We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Iberostar Golf Club Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very unique course and can be a challenge. Beautifully manicured. Don't bother taking your clubs as they have very good golf sets including Nike, Titleist and Callaway.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Errol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    134
    30
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great golfing right from your hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I am more into diving than golfing, but this vacation I did both. First time I tried golfing here (third time in the hotel) and probably not the last.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great golf course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

the golf course is great and very challenging, but bring your bug spray because the mosquitoes can be very aggressive if you end up in the lush trees/jungle.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank brody22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big Break Mexico was filmed here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I found out the day before our trip that this seasons Big Break on the Golf Channel was filmed here back in January 2013. My wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Grand which allows you to play 1 round for every 2 days you stay at the resort. I was fortunate to play the course twice and was not disappointed. The course conditions were immaculate; very plush fairways, minimal rough and true rolling greens. It is a Pete Dye design, so be prepared to be tested. Most of the holes are friendly off of the tee box, but hitting greens in regulation is a must. The greenside slopes are extremely steep and slick, bunkers are also very deep and strategically placed. I had multiple shots within 10 feet of the pin and spin off the green, catch the slope, leaving me with a difficult chip or even a pitch shot which were all up hill. From the tips it is a really good test of golf, the other 3 sets of tees offer a reasonably easy and fun round of golf. The service is phenomenal from setting up a tee time, complimentary food and drinks (alcohol included), club storage, and club rentals. The course has also hosted the Riviera Mayan Open, last played in 2012 in which Spencer Levin shot a total of -21.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Undiscovered gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is every golfer's dream, a well designed course that is well maintained and no one is on it. Tee times are easy to come by. You can adjust the level of challenge based on the tees you play, here it does make a difference and not just another 50 yards to cover.
Services are good, the refreshment cart makes frequent rounds and the refreshments are part of the green fees. Cold towel at the end of the round is great and they do a fine job of club cleaning.
There is only one issue and it is not an issue if you can keep you ball on the fairway - the baranca is white and it is hard to see white balls when you venture too far from the lush green of the fairways.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iberostar Golf Club Playa Paraiso also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Iberostar Golf Club Playa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing