We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The case for the Del Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have been to the Iberostar Paraiso complex 4 times, staying at the Del Mar, Beech, and Lindo. The Del Mar has the shortest distance from the lobby to the beech. It has flamingos, swans and peacocks. Since it is at the end of property, it's easier to navigate. Apple's deals are at the Del Mar vs Fun Jet at the Beech. Apple's trip insurance is better.

The food seems to be getting better and the property is is kept at tip top shape. We will keep going back.

Room Tip: Locations closer to the beech are better. If you stay at Beech be careful to avoid close the Lindo t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the management of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar once again!

We are happy to know that you shared your nice comments with us and thankful for you highlight of our services, facilities, grounds and the service provided by our Staff. This is important to us since it provides us with a great tool for our improvement and plenty of motivation to keep offering the service we are proud of at Iberostar.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future for another unforgettable vacation at our facilities and be sure that our staff is already looking forward to your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,716 - 1,722 of 4,936 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

The resort is absolutely beautiful and has lot's to do, but it seems a bit repetitive! The buffet food is "pretty good", and the Mediterranean Restaurant was excellent. They have entertainment nightly, but it doesn't start until 9:45, which is a bit late when you've been out and about and partying all day! Our room was near the theatre and it was very loud until about 11:30. It's only about 20 mins from Cancun Airport and 20 mins from Playa Del Carman and about 45 mins to Tulum

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank barbara2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations.

It is great to know that you found our Hotel to be beautiful and that the food was pretty good during your stay. We are sure that our Staff and the Food & beverage managers would be more than happy to read your review.

We take note of your constructive criticism as well.

We thank you for your nice review and sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future at Iberostar.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Bring your walking shoes. The hotel is on a very long strech of land. Lobby to beach is quite a hike. Also, dont forget your map, the paths can be somewhat confusing and the choo choo is not always around. The drinks are better then Ive had at other resorts. The reservations at the "gourmet" restaurants are hard to come by. They are kinda of nazi's. the buffets are hard to beat. Food is available all day & night, which is awesome, if ya dont mind walking that is.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank Lubslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We appreciate the comments you have shared with us since they provide a great motivational and improvement tool for all of us.

Regarding the transportation, we regret to know that you found it hard to get; at the Hotel we have 2 trains that offer transportation to our guests around the premises, during the morning it runs from 7 a.m. until 11 a.m. and in the afternoon from 6 p.m. until 10 p.m. in the meantime the bell boys offer transportation in the golf carts. The time that the train takes from one side to the other side depends on the amount of guests using it.

We have forwarded your feedback regarding the dinner reservations at the Specialty restaurants to the Concierge office they will take your comments into consideration for our service and guests.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again our facilities and environment.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were at The Iberosrar Del Mar for a week. As indicated above every thing was wonderful. The food was great, especially that at the Colonial and the rooms and grounds were
outstanding. But the people and the service could not have been better. We'll probably return either later this year or early next year.
.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank papaw2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and the Staff of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that the general impression of the Hotel and our service was great. The Food & Beverage manager would be thrilled by reading your nice comments of the Gourmet restaurant.

It is fantastic to know that you are already considering to return, we would be looking forward for your next stay!

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Will be going back for the 4th time since March of 2012. Love the resort and the people. Great food great atmosphere bartenders are amazing. Dimetrio(big D). And george(Ricky Martin) are the best. Never a dull moment. Definitely will never go hungry at this resort. Could not say anything bad about it. Rooms are always fancy with flower peddles, chocolate, and cute little towel animals. The staff truly makes you feel as if you are family!! Will be there again 2/8-2/15. Can't wait!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittanyrose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing us once again for your vacations!

We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is great to know you had an amazing time with us and that you highlighted our services, grounds and the kindness of our Staff and the people you mention. These comments are truly motivational for all of them.

We are already looking forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We went for a week in November 2013. We've been to other all inclusive resorts, and to this area before, but never to any Iberostars. We found a really great offer for Del Mar, too hard to resist, and we were not disappointed. We got great value for a decent price. Let me start with what we loved: beautiful grounds, excellent staff, spacious, super clean room (ok, except that one time a cockroach wondered into our bathroom, but I recognize this is not hotel's fault. Hubby the Super Hero killed the monster, I think. I didn't want to know). Yummy selection of drinks (to those who say they are watered down: do you really want super strong drinks in a 90 degree weather;), great pools, swim up bars, and hilarious entertainment at the "loud" pool. Peacocks and flamingos in the lobby were my favorite thing, I must have spent a fourth of my vacation just sipping my drink in the lobby bar, staring at those beauties. Hubby and I both got massages at the beach (fun), napped in the hammocks on the beach (also fun), and generally got to relax and rest.

I read other reviews here saying that Del Mar is a huge resort and not very walkable but I disagree. It's actually rather small compare to some other places I've seen; I guess some people just don't like to walk.

Food was just ok and not very memorable, but there was plenty of it and we were never hungry so it wasn't a big deal. The wait staff was super professional and pleasant. The gourmet restaurants were rather blah, but service was great so it was a good experience over all (we did Japanese, Mexican, and Mediterranean). Making reservations for those restaurants was a whole different deal though. All the time, there was literally one person in charge of that, and there was always a line to talk to them. I think it took us - literally - an hour to make reservations.

The biggest problem I had with Del Mar was that the bathrooms by the snack bars and the pools didn't seemed to be cleaned at all in the middle of the day, so they were rather dirty after lunch, and floor got very wet and consequently slippery. That's just asking for an accident.

There was only one towel-exchange place in the whole resort; I wish there were at least one more.

I hated that some guest consistently ignored the signs not to feed the animals. Once there was a family that literally sat under the sign warning you not to feed the coatis - and you guessed it, they were feeding the coatis. Staff didn't react at all, so maybe it's ok, but I found the whole situation rather annoying. Way to teach your kids, dear Russian guests.

We went to Playa Del Carmen once, and also took a day trip to Coba ruins (we went by ourselves, not with an organized tour, but by an ADO bus instead). There is a $5 taxi service (possibly not affiliated with the hotel???) that runs between the PDC and Del Mar; I believe I took a picture of the schedule so send me a message if you'd like it.

To sum it up: fun vacation, excellent staff, loved the pools.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AsiaCz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacation.

We are more than glad to know that your vacation was great and you enjoyed your stay with us. It is fantastic you highlighted the services, grounds, wildlife and the environment we work so hard to preserve at Iberostar.

We regret to know that you found the food not excellent; we have shared your feedback with the Head Chef and the management to take them into consideration. Our Public Areas and management have already been advised of your comments regarding the bathrooms at the pool area; we will take the necessary measures to avoid any incidents.

Thank you for your comment about guests feeding the coatis; the person in charge has been informed and we will sit down to find a way to raise awareness among our guests; coatis can indeed be damaged by being fed.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the near future and enjoy another fantastic stay at Iberostar.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

To make a long story short.... don't bother with this property. Our family of 9 stayed here from Dec 29 - Jan 6. Most of the staff is quite rude. None of our room requests were met. We really wanted a ground floor for our stroller and the little one but they wouldn't. One couple from our group got completely relocated to another hotel at this complex (which we weren't allowed to use). The buffet food is lacking assortment and is cold. Same with the snack bars. It's difficult to get reservations at the specialty restaurants. Also, they say it is 24 hour snacks, yes the buffet turns into the evening snack bar but has next to nothing, no excitement there at all. The rooms are subpar. Either hot or freezing depending which way the room faces. Ours even had bed bugs. Had to request a crib 3 times before finally getting one. The pool is gigantic which sounds like a positive but there are limited areas to cross the pool making for a lot of unnecessary walking. Plus the pool is salt water, huge negative for kids. The activity pool tries but isn't very exciting. Requested a late check out (only by 1 hour) and was told that they were over booked and couldn't have a late check out. Only to find out our flight had been delayed by 17 hours meaning we needed to stay another night. After working through this with people who didn't care to help (travel rep and hotel staff) we were given the exact same rooms back that we originally had to check out of so it turns out they weren't over booked. Why lie about something so stupid. They were sitting outside of our rooms for a half hour trying to push us out at check out time. Overall, I wouldn't go back to this resort EVER. Not much good to say about it at all. It's a good thing we had good company because that's all we had.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank court_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and the Staff of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We regret to know that your experience was not as you expected and that you mention our service was not friendly and helpful. Regarding the room requests, since they depend on the availability of the day of check in unfortunately these cannot be confirmed or guaranteed until the check in time. The Front Desk Staff always do their best to fulfill the requests from our guests; we will forward your comments to the management to take them into consideration.

The Head Chef and the management have been advised concerning your comments about the food. They will review your feedback and take the necessary actions to avoid this feeling to our future guests.

We have informed already the Housekeeping manager regarding the bed feedback to take into account when mattresses are renewed and sterilized; we provide bed changes or room changes as soon as the guest informs the Front desk or the Concierge departments.

As per the pool comments, we would like to clarify that we do not have salt water pools, the 3 pools including the kid’s pool at the Kid’s Club use fresh water. The facility that has a salt water pool is the Spa, not located at the hotel. We are sorry you were unhappy with our pools.

We deeply regret to know that your experience was not the best, we are committed to delivering exceptional vacations and experiences to our guests and we sincerely hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,163 reviews
15.8 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,923 reviews
13.9 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#51 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $178 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, VISIT US, INC. , Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing