We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Best holiday i have ever been on bar none! Stunning resort, amazing rooms! Nothing i could fault with it other than the very long flight from the UK to get there! I would go back tomorrow, truly stunning place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystaleyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,652
    1,741
    635
    378
    233
See reviews for
668
6,450
107
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,553)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our 2nd time here and our 1st time back since purchasing the membership. We stayed at the Casitas the 1st time and this time the Royale side. Big difference. Our swim up didn't have any water in it for several days after we asked several times. I've seen some reviews about the treatment depending on which side you stay in and I would have to say that is correct, even if you are members. We could only stay at one location did get benefits and it really wasn't as nice as the other areas that we would like to have stayed. The membership travel service was disappointing, I'm not sure they've ever been there. We asked for specific things and they didn't take any of our requests into account. The conceirge was very nice and gave us great advice but all depended on who you asked. Overall, it's a beautiul place and the restaurants are good, even though they need some casual places for lunch. It was really nice to have the private car pick us up at the airport. Next time, we'll try one of the other resorts in the membership but the Royale will be the last on our list.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon this morning at this resort. Firstly i would like to start with the bad about this resort as a whole...

#1- The spa workers around the pool EVERYDAY of our 11 day honeymoon asking us if we would like a massage which is ok the first few days but gets extremely annoying afterwards. This is a "spa" resort but u have to pay over around $100 for a massage.

#2- Room service. This is a fantastic option to have without paying any extra cost but they have a few hiccups. Firstly the food always arrived with part if not all of it cold. Secondly plates are left outside many rooms throughout day/night waiting for them to be collected sometimes for hours. One particular occasion we rang them to collect the plates they were still there the next morning and the birds had been at it during the night and made a mess which with the heat made a horrid smell. This is not what you come to expect from a 5 star resort.

#3- One day whilst we were in mexico there was a rain storm so my wife requested a umbrella which was meant to be in our room already. We were promised it would be delivered and never received the said umbrella.

#4- The staff tend to favor american tourists because of there tips. On a number of occasions we were at the pool bar waiting patiently for a american tourist to basically jump queue and get served before us. This may sound trivial but it gets extremely annoying constantly happening.

Now the better things.

#1- Restaurant were mostly fantastic treated my wife and I like royalty every time even more so if u tipped i may add!

#2- The rooms are fantastic we only had a standard room and it was beautiful so god only knows what the betters room would be like! The maids were brilliant we left her a few dollars throughout our trip and she made some amazing characters out of towels.

#3- Candlelight dinner on the beach was as you would expect lovely we both enjoyed ourselves the food and service was very much 5* ad is worth the $140 you pay for it.

Anyway enough of my complaints we both enjoyed ourselves alot but the few little niggles really made us feel like we should have had more from this resort. Our travel agent recommended taking our marriage certificate to get upgrades an none of this materialized.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

El dorado Royale is a wonderful relaxing resort. Great food at all the restaurants and excellent service. Your "personal" concierges are so friendly and helpful. We were in a newly updated room that was modern and always very clean. I would love to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweenz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were at the resort from 6/30/13-7/5/13. Everything was absolutely perfect! Thank you to our travel agent Jennifer Toren at www.Tripguy.com we had the perfect 1st anniversary! We were very hesitant to go to Mexico due to sicknesses and violence, but are so glad we did! The staff at the resort were all very friendly and we had absolutely no problem with the food, ice/water! The resort grounds are beautiful and overall very quiet. The rooms are very clean and updated! We stayed in building 8 which was a central location! We had a small pool right outside our room with the larger pool just a few steps a way! I highly recommend the resort and hope to be back in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We loved our 2 week holiday! Absolutely perfect! Service first class & food gourmet- delicious- so much on the menus to choose from 9 different restaurants. Would be a perfect hotel for honeymooners, also excellent spa packages! Pools, day beds, hammocks-just luxury!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the second time I've been to this resort. The first time was in April of 2011. We were there for a friends wedding and had a wonderful time. But, I have to say, this time was even better. The people are all very friendly, the service is prompt, food is wonderful and the concierge is spectacular. I went June of 2013 for a wedding as well. We had a larger group this go round, with 28 people. All the restaraunts are fantastic. Jojo's though, has the slowest service and servers are not as up to par as the rest of the facility, my one complaint. The Japanese food was probably the best. A few of my friends were staying in the Casitas suites and we went to the Italian restaraunt there along with the Bellini bar upstairs. Very very nice. One thing I will advise it be aware that meals are served tapas style, so don't be afraid to order appetizer, entree and dessert, etc. Also, it's more about enjoying the meal and the company so as per usual Mexican & South American style, meals are longer. The staff is really easy to get along with and they go out of their way to make sure you're having a wonderful time. The beds and pillows are heavenly! The rooms are nice and cold. I definitely recommend the chocolate martini's at the Martini bar in the main lobby and the apple hookah at the main entertainment stage. Best hidden treasures...8 am yoga and the tequila tasting by the pool!

Room Tip: Casitas suites are bigger and quieter, but close together. If you're there for the atmosphere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmedina2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,678 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,740 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing