We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Vacation with Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leawood, KS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Vacation with Family”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

To start off, in rating this resort, I was torn between giving it a 3 (Average) or 4 (Very Good). I am just thankful to get to travel, so I am never terribly critical. We travel with our children (3 and 6 years old), so when we pick a resort, are primary concerns are for the kids (good kids pool, kids club, kids shows, etc.). We travel to Mexico once a year, so I am comparing this resort to the others we have stayed at.

Grounds: We loved the animals walking around and the trees throughout the resort. Each building had a courtyard with a different design feature. Yes, the resort is VERY big and spread out, but at least it was pretty to walk through. I am bad with directions anyway, but after a 10 day stay, I still seemed to get lost. Our 3 year old, who is usually full of energy and enjoys walking, needed to be carried a lot because he was tired of walking. We've stayed at other resorts that are considered "big", but the Iberostar's layout just didn't seem as practical.

Rooms: We knew when we booked our trip that the Iberostar was in a "jungle setting", so rooms weren't going to be ocean view. We stayed in a regular room, and it was very spacious. It was clean and had a patio.

Pools: The pools were huge and the Lazy River and Wave Pool were nice. I booked this resort mainly because of the Pirate Ship Kids Pool, which is where we spent most of our time. The kids pool is gated and didn't open until 10:30 AM and then closed at 5:30. It was shallow enough that I didn't have to worry about the kids being in the water on their own. I don't know of any resort that heats their pools, but I was actually able to get into the water this vacation without freezing (it was fairly warm weather). The shallow water of the kids pool made the water warmer. The kids pool was big enough to keep them entertained and it was actually peaceful over there. However, of the 10 days we were there, we only had a waitress one day to take drink orders. We'd have to walk 5 minutes to the closest bar anytime we wanted a drink. The main pool had games/activities going on and played music.

Beach: The beach was very nice. The sand was clean with no kelp or rocks and the ocean was shallow pretty far out so the little kids could go in on their own. There are tons of chairs and palapas (however, they were already taken whenever we'd make it to the beach around noon). There is a little snack area at the beach and it's own bar. They have different activities/games at the beach and also Beach Parties.

Shows: Every night there was a kids show at 8 PM, and a real show at 9:30. Compared to the shows we saw at Moon Palace last year, the Iberostars shows weren't as good. However, their Theater was very nice - nice tables/chairs to sit at and a big bar and waitresses that came around to take drink orders and hand out popcorn.

Kids Club: My daughter only spent an hour in the Kids Club during our whole vacation. Their staff seemed nice and they displayed a weekly calendar of what activities they were going to do during each hour of each day. They had some really fun activities planned and they would watch your kids from 6-8 PM, taking them to dinner. On certain days, they would have "Show Rehearsals" and the kids would do their performance at the nightly kids show in the theater. At the Kids Club, there was also a little pool and a playground that anybody could use.

Staff: The staff wasn't rude, per say, but I wouldn't say they were as friendly as some of the other resorts we have been to. At Moon Palace, the staff learned our names and always talked to our kids. At the Iberostar, I felt they were really there just to do their jobs and that was it.

Food: I've learned through our many vacations, that I never expect a whole lot from all-inclusive resort's food (unless paying the extra money to stay at a "gourmet" resort). My main reason in wanting to rate this resort as "Average" was because of the food. It really wasn't good. I think the saving grace for us was that there is a Shopping Center that you can go to in the resort and they have a taco place which was really, really yummy. My kids look forward to having cheeseburgers and guacamole, and neither of them were all that tasty. However, their cocktails were some of the best we've had at an all-inclusive resort (which probably made up for the food). The mojitos were the best I've had anywhere. They have drink menus with some fun cocktails.

Tips:

1) You can email the Resort Concierge before your trip and make dinner reservations. It saves time of having to make reservations upon arrival and it helps avoid the dinner time you want already being full/booked.

2) Men over 18 MUST wear pants to restaurants requiring reservations. We've been to other resorts that aren't strict about that rule, but they will turn you away at the Iberostar. They can wear jeans and flip flops, but they MUST be in pants.

3) Make sure to check out the Shopping Center. There are shops, but there is also a cheeseburger place (not that good) and the yummy taco place I mentioned, as well as an ice cream and crepe place. They have live music sometimes, and there is a little carousel for the kids to ride (all included with the all-inclusive package of the resort).

4) We didn't realize it until 4 days in, but there is an ice cream parlor above the main swim-up bar at the pool.

Overall, we had a nice vacation. The Kids Pool, nice beach and cocktails were our favorite parts of the resort. We will probably try a couple other resorts before we go back to the Iberostar, though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovethebeach06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the General Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, please allow us to express our genuine gratitude for not only choosing our resort for your Caribbean experience, but also for the time you have taken to write a review for Tripadvisor about your opinion of your holiday at our resort.
The management of Iberostar is committed to providing services, facilities and an ambiance which satisfies our guests’ requirements and therefore we extend our sincerest apologies if you were disappointed with certain aspects of our resort. Please rest assured however that all your observations have been noted and will be passed along to the respective department managers.

Regarding your comments about our staff, we apologize about that. We would like to inform you that we are developing several initiatives and programs for the reinforcement of training of our employees in specific areas or situations. Our aim is the complete satisfaction of our clients and clearly the service provided by our staff is key.
With respect to the food we already shared it with the departments involved in order to look for improvement and enhance the quality. However we would like to clarify that our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte.

Once more thank you for choosing Iberostar and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,727
    1,373
    482
    175
    114
See reviews for
2,809
1,055
42
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having read a few comments posted here on Trip Advisor, I realise travel experiences vary greatly. I have stayed here with my wife for a week and, personnaly, we had a great time. The hotel facilities are great, beauty is everywhere, the staff is very nice and helpful, and frankly I have trouble seeing anything that would keep me from coming back again. All in all, we met some great people here, we relaxed, and we enjoyed ourselves. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, but with the following information in mind.

-This is a very large "all-included" resort, with an emphasis on family and fun. Some weeks (like during spring break in March) can be hecktic, with young adults partying and drinking heavely. This was not our case.
-In general, the food is rather ok, but never outstanding. Breakfast is A+, with plenty of fresh fruits and health options. Lunch is OK, but can be redondant, with burgers and tacos and salads. Diner is also OK, but not as good as, lets say, on a cruise ship. The best venue - by far - is the Japanese restaurant (Reservations only). In my opinion, desserts are probably their main weakness.
-Walking distances can be tedious for some (7-8 minutes to walk from one end of the resort to the other).
-Some rooms are noisier than others (kids play zones, close to pool sections or bars), so if you want a quiet room, ask your travel agent. We were at #6639, with our balcony overviewing the "Star Friends" waterfun park for toddlers (Open 11:00AM until 7:00PM). So in the afternoon is was noisy, but in the evening it was quiet. Then again, it didn't bother us since we were not in our room during most of the afternoon.

Things we really liked here:
-Each room building (about 50-60 rooms each) has is own concierge. Service is always close by, and they are very helpful. A+
-The rooms, toilets, restaurants & entire resort is always super clean. Given the amount of people here, it is impressive. A+
-The staff is very friendly, and encouraged by management to interact with guests. This makes for a relaxed atmosphere. A+
-The architecture, gardens and landscaping are a work of art. A+
-Be on the lookout for the roaming peacocs. A+
-The pools abond, and are very clean. A+
-The beaches have a few rocks, but are nice, have many chairs, and cleaned daily. A
-The rooms are slightly outdated, but well appointed, SPATIOUS and quiet. B+
-The spa and gym is large and fairly well equiped (but could use a minor overhaul). B+
-Internet Wifi is free in the lobby, but not in the rooms (extra charge). Perhaps, whilst on a vacation, is it best to "disconnect" for a few days? C

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ruessavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo staff and managers, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation. Your kind comments are very much appreciated. They will be forwarded to the managers of the areas that you mentioned in your review so that they learn about your impression and experience of your stay with us. Thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned.

With respect to the food, we are sorry you were not entirely happy with the offer. For lunch we have different options for our guest where they can find food of their preference, and for dinner we have the main buffet, and every night we have a theme corner: Caribbean, Oriental, Spanish, International, Mexican, etc. Also, we have the 7 restaurants a la carte (with dinner reservations), as well as the room service which is available 24 hrs. Your feedback has been forwarded to the Executive Chef, who is always looking for improvement, and he will be happy to have such great help.

As per your comments about the Internet, and attending many comments sent by our guests, we are glad to inform you that this year we will have Internet access at all the areas at Iberostar Playa Paraiso, including rooms, beach and pool areas, with an extra cost.

We are thankful that you will recommend our hotel to others and are quite confident that you will be staying again at our lovely hotel. We hope to surprise with nice changes and improvements that we make thanks to our guests’ feedbacks!

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just got back from a week vacation with my family at the Paraiso Maya resort. Overall, the property and beach are beautiful. It is a walk to the beach. No rooms are close to the beach and none have a view. The rooms are clean, but very dated. The lighting in the bathrooms is horrible. Bottled water is available only in the rooms, had to find the maids to beg for more each day. The food was good, not great. The buffets are the same each day. Even though, there is a lot of food. It was just average. Drinks were also good. Bartenders are friendly. Scheduled a luggage pick up on the last day with the bell hop, no one arrived. We took our luggage to the main lobby ourselves. Lastly, the staff needs new uniforms. Powder blue polyester had been out of date since the 70's. Would I recommend the Paraiso Maya to someone else? Probably not. We have been to other resorts in the Riviera Maya. Would we return for another vacation? No.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CMrunner9798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Friend,

On behalf of all the staff, and particularly the hotel manager, we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Lindo for your recent vacation. Thank you also for writing your opinion of your stay at our hotel.

With respect the food, we are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level concerning the food quality. Our Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte Restaurants however, we already shared it with the departments involved in order to look for improvement and enhance the quality.

Concerning your comment about the bellboys, we are very sorry if this was cause of any dissatisfaction. At peak times when seeking the bell boy service, we suggest making your request 30 minutes before departure, or one day in advance to provide better service. But again, we are truly sorry for that incident.

Regarding our rooms, please note that their style is being done accordingly to the hotel structure and decoration is to be matched with our tropical/ jungle style. However we do believe that renovations and improvements can be done and even though they are carried out throughout the year, they are done by blocks/areas since the hotel never closes and we need to ensure that there are no inconveniences to our guests during their stay at our resort. We take into consideration your comments and pass them on to management.

With respect to the water, we would like to inform you that our guests can contact the Concierge in their building to request more water. The staff will always be more than happy to assist you with any situation.

Please be sure that we have taken note of all your comments and can assure you that we will do our best to improve our service. We wish to have the opportunity to host you and your family again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a disappointment. Our family was really looking forward to a relaxing vacation. To start off, the food is awful. Truly inedible! The seafood was not fresh. The meats were of poor quality. The cheeses were flavorless. The desserts were of a small variety and tasteless. The fruit, however, was good. We were traveling with a large group and not one of us was happy with the food. And it was impossible to get a reservation in a "specialty" restaurant. However, the restaurants were only 1/4 full but they would not let you dine. You had to go to the buffet. Ridiculous!

The towel situation was truly stressfull. Each guest is given a towel card at check-in. There is only one location at the hotel to get a towel. This location is not at all convenient to those at the beach. If you lose your towel, they want to charge you $20 to replace it. You are so stressed that someone will take your towel that you end up carrying your towel around during the day.

We were charged an extra $200 to "guarantee" us adjoining rooms to our children. At check-in, we were told our rooms had water damage and were not available. I have still not received the $200 credit back to my account. Not for lack of trying!

The rooms are spacious. However, the air-conditioning barely worked. Our room was hot and muggy the whole visit. The bed was like sleeping on a brick. Such a hard mattress and the sheets were scratchy and stiff. And forget WiFi. It's awful!

The resort is huge and difficult to get around. Expect a lot of walking. The grounds are very pretty and maintained nicely. There is little to do in the evenings. You will only find inexpensive alcohol and watered down drinks. This place was a real disappointment!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy11318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about you recent vacations.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, specifically the food & beverage. Please note that Iberostar Hotels and Resorts follow strict internal and external hygiene regulations so all the food in our buffest and restaurants are fresh and handled with care. However, we do apologize if the taste and variety was not of your liking. We have forwarded your comment to our Executive Chef to take into consideration.

We would like to inform you that our booking system is based on restaurant seatings for our 5 specialty restaurants at 18:30, 19:00, 20:30 and 21:00. We want our guests to enjoy a nice dinner, which is why we do not reserve all tables in each seating. If we book all tables in one seating, our guests might be forced to eat faster and the experience would not be relaxing. Booking every table in the 4 seatings also leads guests to wait for previous guests to finish their meals and are enjoying their evening, and that eventually causes a whole delayed reservation system, which affects many guests and the service overall. We thank you for your understating regarding this situation and we are sorry you felt uncomfortable with this system.

We would like to mention that as a Maya client, you can exchange your towel card at the concierge in your building, which is a much more personalized service. The towel area is your second option. Again, we apologize for causing you stress with our towel card system. We will take it into consideration for future changes, as your satisfaction is our primary goal.

We keep a standard in all our beds when it comes to their firmness; nevertheless we also have toppers upon our guests’ request for those who prefer their beds softer.

Once more we are sorry that you did not enjoy your vacation with us but we hope you give us another chance so that we can show you the excellent service we are capable of offering.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

overall, great resort, if you like a big resort with exceptional beach this is your place, pool and activities are also very good.

Rooms are clean, and staff is friendly.

Food is good quality, and alcohol is a bit watered down but overall good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that we provided you with all the elements to enjoy your vacation.

We deeply appreciate reviews made by guests such as you, and believe in working hard to ensure that we maintain the high standards set by our guests and improve day by day.
We certainly look forward to having you back!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned from a one week's stay with three other families, celebrating our daughters' High School spring break. We all had a GREAT time. The hotel itself, the lobbies, the guest rooms, the numerous swimming pools are Magnificent! The beach is beautiful, with plenty of shaded huts, but, beware, the waves are pretty big and the ocean is not conducive to wading, but good for bogey-boarding.
The hotel is a half-hour car/bus ride from the Cancun airport, and you definitely should pre-arrange transportation. Check-in at the hotel front desk was a TWO HOUR nightmare. In fact, the front desk/reception was by far the weakest of any hotel that we have ever stayed at. Forget about getting change for your American dollar at the front desk; if you're lucky, the bellboys may make change for you. I don't know how the hotel expects you to tip their staff when the front desk does not provide change for large bills and there is no ATM in sight. While we're on the subject of tipping, we usually left only a couple of dollars at meals and for the bartenders, and I don't think they expected any more than this, after all it is an "all-inclusive." But the servers were grateful and were almost universally pleasant and courteous (unlike the front desk staff). Also note, we did not need to change any American dollars to Pesos. Everyone is happy to accept Dollars, even in the town of Playa del Carmen (we spent one cloudy afternoon/evening at Senor Frog's). So, bring lots of single dollar bills with you!
The buffet breakfasts and lunches were really good and, though the hotel was full, there were never long lines or crowds at the meals. I ate delicious guacamole (freshly mashed with chunks of ripe avocado) at EVERY breakfast and lunch! YUMMM...The dinners were good. We had dinners at El Museo (like sitting in Il Duomo), Le Etoile (very pretty French), the Steakhouse, and the Japanese Teppanyaki. Note you NEED reservations at each of these dinner restaurants.
Oh, we drank unlimited cocktails and wines/sparklings every night. No Grey Goose, but Absolut is fine, and lots of Tequila! My favorite shots were the Milagros Reposado. People were also drinking during the day at the pool bar and the beach bars, but how much can one imbibe, after all?
The housekeeping staff were EXCELLENT and the hotel was spotless. Maintenance were also pleasant and efficient. Note: the guest room air-conditioning can be adjusted by some central command station if the temp is too warm, it just takes a phone call to maintenance. We had great turn-down service every night. What else...
Oh, there is an adults-only complex of the Paraiso resort that has an exquisite swimming pool and beautiful guest rooms. This is definitely the place to stay if traveling without kids.
There is a really cool nightclub called the Galaxy, for those 18 and over (but too cool for anyone over 30). What else...
In summary: beautiful facility, good food and drink, great service (except the front desk), clean but wavy beach. And don't forget to bring lots of single dollar bills. Adios amigos...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DrBknowsBEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to hear what your impressions of our resort were on your recent visit.

We thank you as well for remembering the good service provided by our staff although we are taking into consideration your comments about our Front desk. We apologize about that and will be taking measures to avoid situations like this in the future.

Your positive review will certainly assist others who are considering our resort. It is our aim to provide a relaxing, enjoyable atmosphere and your review shows that we are on the right path.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have to start out by saying that it may be our last time to return at spring break! We returned to the Maya for our 2nd time with our 4 teenage kids and our 7th time total to the other resorts including the Grand, the Beach & the Tucan/Quetzal. We have always chosen Iberostar resorts due to their strict spring break policy over the last 10 years of visiting Mexico. We had made one mistake a few years back and visited the Barcelo which was overrun with spring breakers and we were forced to move resorts after 2 days. I fear that this could happen to Iberostar and I will no longer risk it! We were lucky enough to be there the same time as 2 other large groups of high school seniors which has never been allowed in the past. I say "lucky enough" because these kids were much more behaved than what I have seen with large groups but this will definitely not always be the case! There were a few disgusting instances that will be expected with over-indulging seniors like hearing girls barfing in the pool bathroom to finding one of the restrooms totally disgusting from another intoxicated guest (which could have been anyone), but overall, Iberostar was lucky with these 2 groups. Upon check-out, I made the comment to the front desk gal about their change in the "spring break policy" and she simply replied, "we are under new management now!"

The reason that I still give the Maya a 4 star rating is because of the staff and the overall resort. I would not hesitate to return at other times of the year. I still feel that they have the best staff & in our case, our concierge was wonderful in building 61 by taking care of our reservations for dinner, golf, a misplaced towel, clogged shower or anything that we needed assistance with. I also feel that the food in the restaurants was not as good this time. I was impressed on our first visits by the quality of steak in the restaurants but this was not the case this time. But, food is never a huge deal for me with AI's as I never have too high of expectations and that way I'm never totally disappointed. However, no one should ever go hungry here! I could live off the fruit & cheeses alone!

The resort credits were nothing to get excited about! This was a new thing for us this time and I was under the impression that we could use them all for golf if we wanted, but they were very restrictive. My husband & boys were able to use (2) $50 coupons out of the $500 towards golf and the others were of little use to us. They played 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful course and had no trouble getting tee times for the four of them.

The beach is beautiful and we had no trouble getting chairs at any time but we are not typically shade seekers. I do prefer the layout of the Tucan/Quetzal in relation to the beach but my kids really like the larger size of the Paraiso complex better.

In conclusion, as a returning guest to Iberostar resorts, I am surprised how little they appreciate their loyal guests at this particular resort. I don't want to include the Grand, Beach or the Tucan/Quetzal in this statement because they have been wonderful to us on our repeat visits with various room upgrades, flowers, insulated mugs, wine or champagne & shirts. We book 2 rooms every time we come as a family and a fruit basket that draws ants is not the best thank-you to repeat guests! (Actually I think everyone gets that.) Maybe I am spoiled by our first time visits to Majestic, Excellence, & Palladium resorts and their appreciation for all of their guests. C'mon Iberostar...you do so many things so well, but don't change your standards at the Maya & please try to keep us longing to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksgirl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for being part of the Iberostar family.

We are really sorry about your comments about your last stay. The Iberostar hotels still have a policy for Spring breakers, we do not accept them. During the past weeks we did receive some groups, but all of them were family groups, teenagers travelling with their parents, family and friends. We are very sorry to hear that this time we were not able to provide what we do best which is the best experience ever for our guests.

You can be sure we will take your comments into consideration for the future. We do appreciate our loyal customers very much, so our deepest apologies for not making you feel special.

We really hope you give us another chance to stay at Paraiso Maya so we can change your point of view from your last stay and give you the excellent service you deserve.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Quality Manger
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
18.2 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,217 reviews
9.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,922 reviews
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,927 reviews
6.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing