We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another vacation...then I got engaged!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just another vacation...then I got engaged!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This trip was just another vacation. We live in Wisconsin so we needed to escape the cold! And we did...the temp was over 100 degrees difference! And my fabulous boyfriend asked me to marry him! He asked my at the Wedding Chapel area! Pretty cool area!
Anyways, we had a great experience besides the cooler weather and 3 out of us getting sick. Not sure why or how people got sick. I was the only one who didn't get sick, but once. I think it has to do with our bodies not use to other countries. I guess just take precautions and bring pepto-bismol.
Drinks are for sure watered down, which isn't so bad if you plan to drink all day.
Food is buffet style and is decent. They have a shopping center that had a taco place...Delicious!!! The burger place...nasty! The crepe & ice cream...tasty good!
We ate dinner at The Mediterranean restaurant, which was fantastic as well as the Gourmet restaurant. The Brazilian was not good...the meat was under cooked and of course freaked us out, since we had already started having upset stomachs.
The maid service was fabulous and typically in and out during the mornings!
The landscaping is amazing and really makes for walking around pleasurable.
The beach and pool were fabulous also.
WiFi is only available in the shopping center for FREE, otherwise you need to pay for it.
The staff was very helpful which helps make a stay that much better!!
Iberostar was a great place and I hope to stay again, but maybe in a different area so I can see more of the land!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank mariposa7581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and the Staff of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacation.

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments with us and to know this vacation became such a special experience. We are happy to know that you enjoyed several restaurants and buffets. We regret to know that not all the food was great; the Executive Chef will share this feedback with his Head Chefs and team, to take it into consideration for our service.

We have a Health & Safety department that takes two temperature tests per platter and several measures are taken to keep the food in optimal conditions for our guests. We also have a medical center with a medic 24 hours. But as you rightly said, every person reacts differently to foreign food. We hope you all feel much better.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy an amazing stay again with us.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,298
    1,521
    536
    198
    112
See reviews for
1,732
1,432
60
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IOWA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Iberostar generally does things right. This was our 8th trip to Riviera Maya and our 2nd stay at this Iberostar complex, first time we stayed at Paraiso Beach. It is kind of confusing but there are 5 resorts in one complex. The del Mar is the "low" end but that doesn't make it bad. I love the "beachy" feel at Iberostar. The Star Friends entertainment staff are awesome. Our biggest complaint about our room was the hair dryer (take your own) and the shower/bath tub combination was not good. We've stayed in better. This is a huge resort so plan on walking a lot, or waiting for the shuttle to drive you. The resort was very booked up.There were 9 of us. Our party did enjoy the wildlife at the resort; coatis, peacocks, flamingos and more. We did have to play the towel game most days, but we got chairs on the beach and at the pool every day. We won't go back in December or January because this was our 2nd December trip and the weather is just not good. It rained all day our last day there. The buffet food is average to above average. Our party especially enjoyed the french fries on the beach. We ate at the Gourmet and Carribean restaurants which the food was awesome. We were there for 6 nights tho and could only get restaurant reservations guaranteed for two nights. This was disappointing. The first time we stayed at Paraiso Beach we ate at restaurants most nights. Another reason to go back to the Valentin Imperial Maya, you eat at a restaurant every night. Overall Paraiso del Mar is nice, but we won't be going back to that one.

Room Tip: If the price is the same, stay at the Iberostar Paraiso Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar again for your vacations and for taking the time to share your exceptional review.

We appreciate your feedback and the nice comments regarding your recent stay. We are more than glad to know that you enjoyed the wildlife, the nice beach and the incredible service from our Staff.

We deeply regret to know that not everything was as you expected, we offer limited dinner reservations however depending on availability and the cancellations from our guests we are usually able to offer some extra dinners.

The Chef is now aware of your critics and they will take them into consideration for our improvement since our main goal is the complete satisfaction of our guests.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again our service, facilities and the great environment we have to offer.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My family and I take a vacation every year and for the past three years we have traveled to the Iberostar Pariso del Mar. We continue to go back because it is very clean, the service is excellent and the food and drinks are delicious. All of the activities are very fun. We always go back to see our favorite bartenders at the amazing pool and beach, Victor and Lionel. They always remember us, even after a year of being away, and that makes us feel very special and makes it very fun. The Star Friends are also so friendly and go out of their way to talk to you and to make sure you are having a good time. Israel especially made a huge effort all week to come over and talk to us and make sure we have a good time. He was always smiling and a great person to see everyday. Teresa in the Japanese restaurant also has become a person who we always go back to see. She is very friendly and a very hard worker, she always takes the time to talk to us and get to know us. She has become a friend at our home away from home. All of the bartenders, servers, star friends and staff are extremely friendly and great here. This place is incredible and the reason we continue to go back year after year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank Keiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar once again for your recent vacation!

It is great to receive your incredible comments regarding our services, facilities, food, rooms and our Staff. Our team always does their best to offer a fantastic service and an unforgettable stay. We will pass your comments on to the staff mentioned, they will be thrilled.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future for another unforgettable vacation at your home away from home!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, very clean resort. Never fighting for I a spot near the pool, as the pool is HUGH and plenty of room the beach front is also very long and we never had a problem finding a chair. The water at the beach was OK to go into within the swimming area, but I think this was the wrong time of the year to snorkel out. The current and riptides were very strong. The room was very roomy and VERY clean. The staff (room, bar, restaurant, etc....) were absolutely fabulous. Very helpful and also had a smile..... The only negative was the food. Very bland buffet, but they always had "American"staples of hot dogs hamburger and fries if you did not want to venture. The food could have been better, but other than that great holiday spot.......

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar once again and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are truly glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and you liked the rooms, the beach and the service provided by our Staff. We love to receive these kind of comments since provide a great motivational tool for out Staff, and of course they also help us identify weak areas.

The Chef and his Staff would like to thank you for your feedback and be sure that it will be taken into consideration for our service.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again our amazing service.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We traveled as couple with another couple. Resort itself is big (5 resort). Be ready for lots of walking. Matter of fact we enjoyed walking. It rained pretty much all time we were there. But thanks to star friends bad turned in to fantastic. Big shout for STAR friends Tony, Monsey, Flemingo leg (Gabrial), Dario, Edu, Javiour and many more. They made our trip. Night shows and dancing with star friend was nice. Overall resort is nice. food selection is OK. Drinks were good. Domitrio at lobby bar is fantastic. He made us fantastic drinks. Yacinto at lobby buffet provided outstanding service. All resort staff was fantastic. Room was nice and clean. Housekeeping did fantastic job. Resort ground is beautiful and well kept. They have various birds and animal at resort. My only suggestion to management is to improve food quality and variety. We stayed and various all inclusive resorts before but food here is far below from all other resort. But overall it was good and much needed vacation......
One last thing... beach is good... but rocky.... my advise is to go by Grand beach... No rocks and awesome waves.....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations in Riviera Maya.

It is great to know you had an amazing experience at our Hotel and we thank you for pointing out the different services, facilities and also the outstanding service from our Staff. We would like to thank you in special for your recognition to all this single employees that make our hotel stand out, they will receive your wonderful praise.

We have forwarded your feedback about the food quality and the variety at the restaurants to our Executive Chef for his consideration.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again our service, facilities and the paradisiacal beach we offer at Iberostar.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our fourth time here and our 20 anniversary. The front desk staff, waiters/waitresses bartenders and room cleaning staff are great. The grounds and beach are unbelievable. Our ocean front room was awesome and the Brazilian and Japanese restaurants were great. how ever having been here three time before the desk staff had no idea we'ed been here before. Iberostars in Cozumel and the Dominican Republic always remembered and gave us free up grades or other perks. The entertainment staff used to bee beyond awesome but were boring and uninspiring at best. What happened to Eduardo? He could get 100 people to any crazy pool game or event in minutes. Nightly entertainment lacked spark as well compared to previous visits. The most disappointing was the food. Cold, no variety, quality way down. No lamb, goat, beef only over cooked fish and pork. Bath rooms very dirty, smelled of urine. This place was top notch for the price, don't know we would recommend now. hopefully new management will be installed to return the greatness.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redboss302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar again for your vacations in Riviera Maya.

We are truly happy to know that our services, facilities and Staff keeps offering you an amazing time and you enjoyed once again a nice vacation at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar. We regret to know that this time we did not recognize you as a repeat customer, usually our Staff as soon as the reservation is flagged as repeat customer we take that into consideration for the amenities and services we offer for our guests. We have advised our reservations department about this situation to see what failed in the system.

We regret to know that you found the animation and activities at the pool very different from your past stays. We have forwarded your feedback to the animation management since one of our goals is to offer our guests a fun and very enjoyable stay.

We have forwarded your feedback about the food temperature, variety and restaurants to our Executive Chef for his consideration.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the future and enjoy the amazing service and great vacations you rightly expect from us.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We 6 people went there from Dec. 18 to Dec. 25, the first impression is the bad beach, del Mar share beach, swimming pool, and restaurants with another resort, you will find lots of people on the beach, swimming pool. The beach in front of del Mar come with lots of rocks, you can find them with your eyes easily, if you go to another resort's beach, you still can find some rock by your feet, we stay there 6 days, all water sports have been cancelled, due to the big wave even in a calm day.

Food in buffet is bad, you have to book the restaurants as early as possible, because all the restaurants are shared between two resorts, if you booked a little bit late, you have to have your dinner at 9:00 pm, the sunset time there is around 5:30pm.

The two buffet are far from beach and swimming pool, if your room close to buffet then you have to walk 15 minutes to beach or you have to walk 15 minutes to buffet.

If you like beach and water sports, kayaking, sailing, windsurfing, don't go there, save your money to Cuba, much better than Cancun.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar management and our Staff we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We have shared your comments with our Executive Chef to review your points with his team so that no other guests will leave dissatisfied.

We regret to know that the weather was not as expected and this diminished the experience at our Iberostar. The management is already aware of your comments regarding the rocks; however as a protected area we are unable to modify our coastline.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy our Iberostar again.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,915 reviews
18.0 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,451 reviews
6.4 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,978 reviews
9.8 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Property: IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, VISIT US, INC. , Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing