We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“robbed, disrespected, disqusted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
nj
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“robbed, disrespected, disqusted”
Reviewed May 24, 2005

robbed of cash and jewelry from room. reported to mgt, asked for copy of report never even got it. robbed of shoes, purse, pool bag...management could care less. completely ignored concerns. did not respond to written concerns as well. i will not write a lengthy review and give the Iberostar any more of my precious time...or money. will never go back

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank medhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,694
    1,359
    472
    173
    113
See reviews for
2,770
1,043
42
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kulpmont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Maya 5/5-5/9. We just absolutely loved it. We were transferred there from another 6 star resort (Sunscape Tulum) because of the resort being unsatisfactory for the cash we spent. Apple vacations did a great job by getting us out of there and getting us into the Maya. We were clueless to the IB resorts, being that we planned the trip to the other location, so we just hoped for the best and were relieved to see such a beautiful resort. It is just breathtakingly beautiful. This was the 2nd time in the Riviera Maya region, and our first stay was at the Bahia Principe. We loved that place, but this won us over hands down. The rooms are immaculate, and the staff was wonderful. We didn't see any of the problems that were reported on some earlier reviews, but everyone will have their own unique experience no matter where they stay and formulate their own opinions. We researched our previous location and went off others reviews, we were just shocked. This is a true 6 star resort and not just and average hotel.
We can agree that there is alot of walking involved. We stayed in bldg 62. We didn't even realize it was a smoking room until the day we left and walked to the lobby seeing the other buildings with the no-smoking symbols on the doors. The room had absolutely no smoke smell about it. This building was in a great location with the proximity to the beach and pool area. The walk to the beach was about 7-10 minutes and mostly even less depending on how crowded the pool deck was. Now, it was a further walk to the main lobby area but we didn't seem to mind. One complaint we had was the lack of information about the facilities. As I mentioned, we went there totally blind without any knowledge of the facility. We were there for 2 days before we realized the Lindo resort was not part of the Maya. We actually found it a closer walk to the Lindo ammenities than to the Maya lobby from our building. We were given a map, but this was not that clear on the restaurants or buffets. We did call room service one night at about 5:30 and the delivered the food within 20 minutes. We had no clue to where there were later afternoon lunch/snacks served and were just aware of the beach snack area.
With only this minor complaint, my wife and I enjoyed our stay. The beach was beautiful and not really all that crowded. We found shaded chairs everyday. We broke up the time with some trips via the free shuttle to Playa del Carmen and enjoyed that. It was better than being stuck on a resort not knowing what else is out there. The resort did let some vendors in but buyer beware. Some of these guys were nasty to the guests if you didn't want to be bothered. I saw some people mention them in other reviews. They are doing alot of construction on the grounds for the shopping area and conference center. Looks like it won't be done for quite some time.
So to conclude, we enjoyed our stay and will be looking forward to going back next year. We are thinking about maybe staying at the Lindo as to save some money. It was just as beautiful as it shared the same property. We loved the food and the atmosphere was wonderful. Wish we can go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Peggysue3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 23, 2005

This resort was AWESOME! My husband, my mother and I stayed at the IPM from Sunday, May 15th to Sunday, May 22nd. It was a honeymoon/vacation for all of us. We couldn't believe how nice the place was. The room, the pools, the service, the food - A++++++. We couldn't have found a better place to stay. The resort is truly amazing. The Iberostar employees are the best - they work their fingers to the bone from sun up to sun down. The place is immaculate. I simply can't tell you how nice this place is - you must see it to believe it.

You simply can't go wrong with Iberostar resorts....

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 22, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the iberostar paraiso maya..from may 15-may 22...we are 23 and 21...and would recommend this hotel to anyone!!! If you are a couple or married or honeymooners..stay at the maya! You will enjoy every second of it! When we arrived at this hotel ..we were amazed by everything we saw...the hotel is so clean...the check in workers were great.I had looked at a map of the hotel while booking it and requested through our travel agent to be in building 60..closest to the beach.I recommend this..it is close to everything as far as pool..beaches..the buffet restaurants...and walking back to the other restaurants..you get to see all of the other hotels lobbies and restaurants.It also has it's own very nice private pool. When we got to our room...we were beyond pleased...it was paradise...we were on the first floor right off the pool and the room backed up to the woods..so it was extremely quiet and private..and we never had problems with hearing anyone above us. This building you walk right out your hotel room..have your private pool then walk around the corner and have the buffet restaurants and all of the pools to the left and take a right and there's the beach. THis room location of building 60 was the best and i recommend that. The rooms are extremely clean and every worker there is so nice and helpful. When you arrive book your dinner reservations...THe food is excellent. The buffet restaurants are great for breakfast..lunch or dinner...we enjoyed them for breakfast and enjoyed eatin at the beach...where they had a beach bar and grill food..of hamburgers ..hot dogs. steaks and nachos. For dinner you have to try the La'letoile restaurant...which is gourmet and only for maya guests. The service and food was excellent and great for a romantic dinner for couples (no children are allowed ) We had a bottle of wine..delicious asparagus soup and Duck for dinner and the dessert was excellent..the food and treatment of this restaurant was amazing...the italian restaurant is great too...and japanese...but definitely recommend trying the steakhouse..it was Excellent! We enjoyed all the food at this hotel...and drinks were excellent.Staying a week at this hotel was not enough...when you are at the maya..you can use anything in all 4 hotels..it was impossible to check everything out and try everything. WE did not want to leave the hotel to do any of the excursions offered..but of course we wanted to do some excursions. If you don't want to spend full day tours doing these excursions ..We did half day things..so we still had alot of time to enjoy the pools and beach during the day. The lazy river was great to just lay back and relax. WE had a ton of fun in the wave pool that goes off every hour...be careful walking between the lazy river and wave pool past the pool where basketball and water polo goes on...the cement there for some reason is VERY SLIPPERY! we almost fell a few times even walking slowly.
The beach at this hotel is beautiful! and never any problem finding a chair to sit on. THe water is warm and nice in the sun. The pool waters are way cooler. We had no problem with this though because everyday was hot and sunny and it feels good to jump into the cool pools! The swim up bar is great and two hot tubs are located in the middle of the big pool. THere is an ice cream parlor above the swim up bar. We enjoyed this everyday! The nightlife was great too. Everynight at the lindo the "starfriends" put on a great show..with waitresses serving drinks all around.no problem ever getting a drink.Every night we saw the shows here. It was full. The shows were awesome. Then when that's over check out the melody bar at the maya..where you can sing songs karaoke and laugh and have fun with everyone else. With drinks being kept full all night. Then for the younger crowd like us we took a golf cart to the del mar lobby 3 min away to a full lobby and disco nightclub..open till 3 am every night. The del mar seemed to be where the younger crowd was staying filled with many 18 year olds. We had fun dancing and hanging out there but definitely enjoyed going back to the Maya hotel..where it is quiet and peaceful!
I DEFINITELY recommend staying at the MAYA! You will be in paradise! WE will definitely return to this hotel! It was PERFECT! the few things I do recommend though. The showers leak out water a lot so put many towels down..but it does dry pretty fast.so it didn't really stay a problem for us. Ladies if you have long hair like i do..bring your own blow dryer..the one connected to the bathroom is not powerful enough and gets extremely hot fast! It was hard to use it for long periods of time.So i had to keep letting it cool off.
and that's basically all the problems we had.:) we loved loved it here..and doing excursions..they pick up people from other hotels.so we got to see some other hotels in the area.and nothing really compared to this place. When you are at the maya..you should enjoy walking..which we did...we walked from hotel to hotel whenever we pleased. It is not too far though.but if you don't like to walk..probably not a good place for you. This hotel is wonderful and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 15, 2005

We (4 couples) stayed at the Maya from 4/23 to 4/27. We absolutly loved it!!!! We stayed in building #60. The rooms were great. Service was excellent. I would definatly recommend this hotel to others, and I will be back... The only problem was we didnt stay long enough.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 11, 2005

We stayed at the Maya from May 2 - May 11. I brought my wife and two sons ages 2 and 6. The suites were large, clean and bright. The grounds are perfect and maintained daily. The service is great and very polite. The food is good, do not miss the Japanese. Drinks are delivered to you chair by the pool, the beach is good for getting away, no problem getting chairs anytime.
My kids loved the mini club and the shows that go on nightly at 8:00. Lots of energy.
We have stayed at many all-inclusive clubs in Mexico and beyond and this one is by far the best.
We never left the grounds for the whole week as we have seen all the tours before.

I would give this one an excellent review.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2005

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about our trip to the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo. It will be tough to beat this hotel and the great service we received during our entire stay. If you're looking for gourmet food during your stay, this may not be the place. Lots of restaurant options, however the food was only acceptable, nothing spectacular. We found the Steak House, Japanese and Italian were the best options. You'll always find plenty to eat at the buffet and you'll find your favorite foods and probably fall back on that for your stay. Drinks were great and they kept your glass full all the time. I witnessed a few complainers that I felt were unwarranted. The staff handled the issues with courtesy.

ok the minor issue... a warning for parents... my 8 year old wanted a temporary tattoo. Lot's of kids (and adults) were having them done. We found the tattoo artist on the beach between the Paraiso Lindo and the dive shop. No big deal right... wrong. He had a localized allergic reaction that left raised red mark on his arm in the shape of a lizard (the tattoo shape). It is getting better and he should be fine. However I have read articles about more extreme reactions. Here's what I found out...

These tattoo artists use henna. Henna comes from natural source and is usually a reddish color. The stuff their using is "black henna". According to Consumer Safety Officer Allen Halper of FDA's Office of Cosmetics and Colors, the temporary tattoos subject to the import alert are not allowed into the United States because they don't have the required ingredient declaration on the label or they contain colors not permitted for use in cosmetics applied to the skin. They add an ingredient called p-phenylenediamine, also known as PPD. This ingredient may cause allergic reactions in some individuals and could cause permanent scarring. The only legal use of PPD in cosmetics is as a hair dye. It is not approved for direct application to the skin. It is added to dry quickly (1 hour) and to last longer (2 weeks). PPD is found in coal tar! Enough said I think.

Great vacation... Bad Henna Tattoo!! Pass this along to friends & family.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank PJ2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,877 reviews
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
6.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,967 reviews
7.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
9.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing