We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a review of the Grand Luxxe, Riviera Maya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Saline, MI
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“This is a review of the Grand Luxxe, Riviera Maya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

For some reason I cannot post a review for the Grand Luxxe portion of the resort, so I have to use the Grand Mayan site. My husband and I just returned from an awesome vacation at the Grand Luxxe at Riviera Maya. The suites are stunning, the GL exclusive pool and restaurant (Burger CustomMade) outstanding. The staff is very attentive and tries to anticipate all your needs. The pool is close to the beach but built into jungle like foliage and has wild life all around. At this point the beach is not swimable but plans are in the works to change that. When exactly, we don't know.

All the restaurants at the resort (Mayan Palace, Grand Mayan) are (in our opinion) outstanding. The food is great and there is lots of it, so my husband and I often split a salad or a pizza or even a main dish. That is no problem at all.

If you desire Spa services, please consider them because the staff and the treatments are wonderful. Not inexpensive!!!! Nothing at that resort is inexpensive, but also nothing is outrageously priced.

My husband was able to scuba dive 5 days out of our week (no scuba on Sundays) and saw wonderful fish life in the near by reefs. A dive shack being on the property makes it very convenient to do so.

I would be happy to try to answer all questions that you might have concerning this resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Beachlover888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,683
    1,127
    383
    201
    172
See reviews for
1,510
1,204
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,099)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed at Grand Mayan the week of July 8-15, 2011 and had a fantastic, relaxing week. Located about 20 minutes north of Playa del Carmen and about 40 minutes south of the Cancun airport in a more laid back area of the Riviera Maya compared to hotel row in Cancun.

As mentioned in the other reviews this is a large resort with golf course and also includes the Mayan Palace resort as well. There are 13, three story buildings for GM with buildings 1-7 being closer and a 2-10 minute walk to the pools, beach, restaurants. The back buildings are much farther away and can be walked to or golf carts-small trams will take you to lobby in a timely fashion.

This was an RCI exchange for us and they typically will place you at the back of the property. Don't pay attention (or take the tour) to the time share sales people and you will be fine. We were at first placed in Bldg 12 but having read the reviews here requested a closer building and were thankfully relocated to Bldg 4 (THANK YOU Jasmine @ front desk)! It made a huge differance to be closer to the amenities and on the 1st floor.

We have done a lot of world wide traveling and have to say that the GM is very well run-managed and all staff are very friendly and well trained to make your stay wonderful. GM is a no cash (CC on file) self contained resort with numerous casual and formal restaurants including room service. All charges were correct which was impressive given how hard the 4 of us hit the swim up pool bars (thanks Rene & Umberto!), room service, etc. Meals are somewhat pricey but not unreasonable.

The rooms are large and nicely decorated (rooms have kitchens and are stocked), grounds-landscaping and pool areas are amazing (see photos). Those that stay at GM have exclusive use of the Sanctuary Pool which is more private and laid back and much nicer than the main pool areas next to beach. The beach has sand areas & palm trees but water shoes are needed to swim in the ocean.

Room Tip: Bldgs 1-5 closest to pools & beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank altatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

The place is beautiful but it is way too expensive. The internet is $95.00 a week us!! I signed up thinking surely that meant pesos, no and not to mention we tried to sign in with another computer and yet we didn't use it, they actuallly tried to charge us almost 200 us for internet on our check out. We went t buy a bag of chips it was 8.00 US! We came to enjoy our vacation we never knew it would cost this much. The mosquitos were the size of golf balls so please bring your ointment.
If you can avoid it at all possible, do not go to the timeshare sale presentations. I won't go any further in this regard google it for yourself!

We ended up leaving 9after having our entire room paid for for the week) we left mid week b/c we wanted to enjoy our vacation.
Oh if you are not a Grupo Mayan owner you must pay $10 a day to work out.
If possible please try to avoid if you are looking for an enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhapsody1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

I went with my husband, two daughters (ages 1 1/2 and 6 1/2 and mother-in-law) We stayed in the two bedroom suite with two bathrooms. It was just perfect. The suite was wonderful with a partial kitchen. This especially helped with the girls (we bought food at the Walmart in town for many of their meals). My older daughter liked the splash pool on our balcony, but there were so many other pools that we sat in a different location everyday! We loved using the little huts by the pool. Since May is the off season, they were first come first served and free! We especially loved the ones that were private to the Grand Mayan. We decided not to rent a car and were glad we did that. We took turns going into town to shop and look around while someone stayed back with the girls. (They have a shuttle that goes about every 2 hours for about $3.50 a person x2) It's extremely hot, so we ended up not doing any excursions, especially with the girls - we'll have to wait until they get older. We loved Blue Fish and Havana Moon. They have entertainment certain nights and we all LOVED the coconut shrimp. I've never seen such huge prawns. They even had kids eat free at this time of year, so both the girls got a free pizza. Blue Fish had delicious fish tacos and nachos. My daughter loved their cheese quesedilla. Overall we had a wonderful time. Before we went I went through all the tips here on trip advisor and it helped me a lot. The place is beautiful! We stayed in building 6 and loved our little walk everywhere. We would not have wanted "the jungle" though - quite a bit farther in the heat. They didn't have many kids activities since it was off season.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoTallgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Grand Mayan was great, here are some tips that would have been helpful. Be sure to ask for buildings 1-5. These are not so far and a short beautiful walk to the pools and El Lagro the buffet. At 8 every night there is a show at El Lagro, you do not have to eat there to watch the show. The show was amazing and on Tuesdays they have a Disney themed night for the kids. The average dinner for 2 is around 750 Pesos. The buffet ran us $33.00 per person and Frida's was really good, but I would recommend that breakfast be at there little coffee shop at the Jade Boutique. A breakfast sandwich will run you around $9.00 dollars a person, or room service. Cheaper than $24.00 per person at the buffet.
The pools are really nice, but take the towels from your room and then just take them back. The towel place is super far from some of the pools.
If you have scheduled excursions outside the hotel with another company, you have to meet them outside the resort on the road. We did two excursions and there were many people waiting, it is a 10-15 minute walk from the resort to the road or a $3.00 cab ride, your choice.
We did not opt for the timeshare presentation b/c the 1.5 hours they promise we heard from numerous people it was 6 hours long.
We puchased for 80 something dollars the Chichen Itza trip. I would highly recommend that you purchase it outside of your resort. We had a tour bus of people, with 2.5 hours there and two long stops, so people could use restroom and shop. Also, the tour bus was freazing cold going and coming. We got 90 Minutes to visit the ruins. We then went to eat at some restaurant (not very good and drinks were 3 dollars a piece for water and a coke), we then stopped at a Cenote where several other tour buses were and it was so crowded that many people did not swim, including myself. Then another 2.5 hours back to the hotel. I would recommend to pay the money and get a smaller tour with less people and more time at Chichen Itza.
We did meet an amazing Cab Driver who took us multiple days around and was very reasonable and a wonderful person. His Name was Miguel, Cab 843, you can ask the front desk to look for his number as they wrote it down and we also called him ourselves, he spent the last day from 11:00 till 5:00 with us and only charged $90 dollars. He drove us past Akumal and back. He also met us at our building the day we were leaving to take us to the airport and only charged $34.00, a transport is usually $25.00 a person. Amazing. I will be posting his number for anyone who would like to use his services. Just call him the day before, as he has lots of people who are return customers.
The one-bedroom suite was beautiful, but the furniture is so hard, the bed is like a brick as all the furniture is.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank jessieg505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

My family owns at The Grand Mayan so we stay at one oftheir properties at least twice a year. I must say that The Grand Mayan, Riviera Maya is my absolute favorite. The pool area is enormous, so there is never any lounge chair wars. The staff is very friendly and service around the resort is awesome.

Unless you have to take the tour and are seriously interested in purchasing a timeshare, skip the presentation and spend your time on one of the many excursions in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Feelinbeachy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at TGM mid-June to early July, 2011. Our large family was placed in three 2-bedroom units in buildings 5 and 6, fairly close to each other. There was a total of 7 adults and 5 young children in our group; the oldest child was 7.
The units are very spacious, and when children wanted to spend the night in our unit, there were 3 available trundle beds for them (6 twin sized mattresses). Each bedroom had a king sized bed, and the bathrooms were very spacious, with double sinks and large tubs, one with jets. The living room was a comfortable size, and the kitchen was compact, but fine for us. A refrigerator (medium-sized) , microwave, coffee maker, toaster and blender were all available. The beds were firm, but very comfortable for all of us. The large pillows were too firm, so we used the smaller pillows (regular-sized), stored under the t.v. console in the living room, and they were comfortable.
The cooling pool on the patio was used several times, especially when it was raining hard outside.
We ate in most of the restaurants. Green Break had delicious breakfast food, and the Balche Grill (Frida's at night) was also excellent. There were many menu items to please both adults and children, from pizzas, hot dogs and quesadillas to delicious pulled pork, cooked over a wood fire. The wait staffs were very attentive and accommodating to all our needs.
We also ate dinner at Havana Moon, down at the beach, one night (also excellent food), and took the kids there for dessert and dancing another night (after 8:00 P.M.)
Our final lunch was at the cafe in the health gym and the food was excellent here, also. We had fresh, large salads, "wraps" and smoothies. We wished we had found it earlier in our stay.
We loved the beach! It does have coral at the entrance to the ocean, but there were a couple of large pools in the coral, and the children busied themselves with finding sea stars, snails, clams, etc., as well as small fish.
We also loved the swimming pools. There was never a shortage of chairs or beds. We sat in a different location every day, and especially liked the "shade pool" when the weather was very hot.
Happy Hour was from 11:00 to 1:00 every day, and the waiters came around to serve everyone. The children were able to order virgin drinks 2-for 1 also.
We also ate breakfast and lunch inside our unit on some
days with food we purchased from Wal Mart in Playa. We also ordered pizza from "Room Service" twice. The price was the same, and we loved the pizzas!
None of us were ever asked to take a tour or go to a timeshare presentation during the two weeks we were there.
We rented a car in Cancun, but would rent it at the resort next time because we found there were days when we preferred just staying at the resort.
We traveled, on different days, to Cozumel, Playa del Carmen, Coba, Tulum and Akumal. We had been to the Yucatan before, but it had been a while since our last visit.
We went on the Hummer Tour, arranged by the concierge in the lobby, and found the concierge to be very efficient and helpful. They also checked us into our airline flights the day before we left.
There are crocodiles and flamingos on the grounds at the resort, and we enjoyed visiting them many times.
The staff at TGM is very friendly and would greet us each time we passed. Twice we needed things (phone couldn't dial out, t.v. remote needed batteries) and someone came to our door both times within five minutes to fix the problem (which they did, both times.) Then we received a follow-up call, both times, within 10 minutes, to check if the problem had been fixed. We were very impressed with service and attention to detail.
The housekeeping staff was also very friendly, servicing us twice daily, and kept asking us if we needed anything.
We will definitely go back to this resort. We do not own here, but traded in through SFX. It was the first time we had taken a family vacation with three of our kids and their families, and it worked out perfectly. One of our daughters stated that the resort had such high standards and beauty, and was so amazing, that she's afraid to go anywhere else because she will only be disappointed.

Room Tip: We requested three 2-bedroom units within close proximity, after arriving at the resort, and they ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank macdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,575 reviews
2.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
4.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
7.0 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
3.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya

Property: The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I am offering suites at The Vidanta Grand Mayan Riviera Maya resort, located on the Yucatan Peninsula. This resort has everything you could ever need to experience true happiness: JOYA, a resident Cirque du Soleil show; five luxury resort hotels; world-class restaurants; spectacular pools; shopping boutiques; a Jack Nicklaus golf course; indulgent spas and the most attentive staff in Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Mayan Riviera Maya
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Grand Mayan Cancun
Grand Mayan Playa Del Carmen
The Grand Mayan Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing