We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm back home and freezing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gardner, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I'm back home and freezing...”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I just returned home from my trip and miss the warmth of Mexico already. The staff at the Del Mar were great, do they ever stop working? The place looks like the pictures and although one has to walk from point A to B, let's face it, many of us need more exercise. Not sure on spelling, but Ye Ye and Momse from the Star friends/ Yoga group were absolutely the nicest! I sat in the lobby often, to relax and marvel at the grounds, while very nice waitress asked me often if I'd care for a drink. Rooms are very clean and attractive. Peddlers on the beach try to sell you things but they are NEVER pushy. One man in particular, Eduardo, was a character. He was so hilarious and charming, I don't care that I probably over paid for my Mexican blanket. My only complaints not related to the Del Mar, is a small handful of other guests who come off as pretentious, and act like their you know what does not stink, and the horrible sight of stray dogs who were suffering horribly at site of Mayan ruins far away from the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations and for sharing your review with us.

It is great to know that your experience was amazing and that the service of our Staff was always courteous and outstanding. We will share your mentions to Mireya and Monse regarding their service and great attitude.

We at IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar are already looking forward for your next visit!!

Regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,317
    1,525
    544
    200
    114
See reviews for
1,762
1,435
60
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at the Iberostar paraiso Del Mar and once again it was fantastic! ! We just love this resort.

Service: The service here is always amazing. Upon checking in we received a drink from the bar. It was quick to check in and check out. The staff is so friendly!

Rooms: Pretty sure you can never get a bad room. We have stayed on the 3rd, 2nd, and 1st floor and have never been disappointed with location.

Resort: It is a huge resort. Be prepared to walk, but after eating at the buffets you will not mind the walk :). We saw the shuttle a lot this past trip, so if you're not a fan of walking no worries.

Food: The buffets have something for everyone. They do get a little repetitive but still very good. The shopping center has a crepe restaurant (very good) a taco restaurant (sooooooo good!!!) And a burger place which we didnt get to try.

Beach: Always very clean, the water is crystal clear. Try out the snorkeling on the coral right in front of the resort. We saw a lot of fish, we had no idea that many different types of fish hung out there.

Pool: Go early to reserve your lounge chairs or cabana and when I say early I mean like 6:00 am. They have signs saying that you aren't allowed to reserve but no one will say anything. Pool bars are always full so just be patient, they usually only have one bartender working.

We are already planning our next trip with our two kids. We highly recommend this resort.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Apattifinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear IBEROSTAR guests,

On behalf of the management and the IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar Staff we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We sincerely thank you for your nice review and for taking the time to share it with other travelers on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to know that once again we have offered you an amazing experience and an enjoyable time in the Riviera Maya.

It is fantastic to know that you are already thinking of visiting us again with your children. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back and deliver you another unforgettable experience.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We traveled as a family of 5 and had a decent stay. Having stayed at many all-inclusives in the Riviera Maya area, I have an unbiased opinion and can compare it to other resorts in the same price range.

ROOMS: The rooms were very clean and well-kept. I had a room with a soft bed, but my parents just down the hall had a room with a hard bed, so getting a soft bed is just the luck of the draw. All rooms were cleaned daily, and sometimes even twice daily. Mini-bar in your room is stocked every-other day.
POOL/BEACH: Pools were never-ending, and very nice. You must reserve your chairs by the pool quite early (by 6:30 A.M.) or you will not get a spot directly by the pool. The beach is very nice and clean, and has a lot of beach chairs for everyone. The entertainment team has games by the pool and beach daily, it just depends on the day. One day they had mechanical bull riding on the beach which was fun. Waitresses came around the pool occasionally and would bring you drinks if you wanted one.
FOOD: The food was average, you can always find something that everyone likes, but buffet lacks variety at times. Breakfast buffet was good. The Brazilian specialty restaurant was excellent, the Mediterranean was mediocre. The Japanese was good and the master chef's do an excellent job as the food is cooked directly in front of you. All guests of the Iberostar complex can go to the shopping center where they have a burger shop, a taco restaurant (which was excellent) and a crepe/ice cream shop which was also good. They have a grill down at the beach which had burgers, hot-dogs, and something different every day which was good so you didn't have to go far to find lunch. At other resorts we had food sculptures, ice sculptures, etc. at the buffets, but this resort did not have that as much.
ENTERTAINMENT: The Magic Show was one of the best evening shows I have seen at an All-Inclusive. The other shows are average and similar to the other resorts we have stayed at. The shows start at 9:45 so we didn't make it every night. Before the shows they sometimes have live music, play bingo, etc for extra entertainment. The nightclub is sort of lame, and is Star Wars themed - it needs updating.
GROUNDS: The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful - they have swans, peacocks, etc. and many trees and well kept plants that make for great scenery. Everything is clean and well cared for. Just so you know, the complex is LARGE so be prepared to walk. We have been spoiled at other resorts that everything is close by, but if you are on the beach and want to go to the lobby, expect a 10 minute walk.
OTHER: The shuttle service claims to run every 15 minutes, but often times does not, so don't rely on this for transportation. If you call the front desk for a shuttle, they are happy to arrange one for you if you want to go somewhere. At the Del Mar, you are a 20-25 minute taxi ride from Playa Del Carmen. The hotel has a shuttle service every few hours that goes to town and back for $5 each way. Taxis are more expensive. WI-FI was down when we were there - you can try your luck at the shopping center for free wi-fi, but thats hit and miss. We didn't need wi-fi so it wasn't a big deal for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 16 which is in the middle of the resort. This is better than staying way up b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rebel-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso del Mar for your recent stay.

We appreciate the time you took to share your review with us and other travelers. It is good to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us although there were some negative issues.

It is great you have highlighted some of our services and facilities as the pools and rooms in the Hotel. We would like to inform you that we are working in new ways to avoid the towel and chair issue at the Hotel as this has been a repetitive issue for our guests.

Our Executive Chef and his Staff are now aware of your feedback regarding the food at the main buffets, the specialty restaurants and the snacks by the shopping center. They will take them into consideration for our service and to provide better experiences to our clients.

We sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future and experience once again the IBEROSTAR service.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My partner and had a great stay at this resort
The staff was friendly the room was clean and housekeeping staff was very accommodating
The only 2 issues was you needed to get up early to get a spot on the beach and the food was just average however for the price we would definitely return in the future

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Slink2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management and our Staff we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR for your vacations.

We are glad to know you found our Hotel to be a happy place and that our Staff was always friendly and accommodating. It is a pleasure to welcome these comments regarding our services and facilities since it keeps us motivated to offer our guests an amazing stay.

We regret to know that you experienced some issues with the chairs being reserved; the management is already working a way to avoid this problem. We have forwarded your feedback concerning the food to the Executive Chef; be sure they will be taken it into consideration since our main goal is to offer our clients a perfect vacation.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back so that you could enjoy another happy vacation at our IBEROSTAR.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My family looked forward to this vacation but were a little disappointed on how it turned out.
The best things about this resort were the pool and the beach. Unfortunately the food in the buffets were subpar. I bit into a hamburger for my first meal and it was blood red raw. This happened again a few days later at the snack bar at the beach. Buffets were redundant. Same food day after day. Everything smothered in sauce. Our room was dated and smelled of mildew. Beds were ok except pillows that smelled of dirty dish rag.
To top it all off it ended up in bed for the last few days with montezumas revenge. Probably from the raw meat I bit into a few days before. Had not eaten anywhere except resort.
Would not recommend this place and will not return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guest,

One behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your recent stay.

We are pleased to know that you were able to enjoy the pools and the beach during your stay.

We are sorry to know that you fell ill. At Iberostar we have a strict Health and Safety policy and our hygiene department is constantly taking samples during the day to make sure that all the quality standards are being met at the different restaurants and kitchens. We also get frequent audits from different organisations and companies. As well as this, we have a medical center at the Resort that offers medical attention to all our guests that need it and they report cases of illnesses to us so that immediate actions can be taken if there is anything wrong. In any case once again your comments will be forwarded, and we hope you feel better.

The Housekeeping department has received your review and please be sure that this will be reviewed and amended. We truly apologize.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future so that you can have a much better experience.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Firstly this is a 4 in resort it absolutely huge.we came to find out the resort was 60 acres in total. It always has a mall,gym,tennis courts, Our first room we did not care for, so they moved us the next day which basically took the whole day to do this, which was a pain
Buffet wasn't very good at all repetitious.
Staff spoke very good English.
This is definitely a huge resort so lots and lots of walking. very beautiful though.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the enormous pool they have there, so you don't have to walk a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear EvaDenis,

On behalf of the management and the Staff of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is great to know you had an amazing time with us and that you highlighted our services and grounds. We regret to know that the food was not as you expected, we have forwarded your comments to our Executive Chef and his Staff to take them into consideration for our service.

We hope to have the chance again to welcome you back for you to enjoy our facilities and services once again.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at Paraiso del Mar for two weeks and enjoyed a relaxing holiday. Great hotel, big and beautiful. Great service, especially from the kitchen. Every day at the buffet, because of my allergies, personnel showed me what I could and couldn’t eat.

Big pool, wonderful beach with a lot of sun chairs. Unfortunately, people put out their towels early in the mornings to reserve the best places.

Beer and wine was great but the drinks varied in quality. I found a favorite bartender, and tried to order from him.

Our room was located five minutes from the lobby, five minutes from the pool and ten minutes from the beach. We never took the little "bus" that drove around the area. We enjoyed the little walks.

We mostly stayed at the hotel, apart from guided tours. Taxi to Playa del Carmen took 20 to 25 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank Moa_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Moa_Maria,

We would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent vacations.

We are more than glad to know that your stay was up to your expectations and that you were satisfied by the service provided by our Staff. We love to receive these comments since it keeps us motivated to offer the same quality and service of excellence.

It would be our pleasure to pamper you again in the near future so we are already looking forward to your next visit to Riviera Maya!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,031 reviews
6.4 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
21,773 reviews
9.8 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
24.5 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Property: IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing