of problems within the room such as the air con unit leaking water and the leg on the bed breaking but within minutes of reporting this they were being repaired.We ate breakfast at the cocotol which is brilliant as you also have the choice of a buffet along with a menu service. We ate there only once and it was very disappointing, the waiter seemed somewhat abrupt as my husband couldnt quite make out what he was saying to us and whether this affected the service we got we are not sure but after giving us our main meal we then had to wait for him to return to ask for wine and then again for a dessert menu so we didnt return there of an evening.We tended to eat lunch in the cobania which is located next to jo jo,s by the pool, the staff were fantastic and the food lovely. The martini bar is great too with very attentive waitors/waitressess never having to wait long for service. Ignore remarks about the sandbreakers, to be honest they were not as in your face as i had myself believe they would be. If you are considering sea fishing then it is cheaper to book with your travel rep as the resort centres charge half as much again. The only gripe really that we have is the service at the bar nearest the beach/ next to jo jo,s. During the day the service here was not good, there will be three members of staff yet we very often had to wait ages before we were even acknowledged .On occasions that we did order drinks and despite waiting at the bar we were often left waiting and would have to ask again.I thought that if I myself went and ordered drinks (and this was whilst no one else was around) that I would have no problems but again I was ignored and again an american couple approached and were asked immediately what it was they wanted. Im a very patient person but even I was beginning to feel very irritated by the end of our stay but i must say that in the evenings there were no problems at all, different bar staff in the evenings.We did tip all the time but tipping does not seem to affect the service you get. The two girls working the bar area on the beach were friendly and fantastic, they work so very hard. On the whole is was lovely but we have no desire to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel back when it first opened 10+ years ago and just went back. Beautiful property, great staff, food, and pressure to sell you a time share! We stayed for 5 nights this trip and booked thru Travel by Jen and Bruce really went out of his way to help out with our travel. We usually book thru Apple of Funjet, but would definately book thru Travel by Jen again. We had a couples massage on the beach and our concierge was Zully who helped us with all of our questions and accomodations. We had access to all pools and had a lot of fun as well as rest & relaxation, which is the reason we went there.

Room Tip: If you can afford a Casita do it! If not the rooms are great....
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 954VickyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from the El Dorado Royale having had a fabulous 2 weeks. We were recommended this hotel by our travel agent after explaining we wanted a hotel for adults only and good quality. This hotel exceeded our expectations for excellent quality, service, comfort and sheer pampering.. We have stayed in many hotels of excellent quality but the El Dorado certainly was the best we have ever stayed in. We couldn't find anything negative to say about the hotel, even the weather was amazing. The food in all the restaurants is gourmet and all excellent quality and fine dining. Only one comment, wi-if is not included and is charged per devise so be careful. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are fantastic and worth paying the supplement.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews