We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Well I just want to start this out by saying "Isa" (Isabel) was probably our favorite of the whole entire trip! She does yoga on the beach, walks around the pool and beach talking to everyone, gets you involved in everything, and then is the best performer at night! She has the most energy on stage, whereas the male lead singer on Monday nights for the "Musical Review" had ZERO energy, he made the show such a snore to watch. Jorge and Little "D" at the lobby bar are excellent and always had us laughing. Pedro at the Mediterranean restaurant was SO nice and helpful when we ate there. The staff really made this trip so much more fun and Im so glad they were so lively and welcoming and always encouraging us to get involved.

The resort is gorgeous, and so many people complain about the long walks to the lobby, but I enjoyed the walks. It is seriously less than a 5 minute walk from the beach to the lobby, but some reviewers on here make it sound like a 10 mile hike through the wilderness, they are just lazy!! You need to be working off some of the calories from your Pina Coladas anyway! :)

The rooms are nice and I loved the marble floors everywhere, they do a great job maintaining them. I did not like that the shower did not have a shower curtain, and our shower head was broken. I felt like I was getting water all over the bathroom because there was no curtain, and I ended up using three towels just to sop up the water. I was kind of ticked off about the shower head, but we did not realize it was broken until we had already unpacked everything. The actual handheld nozzle worked, it was the holder for the shower head that did not work and hold the nozzle up so it pointed down on the ground, very annoying. We were room 1132 if the staff is reading this lol. We rigged our own holder for the nozzle out of rubber hair bands and it held it up good enough for the trip.

If you want some amazing food and you are tired of the buffets and do not have a reservation, go to the shopping center and order some tacos! We did not discover this place until the last day, but the tacos and the staff in there were amazing and so friendly!!

I wish the pool had a hot tub, sometimes it was a little chilly closer to dinner time and a hot tub would have felt great, especially after a long day doing activities and sore muscles!

The beach is nice but extremely crowded and only one bar. I wish there was maybe one more bar. I also didn't like how the sand into the water had a huge drop off. Instead of walking straight into the water from your chair you had to climb down a man made sand ledge and then walk into the water. It was weird and made jogging on the beach or taking nice strolls on the beach impossible, but not a huge deal.

I also loved how animal friendly this resort was. There were stray cats all over, but not feral cats, they were very human friendly and the staff just let them lounge around and didnt yell at us when we fed them. They were coates (spelling?) and birds all over fighting for food and the same thing, they just left them alone and let them be.

I guess this is long enough. I really had a fabulous time and I am so depressed to be back home I wish I could have stayed forever!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarsiinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar and for taking the time to provide such a detailed review of your stay at our resort.

Your comments have been shared with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It makes our team proud and motivated to always go the extra mile. For sure we will share your generous comments with Isabel, Jorge and Litle D. The best reward that staff can have is your compliments.

We regret the inconveniences with the shower in your room, as you could notice, certainly it is not the level of service we are used to offer; our most sincere apologies and you can be sure the proper follow-up with the maintenance department to fix it. We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,238
    1,480
    524
    193
    105
See reviews for
1,669
1,400
55
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing stay in the Del Mar resort. The rooms were clean, fresh and restocked everyday. The hotel was fantastic, the food was typical large resort food. The pools were crystal blue and beautiful. This resort is nicely spread out and whoever complains about the little bits of walking to the buffets or pools or the ocean is missing out on the great wildlife and greenery there is to see. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank shellyanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with other travellers. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacations at the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

We are glad to hear that you had such an amazing vacation with us. We thank you for all your comments regarding the service and facilities.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Street Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The grounds are lovely so if you want to diet and walk this is a great weight loss resort.So many great photo area's on the resort. It is a tropical dream that is kept very clean

Beach is dirty and rocky. The pool area was very nice. Large area's with kids section, party section and then the quiet section. Plenty of chairs and cushioned bed areas to relax. If you don't like animals then this is not your type of resort. Plenty of Coate's running around, Iguana's everywhere and sometimes they actually jump in the pool. Cats galore everywhere you go. Swans, flamingo's, peacocks roam freely and are lovely site.

Room Tip: Middle of the resort is the best. Half way between the lobby bar ( which served the best drinks) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your last vacation.

It is gratifying to know that you enjoyed our beautiful landscaping, grounds, and well maintained facilities along with the wildlife and native fauna which no doubt represents one of our main attractions.

We are very sorry that we were not able to fulfill your culinary expectations on this stay. We have always considered our buffet to be complete and we even have a cooking live spot where our Chefs are always willing to fulfill our guests’ requests when it comes to food preparations from scratch. We also try to offer many options for our guests, looking to satisfy their different palates, in our 7 restaurants a la carte, 2 buffets and snack restaurants. However this type of feedback helps us in order to improve certain areas that might need attention since our main goal is the complete satisfaction of our guests, and you can be sure these were forwarded to our Head Chef.

We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.

It will be a pleasure to have the opportunity to host you back in the near future so we can change your point of view in regard to these issues.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We signed up through Apple for a Square Deal through the Iberostar hotels in Playa del Carmen, with at least a 4 golden apple rating, meaning we would be in one of their three hotels that are on the beach. We figured we couldn't go wrong, and we were right! What a wonderful place. The hotel was beautiful, the room was spotless and roomy, the food was delicious and varied plus no getting sick, and the staff was without exception friendly, prompt, caring, and skilled. Our mattress was very comfortable. We would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat. There are 5 specialty restaurants, of which we were guaranteed visits to 3. We chose Mediterranean, Brazilian, and Japanese. These were wonderful as well, and very different from each other. The other Iberostar, Playa Paraiso, is sharing some of the restaurants and runs down the other side of the long lagoon style pool. Some things to be aware of: This is a very LONG hotel, with a short beach profile. We requested a room as close to the beach as possible and were offered an upgrade to building #11 for $25 more per day, one building away from the beach, on the 3rd floor. First point: just know, there are no elevators. Second point, we kind of hoped we would have some sense of the ocean, being that close. We did not. Our balcony view was a thick jungle of trees - we couldn't even see the pool a few feet away, much less the ocean. There was a building that fronted directly to the beach - we were not offered this option, they may have been full, and I'm sure it's more costly. But we were a very short walk from the beach, the buffet by the beach, and the towel kiosk. So that was good. On the down side, it was literally a half mile walk to the main part of the hotel and the main restaurants. Fortunately, they usually had frequent shuttles running us all to and fro, but I stopped wearing my pretty shoes to dinner in case it turned out to be a walking night. In summary, this was a wonderful spot to spend a week, relax, and eat non-stop.

Room Tip: The pool has a crazy game time with very loud music from 4-5 every day, so that was a bad time to tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar and for your generous comments.

Your comments are very much appreciated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, including the food and drinks, fantastic beaches, facilities, and service provided by great staff. These have been shared with our hotel team and we are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar soon!

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Any where warm and sunny in February is a great break from the snow. We would certainly recommend a stay here, you need to enjoy walking as it is a large resort. The pathways through the "jungle" are beautiful and alive, walking around the huge pool is the longest trip but has enough pit stops (bars) to sate ones thirst. Strolling through the lobbies, the resturant areas and the complex itself is amazing, with the pillars, marble floors, ponds, flamingos, pheasants, swans, everywhere you look there is something else to see.
The beach, our favorite part of a trip south was a bit dissapointing. The beach itself was fine but the swimming was limited due to the rocks. There is one roped off swimming area so it does get crowded, with the rocks and reefs right there the wave action is very inconsistent.
The pool, it just keeps going and going so you could always find a place to set up for the day. As with most pools in the tropics they rely on the sunshine to keep it warm, so by the early afternoon as you sit and roast in the sun it is perfectly refreshing. Never a problem with towells.
The rooms, we stayed in the Del Mar complex although checked in on the Parisio beach side, we were given a ground floor unit facing the roadway. The next day we wandered around to see which building would better suit us and requested a room change which was done with no problem. The best buildings are # 14 &15, 2nd or 3rd floor facing the pool. You get the evening sun, a great view and central. # 1531 Has a excellent mattress. Rooms were clean and well equipped.
The food, decent buffet, good selection of fresh fruit & cheese. The grills were excellent. The Japanese was typical. Italian was okay. The Brazilian ...if you are a carnivore you will be right at home.
The desserts, a class of their own at times, always good then once in awhile I am sure they were experimenting in the kitchen and made some incredible treats. The Ice cream bar by the pool was a favorite spot.
The entertainment, was very good, though I did tire of waving my arms and singing "we are the champions".
The service was most excellent every where you went, did not seem to be an unhappy staff anywhere.
The bars, always friendly and great service, the drinks though not top shelf were very good though they could improve on the margaritas. Red and white wines were decent, we have being to resorts where they are simply not drinkable. The sangrias are a good choice. So go to relax & enjoy. Always leave a tip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank barbandlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your delightful review! We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to the fullest!

We appreciate you took the time to share all these incredible comments since it is truly important for us to know our guests opinion; this helps us improve our services, facilities and of course our guests satisfaction.

Your review, your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar for their next vacation in Mexico.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future and have the pleasure to host you!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My mother and I just got back from a week at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar. We travel to Riviera Maya annually and this is my second time staying at this particular resort.

The good:
1. The grounds are gorgeous and the animal life is amazing
2. The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable
3. The staff are pleasant
4. The pool is lovely but the hot tubs are cold so we never used them
5. The mall and all the common areas are lovely
6. All common areas (bars, lobby, grounds, public washrooms, pools) are always well-maintained and extremely clean
7. Shuttles are available throughout the day into Playa at a very reasonable price

The bad:
1. The beaches were not as nice as in Playcar where we normally stay -- we often took long walks along the beach and noticed that the beaches at the resorts next door were much better maintained than at the Iberostar property
2. The food was atrocious! This is a great resort to go to if you want to lose weight - the buffet offered very little choice and what was served was always cold, bland and for the most part inedible! As for the a la carte restaurants, we tried the Mediterranean, Japanese and Italian. The food at the Mediterranean restaurant was just as bad as the buffet -- I ordered the Grilled bass which was awful! My mother ordered the Surf and Turf and the lobster had good flavour but was overcooked - the meat was sticking to the sides of the shell and almost impossible to remove. Saving graces were the Japanese and Italian restaurants where the food not only tasted amazing but was served hot.
3. The service was pathetic (restaurant wait staff and bartenders excluded). The coffee maker in our room was broken and we had to ask for a new one four times over the course of two days before we actually received a replacement. One day we returned from the beach to a room that had not been made up (all rooms are supposed to be done by 4pm - we returned from the beach closer to 5pm and had to call housekeeping to come and make up our room as we needed new towels). Another day the room had been made up but they had not given us any toilet paper so we had to track down a housekeeper's cart to get some ourselves. Yet another day, the water bottles had not been replenished in the mini-bar.
4. The bathroom - The shower head was installed so low on the wall that we had to bend down in order to get under it to take a shower. We mentioned this to one of the hotel's customer service reps yet noone followed up on our complaint. The hair dryer did not work very well and burned my hands when holding it so that was hardly used at all.
5. Internet service: The first time I stayed at this resort, internet was available in the room. This year, WiFi was only available in the lobby -- installing WiFi in each building to allow people to go online in their room (and thus not be required to bring their devices to the lobby in order to check their emails, etc) is expected at a 5-star resort.
6. The stores at the resort as well as in the mall carried lovely merchandise but at ridiculous prices! The same merchandise is available in Playa at half the price!

To sum up, the resort is gorgeous and we had a very relaxing week in the sun but next year we will be heading back to the resort we normally stay at in Playacar where the cost is comparable to Iberostar Paraiso del Mar but where we definitely get much more for our money - in service, beach maintenance and by far....the food!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotter942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your comments on your experience at our resort

We regret that despite the fact that you liked the hotel, grounds, fauna and rooms, you did not enjoy the restaurants and the culinary offer we have in our hotel. We try to attend all tastes for our customers of great cultural diversity using products of high quality in all restaurants, as well as offering many choices of seafood, meat cuts, etc. However, our goal is the complete satisfaction of our clients so thank you for the feedback. We will forward it to the executive chef of the hotel .

Concerning the situation with the rooms, please accept our most sincere apologies, your comments have been shared with the housekeeping manager so that situations like that do not happen again.

As per your comments about the Internet, and attending many comments sent by our guests, we are glad to inform that this year we will have Internet access in the rooms, with an extra fee.

We are very sorry to hear that we were not able to fulfill your expectations, and rest assured that we have taken note of all your comments.

We wish to have the opportunity to host you and your family again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I can't fault any aspect of my holiday, the staff bend over backwards to ensure every part of your vacation is as perfect as possible. I cant fault any part of my holiday and I will be retuning next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank westhammick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar we would like to thank you for your recent visit to our resort.

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly. It is very motivating for our Managers and Staff and drives us to keep on going the extra mile.

We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.4 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,659 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#74 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Property: IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Visit Us Inc., Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing