We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,711)
Filter reviews
5,711 results
Traveler rating
3,283
1,565
539
192
132
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,283
1,565
539
192
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iberostar paraiso wave pool seafood la marina lazy river snake bar la geisha superior suite lindo buffet el tapatio private pool star friends kids club specialty restaurants french restaurant family vacation other resorts
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 5,711 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2017 via mobile

With our Familie we booked tree bedrooms with a travel agency, we arrived Friday night at the hotel, and we only got two rooms. So we explained ourselves that we had tree rooms, but they only thing they could offer us is a new room if we pay. We all ready paid for tree rooms. Two days(!) later with a lot of stress en callings between the parties, it was solved, until know, again two days later they tell us we have to go out our room, otherwise we get the bill. So half a week further nothing is arranged for us. We expect something more of the service and communication of the hotel. In other words we are here half a week, with a lot of stress.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
8  Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2017

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your family vacation.

We regret that you have experienced this inconvenience at your arrival time, as this is not how we would have liked to welcome you and your family to our resort.

Allow us to mention, that our colleagues at the Reception did everything in their hands to assist you and find the best solution for you. For this reason they called your agency, unfortunately, as your agency representative already explained you, they booked two rooms for your family instead of three and that was what our system was reflecting to us.

We know this an unexpected situation for you and all we want is to make you feel comfortable, not stressed, we assure you we are here for you and we want to pamper you through the excellent service we are proud to offer to all our guests. The Concierge in your building has been contacting you during the past days in order to make sure everything is alright, please feel free to contact her in case you need further assistance.

We sincerelly hope you and your family give us the opportunity to show you how much we want you to have a wonderful vacation with us.

Cordially,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017

We visited this resort Dec 2-9 (2017). 2 couples ages 30. Overall we were very impressed with the entire resort. We will for sure be back. The pictures do it no justice as the place is nicer in person.
Resort overall is beautiful. Well kept up, very clean- we seen people cleaning at all times. The people were so friendly. Every person you passed said hello (hola). Concierge in each building is great too. Our room key didn't work once and it was nice to have them fix it instead of us having to go all the way to the lobby.
It also felt very safe. The resort is 5 resorts that are all under one entrance. There is security at the very front. The resort is very big. We loved that and didn't mind walking 5-10 minutes here and there especially after eating so much awesome food. They had golf carts everywhere too and would call for one if you needed.
Our checkin was the only negative part. We arrived exhausted at 6pm and the person checking us in was terrible. People beside us were given a cold drink and we were not. He didn't speak much english. We had paid for a superior room and our friends hadn't- he didn't even explain who got what room or what the room options were. Told us nothing about a concierge or amenties etc. He told us where 1 buffet was after we asked where we could get food. We went there 10 minutes later only to realize it was not the buffet and we had to walk back to the lobby to get to the buffet. The funny thing is that he was the person who did our checkout on our last day as well and again did an awful job. I tried to ask his name since he had no name tag (and everyone has name tags!) and he wouldn't say. Very odd.

Food was fabulous. I have no idea why people would complain about the food. We had unlimited dinner reservations which I've never had at the 4 previous resorts we have been to. We did the Japanese, French, Italian, Cajun, seafood, and two steakhouses. The cajun was the only one that was not as great and the lobster was overcooked/kinda blah at the seafood restaurant. Both super minor. Most of the restaurants have a buffet where you can get appetizers and dessert in between your main course. WE thought this was fabulous especially if you ended up not liking your meal or being extra hungry. I don't know why people would think that is a negative.
The breakfast buffets were over the top with SO many options. Some of the food was sometimes a bit cold but I think that is often typical of buffets- so hard to keep it all warm and fresh nonstop. If you watch at the lunch buffet they would cook pizza, pasta, meats and tacos fresh for you so it was nice and hot.

The star-cafe was the highlight of the trip for us. basically a mini-starbucks with hot and cold coffee drinks in to-go cups. Open 8am until 1am. They also had wraps, sandwiches, donuts, cookies and cheesecakes. All were super tasty and fresh everyday.

Pools were all great- a bit chilly in the main pool but not a big deal if its a warm day. I wish they had a hot tub for the chillier days but again not crucial. You can also go over to the Beach/Del mar side and their pools looked great too. I also seen 2 quiet pools if you rather be alone and no noise. We personally liked the ambience. The first 4 days we were there were great- the last 2 days a large group of young 20 year olds came and it got a bit rowdier, language etc not as great. Again you could go to a different pool then if you wanted. We never had any problems getting chairs at the pools. Beach chairs filled up really fast but that seems to be the same at every resort you go to.

Entertainment team was awesome. SO happy, friendly, and outgoing. Very energetic and spoke great english. Lots of fun games, foam party, balloons, bingo, water aerobics, volleyball, beach games etc.
Nighttime entertainment at the theatre is in the lindo lobby. Was great the first few nights- last few not as great. Maybe we are a bit too conservative but I found some of them dressed quite scantily clad considering there was a ton of families around it seemed a little much. They also had a ton of cross dressing which was a bit odd.

Our room was great- ground floor which was fantastic. Room was always cleaned in morning and checked again before bed they would turn down sheets and change the towels. We had room service 5x and it was great- hot every time. Took about 30-40 minutes usually. The tacos were great.

We went to the gym once it is really nice and being upgraded. The shopping centre is also really cool. Crepes/ice cream/ popcorn/ cotton candy plus a carousel, playground, stores, pharmacy, tacos etc. Plus a disco. I don't know how you could get bored on this resort.
They also had cooking lesson, towel art lesson, bike tours, bingo, so much more. The star friends were excellent.

My only thing I would love to see is maybe taco chips/ salsa/ guacamole or other snacks avaliable at the pool or beach area. They had a snack bar by the beach but it was under renos. They had ice cream and fraps by the pool but its nice to have something to munch on while you are having a few drinks :)

We are starting to save to come back! Definitely a keeper resort!

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraíso Maya on this occasion to be your host during your holidays.

We are delighted to hear about the great experience you had in our resort and how much you enjoyed the friendliness from all our staff, the food and coffee offered at our brand new Star Café, the gastronomic offer at the specialty restaurants and buffets, the wide variety of activities and our clean and well-kept rooms and facilities.

On the contrary, we regret to know that the service provided at the Reception was not courteous and definitely was not according to our standards, we would like to extend our apologies for the situations described above and please rest assured that all your comments have been forwarded to our Management to take the proper corrective actions.

We will be waiting for your soon comeback to provide you the excellent service that characterizes us.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017

We are just finishing our visit here tomorrow on 12/11/17 and my wife and I give the staff, facility, and food our highest rating for any 4 Star all inclusive. Particular appreciation to our concierge, Frank (who takes great care of all guests in the 6100 suites) for his genuine concern that everything was perfect for my wife and me as we celebrated our 35th Anniversary.

Room Tip: we liked being in the middle so we were not to far from restaurants or the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soshea2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

Dear guest,

We are glad you have chosen IBEROSTAR Paraíso Maya to spend your vacation.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such good comments about us; we will be more than glad to share your kind words with Frank, we are sure he will feel excited to know he contributed in making your stay so special, also, your compliments will encourage him and all our staff to keep on the good work.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your wife to celebrate your 36th anniversary.

Cordially,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

Just got home a few days ago. Resort wasn't busy at all. Hotel was great. Food was good, breakfast was the same everyday so after a few days I was over it. Drinks at the pool bar were good if you drink fast. They use a regular blender so it makes the drinks more like a slushi instead of creamy. They are also strict with what they make due to the recent press regarding the hotel. Speciality resturants were good, especially the Japanese hibichi!! The lobby bar was the best bar, and they have the good blenders there so drinks are way better. Also, no one tells you that when you stay at the maya resort you can go to the spa area and sit in the hot tubs (5 different hot tubs, all different temps) they also have a steam room, sauna, salt water pool, and a couple other cool things there all for free! (People at delmar and lindo have to pay $40 to go in) Beach was beautiful, they also have a coati on the resort (they look like racoons) they were really cute! House keeping was great, beds were comfy, shower pressure was also great.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
3  Thank bonmac4465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments about your holidays at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya.

It is gratifying to read that your experience with us was really good and that you enjoyed all the benefits of staying at IBEROSTAR Paraíso Maya, such as the access to the wet areas of the SPA, the renowned brands we offer in our bars, the variety of the food in our restaurants, the wild animals roaming around the resort and the different amenities we offer as well as the friendliness of our staff.

We will be waiting to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017

The kids camp was amazing. Awesome staff with fantastic activities. Our two boys loved it! They also have lots of kids parks and evening activities.
Huge big pools with easy access.
Awesome beach with tons of chairs and everything.
This place isn't brand new but it is very well kept. The food is great with tons of options.
Really don't have anything bad to stay. We were there for 6 nights and didn't get tired of it.
It is a huge compound so no need to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank TravellerDDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraíso Maya for your family vacation.

It is fulfilling to know that you and your family spent quality time enjoying together the water parks, pools, beach and all the activities specially planned for kids and families.

It feels great you went home with such memorable moments of your vacation at our hotel and we truly hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews