We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was our first visit to the Riviera Maya in August 2013, for only five nights, we will reserve at least 10 nights for the next trip! We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and the location. It was perfect, great price, great service, everything better than expected.
The hotel is wonderful, rooms are comfortable, tasty and varied food, excellent specialty restaurants, awesome beach and pool, good drinks, and helpful staff. Everything was relaxing and enjoyable, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the restaurants are better, because carts sometimes don't pass so frequently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacation and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

It is our pleasure to receive feedback like yours and to know you experienced an amazing time with us during your stay. It is fulfilling to cooperate in delivering paradisiacal and unforgettable vacations; we will share your comments with the Staff that assisted in making you happy during your stay.

We are happy to know you are intended to return to our Hotel, we would be more than glad to welcome you and offer you again an amazing vacation!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,142
    1,427
    504
    188
    104
See reviews for
1,595
1,351
51
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful week of sun, beach and drinks. I went last week and there's nothing horrible I can say about the place. If you love to walk as I do this is the place for you. The building we stayed at was in 1200 block. Close to the pool, the snack shack near the pool and just a short walk to the beach. But maybe an 8 minute walk towards the lobby/restaurants. If you like to walk the property is big. with lots of walkways. If not its a long wait for someone in those carts driving around to pick you up. Just one bit of advice the animals there are beautiful but don't feed them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Clients,

On behalf of the Staff and management we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at Iberostar.

It is fantastic to know you enjoyed a great stay with us and we were able to make this experience unforgettable. It reinforces our determination to offer unforgettable holidays when we receive your nice comments.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another amazing vacation at Iberostar.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was the perfect vacation! We loved everything about the hotel. The staff was above wonderful and accommodating, especially the bartenders. The hotel is large and has plenty to offer everyone. The rooms are nice and the property was beautiful. My boyfriend especially loved that they had Dos Equis on draft!! If we were to complain about anything it would be that the rooms could have been a little colder and we would have liked to have been able to attend more of the nice dinners but they were not deal breakers and we plan to go back to this hotel next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank Chantell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are glad to know that your experience was amazing and you enjoyed our facilities, services and the great tropical environment at the resort. For us is truly important since it provides great information and helps us to keep offering the same unforgettable experiences to our clients.

It is great you highlighted that you enjoyed your dinners and also that you would like some extra dinners, these comments will make our Chef and his Staff very happy.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and offer you our warm hospitality.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winsford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I will keep this short and sweet, travelled to this hotel with my parner for two weeks 25th May 2013 for two weeks, the weather was terrible whist we were there we had 7 days of tropical storms out of the fortnight we were there, there is nothing you can do about the weather once your there your there, the hotel was very clean with the staff maintaing the grounds daily, room was good with room service included in the price, bars were all good with quality drinks at all of them, resaurants were excellent with a great variety in all, a la cartes were excellent with great service, entertainment was outstanding which due to the weather was a godsend, nightly shows were excellent, staff all work hard and were more than friendly and helpful, all in all I have travelled to Iberostar hotels in The Domican republic, Cuba, Brazil, Cozumel and now the Riviera Maya all brilliant at every resort, cant wait to return to another.

Room Tip: blocks go from 10 to 24 10 being on the beach going towards all the facilities 24 being on top of ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dellisWinsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing us as option for your vacation in Mexico and appreciate the time you took to share with us and Trip Advisor your opinion regarding your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

This is the type of comments we love to receive from our guests after a wonderful stay as they motivate us to improve our service daily.

It is gratifying to know we contributed to the happiness of our guests and we trust you give us again the opportunity to stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar/Beach on your next visit to Riviera Maya.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future in your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very nice resort and great price!! We met friends from California there and had a great time. Very relaxing and beautifully kept resort! Beautiful weather!

Pros-Beautiful grounds, beautiful beach, very clean, very helpful staff, great pools, plenty of food and drink options, shopping center, spa, wildlife on the grounds are cool.

Cons-While there was plenty of food options it does become repetitive. I'm a picky eater and had no problem finding something good to eat or drink. There is a lot of walking...plan on walking to and from all the places as I only road the trolly twice. We waited several times but nothing comes by and you could have been there by the time they picked you up. Had to pay for iffy wi-fi. $4.00 per 1 hour

Overall, great trip, great resort and great value and I would definitely return. We have been to Punta Cana, D.R. and Montego Bay, Jamaica and this was by far our favorite.

Room Tip: Choose a building in the middle (we stayed in 1321) since it is a little bit of a walk to the lobby...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vacaysaway2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Clients,

On behalf of the Staff and management we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your experience at Iberostar.

We truly appreciate your taking the time to share these spectacular comments with us, since it provides us with a great motivational tool for our team.

Regarding the transportation, we regret to know that you found it to be infrequent; at the Hotel we have 2 trains that offer transportation to our guests around the premises, during the morning it runs from 7 a.m. until 11 a.m. and in the afternoon from 6 p.m. until 10 p.m. in the meantime the bell boys offer transportation in the golf carts. The time that the train takes from one side to the other side depends on the amount of guests using it.

It is gratifying to know we contributed to the happiness of our guests and we trust you give us again the opportunity to stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar/Beach on your next visit to Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesaning, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a nice resort for the price. This was a girls vacation for my birthday. We had a great time, the food and drinks were really good and plentiful, Entertainment at the pool and beach was great. Nightly theater shows were really funny a few of the nights. Be prepared to do a considerable amount of walking. The resort is big and you do a ton of walking to get from the beach/pool to the front of the resort to the lobby and restaurants (my only complaint). The food in all of the restaurants and buffets were excellent as were the drinks and service. Rooms were clean and receptionist upgraded us to rooms closest to ocean and activity pool for free, On my birthday the maid designed a towel cake for me which was really cool. Overall we had a great time and would go back again.

Room Tip: We were in section 11 close to pool, small buffet, and ocean which was nice. But resort is so big w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kisher73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your vacations. We are glad that you had such a great time.

We truly appreciate you took the time to share this spectacular comments with us, since it provides us a great motivation to keep offering the same incredible service to all our guests.

We feel confident to offer you our warm hospitality again at any Iberostar and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful, the beach is awesome. The room (1026) was, well a room. Nothing exciting except the view, it was on the beach and listining to the waves at crashing at night was outstanding. We did however have a problem with ants in the riim and it took 4 calls to the desk to get it resolved. The beds are firm the pillows were terribly hard for our liking. Ended up using the couch pillows to sleep on. The food was ok, but after the second day of the exact same thing on every buffet (3) was enough. We ate at the Mexican restaurant ( Hacienda) and it was just ok. The Japanese restaurant was also just ok but, the show was pretty good. The staff was friendly and was always asking if we needed anything. The pools were very nice. The drinks at the bars were never consistent and out of all the places we've been in Mexico they would be dead last for food and drinks. Now the bad stuff that has nothing to do with the resort. The Russians there on vacation were some of the most rude people I ever met. The worst was the group of I guessing age of mid 20's people the cussed out a guy at the Italian restaurant for not letting them in with no reservations. They would also show up to their rooms at midnight and be yelling and screaming. The worst was when a couple was fighting and he tried to kick in the door. The other people was the Mexicans on vacation, they would push you out of the way at the buffet, bump you off the side walk and block the walk ways. Even my 7 year old asked why they were so mean. Needless to say they were the worst part. Unless you count the 36 F degrees when we came home.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

We appreciate the time you took to share with us and Trip Advisor your opinion regarding your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

We truly appreciate your time and the feedback from your stay, since it provides us important information from our services and facilities. We are glad you highlighted the beauty of the grounds and the beach at the Resort, our Staff works very hard every day to keep it nice for all our guests.

We regret to know that the room was not as you expected and it did not exceed your expectations, we have already forwarded your comments to the Maintenance department to improve our response times with these issues. As per the beds and pillows, the Housekeeping department has foam covers for the beds to make them softer and the pillows can be replaced by them during the cleaning of the room.

Please know that the management and staff at Iberostar Resorts are committed to providing an ambience which satisfies the needs of our diverse clientele; while on vacation you can present your concerns to our Public Relations Department and our team will gather efforts to make your stay as pleasant as possible. All your comments have been forwarded to the people in charge of every department and to the management for their consideration.

We hope you give us the chance to stay again at Iberostar so that we can work to make you holiday wonderful.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,556 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#13 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,652 reviews
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#38 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,118 reviews
9.8 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Property: IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Address: P. Juarez km 309 | Carretera Chetumal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing