We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celiac Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Celiac Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

During our 2 week stay in Nov. 2013, I was assigned 2 chefs to help with meal choices for a celiac diet. I was most impressed with their help and level of knowledge. (especially Maria-she understood the risk of cross contamination of food so would get my meals from the kitchen even when we ate at the buffet) All 4 of us enjoyed the meals, as the food was very good. The rooms were pleasant, clean and well stocked each day. Comfortable beds too. Loved the grounds. Lots of walking which we enjoyed after dinner every night. The beach is great, again a great long walk down this piece of paradise every day....fabulous!

Room Tip: Building 12 is closest to beach without being in building with suites. Nice and close to pool side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our Staff we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations.

We are truly glad to know that your experience was so positive and that the Staff was assisting you with your celiac diet. We have shared your nice comments with Maria; she will be thrilled to know you have pointed out her service.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again a fantastic stay among our friendly and warm Staff.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,212
    1,461
    514
    190
    105
See reviews for
1,637
1,385
54
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Iberostar del Mar with my mom and my aunt. I wanted to get away from my birthday and I am so happy with my decision. We booked the trip through Apple and I would do it all the same way again: a complete stress free vacation. The hotel is perfect from the price: the rooms, food, drinks, etc. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. We upgraded to the junior suite which put us in building 10. It is kind of a hike to the lobby but it has an ocean view, and it is close to the pool, pool buffet, towels, etc.

The best part of my stay at the hotel for me was the Star Friends. They are a wonderful group of people who obviously love their job. During my six days, I felt like all of them became my friends and family. They all did a great job leading the activities and making sure everyone had a great time. All the Star Friends were great, Dario, Edu, Yeya, Tony, Rigo, Gabriel, Monse. However, I loved my time with my dancing friends, Alex and Ernesto. The Star Friends helped make my birthday one of the best yet!

Normally I am the type of person who likes to visit new places, but I honestly can't wait to go back! Even my aunt was scoping out the other hotels on the resort to plan her next trip back with my uncle.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyzabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent vacations.

We are more than glad to know that we made this special occasion an amazing stay. Our Staff is committed to delivering amazing service and unforgettable vacations. We have already shared your nice comments with the Star Friends, we are sure they would be thrilled and motivated by reading your comments.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in the next future and make sure you experience again the Iberostar spirit!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
depere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This resort was very nice but beware because we got a bag stolen by the pool. We learned our lesson not to bring cameras, iPhone,clothes and sandals by the pool. We had over 500.00 worth of stuff taken. Been to several resorts over the last 10 years and never a problem. The resort entertainment staff was very nice and always had stuff to do. The food was good. Bring walking shoes because it's a big resort and lots of walking.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank rouserDepere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Client,

On behalf of the management and the Staff of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We regret to know you experienced this situation during your stay. Our Security department does rounds in the pool and beach area after it is closed and they pick up the unattended belongings and make a report of the things found. We have shared your comments with the Security Manager to take into consideration.

We thank you for your nice comments regarding the Star Friends and the food, the Chef and the Animation manager would be thrilled to know them.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for your next vacations.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We met family friends there on January 2 - stayed until the 10th.

Right from our registration the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. We arrived a week after our friend did and the terrific person at the check-im desk worked some magic and got us booked into the room adjacent to our friend!

We found the resort to be immaculate, the staff to be friendly, courteous and helpful, and overall just a delightful place to stay. Our four-year old granddaughter and her 3 year old friend loved the kid's pool area, and the adults enjoyed swimming with them in the large pool.

A word of caution, please bring along water shoes or other footwear with a "sticky" tread as the polished marble floors get extremely slippery!

Food was good, but a bit repetitious as is to be expected from the buffets. We ate in the Mexican, Brazilian and "Formal" restaurants - my personal favorite was the Mexican, but all were good.

Be prepared for some long walks from your room to reception - but there are relatively frequent golf-cart type shuttles if you are prepared to wait. Big shopping center on site, and taxis are plentiful and frequent to Play del Carmen and Cancun. We paid $5/person for a taxi ride into Playa del Carmen, and $84 for all of us (4 adults and 2 children) to Cancun. A word of advice - agree what the return rate will be before you leave - we found that each time the rate went up when we were returning.....

Despite a few days of rain, we found plenty to do and the bartenders were more than accommodating! I would recommend this resort and would likely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLariviere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your Vacations.

We are truly happy to know that your experience was amazing; thank you for pointing out that our staff was courteous and friendly during your stay. It would be a pleasure for them to read your feedback since it represents their hard work to offer incredible vacations.

It is great to know you will recommend us and we sincerely hope to have the chance in the near future to host you again at our Iberostar.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxborough, Mass
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hello from Brad and Vivian! We are return vacationers! Thank you Monica for all that you and your staff provided us. We can see how Iberostar is constantly trying to improve - the new seats in the lobby are great - the upkeep on the pool is fantastic - the spraying around the pool for those little "ants" - the new pool beds are terrific! The bartenders are pretty good also! Victor and Omar at the Pool!
Understand you are in Mexico and the food is simple. You can always find something to eat be it fresh fruit, salad, or whatever is the special at the carving station. We went to the Italian, Steakhouse and Mediterranean and were pleased. Everyone is so friendly you can't help but smile at them and appreciate how they do their jobs. Just relax and enoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foxborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Iberostar Guest!

On behalf of the management and our Staff we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations once again!

We are thrilled to receive your amazing comments and for sharing your great experience with us and other travelers. These are the comments we love to receive since our Staff gets motivated by reading your amazing review.

It is always our pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel and we sincerely hope to pamper you again soon!!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were a group of 16 that stayed at this resort from December 30 to Jan 13/14. Having previously stayed at the Iberostar in Jamaica Montego Bay we were anticipating much of the same from the Iberostar chain.
We were pleased to say that we had a marvelous time even though we experienced 5 days of straight downpour rains.
The resort is made up of a number of small complexes 3 stories in height (no elevators). The rooms were dated, but clean and spacious. The lobby is open and airy beautiful details in the ceilings. Nice lobby bar but were disappointed that smoking is allowed here and at times it was overwhelming especially the cigar smell.
Throughout the resort there is an abundance of different animals, peacocks, flamingos, swans, coaties. Very well landscaped many different plants and trees. A lot of walking is involved when staying here. The buffet is located towards the lobby and the complexes stretch towards the beach from there. A trolley goes up and down but not on a schedule. We had 2 seniors with us and this proved to be inconvenient for them. If you have mobility issues this is not the place to stay.
The buffet is ok a fairly good variety we missed the lack of carving stations serving turkey, beef, ham etc. as we had in Jamaica. Breakfasts were nice a variety of different fruit, pastries, sausages, bacon and made to order omelets. As for the al a carte's loved the Gourmet Colonial nice lobster tails and shrimp, steak house was ok, Japanese was also entertaining although we found it to be on the greasy side. Mexican was flavourful. New Years Eve dinner was a real let down they ruined the lobster tails they were too overcooked and some of the tails were void of meat all together. The lunch buffet by the pool was good we did however have to ask them cook the hamburgers more as they were really raw little scary actually. Loved the small pork chops and chicken pieces.
Pools are amazing! Quiet one has 2 swim up bars. Activity pool is fun lots of music and entertaining from early morning to late afternoon. Really enjoyed the aquasize class in the morning and so much fun to watch the games they play in the day. One swim up bar there and the bartender Luis is amazing he is moving non stop. Star Friends do good job of keeping us entertained and are so friendly. Kudos to Dario and Gabriel!!
Ocean was rough a bit difficult to not be knocked over by the waves not too sure if this is always like this or the time of year. Beach was well groomed lots of chairs available. Bar on beach as well as burger stand.
The shopping center on the resort was a good place to visit, nice stores for trinkets etc. Enjoyed the taco place it was good always busy. The grandkids especially enjoyed the crepe/ice cream shop loved the crepes very nummy. Would of loved to of tried the burger place but it was closed for some reason. We did go back there a few times for the crepes.
Our friend golfed on the resort and enjoyed it he said it was a 10 for sure.
Although we didn't partake in the evening shows some of our family did and said it was what you would expect at a resort some shows better than others.
Overall we enjoyed this holiday and would recommend this resort but must admit we did enjoy the Iberostar in Jamaica more.

Room Tip: Try to get into units 15 or 16 halfway in middle of complex to beach and lobby/buffet. Ask for room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar again for your vacations and for taking the time to share your exceptional review.

We are truly glad to know that you had an amazing time with us and enjoyed the service of our Staff. We will show all your nice and generous comments to the people that you mention, as your compliments are very motivational.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the food and the transportation during your stay. We have shared your comments with our department managers to review your points with their teams so that no other guests will leave dissatisfied.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future so that you can enjoy again our paradisiacal environment.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was my third visit to the Iberostar Playa Paraiso/Paraiso del Mar resort and reminded me of the reason I keep coming back - amazing amenities, incredible bartenders, servers, and housekeepers, and unbeatable scenery. Not to mention the bartenders always remember me (you're awesome Victor and Lionel!). Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank ceiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar again for your vacations and for taking the time to share your exceptional review.

We are truly happy to know that our services, facilities and Staff keep offering you an amazing time and you enjoyed once again a nice vacation at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar. We have forwarded your feedback to all the people you mention since it provides great motivation to keep offering the great service we are proud of.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again our service, facilities and the paradisiacal beach we have in the Mayan Riviera!

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,755 reviews
6.4 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,280 reviews
6.4 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#92 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,920 reviews
18.0 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Property: IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing