We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family vacations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Traveled with 2 young kids (6 & 2). They really enjoyed the mini-club. Great animation. All the rest met my expectations of a 4 star hotel in Mexico, except for the bed that was quite uncomfortable. I highly recommend the Japanese and Brazilian restaurants to meat lovers!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank NicolasRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Iberostar and also for sharing your comments with us on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that the services offered were satisfactory and that your kids enjoyed the miniclub. Also we are glad to inform that we are changing mattresses according to our rotation program, however in the meantime we have soft bed pads available upon request contacting our Public Relation office or reception desk.

The Chef is happy to know that you enjoyed our cuisine especially the Japanese and Brazilian restaurants.

We would be more than glad to welcome you back in a near future and enjoy again some amazing vacations, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us prior your arrival.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,065 - 2,071 of 4,854 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great service and accomodations-friendly and helpful staff. The beach is groomed and there is large amount of staff on hand. We booked scuba through Dressel Divers at the resort beach which turned out to be an amazing experience. Axiel at the desk went out of his way to make our stay great. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank Erika417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your hotel review and recent visit to Paraiso Beach.

We are grateful you appreciated so much our hotel premises and above all our wonderful staff, who go above and beyond to ensure our guests have memorable holidays. We will show them your feedback so they can feel motivated and encouraged to keep going the extra mile.

It is great to know your Scuba experience was amazing.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at this resort (March 2-9). We had a nice time and there are some very nice things about this hotel - it was clean, staff was very good, grounds were lovely, etc. It had a few things that made it just average though. First, if you did not have a beachfront room (and there aren't a lot of them available), you would never know that you were at the beach. There are large pools that go on forever, but you absolutely cannot see the beach from any location on the property except the few beachfront rooms. There is a long walk through awesome jungle terrain to get to the beach. You cannot see or hear it from elsewhere on the property though (we were in building 18, kind of in the middle of the property). I didn't mind the walking, but it would have been nice to just look out and see the beach without making the trek to get there. The property is situated with the five resorts on longer and skinner lots, therefore not as much beach frontage. We were at Barcelo, south of Playa Del Carmen a few years back and this resort is very similar. However, the buildings at Barcelo were spread out along the beach so that there was more frontage per building. It allowed for a lot more beachfront rooms and their beach was nicer than Iberostar's. Having said that, they are both lovely beaches, it's just that Barcelo has a lot more of it and you don't feel packed in at all. We never got up early to put towels on beach chairs at Barcelo and there were always chairs available (I don't like getting up early on vacation just to put towels out and you need to do this at Del Mar). Also, Iberostar is really "touchy" about the level you are staying in and keeping folks segregated. I was on a beachwalk one day and walked up to the beachfront bar and was told I had on the "wrong color bracelet". I happened to be at the bar that services the Lindo and Maya, but it didn't look any different than the one's at the other end of the beach. They would not give me a drink. One man told me he picked up a hot dog from their beach grill and they made him put it back! Barcelo would serve you drinks at any of their bars, no matter where you stayed, you just could't eat at their buffets/restaurants. This may have changed, but it was that way a few years back. The Iberostar wouldn't even let you walk in the lobby of their "Grand Hotel" on the property.

The pools at Del Mar are VERY cold and not very clean. Some of it is the jungle surronding dropping leaves and debris in to the pool and some of it is just some badly needed care and upkeep. There were also hot tubs that were freezing as well, which was really disappointing. I think it was just pool water in the hot tub, no controls or way to get it warm. That being said we spent a lot of time at the "quiet pool" to have some time to read and relax. It wasn't quiet, just no activities/games/music at that pool, which was fine.

The food is the same old stuff that you get at all inclusives. I could always find something to eat, but it wasn't like there was anything I craved or found delicious there. It's nice to get fresh fruit, the coffee was always good, etc. I would have appreciated some authentic Mexican food. They obviously cater to Europeans and don't have Mexican chefs. They always had stuff like "fish in jelly" and other unidentifiable things. I wish these places would focus on having fewer, quality dishes instead of just so much mediocre food. Really, Mexico has a wonderful culinary tradition that they should use as a selling point and should serve more authentic Mexican food. The specialty restaurants had better food than the buffet. The worst part of buffet dining is rude people cutting in lines, touching food with bare hands and putting it back, etc. This isn't the fault of the staff, just some gross people in the world. There were also a lot of smokers around, which is good to note if that will bother you.. Overall, it was great to get out of the snow, but I don't think I would stay here again.

Room Tip: To get as close to the beach as possible, choose a lower building number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachgoer234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thanks for taking your valuable time to send us your sincere comments that help us in our guest satisfaction and quality service.

Your feedback is very helpful to us to evaluate our service so we can correct areas of concern and improve even more the ones that are already good. It is very important for us to know you had a great time and we appreciate all your comments.

We are glad to know that you had some fun reading and relaxing time at the quiet area by the pool. We would also like to inform you that the tub that we have at the waterfall has always been cold water, it was not offered as a hot tub; the hot tub we have at the Hotel is located at the gym where we have one hot and one cold water tub.

Regarding swimming pools, there is a maintenance program whereby every night pools are cleaned with products to keep it immaculate. They are also cleaned throughout the day. However, let us apologize for what you mentioned on your review; we will be speaking to maintenance to ensure this is kept always perfect.

We sincerely regret that despite the fact that you liked the hotel and grounds, you did not enjoy the restaurants and the culinary offer we have in our hotel. Our Chef along with his team work on maintaining a standard in our restaurants according to our guests’ petitions and requests. We are sure the comments you have forwarded will assist us to achieve any improvement needed.

We are very sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill your expectations in your recent visit, be sure that we have taken note of all your comments and we wish to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I just to back from our first trip to Mexico, 2/28-3/7. We had an awesome time. The hotels' grounds are beautiful and the rooms were spacious and clean. We had an ocean view room on the first floor. ( 1007) We woke up to the sunrise every morning. The staff is friendly and helpful. Some hints, put your towels out on beach chairs early, ask the front desk to get you a golf cart ride to your rooms in the evening or you will wait for ever, and don't miss the specialty lunches on the beach. The aren't served everyday but we had it twice while we were there. Our favorite place to eat was the Mediterranean restaurant . Make sure to go to the shopping plaza and eat at the taco restaurant and the crepe/ice cream stand. It's included. Worth the walk ! The buffet restaurants are not great and neither is room service. If you are a foody or picky you might go hungry. If you like to be entertained do not miss the evening shows, the aren't Vegas quality but worth seeing. I would suggest bringing plenty of singles, I am sure you are not expected to tip but you will want to. Relax and enjoy ! We are already planning our return!

Room Tip: Building 10 is the only ocean view rooms, totally worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiffanys783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guests,

On behalf of all our staff and Management, we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your vacations.

We are delighted to have provided you with an outstanding holiday and we are also pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff, services, beautiful well-maintained grounds and night entertainment. We regret not to fulfill your expectations about the food; your comments about our main buffet have been passed on to our Chef in order to look into new options of improving our services and variety of food.

Regarding the meals on the beach, it is good to hear that you enjoyed them; it is important to clarify that we have a daily snack service from 11:30 to 18:00 and in addition to this, some days during the week with our Star Friends team we have Paella , Ceviches or Tacos party at noon.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for sharing your comments, we are very happy to know that you liked our hotel and we will be very pleased to welcome you on your next visit to Mexico.

Kind regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went for two weeks jan28 to feb 11 four friends and we have an amazing time the people that all work there are amazing people friendly entertainment was amazing and then go to the club and party till morning food was good and beach was awesome great time and will go back

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joeyg1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind review and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to read that you consider that our facilities, staff and entertainment are amazing. Thank you very much for recommending us.

We do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again in the future.

Best regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The garden separating del Mar and Paraiso Beach is fantastic. The most wonderful foliage, birds, the magnificent pool surrounds the pathways leading from the beach to the reception. Check in, however, this time was not easy. It seemed to me that the various mails we had sent in both English and Spanish were ignored. We finally ended up in the Beach House in a Junior Suite which I really recommend. Our maid was fantastic and refilled the mini bar as well as arranging the room to perfection with animals made from towels too! The little restaurant right behind serves both break fast and lunch (very good) but we walked slowly every morning up to the main restaurant admiring the garden. Breakfast is WONDERFUL! Nice lady making eggs, fruits of all kinds, cereals..I could go on forever. Lunch is either on the beach, the main restaurant or one of the smaller ones-all very good. Even Sushi one day! Dinner, is another matter. The Buffets are very nice with different dishes all the time, but to make reservations in the speciality ones are a hassle. Long ques, almost impossible to get what you want. We ate at The Japanese The Brazilian and the Steakhouse. The Brazilian was by far the best. This is a fantastic hotel and we will be back. The staff is so nice and helpful and you feel taken care of almost by everyone. On the beach you get wonderful drinks served by a lady while you sit in the sun-can it get better??!!

Room Tip: I prefer the ones right on the beach since the other rooms are in the middle of lots of trees and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sacw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your generous review. We were happy to learn that you had an excellent vacation and that you were pleased with our service. Your comments mean a lot to us as they reflect our continued dedication in meeting your expectations.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to acknowledge the efforts of our dedicated team and no doubt they will be motivated by your kind words.

We are sorry to hear that some of your requests, made via email prior to your arrival, could not be granted. Our front desk manager always does his best to accommodate requests, but they are not always possible since it depends on availability at the time of the check-in.

It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your holidays and it was a pleasure to have you here with us and it would be a real pleasure to host you again!

Warmest Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

You cannot go wrong at any Iberostar....they are gorgeous, with helpful, courteous staff everywhere you turn. The food, the accommodations, the grounds...all spectacular! We love staying at Iberostars!!

Room Tip: Our building was closest to the beach, pools, and one of their buffets...loved it! There were trolle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience.

Your kind words about our food, accommodations, grounds and our friendly atmosphere are greatly appreciated.

We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.4 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya by Artisan - All Inclusive - Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,045 reviews
13.9 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#51 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $194 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, VISIT US, INC. , Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing