We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,671)
Filter reviews
5,671 results
Traveler rating
3,255
1,559
536
191
130
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,255
1,559
536
191
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiberostar paraisowave poolseafoodla marinalazy riversnake barla geishasuperior suitelindo buffetel tapatioprivate poolstar friendskids clubspecialty restaurantsfrench restaurantfamily vacationother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
2,632 - 2,637 of 5,671 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went to Iberrostar Maya in mid May 2013 as part of a wedding party with about 40 people. The beach and pools are amazing. Our group loved the swim up pool bar and bar tenders their! If we were with our kids we would have spent more time at the buitiful beach. We found the staff at most areas helpful and friendly. Some of the set up complicates things..I.e. Check in seemed fairly slow due to the computer system and number of staff. Seems like they could have planned better for our groups arrival. For us it wasn't horrible but at a busier time of year it could be. Also the pool area waitresses are very slow in returning after taking your order. They work extreamly hard in the heat all day and are attentive, but when you watch how far away they go to get your order it's rediculous as are the number of servers assigned to a given area. A general manager or someone to organize things would have a huge impact on guest experiance. Grounds are gorgeous and clearly they don't skimp here. Our room was also in great condition and well serviced each day. Our biggest complaint as a group was the food. Some restaurants were better than others but all were very inconsistent (except breakfast at the Marina of the lobby they seemed to have their act together). The Mexican place was discussing and ended my evening. I was excited about the steakhouse. 4 of the guys in our group ordered the same steak cooked the same way. One had a great cut, cooked nicely med-rare, mine was all grizzle and raw and one was so over cooked it was like a hockey puck! Habbachi was Fun and good, but wouldn't get high ranks if it was in any US city large or small. Overall the quality of food combined with the heat made it hard to celebrate with our friends into the night. We are typically a very social couple and our group in general knows how to have fun. But we just couldn't do it we made it past midnight the 1st night and the wedding night. Mist others we were back in our room by 10 and Mexican food night it was probably more like 8:30 or 9! Pretty lame! We still had fun and enjoyed ourselves, but they should invest in some real cooks and not expect the pool guys to moonlight as cooks. Until they do I wouldn't go back here or to any other iberrostar resort.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank VTJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community, your honest opinion of your stay with us in May.

We very much appreciate your taking the time to highlight the most memorable aspects of our resort. On the other hand, we are very sorry about the several aspects of our resort you were not happy with.

Our apologies if you felt that the check-in time was long; it is important to have the right information from our guests and there are mandatory security measures that we need to be followed in order to ensure our guest s ' welfare. However, we will definitely talk this over with our Management and Front Desk Department to look into ways of speeding things up.

In regard to your comment about our food, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our Executive Chef is always working on improving our options and food quality, and of course he is always open to read our guests’ feedback to work on areas of improvement.

Please be sure that we have taken note of all your comments and can assure you that we will do our best to improve our service.

We wish to have the opportunity to host you and your family again in the near future to show you the improvements we make thanks to our guests’ feedback.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 7 night stay at Maya, originally booked Lindo, however upon arrival got a free upgrade to the Maya. This was not my first stay at Maya, i highly recomend this resort for anyone with kids, maya and lindo share the same wave pool, lazy river, little water park for kids. My 6yr old daughter loved this place, kids will not be bored here. Same thing goes for adults. I did not want to leave this place. I loved every minute here.
Warning- if you belong to the lazy bunch and do not like walking i DO NOT recommend this place. The resort is huge and requires alot of walking, to get from the beach to the lobby is a good 10-15min walk, i loved it since i did not have to worry about over eating, all that walking burned it off.
Beach- very little rocks in the water comparing to other resorts in rivera maya, so yes you can get in the water and swim.
Drinks- top shelf tequila, don julio, la cofradia, tres generaciones, and also your regular el jimador and hornitos available at both maya and lindo. (Sorry no patron, in mexico you drink the real tequila)
Food- if you want lobster every night you can easily get it, if you want 2 plates, just tell the waiter and they'll hook you up, seafood restaurant which is also the main buffet at maya (not lindo) has crab claws, cavior, all kinds of fish, shrimp, musels and lobster every night. People complained about japanese restaurant's sushi, well my friends, you don't go to mexico and expect to get the best sushi, go to japan for that. Teppanyaki at japanese was very good, i had lobster and shrimp both nights, these are not the tiny lobsters you get at benihana's, portions very very generous.
Nightly entertainment- great for kids, funny, especially after couple of shots of tequila. If you have any questions about the resort, feel free to contact me. I highly reccomend this resort. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lucas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you for your kind feedback on our services. We are pleased to hear that you had such a special holiday in our resort.

It was a pleasure to have been given the chance to serve you and very encouraging hearing that our service, food and various staff members served to make your trip even more memorable. It is a cause of satisfaction to know that as a team we were able to meet your expectations during your vacation in Mexico.

Thank you for highlighting our facilities, our food and drinks, and our shows. It is most motivational.

Thank you very much for trusting us, we hope to see you again in our resort in the near future and provide the service that you and your family deserve.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I went with my family ( 2 adults, kids ages 19, 15 11 ) in August. The hotel is beautiful, lobby, grounds, rooms are big and clean. Beach in front of Maya is very rocky didnt even attempt to go in but I think further down you can get an area with less rocks. Pretty crowded. Loved having the concierge in each building for dinner reservations and advice. Restaurants that we tried were Steakhouse( which was good) Gourmet ( which we loved- they have a 12 year old age requirement but didnt give us trouble.- Japanese steak house was good also but typical- Mexican which we really didnt care for too much and seafood- which really didnt thrill you. They have appetizer bars in most restaurants that you can fill up on and if you want more than one menu item they have no problem with it. All staff were friendly and genuine. The only person we encountered that was not too friendly was the doctor. She was abrupt and would have saved me a lot of grief if she explained details of what she was suggesting I would not have freaked out. The second time I spoke to her she was more personable. Not sure I could fault the hotel with her demeanor.
The pools are great, most action is by the swim up pool bar. Ice cream over pool bar was delicious and a nice touch. Try the coconut. Drinks were good, a little predictable. Breakfast was good, lun
ch was good too, Huge Paella on the beach could have been better but a novelty

The hotel was huge which was overwhelming at first but once realized my way around it wasnt too bad. Shopping center was nice. The church on property was pretty and had sunday mass at 6 pm which was a nice experience in Mexico.
Always felt very safe.
The lazy river looked pretty and the wave pool was more for little kids but looked enjoyable. The hut selling paint your own ceramic items kept my daughter busy. Had nice playground for youner kids.
At first the shows seemed lame but as the nights progressed they got better. But and this is a big BUT , it is outdoors and some night were unbearable. I wish they could have some fans or something so at least you could tolerate sitting there. The show is in the lindo which is like a 15 minute or so walk from maya. Disney show was the best, broadway not so much, magic was ok but very crowded, mexican folkloric was interesting but less entertaining
Loved the maya lobby bar, had entertainment there in the evenings. our favorite was the gentlemen who sang billy joel, beatles ( easy listening tunes)
The lindo shares the same pool as maya so I think that either lindo and maya are equal but I think maya give you one or two more restaurants and slightly larger room and maybe free wifi in lobby. ( which was spotty)- not sure it is worth the extra for maya.
I was at the iberostar suites in montego bay. We loved it so much, it is a very different experience since it is smaller and more compact.
Seemed to have very similar menus from jamaica and mexico in their specialty restaurants which is a little boring.
Bring bug spray can get eaten up at night
The star friends are very hard working individuals. I loved the star friends in Jamaica but the ones in Mexico work even harder all day long non stop. From one fun activity to the next, back to back. If you sit by the main swim up bar pool you can participate in the fun or just watch the fun. From exercise classes in pool, dance class, contests, etc, it was entertaining all day long, Desserts could be more interesting- most restaurants just have dessert buffet but nothing outrageous at all
I think it is a great hotel for a family that wants to be entertained and relax but be prepared to walk a lot between lobby and pool and beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelwithToniS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you for your kind feedback on our services. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice holiday this past August.

Concerning our culinary offer, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations completely. Our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte restaurants, by creating a menu that varies every day, as well as having different international themes (Italian, oriental, and many others) every night. We will send him your review for his consideration.

With that being said, we would like to express our sincerest apologies if you were displeased in way with any aspect of our resort. We are sorry you did not feel comfortable with the doctor of the external medical center that operates in our resort. We will for sure pass on your comments.

As for the differences between the two hotels, Paraiso Maya offers exclusive services for guests such as 5 restaurants + access to other restaurants (Lindo, Mar & Beach), exclusive a la carte for breakfast and lunch, the baby kitchen, elevators in buildings, DVD in rooms, free WIFI internet in lobby and rooms, more spacious rooms, private swimming pool, access to spa wet area for adults only, and other services that are in the facility.

It will for sure help us improve our service. We hope to see you again in our resort in the near future and provide the service that you and your family deserve.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Everythign was amazing!! the decor was done to the nines in Mexican themes, service excellent and speedy, lots of food and drink options. beach was beautiful. be prepared for lots of wild life kootes and birds and bees but they tend only to annoy you. staff are fun and friendly, have daily activities and shows. full mall and awesome disco on the grounds for your enjoyment. lots of walking as hotel is huge but it works off the drinks and food! but there are also trolly cars to take you if you dnt want to walk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your recent stay in Mexico.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a great vacation at our resort, as this indicates that you enjoyed our facilities.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you and your family back for another great vacation.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our 6th iberostar stay but our first time in Mexico, the iberostar maya is a fantastic place to stay, the food is great, the drinks selection is great, and the staff cannot do enough for you. The rooms are very clean. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rourkey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Iberostar Paraiso Maya. Thank you very much for your loyalty to Iberostar!!!

We appreciate your taking time to write a review for Trip advisor about your stay with us; it gives us a great deal of satisfaction hearing that we have been successful in providing you with an outstanding vacation and are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the excellent service delivered by our staff.

We are quite confident that you will be returning to our beautiful resort in the future and as such, we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews