We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Nearby Hotels
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$367
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$349
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$544
$457
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$411
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$236
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa(Playa Maroma)
$525
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kin Sol Soleil(Playa Maroma)
$420
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalonia Playa Maroma(Playa Maroma)
$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$517
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,350)
Filter reviews
5,350 results
Traveler rating
2,994
1,520
524
187
125
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,994
1,520
524
187
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiberostar paraisowave poolseafoodla marinalazy riverla geishasuperior junior suitelindo buffetel ranchoprivate poolstar friendskids clubswim up barspecialty restaurantsfrench restaurantfamily vacationother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
2,608 - 2,613 of 5,350 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife, 10 year old daughter and I visited the Paraiso Maya for five nights over Presidents Weekend. We had a great time! Two years ago, we stayed at the Barceló Maya Palace, so we were comparing the two during our visit.

The Paraiso Maya is a beautiful complex. We had a superior suite in the "60" complex. The room was a great size and nicely appointed. The bathroom was nice, but not as nice as the Barceló. The whirlpool tub was too hard to fill, much to my daughter's dismay. The fridge was always filled with what we wanted, however, other than some peanuts, there weren't any other snacks in the room. The great thing about the "60" complex, is that is the closest to the beach, and convenient to two of the buffer restaurants. The downside, is that you are the farther from the lobby area, which houses the bar and the majority of the better restaurants.

The Paraiso Maya / Lindo complex is extremely large and it takes a while to walk from one end to the other. Although the Barceló was large, the lobby was more centrally located versus being at one end. We had to allow at least 10 extra minutes to walk to dinner or to get internet access, as the lobby is the only place you can get internet access.

The pool area is fantastic!!! It is the centerpiece of the Maya / Lindo resort. The main pool was never packed, even with the complex completely full. Our daughter had a great time in the wave pool and we all meandered down the lazy river a few times. We loved the bar in the pool (under a waterfall) and the ice cream bar on the bridge over the pool. One great feature of the Paraiso Maya was the entertainment around the pool area. There was always great music playing (not too loud) and fun pool activities. Even if you didn't partake, it was great fun to watch. This was something that the Barceló did not have. As previous reviewers have stated, you do have to get out early to get the best chairs by the pool. I tend to be an early riser on vacation, and people were reserving chairs as early as 7:00.

The beach was beautiful and the water, as beautiful as ever. There was never a problem finding beach chairs. We loved the fact that there was a beach bar and a snack bar, which served lunch and late afternoon snacks. Although you have to cross a little "bridge" to get to the beach, it was always fun to see the "Mexican Raccoons" who lived around and under it.

We enjoyed the food, but we all agreed that it was not as good as the Barceló! The breakfasts were good, with plenty of choices. We did miss the make your own Breakfast "Smoothies" from the Barceló. The lunch buffets were nice but nothing special. Dinners were a mixed bag. I made sure to make reservations at the restaurants before we left home, to ensure that we would be able to eat at the restaurants we wanted at the right times. When we arrived, the reservations were not in the system. However, our Concierge, straightened out everything and we were set. One night we ate at the Japanese Hibatchi restaurant, which was good, not great. We did not really enjoy El Fogon, the Italian Restaurant. We did have a great meal the Marina, where we ender up eating twice! The buffet appetizers were great, and our daughter basically ate the sushi for dinner. The Stone Crab claws were good and plentiful, but not as good as Joe's in Miami! The mixed seafood grill that my wife and I split was wonderful, and too much for even the two of us to finish. We did eat at the Pagoda Buffet one night for dinner, which good, especially the Mexican dishes. The Mariachi band was a fun plus!

As a whole, the staff was top notch! From the "Star" performers who made everyone feel welcome, to the wait staff and servers, to the housekeeping and maintenance staff, everyone had a smile on their face and an "Hola" No request was ever too much or too little!

We had a great vacation and always had smiles on our faces!

Room Tip: Rooms in the "60" - "62" complexes are closer to the beach and the better areas of the pool!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBKtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Our main goal is our guests ´ full satisfaction. We aim to impress our guests with our well kept grounds and the quality of food, beverages, activities and specially our staff, so it was so rewarding to read your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful holiday with our staff and facilities.

Regarding our culinary offer, our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte restaurants, but we already shared it with the departments involved in order to look for improvement; thank you for the tips and recommendations :-)

With respect to the distances we would like to point out that our guests can order a ride with their concierge or reception at any time and to any place within the hotel complex, or take the train that goes back and forth every 15 minutes. However, some guests do like the walk!

We regret the incident that you had in your room; we already shared it with the Maintenance Manager in order to fix that.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 days at this resort to celebrate my mom's 60th with the whole family (10 adults and 4 kids). We booked Paraiso Lindo and got upgraded to the Maya. The pools are shared by the Lindo and Maya but the Maya has the specialty restaurants and better rooms. The resort was beautiful, the grounds were well maintained with lush landscaping, and the overall decor from the lobby, the pools, the courtyards of the hotel buildings were impressive and inviting. There was a huge selection and variety of food, though not as spectacular as I had expected but overall pretty good. It lacked Mexican cuisine offerings, which I was disappointed about. The beach was great, the resort had quite a bit of beach front which was great but the waves were pretty rough for my little ones. My kids loved the wave pool where we hung out at for the majority of our stay, it was a perfect place for them to get some fun splashing around. There weren't a lot of activities offered for young kids but the pools, lazy river, and play ground were enough to keep them busy for the 5 days that we stayed. Vacation overall was awesome and a great value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubyburke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our staff members we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our lovely resort, Iberostar Paraiso Lindo and Maya. We would also like to express our gratitude for the time you have taken to share with us and the rest of the online community, your opinion of your stay at our resort.

In regard to our Mexican Restaurant, we would like to highlight the fact that all our dishes presented in the menu are typical from different states in our country; however it is true that they are not international known dishes, but recommended by our Chef for their assorted flavors that make our food so delicious. We will for sure be passing the information to our Chef in order to look for an adaptation and better identification of the dishes at our buffet and Mexican Restaurant.

Regarding your comments about the kids’ activities there is a nightly kid’s entertainment event, at the main theatre, right after dinner, at 8pm, which is staffed by the same people who work at the Kids Club.

We really appreciate the constructive comments about our resort, thank you for giving us your point of view.

Best regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Travelled with my two girlfriends and had a great time. The room had plenty of space for the 3 of us. The fridge was only slightly above room temperature, but that was our only issue with the room. It is a very large complex, but just ask and your concierge will arrange for a golf cart if you need a break from the walking. The hotel and grounds were beautiful as was the huge pool. The lazy river is not as big as other reviews made it seem, but it was decent. As we had our own floatation devices, trying to find one wasn't an issue.
We spent a lot of time on the beach and only had a problem finding shaded chairs one day when we didn't go out until late afternoon. There were plenty of chairs if you weren't concerned with having a little shade. The beach was huge with perfectly powdery sand. The water was a little rough, so there was some seaweed coming in with the waves. It wasn't a big deal, however, and we did spend a lot of time in the ocean. It was fun to float on the waves with our boogie boards.
I'm not sure what the occupancy was when we were there, but the resort(s) are so spread out we never felt crowded. The food was above average for an all-inclusive. The scallops at the hibachi restaurant were fishy, but everything else we had all week was good. Definitely did not go hungry! Having to make reservations for the ala carte restaurants was somewhat of a nuisance, but they are worth it.
The spa is very nice and we did spend some time there each day. The salt water pool and roman baths were very relaxing, I had a massage and although the prices were a little high, it was great. As we made later dinner reservations, we only caught one show. It was entertaining and we regretted not being able to see any others.
We had the airport transport included with Olympus, through the hotel. They were very well organized. They will try to tell you on the day you arrive that you have to come back that day or the next to get your departure time. When you do, they just let you know about all the tours they provide - you really don't have to go until the day before you leave. We didn't go right away and they left a note on our door, which was annoying, but other than that they were not pushy. In fact, we found all of the employees to be pleasant. Everyone had a smile and an hola for us. Even the few panhandlers on the beach were not pushy at all. (nice change after Jamaica!)
All and all it was a great trip - one of our party is already planning a return trip with her family!

Room Tip: We were in 6230 - pretty central to everything. 61 would be closer to the beach
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieszka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you so very much for the invaluable feedback you have shared with us and fellow travelers with respect to your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very helpful to us in evaluating our service.

We feel honored to have contributed to make your stay unforgettable!

Regarding your comment about your fridge, our apologies about that. You can contact your concierge in your building and he or she would be more than happy to assist you with that.

We are confident that you will be staying again at any of our hotels; if it is so, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a great hotel !! The staff are amazing , so friendly and helpfully, rooms are massive. The food is very good in all the specailality restuarants. This is the second iberostar we have visited and would defiantly use this chain again . Before we stayed in the punta Cana iberostar .
Lots of reviews mention how much walking you have to do, at first it seems that way , but after a couple of days you get used to it,we stayed in 6005 , near the beach , we found this worked for us because you could pop back if you needed anything in the day and of an evening it's a nice walk to all the restuarants at the main lobby area . Great place would recommend !!!!!!!,!

Room Tip: Room 6005 good location for all day time activity as its near the beach, pool and lunch , there was 11 of us in this block together , 4 kids, it's near everything for the kids
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Your fabulous experience may encourage other travelers to choose us as their vacation destination in Mexico.

It is very gratifying to hear that you have had a wonderful holiday at our hotel and it certainly motivates our team learning that you were pleased with our beach and Staff.

We are confident that you will be staying again at Iberostar and as such we sincerely look forward to your next visit. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to serve you and your family again!

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stay at this resort during more than one week, for our great pleasure. The persons are really sympatic and smile all the time.
This resort is very large with up to 5 hotel into, but we have small electric cars available to cross the hotel from one side to the other. This was really useful with our diving equipment to bring everything to the diving center.
I want also to thank this diving center for his huge level of expertise and the nice exploration we did. For whom are interested, Dressel Divers will open soon a new diving center on pacific coast...
At the hotel, restaurant, bedrooms are very confortables.
Globally, I recommend this resort without any restrictions.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank charles_liege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire management team and all the staff at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, we would like to thank you for choosing us as option for your recent stay in Riviera Maya and for taking the time to send us your comments on how your holiday went with us.

It is certainly a cause of satisfaction hearing that you were pleased with several aspects of our resort including our food, facilities, activities and the attentive and friendly service delivered by our staff.

Once again, thank you for choosing Iberostar and we look forward to seeing you again at our lovely hotel.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews