We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Mayan bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I'll start by pointing out that this resort is 30 minutes south of Cancun and 10 minutes away from Playa El Carmen. We fell in love with the place 4 years ago and have been there 4 times already. Our sons love the place as well, and look forward to go back again.
We already own a couple of timeshares, so the first thing we asked the receptionist was to warn all sales people not to call us or even try to contact us. We did get a couple of early calls (800 a.m.! ) twice and politely asked the caller not to call at all. Simple. We were never bothered again.

So, focusing on the hotel: there is a lot of walking, which we absolutely enjoy - because the paths are lush with vegetation, flowers, exotic birds and even crocodiles swimming in a pond. Of course, if you don't like walking you can always take the golf cart that goes around the complex every 15 minutes or so.

There are many pools scattered all over, in different locations to suit everyone's choice, including a bar in the largest one. Waiters come and go all the time, eager to take your order and they also have Happy Hours offering two drinks for the price of one. The waiters are very polite and friendly, and the food is simply delicious. The beach is not very user friendly, it's loaded with rocks, but just sitting by the sand next to the ocean is very relaxing.

We usually take the full apartment with 2 bedrooms, and have always found the beds to be very comfortable. The place is always clean, the kitchen is very useful and perhaps the only thing is that you need to wash the dishes yourself - there is no dishwasher. Since we never take the all inclusive plans, we are free to either have breakfast at the apartment, or at any restaurant at the hotel that offers breakfast. We have also gone early to Playa El Carmen or Puerto Morelos to have "typical breakfasts" at the low-end local eateries. It's really worth it.

The restaurants at the Grand Mayan are a bit pricey, but the attention and the food are quite good. They have shows every night, and you can also dance between shows. The best part is after dinner: just walking around the hotel under the starry skies is breathtaking!

We always rent a vehicle, in order to explore around. We usually go to Walmart at Playa El Carmen to stock up on food and drinks early on. Exploring the famous Calle 5 is quite interesting. You will find all kinds of restaurants and shops, and of course, many street vendors offering typical crafts and arts. Parking your car near Calle 5 is a bit tricky, but if you arrive before 6:00 p.m. you might find a spot. Be prepared when you walk, you will be approached by all kinds of vendors, some quite aggressive. We also recommend visiting a cozy little town called Puerto Morelos - especially Los Pelicanos restaurant, around dusk time.

I have to say that initially we were dragged to one of the "presentations" and had a hard time saying No 'till the end. If you stand your ground politely but firmly, the vendors that approach you will generally get the message. Make sure you let them know from the start.

We plan to return later this year, last year we went twice. We simply love the Grand Mayan.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, and away from families with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank MayaBianca54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,539 - 2,545 of 3,952 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is a beautiful property especially the Grand Mayan portion. Staying in the Grand Mayan instead of the Mayan Palace allows you to use the tranquil and beautiful pool with secluded pool and whirlpool areas and palapas. Gorgeous! This is a timeshare place so be prepared but you don't have to buy, you get a nice little tour of parts you wouldn't normally see and you can always say "no". They are trying to sell their million dollar places so we saw those. The salesman knew we weren't buying but I enjoyed seeing these places and imagining staying there with a butler and beautiful ocean view. It was easy to say no though. :)

The restaurant options are varied and have terrific food that is not overpriced. It is not all inclusive which is just fine. We had all our meals and drinks at the resort and it was about the same price as an all inclusive with better quality. There are happy hour specials at the many pool bars during the day.

The spa is wonderful. We enjoyed a couples massage and got free facials. I love the secluded outdoor plunge pools. So relaxing.

There is a large shop with clothes, gifts, game room and internet area. I loved the deli and grocery store. We bought our breakfast in the deli and took it to the pool everyday. Then ordered lunch at the pool and had dinner at one of the restaurants at night. The Japanese restaurant had wonderful sushi.

This place is huge and great for getting away. We have been to Mexico many times and did not want to sight see, just relax. We stayed in one of the "regular" hotel rooms in building 1 next to the Grand Mayan pool. They do have suites but when I'm on vacation I don't want to cook; others may enjoy the large suites with full kitchens.

Room Tip: pay the money to stay in the Grand Mayan portion and be closer to the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kswis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Huge resort. Must stay close to main buildings/pools if you want to avoid waiting for shuttles to get around resort. Service is top-notch. If room service was requested, service typically arrived within minutes and a follow-up call was received to confirm everything was OK. Beautiful rooms. We rented a car to get around -- it is a big hassle to coordinate other transportation. On-site food, groceries, etc. are expensive. We went to Playa Del Carmen to load up on groceries.

Our kids got "hand, foot, mouth" disease from the swimming pools. Not sure if anything can be done about that. Pools are expansive and nice. Snorkling by pier good with water socks.

The timeshare sales crew are piranhas.

Room Tip: Stay at buildings close to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank __FunTraveler__Yes__
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Nice resort but steer clear of the sales staff. VERY rude and unprofessional... We were VERY disappointed in the way we were treated. The dishonesty and unprofessionalism of one sales person in particular, Tony R.

We actually considered buying here and were pleased with our sales contact, Carlo, until Tony R. came by and blew the whole deal. We have been through many resort ownership presentations and actually own several. Tony was very unprofessional and appeared to be putting on a show for the other staff. He embarrassed himself. and lost a potential sale. We will never return to this nice resort because of this experience. We have been coming to the Riviera Mayan area for 16 yrs and own several properties there.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spent two weeks in this motel, and actually it was our first in a Grand Mayan. Unfortunately, the buildings are all primarily located anywhere from 10 to 25 minutes from the beach and pools areas.

The rooms are very nice, but we found that they do not have dishwashers for the kitchens which we found to be "different" since most time shares that we have occupied "do" have them.

Ah, the time share "update"....we own at Grand Bliss and decided to do the "update" for 10% off food and beverage and discounted golf. We found out that all they wanted to do was sell us "up" into the Grand Luxxe, and to do this they told us that the Grand Bliss membership/properties were getting "delayed". There is only one currently in Nuevo Vallarta and there may not be anymore built so that they can focus on the Grand Luxxe. This displeased us greatly.

They kept hammering away at us even though we were owners there if you can believe it. Finally, after the third person, we were "allowed" to leave. And yes, we did get it confirmed later in our vacation that Grand Bliss is basically "there" and the prospect is to build a total of three properties maximum, but that's it.

Overall, for the location of this Grand Mayan, which is to me in "neverland"...not in Cancun, and not in Playa del Carmen; I wouldn't go back. We went to Playa two or three days out of our two weeks and loved the beach and the activity!! We have in fact traded this property for another in the Playa Car area of Playa del Carmen and look forward to going back and enjoying the beach in close proximity to the property and all of what Playa del Carmen has to offer.

Room Tip: Work to get in buildings 1 - 6. Granted the shuttles run pretty frequently to take you to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Huge hotel, the suits are great, very clean nice furniture, great staff. I have two kids, they enjoy the little train that takes you to the pool or parking lot, next year definitely We are going back.

Room Tip: Try not to stay next to a room with small childrens, the wall are very thin and you can hear everith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank LeonGutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

we had a 2 bdrm and 1 bdrm condo in building #7. we requested for them to be beside each other and we recieved this.this building ia grat loacation to the pools and beach. the rooms were great with tons of sleeping options. the beds are hard and what we did is unmade the bed and took the foam matresses from under the couches and put two of them together and remade the bed....perfect like pillowtop.
we took a shutttle into playa del carmen and got some groceries and alcohol...in the room info it says that you are not allowed to bring coolers down to the pools but we just used a soft cooler which looked like a bag and still bought some drinks from the bar and no one ever said anything...good money saver if you drink beer
the beach is rocky but if you walk for 15 mins or so south there are some awesome beaches with great waves that we had a blast in
probably the single best thing about this resort that i have never come across at all the others i haver been to is that the pools are so warm...even though i am canadain and can handle cold water i dont come to mexico to freeze in the pools. there also is no shortage of places to sit as the pool area is huge...another point of the pools are they are open 24/7....kids liked that
for a family of four who ate out 8-10 times bought a bit of clothes and had 4-5 drinks at the pool each day we spent about $1400...as this was an exchange it was pretty good versus what you would pay for the all inclusive
i would return there in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigKonechny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,390 reviews
5 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya by Artisan - All Inclusive - Adults Only
2.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
3,379 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $200 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am offering suites at The Vidanta Grand Mayan Riviera Maya resort, located on the Yucatan Peninsula. This resort has everything you could ever need to experience true happiness: JOYA, a resident Cirque du Soleil show; five luxury resort hotels; world-class restaurants; spectacular pools; shopping boutiques; a Jack Nicklaus golf course; indulgent spas and the most attentive staff in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing