We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER WITH KIDS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at the Maya paraiso Iberostar from december 14th to the 21th.

Super staff, great food and my son was welcome everywhere.

We had a great time.

Special thanks to Edwin, Napoleon and Allessandro for their Help on teaching my son how to shoot the air riffle gun and archery.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank SylvainfromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us once again by choosing the Iberostar Paraiso Maya.

We are very happy to realize that you had a wonderful time with your family in our resort; we work every day in order to provide the best experience to our guests.

Mr. Edwin, Napoleon and Alessandro will be congratulated for their excellent work in teaching your son the air riffle gun and archery activities.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again at our hotel and give you the excellent service that you and your family deserve.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,157 - 2,163 of 5,040 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

The beds were hard and uncomfortable. The bedding was below average. The late check out facility had toilets that were over flowing, no shower curtains, a broken hairdryer, no towels, a hole in the wall and no shower head and ceilings with holes that had water leaking through them. The juice was concentrated and tasted like Tang. The lunch choices such as the pizza, deli meat, and chicken fingers were undercooked and simply tasted terrible. The food presentation was lovely, but even the fruit had no taste. The restaurants were like sitting in a cafeteria. If you do not book your dinner reservations as soon as you arrive you are out of luck. The sailboats were all booked for each of the six days we were there despite asking for a reservation on our second day there. Scuba lessons were a great opportunity, but it allowed us to really see how dirty the pool truly was. The service was outstanding, yet when we asked for certain liquor we were met with an attitude until we started giving tips and then it became readily available. We were unable to enjoy our balcony as it was covered in Coati's. When we asked for a room on a higher floor we were moved to the furthest most room at the back of the note. We will not rerun and were greatly disappointed that this was rated four and 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank michellem0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your most recent vacation and for taking the time to write down your review on how your holiday went at our resort.

Please let us mention that all guests’ comments are our priority as they are very helpful in order to provide a better service. We are sorry you were dissatisfied with your accommodations. Our maintenance department works on a maintenance roll throughout the year. However the issues you encountered are clearly not want we want our guests to experience; this information will be sent to our Maintenance Manager and our Housekeeping department for their consideration.

We are sorry that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level concerning food quality. We already shared it with the departments involved in order to look for improvement.

Please rest assured that we will do our best in order to improve constantly and make our guests feel as comfortable as in their own home. We hope we will have the opportunity to change your point of view in the future.

In case of any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My family stayed at the Paraiso Maya over our Christmas holiday and had a very enjoyable stay. The accommodations, location, and staff were all great! The food, however, was a real disappointment. Aside from the buffets, we are at three specialty restaurants. The steak house, the French restaurant, and the Japanese restaurant were incredibly disappointing.

I won't stay at an all inclusive resort again for that reason alone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank Dangerous4224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our first family vacation and like many we thoroughly researched all resorts. From the moment we arrived in Mexico to the second we left we were treated like Royality. We stayed at the Paraiso Maya and our Junior Suite room was very clean. In fact it was cleaned at least twice a day. As soon as we checked in we reserved different restaurants for dinner as they would get filled quickly. As I was the only person who likes Seafood we didn't book this restaurant however, each restaurant had an abundance amount of seafood choices. The only restaurant that wasn't superb was the steakhouse however it was still very good. The French , Cajun, Buffet and Japanese were better than excellent. We spent the majority of our time on the beach or in the pool. Each place had activities for all ages. We felt very safe at this resort and although we are looking at other countries to visit, when we go Back to Mexico we will go back here. I felt I had to write a review since I read hundreds of them before booking

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MnRnJScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear guest,

Please allow us to express our sincere appreciations for not only choosing to be valued guests of Iberostar, but also for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community, your opinion of your stay at our lovely resort.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities and services that the resort has to offer, as well as our gastronomy and the wonderful beach.

Your kind comments are very much appreciated. They will be forwarded to our Management so that they know of your impression and experience of your stay with us.

Thank you for your preference and for your excellent review and we look forward to seeing you again at our hotel and give you the excellent service that you and your family deserve!

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Let's get the food out of the way: It was terrible. Consistently, no matter where we dined, we could expect food that ranged from mediocre to inedible. The buffets were never fresh or cooked well, and leaned a little too heavy on the American-taste. We came to Mexico for Mexican food, not poorly-done American food. Like other reviewers, we found better breakfast at the buffet near the lobby. The other place near the pool was inedible.
The specialty restaurants were a disaster. We were constantly told that they were "booked" and we would have to wait until late to eat. Besides for the Japanese place, every single restaurant was pretty empty. I simply don't know where people ate, I suppose they all left the resort.
The steak place had some promise, but my tenderloin had the consistency of eggs (it was bizarre), and was covered in some sort of artificial smokey flavoring.
The French place was by far the worst--nothing was hot, even though there were only 2(!) other tables occupied. My lamb was more bone than lamb. The fish smelled so foul that it almost made one of my family members vomit.
The seafood place's best dish was their Brazilian-style beef....it wasn't half bad.
The Japanese place was very slow....too much time playing with the food and not cooking it. In fact, our chef ran out of beef and had to go run and get some more while 4 of us sat with empty plates.
For Christmas Eve dinner, we were served a steak that was for all intents and purposes still living.

Other things about the resort:

Hotel/Design
Really weird. Almost like a Mayan Disneyland. Fairly tacky, although some nice materials were used sparingly. The other hotels had nicer common areas and designs. The layout of the hotel was claustrophobic and ugly. To walk toward the buildings near the beach, you had to walk through all the other buildings, connected by covered walkways. The amount of concrete surrounding you makes it feel like you're in a decaying city, not at a beach resort. Your other alternative is to walk on the road the golf carts use, which is ugly and not really meant for pedestrians. Walking between the Lindo and the Beach hotels was a pleasant experience, for once. The walkway was outdoors and not surrounded by concrete on all sides, and the buildings were spaced further apart it seemed. You can tell those buildings are older, but the architecture is less tacky.

Rooms
Not too many complaints here. They are nicely sized, but a little dark. Build quality is iffy...we had some small problems and annoyances here and there. The jacuzzi was corroded and ugly, the shower door wouldn't close, and the phones did not work well. The TV looked like a demo model but it did turn on.

I feel the other reviews covered other aspects of this property adequately (great service, etc). We did not have an enjoyable stay due to the simply atrocious food. The bad architecture/layout of the hotel simply compounded the experience.
I have stayed at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro in Punta Cana....now THAT is how you do a hotel. Fairly decent food, but excellent architecture, design, build quality, and layout. Simply beautiful. The Maya? Pretty darn ugly.

Room Tip: go to the Grand, or the Lindo if you must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a truly fabulous time staying at the Paraiso Maya in November for 2 weeks. It was the best of both worlds, somewhere to just chill out and relax and get away from it all but also well-located so that you could get the shuttle bus in to Playa del Carmen and the collectivus bus back (much cheaper than the hotel shuttle, more frequent and easy to get from it's station, we went to Tulum with toddler on the collectivus).

We thought as far as all- inclusives go the food was good, particularly the Japanese and the seafood restaurant (we used the Lindo buffet as some evenings we just couldn't be bothered walking far with a sleepy toddler). We also like the fact you could visit the restaurants in the other hotels and walked up to the shopping centre most days for our toddler to have an ice cream (note to parents: the pharmacy there sells diapers/ nappies and wipes) The peacocks and flamingos in the other hotels are lovely, so do venture across !

The hotel rooms were kept clean, the cleaners were very friendly and we came home each night to wonderful towel art. I celebrated my birthday while there and they had a beautiful cake shaped towel sculpture as well as a bottle of champagne.

We were in the block nearest the beach, and the trolley cars were unreliable so it did begin to feel like a bit of a trek each evening with the buggy to the restaurants especially if you had been out walking all day, so if you have the choice go for a block somewhere in the middle.

The swimming facilities were good & the beach was lovely. However, activity-wise we were disappointed there wasn't more for toddlers, we have been to quite a few all-inclusives and although under 2s can never be left they usually can play and draw and take part in the fun as long as a parent is there (which is really good when you are trying to keep fair-skinned toddlers entertained when the sun is too hot), we didn't find anywhere at the kids club to just sit and draw and things seemed to be more activity based for older kids. For this reason I have rated children's activity as an average but that is based on above average for the pools and beach and below average for toddler entertainment.

I'm not sure the whole having a concierge per building works as on the first night we asked a number of times for the pre-requested cot (that had been agreed prior to arrival) and it never came and we discovered later our concierge leaves early and probably just didn't bother to pass on the request. The TV also wasn't working the first night but my husband pulled the unit forward and spotted a loose connection and put it back himself, we didnt even ask for help as we were more focused on them getting a cot. Baby slept between us in the bed the first night and the next morning we went and complained at reception and the cot only then promptly arrived. Our concierge also managed to not book restaurants properly on the system, so we would think we had a booking when we didn't. However, we just started using the concierge in the next building and everything thing was from then was perfect, so apart from the first few nights it didn't cause us a problem.

We visited Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza, of the three my favourite was Coba as it really had that 'adventurer' feeling because it is in the jungle. We also went to Xcaret (where Mummy swum with sharks!) and had a great day. We took the hotel shuttle late morning to xcaret and back which was much better with a toddler, as it would have been too long a day if taking the Xcaret bus that leaves very early in the morning. Our toddler's favourite was Crococun Zoo, a short taxi ride from the hotel. It is small but the kids get to feed lots of birds, monkeys & deer as well as stroke lizards and alligators- our little girl loved it!

On the whole we had a great experience, lots of swimming, relaxation, sun as well as adventures to ancient Mayan ruins and fabulous wildlife. A few improvement areas on delivering things to rooms without chasing and a better ride service to avoid all the long walks with a toddler but on the whole I'd still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you are a massive beach lover, get a room closer to the lobby as even if you don't mind w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was our second stay here. We stayed at the connecting LIndo in 2006.
We always pick the large resorts so the teens have plenty of space to roam and not end up at a another complex.

Pros: nice beach
Ocean-- could be pro or con .. Big waves fun to jump, but not easy to swim.
Good walking both directions with no other crowded resort on either side
Large pools,
2 bars and 2 grills right on the beach!
Staff very good
fun swim up bar with 4pm games,
shopping center on property
Open air theatre for shows
A la carte restaurants at maya good for dinner
2 evening shows had good dancers (rock and show time)


Cons
Ocean very wavy.
Layout not too convenience for evening activities--- theater, disco not close to each other
Food-- breakfast and lunch OK, but have had better
Disco opens at 11pm. Wish it opened earlier. have to wait around too long after dinner.
Very hard bed

Room Tip: Building closest to beach Ours was 61 60 is closer but they were a different rooms type (larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laurieTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,481 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#69 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,478 reviews
18.2 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 177 in Cancun
22,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $258 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing