We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the el dorado royale 5/7/13 till 15/7/13 the hotel was amazing food was the best I have ever tasted I am a fussy eater untiI i went here never had 1 bad meal in the 10 days the cocktails were amazing they creep up on you aswell as my husband found out weather was hot had a 2 days bad weather out of 10 thunder and lightning was scary rooms were great and cleaners were great my favourite member of staff was Miguel he was in cocotal for breakfast and Jojo's for dinner he bent over backwards to please everyone keep up the good work and we are aged 24 & 25 with 2 small children so don't have a lot of money and we managed to tip the staff work hard for there tips they don't expect it but are very grateful when you do . As for the sand bags that's the only thing people can twine about then come on look beyond them the sea is amazing we spoke to a few couples that say this hotel was better than the other karisma hotels and I couldn't agree more would love to return in the future my review doesn't do it any justice book your holiday here u won't be dissapointed. Mr & mrs Gill

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,289
    1,664
    606
    371
    225
See reviews for
590
6,148
92
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,440)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We decided to book our honeymoon with El Dorado Royale and we could not have had a better experience! They work close with Lomas Travel agency and they helped us get to and from the airport for a very reasonable price. Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm, lavender scented towel and a glass of champagne. Our room was promptly ready and we were so pleased with it! Central location (Room 802 in the villas). All the restaurants were delicious! The food was so spectacular - it was definitely a highlight. It did not matter which restaurant you decided on, every single restaurant on the grounds was great. No matter where you decided to set up on the beach a server found you and got you drinks. Every single employee was so nice and happy it was wonderful. You can really tell the employees also enjoy what they do. The atmosphere was so relaxed. We were surprised as to how clean the entire grounds were! So much greenery and every single facility was kept clean and stocked. We decided to pay to use the wifi for a week - it's pretty weak signal and you could only connect with one device at a time. Since we were there on vacation and vowed not to use technology (too much) it didn't pose a problem for us but it would kick us off the wifi quite frequently. We also decided to use the spa services and it was breathtaking! We did a couples sky massage overlooking the ocean - it was the most relaxed we had ever felt. Customer service is really a priority here and it's very apparent. You will not be disappointed with anything we promise!

Room Tip: We were told to ask for a newly renovated room upon check in. I don't know what the older rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magdalena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife & I have just got back of our honeymoon last week and will never be able to put into words how great this hotel was, but here goes :) From the minute we checked in (only a 2 min check-in) to the minute we left we were treated like royalty throughout our stay. The staff are absolutely great with impeccable manners and cannot do enough to help you, the food will render you speechless it was that good, no matter which restaurant you ate at the food was like something else, considering I'm quite a fussy eater my taste buds now have withdrawal symptoms lol . You want for absolutely nothing as everything is done for you, from bringing you drinks on the beach to driving you wherever you want to go on a golf buggy 24/7. I think one of the biggest surprises is that EVERY single bottle of spirit is a named brand, you name it they have it. The rooms are amazing and spacious with every detail taken care of, you even get to choose the filling for your own pillows on the bed... You have the added bonus of your own concierge service who cannot do enough for you and of course 24hr room service which is great when your drunk and you just want food (no kebabs though lol). The people who we found most helpful and made our stay just perfect are as follow's - In the Martini bar you have Victor & Alvaro, in La Isla restaurant you have Juan Carlos Lunar waiting on the tables and the 2 ladies that check you in & seat you are fantastic too, lastly you will find a lady in either the Martini bar or Guacamayes bar called Beatrice who is a complete darling.... All these people made an amazing honeymoon into a perfect one............I could talk all day about how good this hotel was and if you asked me to be really really picky and pick you a fault I'm afraid it's not possible as there was none.........I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody that reads our review and if you don't agree with us I'll eat my hat :)

Bon Voyage xx

Room Tip: Every room I would imagine is unique in it's own way, there is no right or wrong rooms at this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CAJR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon, we read the reviews and we were so excited! What we found when we got there was more than we could ever have imagined, I have never met such genuinely wonderful people, the service is amazing, so friendly, kind and helpful. The room was beautiful, a bottle of champagne on arrival (Which we ended up drinking watching the Wimbledon final with our room service breakfast in bed!!). The resort facilities were top notch. We made good use of the excellent gym, which they don’t seem to advertise. The restaurants and bars are out of this world, the 2 Italians and the Asian were our favourites. One of the highlights was our trip to Fuentes, what an amazing experience, the charisma and charm of the chef and the wine expert made for an excellent night. The breakfast was scrumptious with everything you could imagine on offer. The room service was great as well. The resort, the rooms, the restaurants and bars are spotless and very well maintained. The beach and the pools were beautiful. The entertainment was good, the Circus act was unbelievably fantastic! I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The staff was awesome and the food was amazing
Hey are very earth conscious and everything was done with attention to detail
We never waited for a table at one of the excellent restaurants
There was no crowds and it was peaceful and quiet , but there were many areas to have fun and get loud

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliceprestia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

An absolutely first class holiday. This hotel is simply stunning, from the unbelievably good food to the staff that can't do enough for you, it's impossible to fault! Every pool, bar and restaurant is great, the rooms are spotless and the facilities included within the package are fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murdo2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The resort is wonderful but what made it special were the workers that went above and beyond. The people that made our stay special were the following in the service staff: Itzel (great hostess at restaurant R2), Carlos "Charlie" (was our server every morning during our stay at R2 and was great every time), Miguel (he makes great drinks at Jojo's), Victor (the fastest server on the resort and can be found at Jojo's), and the amazing team of Luis and Alejandra (they were our personal concierge and made our stay the best it could be). It is because of these people that I would suggest to go to these resort. Word to the wise though, be careful of Lomas representatives being deceiving in the packages they sell you. Easily fixed by doing your research! Enjoy paradise when you go!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HoneymoonerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.7 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,302 reviews
4.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing