We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Resort, But Too MTV-Spring-Break For Us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Resort, But Too MTV-Spring-Break For Us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

in 2013 we had a great time at the Iberostar in Cozumel, so in 2014 I decided to try an Iberostar at Playa del Carmen, visiting for a week with my wife and 10-year old twins. I can only speak for the week that we were there, but man, full-blown drunkenness was all over the place. By noon, the three swim-up pool bars were humming, by 2:00 things started getting loud, and by 4:00 the ear-splitting club music and twerking finally drove us away. I had to ask a family matriarch floating on an inner tube to stop shouting F-bombs at one point. A group of woo-wooing teenagers were in the pool using a beer-bong that had a phallus on the end. After dark, teens would wander around the grounds in packs, carrying bottles of booze from the bar. Lots of men wearing man-kinis. Oh, and cigarette smoke wafting throughout. Shame because it is a nice, clean, friendly resort and the food was good. I'd do an Iberostar again, probably, but I'm not going back to Playa del Carmen anytime soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank CharlieChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacations.

We truly appreciate the time you took to share your comments and feedback with us. We are glad to know that you found our Hotel to be very friendly and nice. We will share your comments with our Staff since it keeps us motivated to offer the same top quality service to everyone.

We regret to know that you experienced awkward situations during your stay due to the spring break groups. Our Management is already aware of your comments and actions will be taken to avoid these inconveniences and to preserve our family friendly atmosphere.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future to have the opportunity to provide you with a much better experience.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,238
    1,479
    524
    193
    105
See reviews for
1,669
1,400
55
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Japenese resturant was a wonderful experience, great food. We also likedthe Brazilian resrurant. The buffets had a wide variety of foods, the only complaint being the hot foods were sometimes barely warm.
The rooms were spacious and clean, the small fridge barely kept the refreshments cold.
The pool areas and beach were wonderful.
Our only other complaint would be all the spring breaker staying there. They were loud, rude, and obnoxious.Luckily, our room was not next to any of them.
All in all, we loved this resort, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank fowlkesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations in Mexico.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had an amazing experience visiting our specialty restaurants, joining the activities around the Hotel and being pampered with the service provided by our friendly Staff.

We have already forwarded your feedback to our Head Chef and his Staff to take it in consideration for the service at the main buffets. We are glad to know that although the inconvenient experienced, you were able to enjoy your vacations and you would recommend us.

We would be truly pleasure to welcome you back again in your next visit to the Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Exceptionally clean & excellent service! Grounds and landscaping beautiful. The food was great and plentiful. The pool and poolside bars were awesome. The shows were great and they offered a lot of activities for kids. Looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank JMK440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Staff of IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We truly appreciate your amazing comments on our Hotel and on your recent experience. It is always a pleasure to read lovely reviews as yours! Our Staff will be very happy and motivated to read them.

We look forward for your next visit to this paradisiacal spot in the Riviera Maya.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Let me first start out by saying we have been doing AI’s for 14 years at Cabo, Rivera Maya, PV, Jamaica and Dominican Republic and have done well with Spring Breakers but not here. The staff, hotel al a carts and buffets were all great and comparable to any other AI. The pool was good with room to move around outside of the swim up bars. We had no problems getting reservations at the specialty restaurants.

The towel game is big here. You have to get up at 5:30 to get a chair as by 7 they are reserved at the pool and beach. Some of the people we talked to had 3 places reserved. Two different locations at the pool and one at the beach. They were not using them all but wanted to be able to move around.

The High School Students were a real problem. They stole towels, stole bottles of wine from the dining room, crawled up balconies into the wrong rooms, broke out windows and ran around like little gangs throughout the complex being very rude to other guests. They were unsupervised. The parents allowed them to have their own room in a different building thus creating problems for other guests. The parents allowed them to drink underage to see how they would handle it. Wrong choices.

The kids in room 1628 were especially bad, they started slamming doors at 10 pm and then pounded on the sliding door 5 times before they busted the window. They were concocting their story by the pool in front of us the next day. Then lied to their parents by the pool in front of us. While we were standing in the pool by our chairs we could hear the entire story. They tried to blame an adult of assaulting a girl to the security people when all he was doing was responding to the broken window to see if everyone was okay. The tall dark haired boy seemed to be at the center of it all. We were told by the hotel they were kicked out of the hotel but we saw the same boys at the bar later and they were at it again. Make sure if you are going to this resort to check and see if there is a High School Senior Trip coming out of Michigan and if there is you need to go someplace else.

The Hotel was good in responding to our concerns with a follow up call to make sure we were not having any more problems with the kids. They even gave us a bottle of champagne to show they were sorry for the problems the kids created.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpfau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management we would like to thank you for choosing us for your visit to Mexico.

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us. We are glad to read you found our pools, food, buffets, services, facilities and the service and attention provided by our Staff to be good and friendly.

We regret to know that you experienced these unpleasant situations during your stay. Please know that as these holidays approach, we reinforce the presence of our Security department in every area such as the pools, bars and the disco to maintain a calm environment for our guests. Our Management is already aware of the inconveniences these issues have caused and you can be certain that the necessary actions will be taken to avoid these situations in the future.

Once again we apologize for every inconvenient encountered and we sincerely hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and prove to you our commitment with providing an excellent IBEROSTAR experience.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Awesome resort. All staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Food at both the buffets and resturants was great. Lots of different kinds of drinks. Entire resort very clean. Make reservations for resturants on first day of arrival. We ate at the Mexican, Italian, Steakhouse and Meditrerranean. If you want wine (other than house wine) with your meal, that is extra. The only resturant that requires men wear long pants is the Gourmet. Lots of lounge chairs at pool and beach. Pool seating has more covered seating than direct sun seating. Resort is large - lots of walking. Super nice beach. You can walk the shore line for approximately 1/2-3/4 mile. Onsite dive shop was a great plus. Dive shop staff was extremley friendly and helpful. My husband dove 8 times and was impressed with each dive. I would diffentley go back to this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank Welschs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Management we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your recent vacations.

We truly appreciate you took the time to share your spectacular review with us and other travelers. We are happy to see you have highlighted our service, grounds, drinks and activities around the Hotel. Our Head Chef and his staff will be glad to know that you enjoyed the several specialty restaurants.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and provide you with another great stay in this paradisiacal beach of the Caribbean Sea.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have traveled to Mexico 14 years always in April with other adult couples. This was our first time staying at an Iberostar. We have never stayed at the same resort twice because we like to try different places. The grounds, pool, rooms and common areas were beautiful and always very clean. We ate at three al la cartes, Steakhouse, Italian, and Brazilian and they were all very good. The buffets were good, normal buffet food. There was always something to eat even for the picky eaters which no one in our group is. The staff everywhere were so friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the gardners, wait staff etc. The reason I didn't rate the resort as excellent overall is because of the amount of high school springbreakers on the property. I don't know where the chaperones were but they weren't doing their jobs. As I said this was our 14th year of going this same time of the year and have never encountered this before. It makes us think we won't return to an Iberostar if this is their policy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank pjkent2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear client,

On behalf of the Management we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your recent vacation.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our grounds, buffets, pools and the service provided by our Staff day by day.

On the other hand, it is unfortunate to know that you would not consider our Hotel for your future vacations due to this last experience with some guests. We would like to clarify that we only receive a certain amount of spring breaker groups accompanied by their parents due to the fact that we are a family resort and by no means do we intend to change this. We would like to mention that we are committed to offer unforgettable experiences to all our guests; therefore, during these holidays we reinforce our Security team and assign them in strategic areas to avoid any incidents at the Hotel.

We apologize for the inconveniences experienced and we sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back once again to prove to you our true commitment with our guests’ satisfaction and pamper you with our friendly service.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very large resort means lots of restaurants, snack areas, bars, and pools. It also means lots of walking. Food was great - especially at specialty reservation restaurants. Would have been nice if restaurant hours were more overlapping (eg., check out day 12:30 departure minimized options). ALL staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Did not encounter any staff that did not stop & smile. Property was very clean. Mexico is great for being able to take long beach walks. On-site Dressel dive shop also very positive experience (separate TripAdviser comment).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank idrabefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management of IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

It is great to know that your recent stay was amazing and that you found our food and Staff to be outstanding and pleasing. Our Staff will be thrilled to receive your nice comments regarding their service during your stay.

We would be honored to welcome you back to pamper you once again in our paradisiacal beach.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.4 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,656 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#74 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Property: IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Visit Us Inc., Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing