We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,670)
Filter reviews
5,670 results
Traveler rating
3,254
1,559
536
191
130
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,254
1,559
536
191
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiberostar paraisowave poolseafoodla marinalazy riversnake barla geishasuperior suitelindo buffetel tapatioprivate poolstar friendskids clubspecialty restaurantsfrench restaurantfamily vacationother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
3,250 - 3,255 of 5,670 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Paying the extra money and staying at the Iberostar Paraiso Mayo is worth it. This was our second time there and each time got better and better. We've been to Aruba, Bahamas, Punta Cana and other places. Nothing beats this resort. The people make sure you are happy. The beach is amazing! The pools are the biggest pools I've ever been in besides the Atlantis. There's beautiful wild life. The food is fantastic! You have to go to all of the restaurants especially the Japanese one. Also take a day and go to the XCaret. It's fantastic! You can't go wrong with the Iberostar. Just bring some sunscreen, relax and have the best time of your life!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monique88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The resort lives up to its reputation. The staff is very very friendly. The rooms are big and clean. Everyone goes the extra mile to keep you happy. The pools are clean and good fun. The beach is excellent, though the red flag was up for 3 days out of 7 we were there, we still went in and it really wasn't rough. Loads of families with children. Good a la carte restaurants, decent evening entertainment at the theatre.
My favorite meal was breakfast with the collection of fresh juices and exotic fruits- lichees, figs, papaya, guava, mango, agave(?) and other fruits I don't even know the names of. Also, the salsa is awesome- I improvised and the egg station made me an omelette with a salsa filling- excellent!
We rented a car and did a couple of day trips- once to the ruins at Tulum and Coba (Go early before the crowds arrive) and once to Cancun. Playa del Carmen has a very happening evening scene at Avenida 5 and is only a 20 min drive south. (Be careful when driving at the Hotel Zone in Cancun- there are speed traps where the speed goes from 100 to 70 to 40 within a hundred yards- with greedy cops with waiting for unsuspecting tourist drivers!)
Cons- a) The free snorkeling gear that they advertise is free ONLY for one hour per person room per day (Barely enough time to walk to the beach outlet and back and snorkel for 15- 20 mins) I had our snorkeling gear packed and actually took it out of the bag when I read about the free gear- big mistake. Same with the free Kayaks.
b) The drinks are watered down- probably a good thing with so many being downed through the day.

Room Tip: 1) Email the resort for dinner reservations in advance 2) Ask for upgrades when checking in 3) Lobby bar has the best drinks- incl Glen
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Luv2travel1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just returned 17th August after two weeks at Paraiso Maya. This hotel is one of the cleanest that I have ever stayed at. The main pool is cleaned constantly - morning and night. The rooms are spacious and the beds were not uncomfortable (a previous review had said that the beds were hard). The food is a bit repetative in the restuarants around the pool area but the main restaurant at the Lindo (when buffet dinner is served) is of a better stahdard and selection. We also dined at the Steak restaurant a couple of nights and that was very good. the mediterranean restaurent is also worth a visit.
You don't need to be up early to secure a lounger around the pool there are always plenty free no matter what time you arrive at the pool. Of course if you like to be in the same spot every day you may need to be up early.
If you want somewhere cool and quite for a drink the sports bar is a good place to go.
The shows are quite good - worth watching Mexicana and the Pre Hispanic shows. I don't like magicians but even I enjoyed the magic show. The only problem is that if you are there for 2 weeks you watch the same things again!
We took the shuttle bus from one of the other hotels to Playa Del Carmen - no different from any other resort - tourist shops, bars and resaurants.
The only trip we did was to swim with the turtles - you go to a cave to snorkel then to the beach to snorkel with the turtles - half day trip - ok.
Beach activities varied - banana boat, kataman, canoes, windsurfing. Beach is lovely and you can walk out a good way before it gets too deep - fish swim in the shallow water and if you take some bread with you they will come to be fed.
There are some animals (coatis) around the hotel. Related to the racoon - I think - they don't bother you but some people ignore the signs telling you not to feed them - hence they become a bit cheeky and you need to watch your bags as they will steal food if you have any . There are large lizards but they don't bother anyone.
Activities not intrusive - you don't have people asking you to join in all the time. But they need to learn how to merengue and salsa! If you like to dance and can dance these classes will not be of interest to you - ok if you don't know how to dance.
Plenty to keep all the family entertained here from youngest to the oldest.
Weather was perfect when we were there - no rain in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrizDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

This hotel is enormous by itself, but also is part of the Iberostar Riviera Maya hotels, which means that you will get access to all kind of things like three excellent pools, one of them with waves, more than 15 restaurants, kids club, excellent beach, several bars, ice cream shop in the pool area, even an small pool for each one of the 6 small buildings where the rooms are located. They have a lot of activities for guests on the pools and on the beach, and entertainment shows in the theater at night. There is also a golf curse and a small mall just for the Iberostar hotels. I liked everything, the food, the weather, the beach, the room and the pools, I only have two complaints, the first one is that the hotel is so big that if you are moving from block 60 to the reception you have to ask the bellboy for transportation, the second one is that although the staff is very kind and friendly there were two of them that were not in the mood for helping... I will recommend you to take advantage of the transportation service from the hotel to Playa del Carmen it is cheaper, comfortable and punctual and will take you to the most interesting part of the city: 5th Av. One peculiar thing about this hotel is the presence of coatis, these little friends are not in the hotel area, they are in the small mangrove swamp that is on the way to the beach, they are very used to humans and the main reason for this is food; so if you find them and want to give them something (although the hotel forbids this) please give them some fruit...

Room Tip: We stayed on block 60, it is the nearest to the beach, it is also near the pools and restaurants.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

stayed at the iberostar in february and the valentin in August and would rate the iberostar half to a full star better. Both resorts had wonderful staff but the rooms and balconies at the iberostaff were better. Valentin did not have washrooms or a snack bar close to the ocean and all meals in evening were a la carte (however no reservations which was good). Food at both resorts very good. Beach at both resorts good if you stayed away from the rocky areas. Both had wonderful pools however washrooms always seemed too far away for some users of the swim up bars. Will not return to Maya or Cancun area as airport is ridiculous.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvnheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews