We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Nearby Hotels
$277
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$848
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$682
$466
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$320
$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$347
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5,009)
Filter reviews
5,009 results
Traveler rating
2,486
1,611
577
211
124
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,486
1,611
577
211
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdel marspecialty restaurantsstar friendslobby barapple vacationsthe mediterranean restaurantrock cafeice creamtacosbuffet foodother resortstaco barbeautiful groundscrepesate at the mexicanquiet areaopen air
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,791 - 1,796 of 5,009 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The iberostar del mar and beach are on the low end of the resort. I had initially planned to upgrade to the maya because I had stayed there previously. At check in there were no rooms available at the Lindo or the Maya so we decided to keep our room for the evening. We looked out the sliding glass doors and realized we were in an "ocean front" walk out room. Decided right then we would not move to any other area of the resort. We stayed in building 10---close to all we wanted. My family dives and the dive shop was right outside our room. Smaller buffet that served breakfast,lunch and late night snacks (also included a bar) was right outside our room door. The pool was just about as close as the restaurant . Although our room was far away from the lobby we didn't mind the walk and occasionally took the shuttle from lobby to right next to our building.
I agree that the food is repetitive but we didn't care. We go on vacation to enjoy the ocean,pool and weather. Our vacations do not revolve around food. The restaurants were ok and the buffets were pretty much the same from day to day. No one in our family went hungry or complained.
I could go on and on. If you choose to stay at this resort I highly recommend eating at the taco shop and the crepe /ice cream shop located in the Iberostar shopping mall.

Room Tip: Building 10 is ocean /beach walk out as well as look out directly at the ocean. Building 10 is also near the pool as well as very close to a buffet restaurant and bar. If you choose this building you must understand it is far from the lobby and specialty restaurants
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AngieJHarlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar again for your vacations and for taking the time to share your exceptional review.

We appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that the general impression of the Hotel and our service was great.

We are truly glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience with the different restaurants, activities, facilities and the Diving Centre. We love to receive these kind of comments since provide a great motivational tool for our Staff, and of course they also help us identify weak areas.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Truly yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 7 day/6 night stay at the Iberostar. Overall we had a wonderful time and really enjoyed ourselves. We were at the resort over Christmas and the resort looked beautiful with white lights everywhere! We had a standard room with a king size bed and the room was very comfortable, lots of room and a nice bathroom. We stayed in building 15 which was right in the middle of the resort and equal distance to the main lobby and the beach. As many have noted, it is a big resort and there is lots of walking but it is very enjoyable. If you are looking to get somewhere fast, you might not want to go to Mexico for vacation!

The grounds are absolutely beautiful with wildlife at every turn. I was amazed each day at the different animals that we saw and they were not at all afraid of people. The plants and overall maintenance of the resort were very well kept and really added to the enjoyment of our stay. We joked that we were glad there was lots of walking because of all the food/drinks we enjoyed.

It did rain almost every day we were there, but only for an hour or two in the afternoon. I was glad I brought an umbrella because it made walking to dinner/drinks a bit easier when it was raining.

The pool is huge and very clean. The pool runs almost the entire length of the resort and has different areas to suit your needs. There is a quiet area, music area, basketball area and two areas with bars. The one thing that was annoying (as at every resort) is that people get up around 5am and begin "claiming" their spots and almost all the chairs are gone by 9am. Even more frustrating is that most of them are left empty most of the day. By the end of the trip, we just slept in and took the chairs we wanted when we got up. It says all over the resort that you cannot save chairs, so we figured why not get a seat when we were going to use it? If it is worth it to you to get up, do so before 7am.

The beach is beautiful, very clean with a bar and food. Also, I had a massage there at the beach spa and it was amazing! Highly recommend it!

Unfortunately, the food was not so great. We read about it before we went and thought it really couldn't be that bad, and it wasn't. But, it wasn't that good either. This is the third all-inclusive that we have been to in Mexico and this was, by far, our least favorite for food. The buffets serve the same food every day for lunch and dinner. There was SOME fresh fruit, but not much and very little at the salad bar. We are not picky eaters, but don't like to eat fried food every day. We pretty much ate hamburgers, pizza, fries, etc because that was the best there was. Again, it wasn't awful and didn't ruin the trip, but we were hoping for more fresh food and more variety in a week. The Christmas Eve buffet was very nice, but seemed to be what the food should be every day instead of as a "treat" for Christmas. We did eat at two of the reservation restaurants and we really loved the Japanese restaurant. The Mediterranean restaurant was not that great. We did go to the taco restaurant at the shopping center (based off of Tripadvisor Reviews) and it was amazing! We went here twice for dinner and once for lunch, and it really saved us. The tacos are amazing and very authentic, I'm not sure why they don't have these in the buffets. If we came here again I would make sure to pack lots of snacks to have in the room and just know that I wasn't going to be eating great for most of the week.

Last, the entertainment was a little weak. Again, at previous resorts we have seen some great shows and really enjoyed ourselves at night. The shows here were geared much more towards children/families. I'm sure anyone traveling with kids enjoyed themselves, but for two adults it was a bit too childish (Disney theme, magic, etc. ) but the STAR cast did a great job all day at the pool and worked very hard.

Overall, the resort is beautiful and well-kept with hard working people and an enjoyable vibe, but don't expect great food or night time entertainment.

Room Tip: Rooms 14, 15, 16 are in middle or resort... good location
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent stay.

We are more than glad to know that your recent experience was great and that you took the time to share your review with us on Trip Advisor. It is fantastic to know that you enjoyed the beach, the wildlife, the grounds and the service from our Staff.

We have forwarded your feedback about the Japanese and Mediterranean restaurants to our head Chef and his Staff, as well as your mention of the options and variety to take into account for our future service.

We have shared your feedback on our nightly shows to the Entertainment management and it will be taken into consideration since our main goal is the complete satisfaction of our clients, these comments present us as a great tool to achieve our goal.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again our paradisiacal environment.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

5 day, 4 night trip starting Christmas Day. First time at an Iberostar property, booked at the last minute. Exceptionally clean, even standard room was quite large and comfortable. Always had hot water, service staff arrived promptly for very minor problem (resetting safe after power outage), and all service staff were friendly and anxious to please. I disagree with the comments about the buffet -- I found eating outside delightful, and the buffet food varied enough to be interesting every day (hint: try not to eat every single item every day! :^)) I would avoid the theme restaurants where you need to make a reservation: limited menu, and at the Gourmet restaurant, the food was almost not edible, and the service incredibly slow. Who wants to be indoors in the Yucatan, anyway? If you have small children, or difficulty walking, well that is the only downside to this resort. BUT if you call ahead, the friendly gentlemen with the golf carts will come to your building and give you a ride. Spa services were also excellent. Beach spectacular, hobie cats lots of fun. Lots of activities, similar in style to a Club Med. This a large resort, so make sure you are prepared for that. Particularly enjoyed starting the day with cappuccinos and mimosas! Waiters happy to bring round two to your table.

Room Tip: Building 13 close to beach, pool and one of the buffets.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your first visit to Mexico.

It is great to know you had an amazing experience at our Hotel and that you highlight the different options at the Buffets, the service from all our Staff, and the grounds and activities.

We truly appreciate your feedback since it provides us the best motivational and improvement tool for our Staff. The Head Chef is already aware of your comments regarding the Gourmet restaurant; they will take them into consideration.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again the great service we have to offer.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the resort for 4 nights and returned relaxed and reenergized! Great food at the restaurants including buffets. Coffee was not the best and could improve. Big rooms and beautiful grounds. All very well maintained.
Excellent service throughout. The drinks at the bars are weak and additional alcohol helps improve the outlook.

Room Tip: Away from the noisy pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and the Staff of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We are truly happy to know that your stay was enjoyable and you had an amazing experience with us at Iberostar.

We thank you for your feedback regarding the coffee and the alcoholic drinks at the restaurants and bars. The Food & Beverage manager will take your comments into consideration.

Our Staff is already looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My parents and I spent a week at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar over Christmas and, overall, we had a wonderful time. Although we have stayed in all-inclusive resorts in the Dominican Republic and Cuba, this was our first time staying at an Iberostar hotel, and it was head and shoulders above previous resort stays.

What we really liked:

-The service was excellent. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, and worked tirelessly to make sure every one was comfortable. (A big shout-out to Marciano, who's surely the most pleasant server at the resort! Thanks so much for everything.)

-The grounds are a veritable zoo, with all sorts of animals roaming about. There were at least 10 peacocks, flocks of coatis (raccoon like animals), iguanas, parrots... You never really knew what would cross your path, which was exciting. Also, the rooms are basically nestled in mini-jungles all along the property, athough the resort is large and it's a bit of a walk to get from place to place, you never really feel it because there's so much to take in.

-We really enjoyed the food at the main buffet restaurants - even more so than the selection at the restaurants. There's a lot of variety, and always a few authentic Mexican dishes to try. Wonderful dessert table, too, and plenty of fresh fruits at all times. We tried the Mexican and Brazilian restaurants, and while we really liked the Mexican meals, we found the Brazilian one to be mediocre at best. The service was slow (we think they were understaffed), and it was very meat-heavy (beware, vegetarians/vegans!).

-The beach was stunning! Turquoise water for miles. The waves were pretty rough for the duration of our stay, but it was ideal for body surfing! It's not too deep either, so you always feel safe. (Make sure you get there early to reserve a good spot, because they go quickly.)

-Room was nice, spacious and very comfortable.

What we didn't like:

-Internet. You have to pay $40 a week for Wi-Fi (there are other price brackets, too, but it's cheaper to pay per week). In a way, this worked out, since it is good to get off the grid for a week, but charging $40 a week for Internet is a little ridiculous. Thankfully, the nearby shopping center (about five minutes away from the lobby on foot) has free Wi-Fi, so most people just hang out there to check email, etc.

-Restaurant reservations. We stayed six nights, so we were only allowed to make three restaurant bookings (and one of these was the Christmas buffet). Because it's high season, I could only book for 9 p.m. slots and we didn't even get the restos we really wanted. It would be great if you could make more reservations.

-Entertainment. It is abysmal. A friend at the resort described the evening programs as "very hokey" and they're exactly right. The auditorium is huge, so you're usually pretty far away from the stage unless you get there super early, and the show is very loud and obnoxious. There were shows such as the "Movie Show" which featured musical numbers from Disney films (many adults left during this) and a painful Miss Iberostar competition, among other equally unpleasant selections. The performers are talented, but it would be great to have more cultural programming.

Other notes:

-There's a daily shuttle to Playa del Carmen which leaves at a few times throughout the day. If you're looking to buy souvenirs, definitely go here instead of shopping at the resort because you'll find much better deals (especially after some haggling).

-Shop around a bit before opening your wallet for excursions. They're all pricey, but some deals are better than others. Chichen Itza is about three hours away and you can't climb the stairs any more, so we went to Coba instead (a smaller pyramide that's only 1.5 hours away, and which you can still climb) - I think it was a good choice. Also, try and make your way to a cenote (underground swimming pool in a cave) - the water is bitterly cold, but it's a great swimming experience.

-There are a few eateries in the shopping center which are included in the all-inclusive package. The taco place is good, but we loved the creperie!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank manniehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Staff and the management of the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacations.

We appreciate the time you took to share your nice comments with us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacations, experienced the great service of our Staff and enjoyed the grounds, wildlife and the paradisiacal beach.

On behalf of the Food & Beverage manager we would like to apologize for the delay you experienced during the Brazilian restaurant dinner. It is a skewers restaurants and like Rodizio, it is mainly meat, however if this is communicated to the captain of the restaurant, the chefs can prepare something special depending on our guests needs. We have shared your feedback with the Head Chef to take all your comments into consideration.

Regarding the shows, the Entertainment Manager has received your feedback, which is always welcomed for future improvements.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future and enjoy again a fantastic stay among your family and friends.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews