We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,714)
Filter reviews
5,714 results
Traveler rating
2,913
1,584
586
339
292
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,913
1,584
586
339
292
Show reviews that mention
All reviews havana moon playa del carmen time share timeshare presentation beautiful resort green break blue fish grand bliss plunge pool rented a car sales pitch resort fee bedroom suite central lobby jade boutique shuttle service through rci
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 5,714 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2019

By far the best service and grounds hands down. Did i mention unmatched service? Cant stress that enough. The people of the Vidanta treat you as family and truly make you feel you are top priority. The food at restaurants are great and the room service is just as good if you wish to stay in the room enjoying your in room soaker tub. The drinks are not watered down like some think. They are mixed to perfection and are what you always dreamed a cocktail should be. I will be back with out a doubt and this place has a place in our heart forever. Thank you for everything. Till we meet again!

Room tip: The floor is slippery when wet... everywhere. Dont hurry and take your time. Enjoy the sights and sounds
Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank REXER88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2019

Stayed at Grand Luxx but used lots of facilities at a Grand Mayan. Pool was awesome. Jade store had nice supplies to take to our room. Ate at "the Gong". Great food. Pre Hispanic show was delightful and enjoyed ice cream tasting.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Trudy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019

Great convenient place IF you are in the first 6 buildings. I was in building 2. Beautiful pool areas and restaurants. Well maintained and enjoyed the walkways. The shuttle system was useful when we were tired of walking. Fun to walk though

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2019

Our stay here was amazing. The staff is so helpful and friendly. The only negative thing I would have to say is that the prices are a little high at the store, which is pretty much the only place to buy souvenirs. I would have liked to see a few more shops but other then that it was amazing. The Balche is the best restaurant on the resort. Excellent food and even better service!

Room tip: The room was amazing and the cleaning service was excellent
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cortney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2019

The Grand Mayan is part of a huge resort complex. The property is nice and seems pretty well maintained, although it's obviously not new.

If you are mobility challenged, it's probably not the place for you. There are shuttles to take you all over, or if you like walking nothing is more than 20 minutes away. We never had any issue getting where we needed to go. The staff were really helpful making sure you got the right shuttle for your destination.

We've been to a couple all-inclusive (AKA all you can drink!) resorts in the past, and this was a welcome change. You pay for everything a la carte via room charge, but the quality is better and you only pay for what you need. Prices are a higher than one might expect for Mexico, but not outrageous.

The food in all the restaurants was very good for adults, less so for the picky kids. The buffet at Del Lago was good for breakfast; we went once for dinner and weren't so impressed. We only used room service once, to get a pizza. It took over 1 1/4 hours to arrive and it wasn't overly hot.

We did go to the extra-cost Thursday night "Mexican Fiesta" buffet and show. This was definitely **not** the highlight of the trip for us. Seems that you need to arrive early: we arrived on time, with a reservation, and they were unable to seat our family together! So, we wound up eating at a table with no stage view, and the kids struggled to find something they liked to eat. After complaining, they did find us a table for the show where we could see about 1/2 of the stage. Won't do that again.

The suites - but not the basic rooms - come with basic kitchens (no oven) . Being able to cook for yourselves if you want to was a plus for us. There is a small grocery section in the "Jade" boutique, or it's a 100 peso pp (each way) shuttle ride into town for a Walmart run.

The pools are great, and plentiful and the wait-staff friendly and attentive. Caveat: this was in November, not quite yet in High Season, can't say what it might be like when things are busier.

The Jungala water park (extra cost) was great for the kids, with zero lineups on an overcast day in November, your mileage may vary. Will return there!

The only downside, and it's the same everywhere in Mexico, is the timeshare sales aspect. If you agree to go to the "presentation" you get a free breakfast and a10% discount on your total bill. The presentation is supposed to be "only an hour long". You can guess where this is going!

Overall an enjoyable experience. We will return in March!

Room tip: Rooms on the third floor on the side away from the road are quietest.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews