We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

compared to other resorts here, this one is average. we reported three times the t.v. in our room didn't work, but it was never fixed in the 7 days we were here. the food is average, above if you don't mind eating the same thing every day for three meals per. the bakery is one of the things they get right on a four to five star level, though again, there is repetition. the rooms are ok, the beds are awful so make sure to ask for the foam topper and bring your own pillow if possible. the decor is nice, but it definitely lacks in comfort. the few areas that have couches or padded chairs are in areas that are high traffic. there are other resorts that do comfort way better. overall, this place is just not home away from home. the staff is nice, but very few go above and beyond, which is odd for a gratuity dependent industry. i'm guessing it's corporate culture because again, other resorts have employees falling over you to help make your stay awesome. the property is large, but there is no shuttle system for the older or heavily burdened (dive gear laden) crowd. if there is one, we didn't see it. it is clean and well kept, but needs a new paint layer here and there. for the money, you can find better. we won't stay here again, but don't regret trying it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank site-c-r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Please allow us to express our sincere appreciations for not only choosing our resort to spend your vacations with us, but also for taking the time to send your comments and your opinion of your holiday at Iberostar.

We are sorry you were dissatisfied with your accommodations. Our maintenance department works on a maintenance roll throughout the year. However the issues you encountered are clearly not want we want our guests to experience; this information will be sent to our Maintenance Manager to take actions.

We extend our sincerest apologies if you were disappointed with certain aspects of our resort. Please rest assured however that all your observations have been noted and will be passed along to the respective department managers.

In regard to your comment about our food, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our Chef is always working on improving and creating different options to be offered at our buffets and A la Carte restaurants; our buffets have a different theme every day. As we make changes based upon our guests’ feedback, yours will be sent to him for his consideration.

We regret to hear you found the beds to be too firm; we would also like to mention that all the mattresses in our rooms comply with a standard, and the foam topper usually satisfies those that find them too hard. We will forward your comment to our Housekeeping department to take this into account when mattresses are renewed.

Regarding your comments about our staff, we apologize about that. We would like to inform you that we are creating specific training programs for our employees to achieve our aim, which is the complete satisfaction of our clients. We work to exceed your expectations and our service is key.

We are truly saddened the read that you do not intend to return to our resort but nevertheless hope that we will once again have the honor of serving you at our resort so we may prove to you, our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,330
    1,204
    418
    161
    104
See reviews for
2,391
925
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I've been to two other Iberostar resorts, and I must say my wife and I were a little bit let down on our recent trip. Ill keep it very simple:

Pros:
-Once again the Iberostar staff (waiters, bartenders, house keeping, bus boys). They really do deserve a five star, and I dont want to take anything away from the work they do.
-Our room was located in building 63, and was large and very well kept.
-Massage services and the spa wet area was very relaxing and well worth it.
-The golf course and staff is top notch. Fun challenging layout that is well worth every bit. I was kind of surprised we were able to get a 2:00 tee time within an hour of calling.
-I know a lot of people complain about the walking, but its actually kind of nice.
-Two trips to Playa Del Carmen for dinner reservations was a piece of cake thanks to our concierge

Cons:
-I think the number one disappoint that we encountered was not being able to hitch a ride or waiting for a ride. My wife and I wanted to go to the shopping center around 11:00 at night. I approached the front lobby manager and he told me to simply walk because its 2 min away. I thought the carts were availalbe at all times. Then went on to say they only had 1 cart available at night. She was in high heels and had been walking all day, and all I wanted to do was grab a cigar and a drink. We were both floored in the response.
-Buffet was smaller than other iberostars, with outdoor seating within the pool areas.
-Yes it rained pretty hard for 2 days, not Iberostars fault, but they had roof leaks in the lobby bar, sports bar, and other places. Seemed like this is an on going problem because they had an army of people constantly trying to keep things dry.
-The hammocks on the balconies are useless. They are sit down hammocks that are extremely uncomfortable (feet fall asleep in 5 min). More of a wasted space than anything.

We booked the Maya because it was actually cheaper than the Lindo and was suppose to be "better". I really have nothing bad to say about the other Iberostars, but this one missed the mark and makes me question Iberostars in the future.

Room Tip: Building 63 is close to the pools and 2 buffets, but about a 4-7 min walk to the lobby and restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for the feedback you have shared with us and fellow travelers. Your comments are very helpful to us in evaluating our service.

We are glad you enjoyed our service and facilities. It was a pleasure to have been given the chance to serve you and very encouraging hearing that our service and various staff members served to make your trip even more memorable.

On the other hand, we regret any dissatisfaction you encountered during your stay, we are very sorry to read that we were not able to fulfill your expectations.

In regard to your comment about our golf carts service, we are sorry for your discomfort, we will forward your comment to our Manager in order to take it into consideration.

We deeply apologize for the issues you describe due to the rain; Our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working on areas to be improved and our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to try to keep our areas and rooms impeccable. We will keep working hard to improved these areas.

We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to change your point of view regarding the above mentioned services.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I came upon our 15th Anniversary and decided to go to Mexico. After much research, and recommendations, we chose Iberostar Maya and boy did it deliver!! The grounds were beautiful, the room amazing, and the staff were suburb. Everyone was beyond nice, genuine, and remembered our faces and most times, our orders. I have never felt so pampered and relaxed. WE are already planning our next trip to the Maya!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank crzyone9198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for giving us the absolute privilege of being your hosts by choosing Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your most recent vacation.

We would also like to express our sincere appreciations to you for taking time to send us your comments on how your holidays went at our resort and that you enjoyed our facilities and you were pleased with our lovely staff.

Thank you very much for trusting us, and to the above, we are confident that will soon be with us again.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We traveled to this hotel with another family and little kids. We specifically picked the hotel for its good family reviews and amenities for families. My family and I are typically not the complaining type and are very easy to please but out of all the Mexico resorts I have stayed at in the last few years I really wanted to write a review on this one because it was a big let down.

The hotel and its grounds are beautiful.

Rooms are nice (beds rock hard). And I mean ROCK hard.

Food was ok. A little repetitive and bland at the buffets compared to other resorts but still OK. A lot of the specialty restaurants were closed during our stay apparently. When we called to make reservations they would tell us one restaurant is open and this is the only time we have. One two of the four days that we at specialty restaurants they made the reservation at the wrong resort and another time didn't make it all.

The beach was amazing. Waters had no rocks and was crystal clear ...very few waves.

Pools were nice as well.

Entertainment team was by far the biggest plus and surprise. Amazing shows.

Front desk is one are where this hotel needs to work on big time. We arrived for check in 3 hours early. We had no problems waiting at all. The front desk attendant Adrianna checked us in, gave us room keys and said your room will be ready at 3pm. A simple
"you can wait here" or
"the buffet is around the corner for your kids to eat while you wait" or
"here is a quick overview of the resorts and its amenities"
"here are places or things you can access or not access"....
All of these would have been very helpful.

As some of the previous reviews mentioned, this resort complex is huge. The Maya and Lindo share a lot of its facilities, the majority of these located on the Lindo side. My suggestion is if you still want to go is book a room at the Lindo and save yourself the extra charges, because a lot of the restaurants, theater with shows, lazy river, kids pool and other things are located on the Lindo side anyway.

Another disappointment was with the trolley system. The hotel says they have trolley's going every 15 minutes to transport guests around. This IS NOT TRUE by any means. There are trolley's that is correct but very few drivers, thus all you see is the trolley's parked---meaning A LOT of walking. For a hotel this size, there need to be trolleys otherwise your vacation turns into a walking marathon because its a mile in each direction.

Room Tip: Due to excessive walking, I'd say pick a room in the middle of the resort ..to make it closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fun123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear client,

On behalf of all our staff members we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our lovely resort, Iberostar Paraiso Maya.

Your comments regarding the kindness and entertainment offered by our Star Friends team will go far way in encouraging them. Thank you very much; they certainly are a great asset to our company.

With that being said, we would like to express our sincerest apologies if you were displeased in way with any aspect of our resort.

Regarding your comments about our front desk, and mistakes made with your restaurant reservations, we apologize about that. We are organizing intensive training sessions and improvements in our system to avoid these issues in the future. Our service must be excellent in all areas.

Regarding beds, we would like to mention that all the mattresses in our rooms comply with a standard; nevertheless, we have toppers to soften the beds upon our guests’ request.

We regret any dissatisfaction regarding our services and the layout of our resort. Some guests love the long walk around our beautiful grounds and other guests prefer to take a ride. We are happy to tell you that we have just bought new golf carts for our guests comfort. You can also pre-program a ride with the Concierge and wait comfortably in your room until it arrives.

We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to change your point of view regarding the above mentioned services so we may prove to you our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction; which we improve day after day thanks to our guests’ feedback.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Best regards,
Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was another fantastic trip to Mexico. This was are second time at this resort and it was better than our first. We stayed at the beach section the first time and thought that was great. this time at the Maya section was just simply fabulous. Check in was a breeze and our room was great. Big room which was cleaned and stocked everyday. We ate at the buffet, loved our omlettes every morning and had no problem with finding great food to eat. We ate at three restaurants and they were excellent. Overall the food was great no matter were we ate and the staff go out of there way to please. The pool area was clean and could always find a nice place to sit. We spent most of our time at the beach which is just beautiful, nice white sand and a great swimming area. Everyone works so hard to keep it clean and help with anything you may need. We had no problem getting a nice place to relax. I can't say enough at how beautiful this resort is and how hard everyone works to make your stay perfect. A special thanks to Nepolean of the activity team as he never stopped working to make sure you enjoyed yourself. We saw baby turtles hatching on the beach and a couple of barracudas (4 feet ) cruising the water just of the beach. So much widlife and things to see it just amazed us everyday. This resort is just simply fantastic and we are already talking about our next trip back there. You won't be disappointed staying at the Iberostar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Please allow us to express our sincere appreciations for not only choosing to be valued guests of Iberostar, but also for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community, your opinion of your stay at our lovely resort.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities and services that the resort has to offer, as well as our gastronomy and the wonderful beach.

Your kind comments are very much appreciated. They will be forwarded to our Management so that they know of your impression and experience of your stay with us.

Thank you for your loyalty and for your excellent review and we look forward to seeing you again at our hotel and give you the excellent service that you and your family deserve!

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This has to have been the best holiday we have been on. The hotel was amazing and took our breath away as soon as we walked into the reception. Our room was fantastic,beautiful views and immaculate.
We ate at the buffets and the restaurants and we were more than happy with both. The staff go out of their way to make sure that you are enjoying your holiday. We stayed in room 6371 and would be asking for this room again as it's location was ideal for everything. Overall a brilliant holiday and we are already itching to book for next year!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank little_claire1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback like yours, and on behalf of the entire team here at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude, for choosing our resort for your family vacation. We appreciate the fact that you took such care in detailing your vacation experience for all the readers on this medium.

Our main goal is to offer the best vacation experiences to our guests, thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned.

We are confident that you will be staying again at any of our hotels and as such we look forward to your return!!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

just visiting 4 days i not so happy with the food (American food)are you Sirius,in MEXICO!!!! we are not like to do reservation (out all day )so after we back to resort we are eating in this buffets (not so happy )
be in Mexico no MEXICAN FOOD !!!!you have to do reservation we are not like eat heavy food after 6 pm so be prefer to do reservation if you like to eat something good !
PREFER MORE MEXICAN ATMOSPHERE i was feeling like i in Florida:)

Room Tip: if you have chance take a room with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lola k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya and for taking the time to share your review about your experience.

Our main goal is to offer the best vacation experiences to our guests, thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned.

On the other hand, we would like to express our sincerest regrets if you were displeased in way with any aspect of our resort.

Concerning our culinary offer, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte restaurants, by creating a menu that varies every day, as well as having a different international theme (Italian, oriental, Caribbean, Spanish and of course Mexican) every night. We would also like to add that we have our Mexican a la carte restaurant, where all our dishes presented in there are typical from different states in our country; however it is true that they are not international known dishes, but recommended by our Chef for their assorted flavors that make our food so delicious; however, we will for sure be passing the information to our Chef in order to look for improvement at our buffet and Mexican Restaurant.

We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to change your point of view regarding the above mentioned services.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 stars 5,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 5,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 stars 4,101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 stars 10,191 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#16 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 13,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Address: Pto Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing