We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We travelled to the Iberstar Maya on the 6th Oct for 2 weeks
The Flight – We went as always with first choice. We paid the extra for prem class, for the extra leg room etc. but the seat were very uncomfortable plus the couple who was sat in front of us on the way out had their seats right back from take off to landing the full 11hrs….. so please if you’re thinking of putting you seat back even in prem seats think about the people behind….!!!!! there’s not only you on the plane…... Some people just think of them self’s….get a grip ….on the way back they were two seats in front of us…I would of paid for them to be behind us…and they did the same too the poor old couple behind them again….The poor woman couldn’t move when the plane landed in Manchester….selfish ******’s
The Hotel is beautiful. The rooms were lovely. We were in block 63, its about half way between the beach and lobby, close to the pool but remember this place is huge so it a longish walk were ever you are. We’ve been to different places and Hotels in the Caribbean for the last 5 years but the Maya is the best we’ve been to but its the newest as well saying that…!!. The private pools are a lovely touch….This is the 3rd Iberostar hotel we’ve been to and I must say they take some beating they’re so very well run ….
The Maya and Lindo are basically the same hotel but with different lobby bars and receptions in fact I think we spent more time in the Lindo side then the Maya because the theatre and main buffet are on the Lindo side…
We did all the restaurants. Steak house lovely try the ribs on the buffet starter delightful - Cajon lovely. We’re not lovers of Sea food but tried it and it was ok .Japanese restaurant – lovely. Didn’t like the gourmet / French but again we tried it. A good tip don’t order you mains meals until you’ve had your buffet starter else they come half through your starter and it ends in a bit of a rush. We like taking our time between courses but that’s us…Buffet – there’s was always something to eat. There is a main meat or fish dish every night were the chef cuts you a slice off. Please please try the beef oh my god it melts in your mouth. The bar and the bar staff are all first class. They'll make you anythng you ask for plus in the main bar they got all the top named drinks
The hotel and grounds are beautifully kept. The workers are first class they never stop and always have time to smile and say hello. The lobby bar at the Maya is absolutely stunning; the attention to detail is unreal. The star friend’s shows at night were very good. They put so much effort in.
This is the first time we’ve been so late in the year due to work but we couldn’t have picked a better time to go. Like I've already said this Hotel is huge but it was at best only a quarter full, it got a bit busier at the weekends but not much and it was heaven…no getting up at stupid times just to get sunbeds….We’d roll out of bed at 10ish have a later breakfast walk down to the beach till mid-afternoon then go round the pool and have our pick of sunbeds it was heaven but on the same point I wouldn’t like to be there when its full… it would be a different holiday totally I bet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brutus37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear client,

On behalf of all our staff members we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our lovely resort, Iberostar Paraiso Maya. We would also like to express our gratitude for the time you have taken to share with us and the rest of the online community, your opinion of your stay at our resort.
Having said that, we are delighted to have provided you with an outstanding holiday and are also pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff, delicious food, services and our beautiful well-maintained grounds.

With your most recent trip to Iberostar being so pleasurable, we are quite confident that you will be staying again at our hotel and therefore we sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,377
    1,220
    425
    162
    104
See reviews for
2,445
932
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trafalgar, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had stayed at Barcelo Maya Palace three prior trips and was skeptical about trying anything else.
Barcelo does have a nicer sea front--no mangrove jungle to walk through to get to it.
But after staying at the IPMaya, I would have no qualms about going there again.

We rented a Hertz car and used it to go to Coba(I made it to the top of the 126 step pyramid) and Playa del Carmen to shop, get massages,and see the Nasty Ba$tards at the Wah Wah beach bar. JJ and his boys are a lot of fun.
The resort is relatively close to the airport and PDC which makes it nice to drive--we saved transfer fees,Coba trip fees, and shuttle or collectivo fees to PDC.

Checkin was a breeze. We arrived 7:30 pm and headed to the snake bar after checking in our rooms. We had made all of our restaurant reservations two weeks prior and had the Steakhouse the first night at nine. Very good seafood and steak. We ate at the Japanese Geisha three times, the Marina seafood twice and the gourmet once. Every thing was very good, especially the stone crab and king crab appetizers at the seafood. Had lobster, steak and shrimp at the Japanese--excellent.
The morning and lunch buffets were very good and offered many choices.The bars all served good drinks and we had a huge variety --Mexican flags to Dos equi beer. Enrique at the snake bar is a jewel, though all the bartenders were very good.
Service was very, very good and helpful throughout the complexes.

We used the hobie cats three different days and had nice sails--staff very nice at the divers shop.
Went to the special halloween party at the shopping center--they did a tremendous job with the "scare tunnel". The regular shows were not Vegas, but with a few timely drinks they were doable.
We had great weather the whole week(Oct 28-Nov4).
Didn't mind the walks--needed them after the meals.Golf carts were always at the lobby areas if you did want a ride somewhere.
Grounds were spotless with much vegetation to care for.
Again, the employees made things extra special and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We stayed third floor jungle side in 61--Even though 60 and 63-4 have private little pools, I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear client,


We would like to thank you for choosing the Iberostar Paraìso Maya for your vacation. We also apreciate your comments about our speciality restaurants, the food, bars and most important of all, our service/staff. Our main goal is guest satisfaction, and it is very gratying to hear we had acomplised that.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We returned to the Maya for the 3rd time and could not have had more fun. The rooms and food are good, but even better this time was the entertainment staff! The Star Friends work so hard and make the trip so much fun! We had such a great time thanks to Sandy, Juan Carlos, April, Marilyn, Carlos, Jonathon, Tracy, and team! Jorge in the Theater Bar was awesome!

Hope to see you guys soon!

<3 Vensors! (aka Miss Iberostar, Mr. Dancing with the Stars, Ashley from Colorado and Reese - Star Friends in Training!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear clients,

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed even more your 3rd stay with us. It motivates us to continue improving our services.
We have new management in our entertainment team so we are glad you like the changes.

We will be waiting for your, we hope very soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our family of 10 loved this place. Just about everything met our high standards. Our rooms were clean, colorful, attractive. The food was very good..... not great, but very good. We never went hungry and particularly loved breakfast..... wonderful fruit and enough mangos for everyone.

Drinks were ok.... wine was just ok.... but drinkable.

Beach clean and fun with the huge waves to ride. Bring your own canvas raft for more fun.

Only detriment is that it is very, very large.... lots of walking to get from place to place, especially to the beach. Wave pool and lazy river barely adequate for this day and age of wonders. These could have been more elaborate.

But all in all we got our money's worth and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: There are hundreds of rooms ..... anyone will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ClubCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took in writing this excellent review. We feel honored to have contributed to make your stay very pleasant.

WE also thank you for your comments about the lazy river and the wave pool. It is true the hotel is quite large, but we do have the “train shuttle” running through the complex for the clients that don’t feel like walking that much.

We hope this will not be a reason for not coming back, so we look forward to welcoming you once more in the near future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from 7 nights at the Maya. The Iberostar hotels are HUGE in size! As other have said, there is a lot of walking, but I liked it because it helped work off all the food I took in. :) Our granddaughter loved the kids club!!! The weather was perfect, the beach was beautiful, the food was good, and the service was wonderful! We got lucky and one day when we were on the beach, a batch a sea turtles started coming out of the sand. The hotel personnel rescued all of them because they were coming out during the day, which is deadly for sea turtles. They usually hatch at night when all the large animals are "sleeping". :) They released the turtles later that evening, when the sun went down. This is soooo amazing! We had great fun at the Iberostar and I would highly recommend it! The people who work at the Iberostar are very friendly and helpful. Please make sure you tip people at the hotels or in the taxi....they deserve it and it only gets you better service than you are already getting. We always left a couple dollars for the maid and tipped the waiters a couple dollars, etc. It is greatly appreciated by the people that work so hard to please you and make your vacation memorable.

Room Tip: We loved building 63 because it was in the middle of everything. Half way between the beach and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 68BeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you for review. We are honored to have had the privilege of hosting you. It is hoped that the Iberostar Paraiso Maya name will be foremost in your mind whenever you are planning another trip to Mexico.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for a week at the Paraiso Maya (upgraded to Maya from the Lindo upon check in), how wonderful. This is our 5th visit. Alex, the Desk Manager at the Maya made this possible. He is truly a valuable asset to the Iberostar Resort and we always trust his recommendations. We met him on our initial visit and he has always helped provide a wonderful experience for us. Also on the staff I would like to thank Julio, Luis, Star Friend's Leonardo, Fransisco, and Sandi, and if I could all of the other staff members as everyone there does a remarkable job. We have traveled to other resorts but always return to the Iberostar Maya as the service and quality are over the top!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the hotel satff and manager we would like to thank your for choosing Iberostar Paraìso Maya for your 5th vacation. We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time and that our staff mencioned (Alex, Julio, Luis and the Star frineds) were important to make that happen.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you for the 6th time in the near future.

Best regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was not my first trip to Mexico, Cancun or the Riviera Maya, however, it is now, by far, my best experience in this region. The welcome moist towelette, frozen drink and snack was a very nice touch. Like it's been mentioned here before, the rooms are spacious and well appointed not to mention they are cleaned daily with the creative towel sculptures awaiting us every eve.
The property is beautifully tropical. The pool has something for everyone from the wave section which is popular with the kiddies (and adults too) to a couple of quiet sections to the very active swim-up bar area. Whatever you're into, you can find it at the pool, including the lazy river, which I think is a pretty neat idea despite the comments here. The activities including the aquatic exercises were excellent and the fact that you could use water inflatables was a plus for me (but I am a bit corny about that kind of thing, LOL - drinks while "in" the pool beats drinks by the pool sometimes). The beach was nice but the ocean was a bit rough for swimming. Not sure if its like that all the time but this was probably my least favorite feature (like really is this the resorts fault?). But it didn't distract or detract from the overall experience at all. The Stars team make the day at the beach more than fun with their program of activities, in fact, the evening shows we attended were engaging despite the fact we really aren't into resort entertainment. The Star Players keep you engaged day and night, only if you wanted/chose to be. Back to the beach, the live band was great as was the limbo contest and other activities. The huge paella fiesta made fresh right there on the beach was extremely memorable. It's quite an experience you won't forget.
The concierge is most helpful and make sure you use them. Anything you needed, they would try to make it happen whether it was restaurant reservations, spa appointments, trouble with your room, a bottle of champagne - you name it. My family and I ate at a specialty restaurant just about every night. I recommend the Seafood Restaurant (the surf and turf was decent as well as the king crab, snow crab and mussel appetizers) the Steak restaurant and the Japanese Place. Not sure why folks came down hard on the Mexican Restaurant - we thought it was fine. BTW, I'm a huge foodie. I live in NYC, downtown in one of the more flashier parts of town. Think - Chelsea Market, Gourmet Garage, Whole Foods, Fairway - these are the places I go to shop for fresh produce because I love to cook and eat out. I didn't go to Cancun expecting menus like Per Se, Le Bernardin and Nobu. So, if you want decent food catering to large amounts of people with different palates - Iberostar does it well considering. They really do. For the breakfast buffet, the Lindo was good with white table cloths (how people order tequila for breakfast I'll never know) but you can also do the buffet by the pool as well as the early morning repartee at the Seafood place - in other words there are great options for dining morning, noon and night. My 7yr old had the time of his life with the dining options and at the pool (especially the Wave), the Kids Club (a nice option), the restaurants (a clown comes around making balloon animals) and it seems like there's ice cream stations hidden in places. Make sure you get the fresh fruit smoothies for the little ones at the bar near the Wave Pool instead of the other frozen options - my son loved the fresh pineapple and banana.
A day at the Spa is also an excellent option. If you can do it, please do, you won't be sorry. But if spa treatments are not your thing, you can always simply use the Spa facilities (sauna, steam room, mineral pools, etc), which are a delightful and and relaxing plus (especially for couples to do together) also included in your stay.
In closing, one of the things that stood out most about the Iberostar Maya was their attention to service. The staff was constantly checking in on how things were going during our stay. Any issue, complaint was rectified as soon as they could and I've traveled extensively globally and although no one place is perfect regardless of how many stars they have, not many places check in with their patrons with the consistency of the Iberostar Maya. This aspect won me over. I plan to return in the future with more of my family and friends, when a relaxing stay in a tropical locale is on the menu. And I intend to spread the word that this place is most certainly more than worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ros W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Paraiso Maya, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear guest,
First of all we thank you for first, choosing Iberostar and second for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel.
Your words are very inspirating and gives us a great pleasure to hear that our goal, guest satifcation, was acomplished.
Your reviwes about the hotel grounds, restaurants, pool, spa, animation and our staff are very gratifying,
We look forward to welcome you back with family and friends.
Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 stars 5,134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 5,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 stars 4,157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 stars 10,350 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#14 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 13,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach ofPlaya Paraiso" (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing