We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$173
View deal
Iberostar.com
$176
View deal
Traveluro
$158
View deal
Hotels.com$173
Booking.com$207
Travelocity$173
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,181)
Filter reviews
6,181 results
Traveler rating
3,332
1,808
653
234
154
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,332
1,808
653
234
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews del mar specialty restaurants star friends lobby bar the mediterranean restaurant rock cafe tacos buffet food other resorts crepes taco bar quiet area beautiful resort main buffet recommend this resort taco place hot dogs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 6,181 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2019

This was our second 7-day vacation at the del Mar resort after spending Christmas 2018 there. We took another couple with us this time, and had a terrific holiday. The food is fantastic, the service is attentive, and the resort itself is well-maintained and beautiful. Even during the rainy season, we had great weather (it only rained at night and was sunny every day), plus the beach was in top-notch shape with no seaweed. We'd highly recommend the resort to anyone looking to get away for a relaxing vacation.

A few tips for first-time visitors:

Take bug spray and use it (the mornings and evenings get pretty buggy with mosquitoes during the rainy season).

If you use any type of CPAP machine, take your own extension cord. There are limited outlets in the rooms, and not many close to the beds.

The pool and beach bars welcome "Bubba" cups! They keep your drink cold and covered while you bob around in the pool or relax on the sand.

Unless you are independently wealthy, don't bother with the "Iberostar Club" presentation that the concierge will try to book for you (with the promise of a free massage at the spa). It takes up a lot of your vacation time, and it's a high-pressure sales pitch for the black membership (which costs a whopping $129,000!). Although, side note, go ahead and book a massage at the spa and pay for it instead...it was awesome!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheriChicklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2019

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we thank you for trusting in Iberostar Paraiso del Mar once again as a holiday destination, but above all, for taking the time to share your opinion with the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted to know that you spent wonderful days in our beautiful facilities, enjoying the exquisite culinary offer, our natural surroundings combined with a relaxing atmosphere, making your experience with us, unforgettable.

Moreover, we are grateful for your comments regarding our incredible staff and the amazing Spa. Rest assured that we will share your kind compliments with all the team and we will congratulate them for their excellent work.

It is worth to mention that the intention of our The Club colleagues, is to inform our guests about the different services and benefits of our loyalty program. We apologize if in any moment this meant an inconvenience during your stay.

We cannot wait to welcome you back on your upcoming vacations and keep pampering you, as you deserve.

Friendly regards,

Quality Manager,
Iberostar Paraíso Del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2019

This was our first time in Mexico but many visits to Cuba/Domincan past years. Reviera Maya in general surrounded by lots of greenery.
Del Mar is located next to Paraiso Beach from the bottom of 5 Iberostar resorts. Very well kept property. They care about nature and apparent they did lots of hardwork to indulge nature onto whole resort experience. Beautifully maintained gardens with lots of healthy big trees with lots of wind life and pets. We extremely enjoyed playful colony of lames, swans, lots of birds, ducks.We were there in end of August 2019, did not feel August heat at all. They even keep the trees and built walkways around them.
Room : very clean, in room fridge is loaded every day, never ran out of drinking water . linen/towels are replaced and housekeeping ladies do excellent job. Beds are comfy and everyone slept well.
Food: Buffet serves good food, they are always filled up and new items are rotated periodically. Though we have expected bit more Mexican flavour, they have to cater to the majority of guests. Set menu restaurants are excellent, Japanese was our favourite. Beach and snack bars offer hot burgers and hotdogs with fries all day long. I'm a beer drinker, enjoyed dark stout type beer a lot, larger is good too. They take time to make the drink for you.
Beach: Seaweed a problem in the morning, staff starts removal operations from 7am, by 9am beach was like little to no seeweed found. Naver had a problem locating a spot. Very good pools as well, they are clean and big, spent lots of time there too.
Golf cart drivers are the most touchy people we met, they do whatever to provide a ride to a guest. Once a delivery cart gave us a ride, it was about to rain.
Overall our experience with Del Mar a 5 star one for sure. Definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Chamindadecosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2019

Dear guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Iberostar Paraíso Del Mar on your first visit to Mexico.

We are delighted to know that you spent wonderful days in our beautiful facilities, enjoying the exquisite culinary offer, our natural surroundings combined with a relaxing atmosphere, making your experience with us, unforgettable.

Moreover, we are grateful for your comments regarding our incredible staff, especially our Bell boys. Rest assured that we will share your kind compliments with them and we will congratulate them for their excellent work.

We cannot wait to welcome you back on your upcoming vacations.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Paraíso Del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2019

We have just got back from spending two weeks in Mexcio at Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar and we loved every minute of it. The resort is just amazing and packed with things to do the full day and night. We were firstly really impressed by the grounds, the resort is huge and is kept pristine from the cleanliness to the up keeping of gardening and pool and beach area. The nature around the grounds is lovely with flamingos, swans, turtles and animals present, it was always an interesting walk to the pool.

The food was great, the choice of restaurants is very diverse and quality of food is exceptional - even at the a la carte buffets. Our favourite restaurant was the Japanese with the live cooking at the table and tasting menu - it was delicious. There is also a shopping centre area shared with other hotels in the resort which is lovely and has various shops and eating places - the eating places are also included in the all inclusive offering which means you can get tacos, crepes, sweets, cake from 10-10pm at the centre - it's great.

The pool area is huge with a variety of sun loungers which means no having to fight anyone for a good space. There is also areas which are quieter if you want to chill out as well as space next to the entertainment. The beach is beautiful and very well kept. The entertainment staff were excellent as well and very friendly, they always had something going on and the live shows at night were the best I've seen at a holiday resort.

The staff in general are lovely and can't do enough for you from the reception and concierge to the waiters and bar staff - they all remember you and are happy to see you which is really nice.

I would 100% recommend this resort and would love to come back again!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank gillianh1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2019

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar Paraíso Del Mar on your recent visit to Mexico.

It pleases us to know how amazing your vacation was and that the outstanding service of our staff, the array of entertainment activities and tasty gastronomic offer were the highlights of your stay. There is nothing more rewarding for us than knowing we have exceeded your expectations.

We truly thank you for recommending our resort to other travelers. We cannot wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Paraíso Del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

We recently returned from a 2 week holiday here and had the best time!
The hotel grounds are amazing and so well kept. I loved seeing all the wildlife that lived on the hotel grounds peacocks, Flamingos, iguanas, and lots of coatis.
Our room in block 19 was very spacious and kept clean to a very good standard.
The beach was spotless 10/10 and so was the pool.
For me the pool was the best part of the hotel partly because it was so huge and had lots of different sections to it depending on what you felt like doing - drinking, playing games or relaxing. But what really made our holiday was all the fun and games provided by the entertainment team. Every single one of the guys and girls were so friendly and did an amazing job every day. I'm very grateful to Manolo for getting us involved in all the games and activities, as someone who might not usually take part -especially in getting up on stage! his encouragement to get involved meant we had an even better time on our holiday than we could've imagined! As well as giving us lots of laughs Manolo would also check in with us that everything was ok with our rooms and our stay in general. Credit to all the entertainment team as they are fantastic and for this reason we hope to return to this hotel in the future.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank 256laurenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2019

Dear guest,

It was an honor to host you at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar on your recent vacations in Mexico.

We are delighted to read that you had a great time with us enjoying our natural atmosphere, the exotic wildlife roaming our resort, the stunning beach and the comfort of your room.

Furthermore, we are glad to know that our beautiful pool area was of your entire satisfaction and that the attentive service of our team, especially of Manolo exceeded your expectations, we are suye that he will be happy to hear from you.

We cannot wait to welcome you back in the very close future!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Paraiso del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2019

We just spent a week at the Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar, and wow, were we impressed! Just as an FYI, we have never done AI before, have actually been "morally opposed" to it as we prefer to make our own way for food, activities, etc. But we got such an attractive deal, it was an offer we couldn't refuse, and we are glad we did NOT refuse. One of the best Beach Weeks we have ever spent, and we have spent many many Beach Weeks in many many places throughout the globe. So much to cover, I hope I can cover it all.

STAFF/SERVICE
-----------------
BY FAR the most outstanding component of this resort! If I gave them FIVE Stars out of FOUR,  I would still be shortchanging them! EVERYONE, from bellboys, to trolley drivers, to wait staff, housekeeping, desk staff, pool/beach staff etc etc is just so incredibly courteous, good-natured, and helpful. More so than I have seen in any other resort, and we have stayed in some pretty high end places! 
**N.B.** Be generous, and TIP WELL AND OFTEN, esp. your room maids (tip a little every day, rather than a lump sum at the end), waiters (buffet and a la carte), bartenders, concierges, bell boys. These people are working hard and are extremely attentive to everyone's needs. They deserve it!

I want to make some Special Shout Outs to some AMAZING people, all of whom exhibited such kindness, generosity, graciousness and professionalism that they all deserve the "Extra Mile Awards"
In ALPHABETICAL ORDER:
BERENICE, our concierge for always being there for us for whatever we needed, with a smile on her face and kindness in her heart
JORGE, the bartender in the Del Mar Lobby Bar and Cigar Lounge, for sharing his expertise, and being a classy, engaging, and fun kinda guy. A real Pro
LEO, the Captain in La Plaza Buffet for always greeting us by name, making sure we were well attended to, and making sure we had mangoes!
MARIANA, our PR Reservation Specialist, for going out of her way to make sure our Anniversary was one to remember, and was professional, communicative, and engaging way before we even arrived

PREMISES:
-------------
* The grounds are gorgeous - an amazing blend of manicured gardens and natural jungle. Immaculately maintained, meandering, with various different types of areas as you walk through. beautiful plants, lots of flowers, and an interesting assortment of fauna -  flamingos, peacocks, coatis (very funny and entertaining - except when they steal your lunch!) and more. Just so pleasant walking around the resort.
* The pool/s were some of the best we have experienced anywhere. We don't much like large central pools, and that is not what is here. Rather it is a long meandering complex with large active areas where they conduct games and activities (not really our thing) and several smaller more tranquil areas (much more our thing). Great landscaping, lots of lounges, palapas, swinging beds, shrubs, palm trees. Also grottoes, waterfalls, and Jacuzzi areas (not hot though). No poolside drink service, but swim-up bars abound! We visited the other resorts in the complex, and the Del Mar/Beach pool is by far the nicest.
* The buildings are low (3 stories) and spread out in a long line from the lobby to the beach. Very appealing to the eye, much more so than those giant "beehive" type buildings that abound in the area. We booked a Junior Suite, and for our 25th anniversary, were upgraded to an Oceanfront Junior Suite! (THANK YOU MARIANA!) and the room was wonderful. Spacious, well appointed, and couldn't beat the view from the balcony!Comfortable bed, cold air conditioning, and a mini-fridge well stocked with soda, beer, and I think for our anniversary, champagne! Cleaned spotlessly daily, and regularly decorated with fun towel animals, and fresh flowers and flower petals. Balcony was spacious, and has a collapsible drying rack for wet clothes. Only things we might have wanted were a few more drawers, a couple more electric outlets, and maybe a couple more wall hooks. But that's minor stuff. the room was terrific!
* BEACH was awesome! We were lucky that seaweed was not very present, but even the little bit there was, they clean up at sunrise every morning. Lots of space, nice white sand, plenty of palapas, lounge chairs, and beds. Gorgeous clear turquoise waters, easy in-and-out (not rocky or reef-y at all) Attendants constantly circulating to pick up used glasses, plates, etc. Beach bars right where they need to be. Some occasional fun activities, like water-aerobics, zumba, vollleyball, etc 

FOOD
--------
Food was everywhere and abundant. And I think for what we paid for staying here, great value. Is there better food to be had, either at the more upscale properties in this complex, or in town? Probably, but again, still GREAT value and variety here.
* We tried all the buffets, And they were about what you would expect - plentiful and varied. No matter your taste, you will always find something very good to please you. Breakfast was by far the best meal of the day at buffets, with lots of made-to-order options. Only one real complaint, and that is that the guacamole does not have chunks of avocado - it is more like avocado "paste" sometimes with chunks of tomato, and/or onions, sometimes chickpeas. Condiments and salsas and salads abound. Coffee is best from the machines rather than the roving pots. Juices don't seem fresh-squeezed, but still tasty and varied. Some sort of ceviche at almost every meal. 
* We went to four a la carte places - Hacienda, Rodizio, Dorada, and Hashiru. Hacienda (be sure to try the coconut-stuffed limes) and Rodizio (best chicken ever!) were our favorites - even went to Hacienda twice. A good enough selection for any palate, and the appetizer bars were indeed very appetizing and varied

ODDS-AND-ENDS
-------------------------
* Shopping Center was more interesting than we expected. Lots of different stores - souvenir, clothing, liquor, cigars, etc. Prices were about the same as what you will see on 5th Ave in PDC, and a good selection of things that you might want or need. PLUS there are a few food/drink service places, and all the food/drink items are included. DEFINITELY try the taco shop
* Gym - we went 3 times. Beautiful facility with floor-to-ceiling glass walls on two sides. Well kept, lots of machines, mostly aerobic (treadmills, bikes, ellipticals, etc) all of which had instructions in multiple languages, and fun environment videos so you can feel like you are walking/running/biking in American Southwest, Northern Mountains, European Cities, etc! Could use some more nautilus-type machines. But happy it was there, and enjoyed using it. Kept us from gaining lots of weight with all the food!
* Teatro - we saw 3 shows - Boogie Nights, Circus, and Magic Show. They are fun and a little cheesy, but in a good way. We liked Boogie Nights best - actually a pretty good production, and some great singers/dancers
* Cigar lounge - not very well attended, so doesn't reek of stale cigar smoke. It is air-conditioned, so if the lobby bar gets a little too warm, a good place to cool off.  BE SURE TO DO THE MONDAY TEQUILA TASTING run by JORGE. Very informative - and included!
* If you like straws, bring our own (re-usable) as none are available at the resort
* A thermal mug is useful to bring and have at the pools and beach, as drinks get warm fast. You don't need a giant one, as there are plenty of convenient bars to get refills no matter where you are
* Don't use the USD atm - it converts to pesos and then back to dollars, and charges you $30 to do so. Make sure you have enough cash with you, or when you take the shuttle to PDC use bank atm's there
* Very nice shower/changing rooms off the lobby that you can use if you are there before check-in and want to switch to bathing suits. Also - we had a late flight and were quite welcome to stay way past check-out, and eat, drink,. swim and then shower/change before heading out for the airport

CONCLUSION - You wont go wrong in this resort. It is exceedingly well-run, user-friendly, with more than enough amenities to keep you occupied, and well-fed-and-watered. The entire staff is amazing, and the facilities top-notch!

Room tip: Go for the Ocean Front building (#10) if you can. Building 10 is closest to the beach, building 20 is closest to the lobby area.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
15  Thank BrooklynFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Dear guest,

First and foremost, let us express you our gratitude for having chosen Iberostar Paraíso Del Mar to celebrate such a special date as your anniversary and for sharing this outstanding comment about your recent stay with us.

We are glad to know that you spent a lovely vacation experience as it is our goal to exceed our guests’ expectations.

Moreover, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our beautiful facilities, but above all, that our incredible pool, beach and amazing landscapes, created a relaxing atmosphere, making your experience with us unforgettable. Also, it is great that our Shopping Center, Fit & Fun and a la carte restaurants, were all to your liking.

Without a doubt, your kind words will be forwarded to those mentioned before to motivate them to continue giving their best.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again on your next vacation to create another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager,
Iberostar Paraíso Del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews