We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel 24th April - 5th May This was our third visit to Mexico having previously stayed at the Riu Tequila and Riu Palace Mexico although we prefer the location of the Riu Hotels we were very impressed with the Maya.
I cannot agree with previous reviews on the variety and quality of the food served here. We found the choice and quality to be extremely good in all the speciality restraunts and the breakfast and lunchtime buffets.We had no trouble making reservations anywhere and the service was excellent - the only comment I would make was that invariably the food was not hot enough.
Our request for a change of room on arrival was handled very well although we had to wait until the second day for this. I would recommend suites on the second floor as, lovely as the trees etc are, they do tend to block out the light and make the rooms very dark.
The beach is wonderful although the sea can be a little rough. We had no problem getting sun loungers either at the beach or by the pool even though as previously stated many people tend to leave towels out very early in the morning despite notices all around asking them not to do this.
All in all we had an excellent holiday and will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors much brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carribbeanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Friend,

Thank you for your kind feedback on our services. We are pleased to hear that you have had a special holiday.

It was a pleasure to have been given the chance to serve you. It was encouraging to hear that our service, food and various staff members had served to make your trip even more memorable.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our culinary offer!! Our Executive Chef works hard day after day to offer a great variety of quality dishes.

Regarding your constructive comment about the food temperature, platters temperature is checked regularly and they are now smaller and not filled completely to avoid food getting cold, but the fact that food is exposed in open air and plates do go around while they get filled, make it difficult for us to maintain such food very hot at all times; however we will forward your comment to our chef in order to see how we can correct this point. Thank you so much for that feedback. We will keep working on this to offer an impeccable service!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel and we thank you in advance for your friendship.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,498 - 2,504 of 5,198 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Lets get right to it -
Highs:
1) Service is "primo" - All staff go out of their way to help you with anything. And they are always at your beck and call and very friendly (genuinely; not stepford-wife-ish)
2) Clean as Can Be - the entire facility is extremely clean and well attended. Each room is also cleaned methodically each day and they will change their cleaning schedule based on nap time for your kids. I also liked that they kept it extremely clean without that typical chemical smell.
3) Food is Above Average - compared to past all-inclusive experiences, the food is top notch. Compared to a NYC restaurant, the food is average. My expectations were low, and the food and service well exceeded my expectations. The service at all of the restaurants is also white-glove caliber. The staff are all dressed in well groomed attire and tend to your every need. And they are always there to help, but not intrusive. I received better service at the buffet restaurants here than I have laying out $500 in a NYC restaurant. Also, the food is all FRESH - they do not leave food sitting around under heat lamps all day.
4) Pools and Beach are Plentiful - although the place is big, it is very manageable and there are several pools to fit every age group of children. During our week, there was also plenty of chairs for sitting.
5) Rooms - we have a two and four year old and the standard one bedroom fit us all fine. The rooms were very sizeable and they brought in a separate bed for my 4 year old and a crib for my 2 year old.

Lows:
1) No WIFI in the rooms - this is actually a plus for some, since it keeps you disconnected and engaged with your family. But the rooms have a dvd player and we brought dvd's for the kids to watch so it was no problem.
2) Towels (?) - they have a strange policy with towels where you are given an alotted number of towels and have to watch them like a hawk. You check in and out the towels on an as needed basis. Two of my towels were "stolen" by someone and I was heavily reprimanded by the concierge to "guard" them with my life and not to lose them.
3) Size of Resort - for me, this was not an issue, but I am glad I brought two strollers as the place is huge. I spoke to some other guests we met there and this was their complaint. But hey, if you want it all, it all has to go somewhere?

Conclusion: No doubter - worth the money and I would gladly come back !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JRM-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Customer,

We would like to use this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at our family resort, Iberostar Paraiso Maya. Also, thank you for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor about your experience at our hotel.

We are extremely pleased to learn that your family had a memorable experience at our hotel and that you were amazed with our new facilities and services. Our staff will be thrilled to know they work was so appreciated. Our staff really is a very important pillar for us.

As per your comments about the Internet, and attending many comments sent by our guests, we are glad to inform you that this year we will have Internet access at all the areas at Iberostar Playa Paraiso, including rooms, beach and pool areas.

Thank you for your very complete and constructive feedback, we will pass the comments on to Management. It will for sure help us to improve our service.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

To be able to accurately describe our experience in words would be extremely difficult, that's why I will leave it to the title. From the moment we walked into the beautiful maya lobby we where treated like royalty, not once did I need to ask for anything the staff seemed to read my mind. Entertainment was top notch and even though my Spanish started and ends with hola....... they where able to incorporate a bi lingual show that I understood and loved!!!! We will definitely be returning in the near future!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Let us begin by saying thank you not only for choosing to vacation at our lovely resort, but also for taking the time to send us your comments about your experience with us.

With that being said, we are truly thrilled to hear that you had a perfect vacation at our lovely resort.

We genuinely hope that if ever returning to the Riviera Maya, you will not hesitate to visit us, as we would consider it an absolute pleasure to serve you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just got back from 9 days at the Maya. We had a onderful time. Great beach, nice pools, friendly staff and good food. I couldn't be happier with our trip. It was a nice bonus to have the dive center on site.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank zeb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Friend,

Thank you for giving us the absolute privilege of being your hosts by choosing Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your most recent family vacation. We would also like to express our sincere appreciations to you for taking time to send us your comments on how your holiday went at our resort.

It certainly gives us a great deal of satisfaction to understand from your kind remarks that you have not only had a wonderful experience at our resort, but felt like stars while with us. We also very much appreciated you taking the time to highlight the more memorable aspects of our resort such as our rooms, pool, beach, food, entertainment and last but definitely not least, our staff who were so accommodating to you and especially your children.

We hope that if ever returning to our beautiful Riviera Maya, we will have the absolute pleasure of being your hosts again.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great Vacation!!! The hotel is super beautiful and extremelly clean. The pools are awsome. You have a wide variety of options ( main pool, lazy river, wave pool, kids pool and private pool). The staff wirks very hard and are always smiling. The beach is really nice too. Food at the restaurants was good quality and tasty but the buffets for breakfast and lunch the food is the same everyday so you get a little bored. They should have more varities. Guacamole was really good. Specialty restaurant are fair from specialty. We didnt find to be special since the appetizers/salads you have to serve from the buffet (at the Steakhouse on Maua's side and La Marina). We had Tapeniaky 2 nights and it was really good and fun. The were 2 nights we decided to eat at the buffet for dinner. They were very nice cooking fresh vegetables gor my 13 months old. Very attentive to our requests. The bar at the Maya is beautiful!!! Only downside is there is NO Wi-fi in the rooms and in all areas of the hotel. The Wi-fi only works at the Main Bar and in the Lobby (by the sofas). That's really annoying as nowdays everything is around the internet! All rooms have a presence sensor which detects if there is anyone inside the room (to help on electricity and maid would know when to enter the room to clean, etc) and No Wi-Fi??? Not acceptable. Overall we had a great experience and would definetly go back to this paradise!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lumoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your vacation destination. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us and that you were able to take advantage of the activities as well as the other facilities offered by our resort.
We regret the situation with the internet connection, in that matter and thanks to our guests suggestions we would like to inform you that we are working to improve that point this year; we are also planning to provide Internet access at all the areas at Iberostar Playa Paraiso, including rooms, beach and pool areas.

With respect to the food, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations completely. We have 7 options of restaurants a la carte: Mexican, Cajun, steakhouse, seafood, gourmet, Japanese, Mediterranean and one main buffet with different themes each night: international, oriental, Spanish, Caribbean, Italian, etc. For breakfast and lunch, we have two restaurants and also we have a snack bar on the beach. However we will take note of your comments on the lunch buffets and specialty restaurants to work on them! Our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte Restaurants and will welcome you feedback.

We are quite confident that you will be staying again at Iberostar and we therefore anxiously await your next visit.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our third stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya hotel, and ninth stay at the Iberostar Paraiso complex (previous stays at Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar, Lindo, and Grand etc...).
We go there at least once a year and sometimes twice a year. Now that we have a child, we cannot stay at the Grand until our child turns eighteen.
Iberostar Maya is a wonderful choice for families. Great beach, great food, great service, several choices for specialty restaurants... We are definitely going back there in September...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank SherryB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please allow us to express our sincere appreciations not for only choosing to be valued guests of Iberostar, but for sharing with us and the rest of the online community, your opinion of your stay at our lovely resort. Thank you so much for your loyalty!!

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor about your stay with Iberostar, it gives us a great deal of satisfaction reading that we have been successful in providing you with an outstanding vacation and are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our grounds, facilities and the excellent service delivered by our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went on a family vacation with 2 kids age 5 and 7.
Initially we were supposed to be in the Iberostar Linda hotel, but when checking in, we asked about the upgrade cost to be in Maya. After negotiating the upgrade cost (remember, in Mexico everything is negotiable, never accept the first price offer from anyone!) we decided to go for it since Maya has mini suites as standard rooms and with 2 kids it was helpful to have a bigger room.

The hotel is amazingly beautiful, the grounds are extremely well kept. The whole property is HUGE. Linda and Maya hotels share the pools. There were a lot of people but since the property is so large you dont really notice it.

Pools pools and more pools! If you like the ocean, this is not the place for you. When we were there the ocean was very rough, huge waves, fun to jump in but no chance of swimming. The beach itself is gorgeous and its a shame that waters are so rough. I'm a diver and did 3 dives with Dresel Divers right on the beach. For scuba once again, look elsewhere.. only 1 dive site was open because of rough waters. So because of all of this, we hung out at the pool most of the time. Pools are gorgeous! There is no chlorine, i'm guessing they use salt water filters, so the water does not have a smell and its very soft. Staff takes great care of pools and cleans it throughout the day. Kids had a blast in the main pool, wave pool and in the waterpark. In the afternoon, kids spent time in kids-club and had fun there.
Overall, kids have lots of things to do, which is great for adults!

Food:
Being in Maya hotel you have access to better food then Linda. After trying specialty restaurants, we settled on Sea Food and dined there every day.
Note, men need to wear long pants for restaurants. Sea food restaurant has a buffet which you can go to even if you dont have a reservation. This buffet is more then enough for everyone's taste. Great sea food, meats, no complaints. The other restaurants are..so ..so.. (at least for our taste)

Bars:
Remember to tip if you want stronger drinks!

Room Tip: Tip your bartenders and waiters for better service! Not a highly advertised fact, but Maya lunch/br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the hotel staff of Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, we would like to thank you for not only choosing our lovely resort to spend your vacation, but also for taking the time to share with us, your opinion of your stay.

We are truly thrilled to learn from your kind comments that we have been successful in providing you with a great vacation and also certainly appreciate your special mention about our resorts, facilities and service delivered by our staff.

Regarding your comment about the ocean, we would like to inform you that this depends of the season; on the other hand we are glad to know that you enjoyed our pools and your kids were happy with our fun activities!

We genuinely hope that if ever returning to the Riviera Maya, you will not hesitate to visit as we would consider it an absolute pleasure to serve you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,418 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,933 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $258 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing