We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could move here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2009

I've been to the Grand Mayan twice now, and am booked to return in April 2010. I am completely in love with this place. The staff has been very friendly both times I've visited and has taken care of our needs satisfactorily. If you love pools, this place is for you. There are so many connected pool areas on about three different levels including the private pool only open to Grand Mayan guests and the newest pool by the lobby, that you could swim all day and not get bored of the surroundings. Of course there are also the swim up bars with two for one specials daily. And the waters are kept very clean. We had a master suite both stays so far which included hot tubs in both bedrooms, a spacious living room, a more than adequate kitchen if you want to cook and a nice mini pool out on the patio. I call it a mini pool because it wasn't heated, so if your patio were in the shade, it was often a little cool. Still nice though. The hotels were all open during our stay in February and all offered great food. Don't forget to visit the two crocodile havens on the property. They're kept fenced in, but still very interesting to look at. The pink flamingo hut was also a great attraction to visit while on site. Although there isn't a great night life on the resort at night, there were several activities for kids in the evenings, including movie nights. Cancun and Playa del Carmen were close enough for the older generations to visit for the great night life they both offered. The beach is well kept although the waterline is fairly rocky under the water. But of course, you have so many pool areas to choose from that this is only a minor inconvenience. Come and relax. You won't want to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texasboy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,794)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,763 - 2,769 of 3,794 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2009

We just got back from vacationing a week at the Grand Mayan Riviera in Cancun Mex.
We had a two bedroom, which was excellent as we had our daughter with us (25 yrs old) and her boyfriend (who slept on the couch). The rooms were beautiful and sort of clean. When I washed the kitchen counter the towel was turned black. Sure didn't look dirty! The floor was in the same condition as I had to wipe up some water and to my shock it to was filthy ! So I am not so sure on the cleanness of the place. However that wasn't the worst of it. The rooms as beautiful as they are SMELL/ REEK OF MOLD. We had people in there changing the filters, spraying, we ourselves used 5 cans of Lysol, by the end of our stay the room was starting to smell OKAY I guess. I am extremely allergic to mold and if a person is paying $1,299.00 a night I don't believe it should smell. The pools and grounds are magnificent, the restaurants were middle of the road, the prices we good for a resort that is! The beach is beautiful with white sand however not for swimming as it is rocky. The people are extremely friendly and very accommodating. if they just could get rid of the mold smell I would rate it one of the best we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16benny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

The pools and cabanas were our favorite part of the resort. Ask for building 1 or 2 if you want to be closest to pools and restaurants. Oct. was an excellent time to vacation there, not busy, the temperature was around 90 and sunny every day. Bring some bugspray too, we got pretty bitten.
We were having an excellent time for the first 3 days of our trip until the maid stole our credit card, cash and cell phone. From there on, the trip definitely went downhill. We were never told there was a safe in the room (obviously did not expect someone to steal our belongings!) but there is one hidden under the TV. If staying the this resort, we would recommend **USING THE SAFE**
When we first arrived at the resort, we looked for a safe, but couldn’t find one. We hid all our belongings in nightstand drawer and closet, obviously under the assumption that no one would be going through our stuff!
After finding our stuff missing, we filed a report with the security supervisor, and not much was done regarding the incident. We thought our situation would be handled in a more professional manner. After the security supervisor scanned our key card, we were stunned to find as many as 6 different staff members coming through our room on separate occasions. There is no reason that many people should be going through our room throughout the day. No wonder our stuff got stolen, with all the people allowed in our room, its hard to keep track of all them!
Anyway, after our key card was read, we got locked out of our room from 11pm-2am. For some reason the key card reader deactivated our door and NO ONE could get in. They couldn’t even get the master key to work! We had to wait for them to call the maintenance guy in Playa Del Carmen and get him a taxi to come fix the door. So finally at 2pm, after having our stuff stolen, and getting locked out of our room, we got to go back in!
Needless to say, the last 3 days of our trip were ruined. We had a trip planned to Cozumel and Isla Mujeres we had to cancel because we had no cell phone and did not feel safe leaving the resort. Honestly from that point on, we didn't really feel safe at the resort either.
Our bad luck continued when we got pulled over in our rental car, on the way to the airport at 4am…for absolutely no reason. We had to pay off the cops in order to get our license back. They said it was going to be $120, but we gave them $40, since when can you negotiate a ticket? The cops did not speak one word of English, miraculously, until it was time to talk about money.

Such a corrupt country, we have absolutely no desire to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Amy12386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I went by ourselves the last week of September/11st week of October. It was only the two of us because another couple who had planned to go with us had backed out. We are Wyndham owners, so we only paid a $150 RCI exchange fee for seven nights in a VERY spacious and well-appointed room. We had both bedrooms and the central living area that essentially had a full kitchen available.
Every room has a cold water plunge pool on the balcony. The lower the building number, the closer you are to the pools, beach, and restaurants. Avoid staying in any building 7 and up, as you will need the local golf cart shuttle to get around.
The only two negatives were 1) the beach is pretty much all rock – if you have snorkel gear there are a couple of sandy paths in the water that allow you to get into deep enough water to actually swim. (A recent hurricane is the reason all the sand is gone). 2) There are no ocean views, however we moved to the third floor in Building 3 and you could see beautiful jungle as well as the water in the distance.
The service was impeccable and our room was always kept extremely clean.
The restaurants were fairly expensive but very good. Unfortunately Havana Moon was closed for the season.
September is in the midst of low season; this, coupled with the economic conditions meant that all of the Cancun/Playa del Carmen area was slow – this was great because we never had a problem moving rooms or waiting at restaurants.
We elected not to get a rental car – the insurance costs as much as the rental – and we were fine.
About time share presentations – We attended the one at the Royal Mayan, got a free breakfast (really nice breakfast at Del Lago), 10% off our room bill (including everything charged to it) and two 50 minute massages that were excellent and were done in one of the nicest facilities we have seen. We also went to another time share presentation at another resort – we were shuttled there and back for free, got another very nice free breakfast, were allowed to use that resorts all-inclusive benefits (drinks, one of 5 restaurants to eat) until 11:00pm that night. We were even given a room to shower and change in. We also were given vouchers good for $150 worth of tours, so we went on an all-day snorkeling tour the next where we were also fed. The third timeshare presentation gave us free transportation and 1500 pesos ($135) for about two hours of presentation. Bottom line is we gave up about 6-7 hours worth of our time to get all of these perks – you just need to stand firm and say no to fairly pushy salesmen.
For seven nights our total bill (not including air, which was only about $500 total for a direct flight from Cleveland, and the exchange fee) was about $800, so we paid $135 toward the bill with the pesos we were given from the time share presentation.
There were plenty of opportunities to go to nice beaches – would recommend Tulum area as these were some of the best Caribbean beaches we have seen.

To summarize – world class accommodations and service, but the beaches need repaired.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OHTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We were overwhelmed by how beautiful resort was. The level of service was excellent. We stayed at a near bldg. as a result of other trip advisors and that was a plus as the resrt was mammoth. Thought the food was great and not really too expensive.
Disliked the pressure from the timeshare sales. It should not have been done on the first day as we might have bought. Thought the RCI timeshare rule, every five years, is dumb. If we had another chance we might purchase.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanwSandsPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Just spent 2 weeks here with my hubby and our friends. Beautiful place, very well maintained. We were in building 5, and the walk to the pools, etc. was perfect. Our room was lovely; we had a 2 bedroom suite. Very spacious. Soaking tub on deck came in really handy in the early evening after a hot day. The rooms are extremely clean. Maid service was really good, 2X daily. I've read some complaints about the pools not being clean, etc. They were always in good shape. The spa is wonderful, had a massage and used the steam room. Very well done. Several restaurants were closed, I suppose because business is down. We went to Tramanto, the Asian one, and Frida's. All were very good. Fiesta buffet was also wonderful, with very traditional things to try. Speaker system for the show was bad, but still fun to watch. We traveled by taxi, as it cost us less than the shuttle with 4 sharing the fare. We actually found a fellow we liked a lot, Mariano, and he took us to Chichen Itza one day. $220 for 12 hours, and many miles! We stopped whenever we wanted.
We were very impressed with the Grand Mayan, and look forward to seeing the others. Especially the one they are building in Rio!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariomama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed two weeks at the Grand Mayan and had a wonderful time. The room was clean and very roomy. We had a two bedroom unit we shared with friends. Both bedrooms have a soaking tub and king size beds. There's a small pool on the deck we enjoyed in the early evening to cool off after a hot day of sightseeing. The pools were clean and huge. The last day we were there they had to close the pool closest to the lobby for maintenance. The restaurants were delicious. We ate at both the Italian and Chinese restaurants as well as the pool side Mexican called Frida. I highly recommend the hotel. The staff was great too.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,092 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
4.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Tres Rios
Hacienda Tres Rios
#66 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,448 reviews
5.8 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,991 reviews
3.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $200 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am offering suites at The Vidanta Grand Mayan Riviera Maya resort, located on the Yucatan Peninsula. This resort has everything you could ever need to experience true happiness: JOYA, a resident Cirque du Soleil show; five luxury resort hotels; world-class restaurants; spectacular pools; shopping boutiques; a Jack Nicklaus golf course; indulgent spas and the most attentive staff in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing