We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, but outdated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Its a big resort so there is a lot of space to take a walk and enjoy beautiful landscape. Good food. Rooms are outdated though. Bathrooms are so old, things falling down. We had broken cabinet door that fell off twice on our foot leaving us with bruises. Shower door and tile around cracking. One of the the sink drainers broken. We reported, they came to fix and it broke again the same day. We could see they were sorry because they delivered to us bottle of champagne later. A lot of mosquito in the room, even though we hunted all of them down one night plenty of new ones appeared the next day. We think they were entering the bathroom through the vent. Overall, very clean everywhere, friendly stuff. Fun jet representative was useless. We missed our bus to the airport because the clock was changed that day and nobody told us even though we made the reservation in advance. Moreover, there are no clocks around to even notice any change. We payed $140 for round trip airport bus for the family of 4. We had to wait for it 40 min on the way to the hotel and completely missed it on the way back without any help from FunJet. Their rep was just on the phone with somebody for 15 min on hold making appearance that he is doing something. It turned out that it is much cheaper to take a taxi which is $39 one way. The shows at the hotel were not that great, very outdated and started late. Suppose to be 9 o'clock start but didn't start until 9:40 pm after worthless reword ceremony they hold every evening. It was our second stay there. First time 4 years ago was great, second time was just good. I think we exhausted our fun at Iberostar, in the future we will try a new hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank chicago6017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the General Manager at our resort, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude for taking such care in detailing your vacation experience for all the readers on this medium.

On the other hand, we apologize about the issues you described in your room; our maintenance department fumigates our resort every day and our rooms every week, since we are aware of the presence of several insects that live in our tropical environment.

Regarding the situation mentioned about your tour, we regret the inconveniences caused. We would like to clarify that it is as an external company and independent of IBEROSTAR and therefore they have their own policies, however it is our concern to ensure that quality services are delivered to our mutual customers, to achieve their complete satisfaction. Rest assured we will look into it.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you either at our Paraiso Maya resort or at our or any of our sister resorts.
Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,016 - 2,022 of 5,040 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our 1st all-inclusive trip to Mexico...stayed on Maya side of resort. Breakdown:

Food: Fair to Poor. Breakfast buffet great. Lunch buffet fair. Dinner poor - cannot get reservation even though 80% of seats at ALL SEATINGS REGARDLESS OF THE TIME are empty. Authentic Mexican dishes, which are difficult to find, were delicious (ex: chicken and rice). Recommend to the master chef making more native dishes.

Grounds: Spectacular. Immaculate landscape, beautiful courtyards, constant maintenance. Loved the long walks to enjoy the beauty!

Pool: Awesome! Beautiful, refreshing, well maintained! GETTING A CHAIR IS A CHALLENGE.......GET UP EARLY TO GET A SPOT! Absolutely need more towels.....only found one towel "hut" for 6000 people.

Beach: Awesome! Very clean and spectacular views!!!

Room: Good and bad: Spacious. Smelled of mildew. Building 61 great location for pool and beach. Have to get 3rd floor, otherwise too noisy due to ceramic flooring you will hear every noise!

Clientel: LOTS OF KIDS! Which is good if you have kids and annoying if your there to relax....depends on what you are looking for.

Staff: Reception staff soooooooooo slow and barely capable of speaking English. I appreciate that we're in Mexico, but reception should be able to communicate. MAID SERVICE WAS ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!

I would give it a 4 of 5 but the food was so bad! HOW DO YOU COOK FOR 6000 PEOPLE?

Room Tip: Choose building 61 third floor at Maya......good location for pool and beach and nice breakfast buff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jules7433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your recent holidays with us.

At IBEROSTAR we work very hard to provide the best of experiences for our guests, and we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our grounds, and that you felt comfortable in your assigned building and in all of our resort in general. Our Maintenance department will be happy to receive your lovely comments regarding our immaculate grounds and areas.

In regard to your comment about our food, we would like to mention that we have strict health and safety procedures as well as well trained Chefs and staff to ensure we provide quality meals to all of our guests. We understand this is a very important part for our guests’ experience, therefore our Executive Chef is always working to offer a good variety of dishes, keeping our high standards; we are sorry if you were dissatisfied on this; be sure we will take your comments in consideration and it will be review with our Chef.

As far as our pools and beach chairs go, we are sorry you had to endure the situation described. It is indeed not permitted to reserve chairs, but this practice is still being done and fairly difficult to control as the hotel does not want to touch our guests’ personal belongings. We are, however, working to find the best way to solve this situation.

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the service at our Front Desk. We would like to inform you that we are taking part in several initiatives and programs for the reinforcement and training of our employees in specific areas or situations. Our aim is the complete satisfaction of our clients and clearly the service provided by our staff is key.

We appreciate your feedback as this helps us to continuously improve our service.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Went here with my family and our neighbours (4 adults, 3 kids total). Check in was easy and friendly and the staff were very helpful. We had been to a couple of all inclusive resorts before, but never with kids, and not to Iberostar. The place did not disappoint. The pool is gigantic, but was a bit cold.....when we went, but not so much that you wouldn't go in, you just didn't stay in too long. The ocean was warmer ironically. The room was immaculate, and the fridge was stocked when we arrived and re-stocked every day. The room had a ton of switches, and it was a bit difficult figuring out how to turn off/on the fan or light you were after (not a negative, it was just kinda funny). All of the cleaning and wait staff were very nice, almost to a fault. The food was good, but it is buffet style at the main eating rooms, so its not Michelin quality, but it was very good. On the Lindo side, we ate in their dining room for supper and the head chef saw me looking for something, and went back to the kitchen to ensure I had a fresh serving.....he really seemed to care about how people liked his food. We didn't have any problems getting into the a la carte restaurants. I think the Japanese restaurant was the best (it is a benihana type deal where they cook on a stainless steel grill in front of you). Ironically, the Mexican restaurant was the worst. It wasn't terrible or anything, but we had better Mexican food at their buffet (my wife had Mexican friends growing up and knows what real Mexican food is like).

The beach was very nice and the water was warm. Like anywhere, if you want a palapa, you better get out there early. We were out by 8am and had good choices, but they were going fast even at that time. They had a really good ratio of servers-guests on the beach, so you didn't have to wait an eternity for drinks. You could walk up to the beach bar as well, which was close by. They serve a lunch out at the beach which was pretty good too.

They have a kids club, but we didn't put our kids in it. They have a lot of activities and things on the go all the time and the kids were well entertained without us having to direct all their fun. The late night entertainment wasn't that great, but this isn't broadway, and its not a cruise, so who cares. I only mention it for those who may be interested.

They have a small shopping centre on premises for the combined Ibersotar complex, and it was quaint. We bought a few things there. They have an ice cream and creperie store in it that was part of the all-inclusive. They had a very wide assortment of liquors and spirits. They also had decent beer on tap and would make just about any drink you can think of. Being Canadian, I brought along my Bubba keg, which I highly recommend. Saves you from having to make a ton of trips to the bar or waiting for the server to come again. But again, the servers were pretty good.

We kept money in our bag to tip the bartenders and servers. We think it is the right thing to do because they do work pretty hard and don't get paid the best (by our standards).

For the scuba divers: They have Dressel Divers on site. My wife and I dive, but got sick just before we arrived so couldn't go. We like Dressel, but don't take their snorkel trip to Cozumel. They say it is a 6-8 hour trip....it is much longer. We left at 9:15am and didn't get back till almost 8pm. Most of that is travelling, not snorkelling. They had to rush us for lunch and it felt a bit hectic and very long. This is no reflection on Iberostar, and we still like Dressel, just thought this excursion was misrepresented a bit.

We would definitely return to this or another Iberostar as a result of this trip.

Room Tip: The Maya is an all-junior suite place. The closer to the beach you can get the better....it is a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HamiltonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the facilities of our resort.
It is a cause of satisfaction to know that as a team we were able to meet your expectations during your vacation in Mexico.

In regards to our Mexican Restaurant, we would like to highlight the fact that all our dishes presented in the menu are typical from different states in our country; however it is true that they are not international known dishes, but recommended by our Chef for their assorted flavors that make our food so delicious. We will for sure be passing this information to our Chef in order to look for improvements at our buffet and Mexican Restaurant.

We sincerely hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again in one of our IBEROSTAR hotels worldwide!

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

the reosrt is beautifulL and huge, but i would say not very WELwell marked as to whereTthings were. at night the direction sighs were very hard to read, especially the star on the sign telling where one iss. personnel were very accomoditing yet the conseriere set up was very antiquated. why not be able to go on line and pick a dinner reservation fron your room? Waiting in line was very difficult at times. Variety of foof was excellent , but for the most part quite bland in taste. We did have a trip incident that left a bad we had requested a TAXI to go a catamaran trip and the bell people got us a 15 passenger van which was far too big for 4 people and a 1 year old . They did not tell us the fare would be twice as much us as a taxi. Nor did we know the fare until we got back to the resort. We complained at the front desk and they basically ignored us. someone is getting a pay off and that should be looked into by mgmt. . We paid for up grades and did not get good treatment for 4 people with 2 rooms for 8 nights . Also the noice between floors is terrible.We were on the ground floor and we could hear chairs scraping the floor upstairs, very annoying when trying to sleep or read , etc .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Please allow us to express our sincere appreciations for not only choosing our resort to spend your vacations, but also for taking the time to share your experience of your holiday at IBEROSTAR.

We sincerely regret that the circumstances mentioned affected your vacation experience and your perception of our hotel.

We are sorry about the confusion with your transfer; our aim is the complete satisfaction of our clients and clearly the service provided by our staff is key, however it is important to mention that Taxis and vans are an external companies and independent of IBEROSTAR and therefore they have their own policies; however it is our concern to ensure that quality services are delivered to our mutual customers, to achieve their complete satisfaction. We will send your comment onto our Management in order to take it into account.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future to change your recent impressions for more favorable ones.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Generally speaking the reviews of IB Paraiso Maya are spot on. You should discount the overly glamorous reviews from folks who live in the hinterlands. You should also discount idiosyncratic reviews of folks whose vacations where ruined by a poor tasting drink, a remote control that did not work, or a shuttle service that was late.

Here is my review and I've been to numerous all-inclusive resorts and am generally tough to please. I cannot determine whether it was worth the approximate 800 upgrade cost to go from the Lindo to the Maya. I think the difference is in the dinner reservations. For being a guest at the Maya, guests get a dinner reservation every night of their stay. At the Lindo, guests receive two dinner reservations per 7 nights.

Check-In/Reception: Worst I've experienced at any all-inclusive. Basically wait in line 30 minutes to get your room. Would be nice if IB had someone hand out brochures describing what activities are available and other hotel policies. We did not figure out that there is a weekly schedule of activities and shows until our third night. Really, really poor service. When need to replace wrist band or exchange for pesos, need to wait again in the long line. Rating: 1 of 5 stars.

Gym: Surprisingly horrible. Claims to be climate controlled to 73 degrees, but it was more like 83 degrees. They had approximately 7 treadmills, one regular bench, one decline bench, some dumbbells, and a few recumbent bikes. This would be fine for a resort with 100 or so rooms, but this place is expansive. Rating: 1 of 5 stars.

Food:

Breakfast--Wide assortment or healthy (fruit) and unhealthy foods. Waffles were a bit hard. Crepes were delicious. French toast was mediocre. Need to cook the bacon more. Omlettes were delicious. Rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lunch--Same stuff every day, but sufficient to fill one up. Rating: 3 of 5 stars.

Dinner--Pretty good for an all-inclusive. Mexican disappointing. Come on IB. Let the natives do their stuff! Don't put the fake cheese crap on the nachos. Really? We're in freaking Mexico, not Spain. Steak house, Hibachi, and seafood pretty good and on part with Karisma resorts. Mexican terrible. Rating: 4 of 5 stars.

Beach: No issues with rocks so long as you swim in front of the Maya and consult with the lifeguards. I hate travelling to Cancun just for the view. Been there, done that at the Azul resorts. Again, no issues with rocks plus the place had the beautiful azul, turquoise color. Rating: 5 of 5 stars.

Grounds: Amazing architecture and pools. Kids enjoyed the Wave pool. I actually found the Lindo main area to be more beautiful than the Maya's main area. Really, this place is so well decorated and staged. Rating: 5 of 5 stars.

Towels: Come on. Who wants to steal those crappy blue towels? Otherwise, need more places to exchange towels. Rating: 3 of 5 stars.

Pools: Huge pools. Very spacious. My kids went in the lazy river one time for about 5 minutes but found it to be cold. Otherwise, pools are beautiful. Rating: 5 of 5 stars.

Overall, I would rate the Iberostar Paraiso Maya as 4 of 5 stars. It is definitely worth the trip, but beware of the above noted issues.

Lounge Chairs: Yes. Folks reserve starting at 6 am and then sometimes are gone for hours. Not sure how to resolve this issue except to avoid going during spring break or Christmas.

Room Tip: Building 60 has a private pool and is closest to the beach but farthest from any other location in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Numenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Let us begin by extending a special word of thanks for the opportunity you have given us to host your vacation at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya. We are also very thankful for the time you have taken to share how your holidays went at our hotel.

As for the differences between the two hotels, we commented that IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya offers exclusive services for guests such as 5 restaurants + access to other restaurants, a la carte for breakfast and lunch, the baby kitchen, elevators in buildings, DVD in rooms, wired internet in rooms (extra charge), complete and spacious rooms, private swimming pool, free wifi in lobby, access to spa wet area for adults only, and other services that are in the facility Paraiso Maya and gradually give exclusivity to its guests as the water park for children and other extras.

We are sorry for your discomfort of our gym; we will forward your comment to our Manager in order to take it into consideration.

In regard to your comment about our food and our Mexican restaurant, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our Chef is always working on improving and creating different options to be offered at our buffets and A la Carte restaurants; our buffets have a different theme every day. As we make changes based upon our guests’ feedback, yours will be sent to him for his consideration.

We also extend our sincerest apologies if you were disappointed with certain aspects of our resort. Please rest assured however that all your observations have been noted and will be passed along to the respective department managers to take actions.

We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to change your point of view regarding the above mentioned services so we may prove to you our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction; which we improve day after day thanks to our guests’ feedback.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked our Spring Break trip at the Paraiso Maya based on Trip Advisor reviews. I've made several trips to Mexico, including the Mayan Riviera, and have always been fairly impressed with the service. In fact, it's one of the reasons we chose Mexico for our trip. This was my kids' first trip to Mexico. I've told them how impressed I've been in the past. They wanted to experience it. Unfortunately, it just didn't happen on this trip.

I've really given it some thought before writing the review. I think many of the problems stem from the all inclusive nature of the hotel. My theory is that you're a captive audience, so they don't need to try. BTW... I've been on cruises, and I think the hotel management is trying for a cruise-like experience... they just don't get it right.

I don't want to relive the disappointment, so I'll just bullet out some of the many issues. I've also added a few tips for those who still plan to visit.

- I booked 2 rooms... one for my wife & I, and another for the kids. Neither was ready when we arrived. They didn't offer a place to change either. Basically you're at the beach/pool. You're luggage has gone away w/ the bellman, and you're waiting. Not a great start to Spring Break.

- We bought the best package offered. It included unlimited reservations in the "premium restaurants". We tried to get a reservation the first night... nothing until after 9. You walk by the restaurants and they are nearly empty... yet you cannot get a reservation. We ate at the buffet the first night. Here's the trick... you must book all your reservations as soon as possible. It's tough. If you're like me, you may not know what you want to eat 2 nights from now or when you want to dine... especially if you plan to take trips off the resort. As best I can tell, people just book the week, and show up if they feel like it / the time works. I think this is why they tell you the restaurants are fully booked, but the seats are empty... people are just no showing for reservations they made days in advance.

- More on the restaurants. We chose the steakhouse one night. I like a Cabernet w/ my steak. They had one on the menu... remember drinks are included... except, they were completely sold out of the the Cabernet across the entire resort... and they will NOT offer a substitute. However, you can choose to buy a bottle from the premium list. I think this one of their rackets... "sorry sir, we're all out of the bottle that is included in your package, but we're happy to up sell you." I really pressed the manager of the restaurant to sub another bottle from the premium list as no cost. He said, "no, I cannot, and to be honest the wine included with the package really isn't good anyway." LOL. I said, what about the food then? Is the food included w/ the package really not that good either?

- Room cleanliness. They smelled like mold. The maid didn't bother to service the room the last night of our stay. The hotel did bring fresh towels when I called the front desk.

- Wifi is horrible. Come on... it's 2014. My kids have devices. I like to stay somewhat connected even on vacation. Get some decent Wifi.

- I expected chair holding at the pool... read it on several other reviews. People take it to a new level here. I'm an early riser, plus my home timezone is 2 hours ahead. People were putting their towels in place at 5 am. Bring an old book/t-shirt. Get up early. Reserve your seat. It's the only way... beach or pool.

- One last tip. Breakfast is much nicer in the Marina restaurant and offered about an hour earlier than in the others.

We had a great trip... a few of the excursions we took were really well done. Unfortunately, the hotel left me underwhelmed. I won't be back to this location... I probably won't stay at an Iberostar ever again either.

Room Tip: It's a big resort. If you plan to spend most of your time at the pool/beach, ask for a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

We are pleased to read that you had a great trip and that you were also able to enjoy some excursions to the beautiful spots near our hotel. However we are very concerned to read about your dissatisfactions during your stay. We work very hard every day in order to provide the best quality services for our guests.

Regarding your check-in, please be sure this is not the kind of image we wish to give our guests nor the quality of the service we aim to provide. You can be certain we are looking into every issue with the corresponding Managers of every mentioned area and we will follow up to ensure corrective actions are taken.

Regarding dinners at the a la carte restaurants, we are constantly working to find the right balance between providing availability but not spoiling your experience by rushing our guests while eating their meals due to overbooked restaurants. We are sorry that you did not find the times of your convenience available. Usually our guests can also check on the same day to see if there have been any cancellations. We will keep working on this.

We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences experienced. All of your comments are very important to us since they are the tool we use with each department to find opportunity areas.

We hope to have another chance to host you and your family in the near future to show you the improvements we make thanks to our guests’ feedback.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband, 15 year old daughter, mother and I stayed at this resort for 4 nights, 4/7/14-4/10/14. The resort is very large and is adjacent to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo. The resorts are separated by the pools. I really could not figure out why the Maya was more expensive than the Lindo, other than the Maya residents having access to the Lindo amenities. Check-in was very swift and not crowded, we were given delicious cocktails while we checked in. Each building at Maya has personal concierges to assist you and set reservations at the a la carte restaurants. We booked through Delta Vacations and were supposed to receive priority seating for the a la cartes, but the only reservations we could get were at 9pm each night. Needless to say, we didn't attend our 9pm reservations at the steakhouse or Mexican restaurant because we wanted to eat earlier and see the nightly show at 9:30. On our last night we made it to our 9pm reservation at the Japanese restaurant. The teppanyaki was delicious, but standard fare similar the our local hibachi restaurant. The rooms are nice and spacious, with nice patios. There are no oceanviews, only garden or pools views. Nightly dinner at the Lindo buffet was pretty good with a large variety, and I'm a picky eater. The breakfast buffet had international choices. The beach has a great cafe that served hotdogs, burgers, fries, salads and desserts. The drinks flowed freely but were watered down. Every drink was made frozen, unless you asked for it on the rocks. The beach is beautiful, lots of chairs and huts available. On our last day there was a beach party with a live band. The staff set up an outdoor kitchen and made a huge skillet of paella. The setup and cooking by the chefs was really fun and interesting to watch. The paella was full of sausage, chicken, mussels, shrimp, squid, clams & fish. My family enjoyed it immensely and said it was the best meal they had the entire trip. The pool area is beautiful, there are 6 pools, 2 are private and quiet. The main pool area is lively and crowded. We spent most of our time at the private pools. If you want a beach chair in the main area you have to claim chairs by 8am, otherwise, you are out of luck. The resort is very large, you will do a lot of walking. The shopping mall is pretty cool with shops, clubs, and restaurants for burgers, tacos, crepes & ice cream. The tacos and crepes were very good. The taco place is small and each order is made fresh, so the line can get long quickly. My daughter went to the teen club one night, but it was pretty empty until the over 25 crowd attempted to take over the teen club because the adult club was overrun with 18 year olds. My daughter didn't feel there were enough teen-only activities. She met a few nice kids in the teen club, but the resort is so huge she didn't see them again. My mother had to change rooms because the AC wasn't working properly and the room safe had to be unlocked. The staff attempted to fix the AC, but when it still did not work properly, her room was changed with no problem. The beds are very firm and pillows very soft, but I slept well each night. The TV had 40 channels, most are in Spanish. I think we found 4-5 English channels. All in all, our family had a very nice time at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya.

Room Tip: Room 6114 is across from a staff work area, so it is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erika3trailblazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback on our services. We are pleased to hear that you had such a great holiday in our resort.

Your kind comments are very much appreciated. They will be forwarded to our Management and staff as it is very motivating to receive such praising feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities and services that the resort has to offer.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host your vacations once again.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,132 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,481 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#69 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,478 reviews
18.2 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 177 in Cancun
22,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $258 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing