We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paraiso Maya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
State College, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paraiso Maya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We (4 adults, 1ten year old) thought the food was generally disappointing. There was a decided lack of Mexican food. The Japanese restaurant was primarily a novelty ac with bad foodt; the French restaurant was almost good. The service was consistently excellent. The beach is beautiful but watch for rocks in shallow water. Overall the 5 or 6 hotels seemed like too much. The single gym was too far away. The water park was for small children and the lazy river was similarly unexciting and for children. Fine- but that was not clear in the advertising.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank bobinstatecollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay with us.

The management of Iberostar is committed to providing services and facilities which satisfy our guests’ requirements and therefore we extend our sincerest apologies if you were disappointed with certain aspects of our resort. Please rest assured however that all your observations have been noted and will be passed along to the respective department managers.

We will also make sure that the information on the advertising is clear enough for our future guests. Thanks for that comment, as it is very important our guests are clear about the facilities available in the resort they have chosen to spend their holiday.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any future assistance and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,643
    1,339
    464
    173
    109
See reviews for
2,720
1,019
41
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

After a long flight from the UK this was the perfect resort, not the place if you are looking for an exclusive boutique hotel but the facilities were superb. Room had everything you could wish for when your body is out of sync time zone wise and you need to pop on a DVD for the kids whilst you enjoy a glass of wine. It is a safe environment where you can allow your kids (mine ages 11 & )to have a degree of independence without worry, going to get icecream, the kids pools, wave pool etc.

Plenty of restaurants, with lovely food, lunch time enjoyed the lobster and shrimp served at your table. Mexican was the most dissapointing, excellent steak house and sea food reservations made with no probs booking, BUT we ate early with our children.

Kids facilities excellent, definately a child friendly resort, lots of kids but not screaming brats charging around. You can chill out and and avoid crownds if needed, take what you want from the resort it is great!

Only down side, the buffet food was sometimes a little cold and not hot and fresh and when we checked in i think we got the grumpy woman who really seemed less than a little competent, seems like she would rather be elsewhere but once through - super and when we used the front desk for other things we had a great experiene - tip - slightly sexist but find a bloke to check you through!

Room Tip: Few have sea view - need to request it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helloemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management team and all the staff of the Iberostar Paraiso Maya, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation in Mexico and also for taking the time to send us your comments about your experience at our hotel.

The management of Iberostar is committed to providing services, facilities and an ambiance which satisfies our guests’ requirements specially when traveling with kids and babies. We thank you for your comments about the food and restaurants, with this information we can improve our service.

We will also be reinforcing training on our front-desk and the rest of the staff; Iberostar distinguishes itself from other hotels for its personalized customer service, so when a guest is dissatisfied by this, we take immediate corrective actions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

So you might have seen, we spent 3 nights at the ERC and then transferred back to the Maya where we have stayed 3 times previously (and two stays at the other adjoining hotels) and had another lovely holiday.

We can not fault this hotel, all the staff are fantastic which results in professional friendly service. The hotel is extremely large but you will see constant work being done to keep everywhere in tip top condition be it the amazing grounds, to cleaning the sunbeds to refreshing the paint work.

The food and drink are spot on for us and all though the resort was at a very high capacity we were able to book all the restaurants we wanted at the time we wanted. It would be nice to see a few changes to the menu each year and the Mexican restaurant could do with some improvement. We loved the addition of the lunch time restaurant just for the Maya guests, the lobster and prawns are amazing. The wine has also improved although it would be nice to have a wine menu for the restaurants as they do have different ones and you are never quite sure what there is. We love the snake bar and Jose is a great bar man.

For a 14 night stay in Mexico you can't go wrong. For us we love the size of the resort which allows us to do different things each day and night. I'm sure there are hotels who's rooms might be more opulent but the combination of the level of everything here can not be beaten.

So we have just booked again today for our 5th stay there for two weeks in Janaury 2014.

Happy to answer any questions you have.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelleb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear client,

On behalf of all the hotel staff and particularly the manager, we are very grateful for your taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with other travelers; thank you so much for your loyalty to Iberostar!!!!

We are thrilled to hear that we have contributed once more to making your holiday wonderful.
Your review motivates us to continue improving in our service. Thank you for your recognition.

We are making changes on the menus of a few restaurants; thank you so much for your suggestions, which have been passed on to our Head Chef.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel next January. Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance should you have any special request.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My family and I just returned from a 6 day stay at the resort. The service was excellent, everyone very friendly and helpful except at check in. The resort is beautiful and the beach was great.My daughter had a great time using all the different pools and she loved ordering smoothies by the pool and getting ice cream in the afternoon. We had a nice room in building 61 with a view of the pool and tree tops, very relaxing. Room was well maintained with lots of towels and soda and water in mini bar. My only negative is the food, it was average. We ate a buffet breakfast and lunch which was average and then had a different reservation each night at a speciality restaurant. The french one, L'Etoile was very good, all the rest were just ok and some, such as Jumbayla were awful.
My suggestion is if you are travelling with a family and like different things, such as beach vs. pool, bring a set of walkie talkies. The resort is large but I was able to stay in touch with my husband and daughter while I was at the beach and they were at the various pools.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattycakes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya.

We are pleased to hear that you have had a fabulous experience during your stay with us but sad to hear you were not pleased with our food. We are making some changes on the menus for some of the restaurants, it will be a pleasure to have you back to experiment these changes.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been to the Paraiso resort 18 times, we started at the Del Mar and moved over to the Lindo years ago and recently have stayed at the Maya several times. The biggest question people ask is what is the difference between the Lindo and Maya. Here goes with the MAIN differences…

Room:
The room furnishings are a slight step up from the Lindo. As you walk into the room, you have his and her closets so you can leave your closet open while dressing and don't have to slide the door back and forth to get to your stuff. In the closets, you'll also find 2 cotton robes. At one end of the bathroom, a ceiling high shower so a tall guest will easily fit. His and her sinks are in the center of the bathroom, so both can get ready at the same time. At the opposite end, a jacuzzi jetted tub. As you enter the bedroom area, there is a huge armoire that holds a flat screen TV, a DVD player and the satellite box. Further into the room, there is an open room divider with a step down that holds a sofa, two end tables with lamps, a coffee table and a chair. On the other side, there's a table with ethernet ports (extra charge) and a chair. On the balcony, you have a hammock, a patio table with two chairs as per the Lindo but again the quality is a slight step up.

Buildings:
-Each building has an elevator to assist guests getting to the second or third floor. The elevator came in handy this trip as my wife fell entering the pool side washroom and needed to wear a knee immobilizer so the stairs were somewhat difficult.
-Two of the buildings (blg 60 and 63) have a private pool with chaise loungers exclusive to Maya guests. A third private pool area located at blg 65 was turned into a kids theme / water park and I believe Lindo guests have full access but I'm not certain as we don't have young kids.

Lobby/others:
-In the evening, Maya guests have two additional a-la-cart restaurants that Lindo guests can't visit, the Gourmet (French) and the Japanese. Lindo guests have their own Gourmet restaurant with a different menu and Lindo guests can visit the Japanese restaurant located at the Paraiso Beach (just next door). The only difference that we noticed between the two Japanese restaurants, was the Maya guests are offered lobster.
-Maya guests have an a-la-cart breakfast served in two locations, in the main lobby and pool side (the pool side started during our stay which worked out excellent as we stayed in building 61 immediately beside the pool side breakfast area so my wife only had to walk a very short distance with her crutch). The breakfast menu had a nice variety of eggs including lobster omelets for you egg lovers.
-Also started during our stay, Maya guests have an a-la-cart lunch served at the pool side restaurant. It offers everything that the Lindo does, plus you can order off a menu. The tables are set and the air conditioning was on adding a nice touch compared to the Lindo pool side restaurant. The menu was so new, it was a computer printout inserted into a bonded menu holder. The menu may change as it wasn't in stone yet and offered, roasted beef steaks, kabobs, lobster and at least 5 more choices.
-Password protected Wi-Fi is included in the Maya lobby / bar area otherwise guests must pay for internet access.
-There are some SPA privileges as well but we've not used them so I can't enhance on this.

Other reasons why we like the Paraiso:
Whether you stay at the Del Mar/Beach/Lindo or Maya, 50% of the rooms have king size beds and the remainder have 2 doubles unlike other resorts who only have 10% king size beds which we prefer. Concierge service is excellent, if you need something, ask and if it's within reason, you'll get it. We have seen the resort's ups and downs over the numerous years that we have visited and recently, the resort is heading upward. I was told by a manager during our last trip, that there are many more improvements coming for both Lindo and Maya guests. We look forward to seeing what they are as we are already planning our 19th visit.

Drop a line at aazz823@yahoo.ca if you'd like. Our last visit was 30 Jan to 6 Feb 13.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
72 Thank gmacpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for being a part of the Iberostar family; thank you so much for your loyalty!

We are thrilled to hear that we have contributed to making your holiday wonderful once more and we are confident we will exceed your expectations for your next visit.

We are very grateful for the descriptions you have made on your review, so that other travelers get enough information to help them decide on the hotel of their choice.

We look forward to seeing you again at your home away from home!

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently stayed at this resort for 18 days. It is a very large property which requires lots of walking. The rooms were clean and well maintained daily. Beds were a bit hard but after requesting an egg crate topper it was much better. Food was good but was but very much the same every day. I highly recommend making reservations for the specialty restarants.Pools and Work out facility was good also.
Beach is gorgeous! If I were to return for a stay I would highly recommend "The Grand" on the beach (if your budget permits)..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
5 Thank Glammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff at Paraiso Maya, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent vacations in Mexico.

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community your opinion of your stay at our hotel. We are happy you were pleased with you rooms, the pools, the gym and our specialty restaurants.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have had the opportunity to visit this Iberostar resort 4 times in the last 6 years. This was our second visit to the Iberostar Maya. We have also been to the Iberostar Rose Hall Suites in Jamaica. We are also seasoned European travellers.
I must say my overall impression is still very positive! The service remains very good, in fact I found the service of some staff to be excellent. The staff continue to make you feel important and cultivate a culture for you to continually remind you that you are on vacation!
Room
We had a superior junior suite which was very sizeable since we were at the resort for two weeks. The room we were in - the couch was a pull out. Buildings 60,61 and 62 are closer to the beach as well as to the breakfast and lunch buffet- el tapitico. These buildings are a little further walk to the gourmet restaurants. But a golf cart ride can be organized by the buildings concierge.
Our room was kept very clean. Our cleaning server was Carmen and she never seemed to miss anything we needed. Our first night we spent in a double room instead of a king room. However that was promptly fixed the next day followed by a bottle of champagne in our room for our inconvenience.
Restaurants
We found the restaurants to be very good to excellent. Our favourite restaurant was l'etoile - the Maya's French restaurant. The lobster salad to start was very good. The lamb and the duck were both very good choices for entrees. Please don't feel intimidated about attending this restaurant - the staff is amazing and makes you feel very comfortable and welcome. The servers of note were Jose and Julio. The maitre d was Luis and provided us with excellent service and attention! He is to be commended!
The other restaurants - la marina (seafood), the Japanese and the steakhouse are all worth a visit. One other restaurant that we enjoyed enough to visit twice was the Brazilian at the Del Mar.
El tapitico - was an excellent choice for breakfast and lunch. At both meals you could order off the menu or enjoy the buffet. The steak as well as the grilled shrimp were very good off the lunch menu. Servers of note in the buffet were Victor ( also in the steak house) Antonio, Jose and Miguel. Luis ( from the French restaurant) was over seeing the buffet and again was superb in his service and attention.
Concierge
The biggest and most pleasant surprise was the great service from our building (60) concierges. Maricruz and Olympia were very helpful and attentive. The concierge who deserves to be truly recognized for her outstanding service is Mar! She went above and beyond to make our stay very enjoyable.
Beach and Pool
As in the past we have enjoyed beach walking. You can walk on good beach and safely for about two miles south of the resort - which makes for a great return walk of four miles. As well being an active vacationer - I really enjoy doing lengths in the pool by the Lindo and Maya buffets. It was not as busy and allowed for easy swimming.
Spa
The spa which is available to the Maya clients is superb. The wet area consists of a beautiful large salt water pool with amazing jets that could rival a masseuse. The other area had five small pools of varying temperatures including a cold pool. The other features in this area were a steam room and different showers with varying temperatures as well as a sauna. This area is a real plus. Of course you can book massages and another spa treatments here as well.
Excursion
We took advantage of the reciprocal use of the Iberostar Queztal/ Tucan in Playacar. We took a cab to Playacar which was about 280 pesos. From the Iberostar we walked along the beach - north- for about 45 minutes and arrived in Playa del Carmen right at the ferry terminal. We spent the afternoon and evening there.
Thank you again to the Iberostar for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Building 60 as it was closer to the beach. The rooms on the third floor facing The Grand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank hockeymom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review about your stay at Iberostar Paraiso Maya.

It is a great pleasure to hear we provided you and your family with a wonderful vacation, and that you enjoyed our grounds, services and most importantly, our staff. We will be passing your comments on to them (especially Carmen, Jose, Julio, Luis, Victor, Antonio, Miguel, Maricruz, Olympia and Mar). They do work really hard to ensure you have a memorable vacation and you are absolutely right, they deserve recognition because they are key to our success.

We will be waiting for your next visit, which we hope will be very soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,806 reviews
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,530 reviews
6.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,632 reviews
7.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing