We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Bliss Resort(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,269)
Filter reviews
5,269 results
Traveler rating
2,955
1,496
512
184
122
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,955
1,496
512
184
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiberostar paraisowave poolseafoodla marinalazy riverla geishasuperior junior suitelindo buffetel tapatioprivate poolstar friendskids clubswim up barspecialty restaurantsfrench restaurantfamily vacationother resorts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,614 - 2,619 of 5,269 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Rarely do we stay at a resort that gives more than they promised.

Iberostar Paraiso Maya gives and gives...I will explain below.

I will also compare the Maya from the other attached Iberostar resorts (something that I had difficulty figuring out before we went).

PROS:

1) the resort is gorgeous, it was built for sheer beauty, everywhere you look, they have created unnecessary but wonderful "extras." Fountains, art, landscaping.

2) The people who work here are the happiest, most willing to do anything for you...we travel a lot...but we were never treated so well. They seem happy we were here (and the resort was 98% full).

3) while the resort was full, we never felt crowded. They have planned this place out well.

4) each building has its own private concierge who does anything for you. She books reservations at the many ala carte restaurants, calls for golf carts if you are unable or don't feel like walking around the resort...she even exchanges towels for you.

5) FOOD: so many choices. one restaurant by the pool had lobster EVERY day (not kidding). One dinner buffet had crab legs and other sea food every night. The ala carte restaurants were never filled the whole week (again, with the resort 98% full), and we could ask our concierge to make reservations an hour before and easily get in. That never happened at other resorts we have stayed at. And the ala carte restaurants were excellent. The buffets were wonderful as well, you can order off a menu, or walk the food line - both were great. Cappacinos at every meal for us.

6) ROOMS: no complaints. As in all Carribean resorts, the beds are not like home, but these were better than most.

7) BEACH: wonderful white and powdery sand, great swimming, even the vendors were nice and left quickly of you asked. There are bathrooms on the beach, a constant snack bar and drink bar on the beach. NOTE: if you want beach lounge chairs under a palapa, get there by 8 am. There are plenty of chairs, but the covered ones went fast.

8) POOL(s): The pools were awesome, waterfalls, wave pool, lazy river, plenty of chairs. Bars. Swim up bars, bathrooms, fun all day long. Also, at Maya there are a number of private pools...in case you wanted to be away from noise, kids, teens. These were quite pleasant and about the size of a good backyard pool.

9) BARS: we don't drink, but everyone who did loved the bars - premium liquor, quick service.

10) SHUTTLE to PLAYA DEL CARMEN: don't miss this. For 50 pesos each way - there is a shuttle to this beautiful and fun town. You can walk Fifth Avenue loaded with shops, bars, restaurants, street performers, and safe, happy surroundings. We loved it.

11) free Internet:not as fast as home, but nice to check emails after dinner for us.

12) programs: so much to do, lots of fun events for everyone.

13) Kids' stuff: small children are in heaven here! There are pools, places just for them, and so many things to do - it was impressive!

CONS:

Not nearly as many

1) Shows: some were good but they had a couple talent type contests that were lame, "Miss Iberostar" and the "Pirate Night" were not so great. The staff try hard, but the content was lame. The singers and dancers were excellent and sang live (not recorded lip syncing as some resorts do). The show performers were fantastic - they engage the audience before and after the shows.

2) The size of the resort: this is great and challenging all at once. It is huge!!! S there were more things to do than we could do in one week = great. But lots of walking. We like exercise, and there were the golf carts whenever you wanted. But if you were handicapped, it could be challenging.

3) transport to and from the hotel. If you do not book with a company which includes transport, it costs $85 from the airport by private taxi (no way around it) to any Playa Del Carmen hotel (maybe more for further ones). It was only $40 returning. The Cancun airport is extremely expensive - more than Paris (where we were last year).


MAYA vs the other attached Iberostar resorts:

We like Maya the best: we would have stayed at the Grand, but they wouldn't allow us because our daughter came with us.

Grand: too cold...it is stunningly beautiful, but you couldn't see anyone walking around, so it felt sterile to us. You did not feel connected to the beach. I am certain some travelers would love this...but we wants have fun in Mexico...and this seemed a little stuffy to us. We heard the food was superb.

Lindo: this was a great second choice to the Maya. The Lindo is gorgeous. And you share many of the same amenities. You could not get the better lunches and dinners, free Internet. I don't know if Lindo had private concierges. And I heard the rooms weren't as awesome. But this would be a great choice.

Del Mar and Beach: these were quite nice as well, but not nearly as palatial as Maya and Lindo. Their pools were great, beach was great, food choices were less extravagant.

There was a definite improvement as you moved from North to South.

Del Mar and the Beach Iberostar resorts were attached at the middle.

They were quite nice, but not as pleasing to the eye and as user friendly as Maya and Lindo.

However, if their prices were significantly better, I would have no trouble recommending them.

Whatever of these 5 resorts you choose, make sure totals a walk or the free bike tour to see all of them. Each has special aspects - like the peacocks and animals at the Del Mar and Beach - fun to see and photograph.

Also: across from the Lindo/Maya is a shopping center. There are shops, free food (a taco place, a burger place, an ice cream and crepe place, all 5 resorts get this for free. There is also a teen disco there and an 18 and over disco.

Room Tip: We were in building 64, that is awesome because it is in the middle of the resort. We were in room 6465, right by the stairway and our concierge was at the bottom of those stairs = great so we could easily have her help us in many ways. These concierges are NOT like regular hotel concierges, they are expected to play a role in our trip and help you. We tipped her, but that was unexpected and she was very grateful and surprised :))
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank traveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Iberostar Paraiso Maya for your stay in Mexico. Thank you so much for your detailed review describing our facilities and services! Your review on Trip Advisor may other clients to choose Iberostar to spend an unforgettable holiday :-)

It is a cause of satisfaction to have contributed to making your holiday marvelous. We are thrilled you enjoyed our culinary offer so much, your rooms, the activities offered, all the pools, and all services available. Above all, thank you very much for appreciating our staff’s hard work. They are the most important asset we can have.

Thanks for your constructive criticism on certain night shows. We will be passing them on to our Entertainment Manager.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar very soon!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from our 4th trip to the Parisio Maya in Playa Del Carmen. We are so disappointed in the demise of this once fabulous resort. We began visiting here in 2008 and our previous trip was in 2011. The changes were immediately obvious. The staff to guest ratio seemed to be less and we felt it at every meal. It was harder to get a cup of coffee or that second glass of wine at dinner. The food was bad, poor quality of protein and a limited, tasteless selection at the buffets that rarely changed from day to day. The night clerk at the desk on Friday night 3/15 had a strong odor of alcohol on his breath.

I am most concerned about my family's safety while there and the resorts relaxed attitude was frightening. We had an i phone disappear from our room as well as another phone from a room near us on the same night. Both incidents were immdediately reported and the resort did little more than pay lip service to our collective concerns. My 14 and 17 year old children were continuosly served beverages with alcohol in them despite wrist bands indicating status as a minor. A fellow traveler found a man in her room at 11pm that the resort insisted was not an employee, but he had access to guest accomodations.

Because of the safety concerns, my family will not be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Leonard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya and thanks for your loyalty.

When issues like the ones described by you happen, please do inform your concierge immediately. We are committed to offer the best experiences to our guests so when certain inconveniences happen, we take corrective actions.

We are very worried about your comment on the supply of alcohol to minors, as it is strictly forbidden and we take great care in avoiding situations like the ones you described. Children under 18 cannot drink alcoholic beverages. We would appreciate it if you could send us, if you remember, the names of these employees because they will be dismissed from the company straight way as this is against the Law. The contact e-mail address is rplindo.maya@iberostar.com.mx. Rest assured we have also taken actions regarding the night clerk you mentioned.

Concerning the missing item, as the Chief Concierge explained, we follow a procedure that includes careful investigation of the facts. Your report came to us the day before you were leaving and this is a very important issue that needs a careful follow-up. We can assure you that you will be contacted by our Chief concierge via email.

Concerning the person in the room, as the chief concierge told you when she contacted you to explain the situation, as a repeat client, you receive a free “night courtesy” (this turndown service includes arranging the room at night, preparing the beds for sleep, leaving a small chocolate and perhaps some information of the activities for the next day, etc). On this occasion it was somebody from the staff (housekeeper) offering this turndown service at 10:16 p.m (the timeframe for turndown service is 6.00pm to 10.30pm) as we were able to check after reading the electronic lock to verify who had access to the room (each room key is registered and indicates if it belongs to guests, housekeeping staff or maintenance). We apologize for the inconvenience, but we had the best of the intentions to provide this service.

We thank you again for your time and hope you change your mind and visit us once again.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very large resort! Be prepared to do a lot of walking. Bell hops provide rides only when called 10 minutes ahead. Reservations were required for every dinner meal. We ate in three of the specialty resturants, none of which were memorable. Nothing was bad, but not good enough to make me want to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank Joestewart900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your review with us.

We are sorry to hear that your stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya was not an unforgettable one; we try very hard to please all of our guests with a variety of services, restaurants, entertainment, and facilities.

We will try hard to check areas that have room for improvement.

We hope you change your mind and get another chance to host you once more.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I and our family of 10 have just returned from yet another outstanding experience at the Iberostar Maya. We are seasoned all inclusive travelers and have come to appreciate all that this property and it's wonderful staff has to offer. it all starts with the warm and attentive welcome received from Alex and his staff at the front desk of the hotel, then it's Freddie and his crew eagerly waiting to serve us at the bellhop stand. Mar, our concierge in building 60 did not miss a beat, always welcoming us by name whenever we would pass, she even wished my wife Happy Birthday!! We cannot forget to mention our favorite "dynamic duo" in the snake bar, Jose and Artemio. They are both very professional and entertaining. Food and service throughout the property was excellent as always!! My compliments to the management team at this resort, first for selecting such great employees and secondly for keeping them happy and truly enjoying their jobs. It's a testimate to Iberostar that we continue to see these same wonderful people every time that we return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John_B60124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the management of Iberostar Paraiso Maya we would like to thank you for your kind review.

It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. Thank you for your comments about our staff, definitely our most important asset! We will be forwarding your nice comments to them so that they can feel motivated.

Please rest assured that we remain committed to your total satisfaction, so we hope that you will not hesitate to return soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Maya (has elevators, free wifi and free safety boxes and whirlpool tub). Beautiful grounds, surroundings, stunning lobbies (Maya and Lindo), and efficient staff. Very well suited to families and couples. Food was excellent. La Pagoda and La Laguna share the same buffet -they grill fresh food in front of you so very delicious and always fresh. If you happen to sleep past ten, breakfast is available at el tapatia from 7:30 to 11:30 a.m. buffet and alacarte (lobster omelet). They are open for lunch and dinner and there are also many alacarte options (reserve at the concierge on the ground floor by the stairs of your building) Never had a problem getting reservations or changing reservations. The towels can also be picked up and dropped off at the concierge. Staff spoke English well and were accommodating in every way.
Try the Spanish coffees at the alacartes (they put ice cream on top) and at the Snake bar(steamed milk foam on top). The lazy river is too lazy - really needs a decent current. The pools feel cold at first but once in they are great. Caribbean blue warm ocean with a sandy bottom - heavenly. The property is amazing - feels so welcoming - like a giant hug. At the Cancun airport discovered great food for the plane at Starbucks - Poblano and Mexican whole wheat croissant - hope that food hits every Starbucks in Canada - so good. Just go and explore this fabulous property.

Room Tip: top floor quiet side.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you for review. We are honored to have had the privilege of hosting you.

Thank you for appreciating our culinary offer and the service provided by our wonderful staff! We are also thrilled you were so happy with your room, the pools, and the facilities of the hotel in general.

We hope that the Iberostar Paraiso Maya name will be in your mind whenever you plan another trip to Mexico.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews