We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We just got back from an 8 day Grand Mayan vacation. The property/resort is the best that we have ever stayed at. From the hotel staff, waiters/waitresses, to the grounds keepers, everyone was exceptionally pleasant and helpful.
One small drawback is that the resort is huge and you should be prepared to do a lot of walking. There are many walkways around the property and quite a few buildings. For the first couple of days we found it difficult to navigate the property; the signage was not as clear as it could have been.
We met other couples while at the Mayan and we all felt that the property could use a casual, centralized, bar area where you could meet friends, have drinks and appetizers/snacks during the early evenings, or later, after you have had dinner in one of the many great restaurants.
It is only because of these 2 small points that I did not issue a 5 star. However, I would definitely give it a 4++++!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Chris H:

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options and thank you for your kind comment about the staff.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.


Happily,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,781
    1,178
    399
    221
    180
See reviews for
1,616
1,258
38
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our party of 6 just returned from our stay at the Grand Mayan. We had a 2-bedroom unit. The resort is paradise and the friendly staff have obviously been well trained to offer exceptional service. We loved the various restaurants which were pretty reasonably priced for a resort of this caliber. What a great vacation!! Don't hesitate to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happytravler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Happytravler35 :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Mayan. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our food options and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!


Happily,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was our 2nd trip to this property. Our 1st stay was at the Grand Luxxe which I would highly recommend. There are multiple hotels sharing this property. The Grand Mayan rooms are smaller & a bit dated in comparison to the Grand Luxxe. We had a double room suite that accommodated 4 adults. Each bedroom had it's own full bathroom. While we were there, they changed out all the mattresses. The rooms/beds were comfortable but the living room furniture was very uncomfortable & really needed to be updated/changed out. We had a small kitchen that we used every day to make breakfast. It was tight but did the job we needed it to do. This property is very large & spread out. The views are beautiful - the landscaping is really lovely. We didn't have any restrictions on pools & we used every one of them except for the Grand Luxxe pool. Since it was spring break while we were there, all the properties were at capacity. We still had great service while at the pool or at one of the restaurants & because of the size of the property, it didn't seem packed at all. The food & drinks are very expensive at this property. The spa is really good & the massages are excellent. We took a cab to Playa del Carmen & went shopping for groceries at WalMart which is cheaper than buying the limited groceries on site. Be sure to bring sunscreen or plan on buying some in town. If not, plan on spending $20 plus on a bottle at the resort. Very expensive to vacation here. Pricing reminds me of Disney World but the food quality here is better. The beach front is rocky but while we were there, they had started removing the rocks for easier access to the water. Rocks or no rocks, the water was wonderful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the highest floor. Since the floors are all tile, sound is very loud at this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Christine D :

Thank you so much for choosing The Grand Mayan for your vacation and for sharing your review about your stay. We are delighted to find out that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We are happy as well that you liked our pools, food options and spa services.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.


We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed at the Grand Mayan for the second week of a two week holiday (first week in Cancun). $30 taxi fare from airport which I pre-booked with Cancun Cabs. Excellent service with driver waiting for us as we left the airport. Room not ready at check-in so we had a wander around for an hour or so. If you've read other reviews on here you will have no doubt realised by now that this resort is HUGE! It actually comprised four separate resorts - Grand Mayan, Mayan Palace, Grand Luxxe and Grand Bliss. It is 1.2km from the entrance gate to reception!
We were located in Building 8 which was some distance from reception. The room was great with a large bath in the bedroom and a plunge pool on the balcony. Restaurants served excellent food and the prices were average. Only gripe was internet access - who charges for internet access in 2014? I could get free internet access standing on a street corner in Playa del Carmen but have to pay for it in a 5 star resort! Come on Grand Mayan, sort this out!!!
Landscaping at the resort is exceptional and very well maintained. The staff working here are unbelievable - very friendly and always eager to help. This is a cashless resort and everything is charged to the room. My bill was correct at the time of checkout.
Overall, I found this resort exceptional and would not hesitate to recommend it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Nigel H :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at The Grand Mayan. We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff, as they are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing service excellence. It is pleasing to learn that you also enjoyed the breathtaking landscape and our food options.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We bought the Grand Mayan in 2007 and have not been back, traveling elsewhere. We were pleasantly surprised how this resort has improved. Huge lush grounds, great staff, lots to do, still building and adding new features.

Pros: $30 cab ride to resort if you don't want to wait on the shuttle. Worth it! Arrived at 1pm and room was ready. Emailed concierge 1 wk prior to make requests such as early check in, high floor, close to pool, extra pads on beds. All done, great!
They have wrist bands that function as door keys. Loved this, easy for children. No more keeping track of door keys. We felt more secure.
No cash system here. All charges go on the room. Bill was correct at check out. Some have said this place is expensive but I felt I got what I paid for. Food and drinks all excellent. Price includes taxes and the tip. So when this is taken into account the prices were comparable to other resorts. 15% discount coupons given at front deck for Blue Fin and Greenbreak restaurants if you ask for them.
I have seen the reviews criticizing beach surf area. They are working on fixing it and the beach itself is gorgeous. Great palapas, chairs, games for both kids and adults. It has it all toys. Great pool staff at the Grand Mayan pool. Shout to Caroline(activities) Santos and Luis(bar/server staff). Thanks!

Cons: Not many. Very large resort so getting around can take a little time. Seemed to be lots of shuttles. Parking lots are very full and dirty due to unpaved surfaces. Not enough concierges to take care of requests at front desk. Internet access is $75 per week for each device. Come on management that's not right!

Overall, we are excited to visit again. Sooner this time! We would recommend this resort.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Anesthesia-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Anesthesia-man :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food, drinks, grounds and We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

We take great pride in creating incredible vacations and after receiving your remarks, it is great to confirm we have succeeded in doing so for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue making your stays memorable!


Happily,

The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

While this facility is very clean with attentive staff, we were disappointed and would not recommend, nor return. Our stay is for 2 weeks.

Our stay here is an exchange from our home resort, Pueblo Bonito Emerald Estates (Mazatlan).

Rooms: We have a 1 bedroom suite w/a kitchenette. Overall, very clean and modern.
The bathroom has private door for the toilet, so still a little privacy if multiple users at once. No ventilation/fans, so between hot showers and the blow dryer, gets pretty toasty.
Kitchenette was not that great. Sink - hot water takes forever, many dishes, but few cooking utensils and cookware. Also has a toaster, coffee maker and blender. The fridge is quite small, we did not use the freezer – but it’s about the size of 2 loafs of bread – probably good only for blue ice packs if you bring them.
Bed is firm, so I’m very happy with that!
There is an outdoor pool on the deck – looks more like a spa (small square) but there is no heater. We did not use it.
Wi-fi came w/our trade, but I don’t believe regular guests get it for free. Doesn’t really matter, it was so slow – just good enough for email and a few texts. Don’t plan on any sling device to watch movies – too slow. Bring a DVD player & your own movies.

Grounds: beautiful and jungle like – have to admit, have seen very few bugs! While we are at The Grand Mayan, the grounds are shared w/5 other sister resorts. It appears that the pool on The Grand Mayan grounds are shared w/at least 2 of them, not sure about the others (you don’t get a full map – only your area).
Pool is ‘allegedly’ the largest in the world – it’s a very beautiful w/lots of plants/trees/palapas. Water is clean, not murky at all. Very roomy, even here during Holy Week, it didn’t appear crowded, simply by the layout. The Grand Mayan has it’s own pool area (must have proper wristband) – we’ve walked in & by, but have not partaken yet – looks nice as it overlooks the pond.
Beach is not great – it is mostly coral/rock, so be sure to bring your water shoes. We understand the devastation from the hurricane, but that was over 5 years ago.
Facility has some construction going on during the evenings. We all know it needs to be done, but if it isn’t bad enough that there are no direct routes to get around, you know have to walk even further to get ‘home.’ Sections of the pool are blocked off – the one you see on the website – again, very frustrating.

Layout: very poor, we are nowhere near the pool or beach – and it’s not just our room/building, there are no ocean-view rooms. There are shuttles that can take you around, but you have to wait for the proper colored flag/shuttle for certain destinations. I will say, the staff have been outstanding, and often if you are walking (because you got tired of waiting) someone will pick you up, whether it is their job or not.
There is no direct route anywhere and signage is poor, both on buildings and routes to take. If walking is difficult or you are in a wheelchair, I would not choose this resort.

Food: ridiculous! $14 for a hotdog. $14 for a small mixed drink (mudslide, daiquiri etc.) with little if any alcohol. I know I’m on vacation, and I do expect to pay a higher price, but we’re priced out. We have been to Del Lago, Havana Moon, Greenbreak/Taco’s Break. Very pricey, but very good food.
Pool/beachside food is inedible and the same crazy prices. The service is even worse. You have to hunt down someone to bring you a menu. The food is brought in disposable containers that you must toss, they don’t provide that ‘service’. You are better off taking the shuttle downtown and getting better and lower priced food.

Location: terrible! Even if you had the energy to walk off the premises (it’s a hike), you’re in the middle of nowhere – downtown is about 25 mins away. There is a taxi service that will take you to Playa del Carmen: $5 (pesos or USD/per person, each way. The schedule works pretty well, but the drop off locations (downtown) change every 15 days – so be sure to check w/the concierge early on your stay to make sure you are up to speed.

Up to this point, we have not been huge fans of all-inclusives, simply because we are not huge drinkers or eaters and it has always seemed not cost-effective for us. After this experience, we will give it a go at any other location.

Room Tip: Bldgs 1 & 2 at Mayan Palace seem to have the best location for pool, beach and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohanaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at The Mayan Palace eight years ago, bought a timeshare and were upgraded to Grand Mayan status and recently stayed at The Bliss at this report (see separate review). Before you go to any Grupo Vidanta property in Mexico, consider these tips base don oru personal experience:

TOP 10 TIMESHARE TIPS: if you go to a presentation as a guest, expect to spend 2 hours and the minimum ‘reward’ should be a P1500 resort credit and 10% off your entire bill. Based on our experience with this company (Grupo Vidanta, previously Grupo Mayan), be aware of the following before you sign anything: 1. Check out eBay to see what the ‘market value’ is for the timeshare you are considering 2. Do not count on rentals to offset your costs; many rental programs require high fixed charges, admin fees, do not guarantee results or take weeks to settle their payment to you. 3. Determine how long you think you will use your timeshare and how many weeks per year you really need. ‘Free’ weeks are of no value if you never use them. Our contract has a nasty renewal clause whereby every 25-yr renewal involves a 5 times maintenance fee charge. Step 1 should convince you that the equity value is minimal. 4. Insist on ‘no mandatory maintenance fees’/only upon use. This should be non-negotiable. 5. Negotiate some freebies e.g. spa/gym use, discounted golf, 2:1 massages, no maintenance fees after age 77, etc. 6. Take your own notes throughout the discussion – notes/illustrations the salesperson uses usually mysteriously ‘disappear’ and cannot be referred to. If you already have a contract at a timeshare, bring a copy with you. 7. Make sure the unit you are buying actually exist in all locations and check their location – are they near the beach if that’s important to you, for example? 8. Read your contract and all addendums carefully before you leave the sales office. Make sure they match to your understanding of the deal. 9. Make sure you include all closing costs in your calculation (typically $3K +). Confirm the payment schedule. No/low-cost financing is usually negotiable. 10. You will not be permitted to ‘think about it’ but you do have five business days to walk away under Mexican law and you will likely be offered a sweetened deal to save the deal. If you cancel, you will lose the (typical) 2.5% foreign exchange fee charged by your credit card company on your refund.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
149 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,984 reviews
4.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,880 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Tres Rios
Hacienda Tres Rios
#64 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,352 reviews
10.9 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
871 reviews
22.8 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
21,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Property: The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am offering suites at The Vidanta Grand Mayan Riviera Maya resort, located on the Yucatan Peninsula. This resort has everything you could ever need to experience true happiness: JOYA, a resident Cirque du Soleil show; five luxury resort hotels; world-class restaurants; spectacular pools; shopping boutiques; a Jack Nicklaus golf course; indulgent spas and the most attentive staff in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing