We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After reading some of the current reviews, I was a little concerned. Boy!!!! Was I wrong . I have been vacationing in this area since 1993. This hotel was the best we have stayed at. It is a correct rating of 5 Golden. Our check in was quick and the people were very friendly. We asked for a room on the first floor and they said no problem. our room was very clean and neat and all was perfect. Good warm water, a well stocked mini bar and great air conditioning. the food was outstanding, and they had turkey two days and was prepared just like at home. I asked our waiter,Abrahim if he could find me cranberry sauce and he said give him 10 minutes and he came back with jelled cranberries. WOW!!! Joshua with the show group has always asking us to attend the shows and asked our opinion on how they were. All shows were good. Our TV would only receive a few English channels so I spoke to the front desk if they could help us receive more channels. WOW again!!! Angelica Moreno, front desk manager took this problem over and within an hour a new converter box was installed and problem solved. A call by Angelica 2 hours later was made to check if all was ok. WOW what service. Every staff member went out of their way to make sure our vacation was great!!! The speciality restruants (3) we went to were outstanding. If you want the steak house, reserve the first day, we were unable to attend that one. Great beach with bar and food right there. The pool is the largest We have ever seen. The head chef also came out to check with us to see if we enjoyed the food..Our response was it was very American and much like home cooking. All should be happy with the food due to the large selection for all meals. The grounds are beautiful with friendly animals roaming the area. The golf carts were always running to help transport around the hotel area. To sum it up, You will enjoy this hotel and staff and have a great vacation!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank Robert Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff and management at Paraiso del Mar we would like to thank you for your recent visit. Thanks for sharing your fabulous experience with the online community.
Your comments are certainly appreciated and we will forward this to all the staff members who have contributed to making your stay enjoyable it is very important for us to know that you valued our facilities, accomodations, natural enviroment and the most important one, our staff they are by far our key to success in guest satisfaction and it is always a pleasure to actually read that this goal is achieved.
Thank you once again for your comments it would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future to experience again an amazing vacation with us.
Kind regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,249 of 4,886 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just got back from another amazing 7 night vacation at this resort. We did the iberostar sqaure deal (for the 2nd time), ended up at the Del Mar(for the 2nd time) for the price we paid we could not expect any better service, we travel twice a year to Mexico and have experienced many different resorts and I (we-we took 3 other couples with us this time) have to say this resort offers everything you need. Its more of hacienda style room, not the modern that alot of people want. We did walk down to the lobbies of the Maya and the Lindo those were both very modern and beautiful(and alot more money), we just prefer the mexican feel of the open air Del Mar. The other 3 couples were in building 19, which is close to the lobby, but a hike to the beach, we up graded to ocean front and the view was amazing, but a hike to the lobby. They do have carts that pick people up, they just dont operate on a regular schedule, so we did alot of walking, for us thats ok, with everything you eat and drink walking is A good thing, but for some it does make it difficult to get around, I did mention it at check out and they do realize this needs improvement. As for the food, if you cant find something you like then its not the resorts fault, it yours for being too picky. I will say I do like resorts that you have unlimited specialty dinners and no reservations to get in(at the Del Mar for 7 nights you get 3), we did get an extra night of specialty and the buffet was fine for supper, we just dont care for the buffet style at home The drinks were good, every bar is different, you may love one at the lobby but not at the beach, its all inclusive, try another one..The beach here is beautiful, entry into the ocean is for the most part rock free and the waves are fun to play in, while we were there huricane Sandy whipped up some crazy waves, will have to say the life guards there are amazing, watched them pull a man in that got caught by the under-tow,,,no one should have been out that far...Entertainment, what you expect from a resort. Activities for everyone, or just relax, its your vacation, you make it what it is..Over all would go back if I got another good deal (usually like to try new ones) but this place has it all FOR THE PRICE, if you want upscale modern then you need to pay the upscale modern price, if you want relaxing 5 star quality this is it.

Room Tip: building 10 is the only ocean front- rooms get higher to the lobby building 20--building 11 and 12 c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JandB924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear guest:

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your vacations.
We would like to express our gratitude to dedicate your time and attention to share your kind compliments on the hotel; we are more than pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay in the Paraiso del Mar.
We are glad to hear that you had such an amazing vacation with us. Thank you for all your comments regarding the service and facilities. We truly appreciate all guest feedback as it provides inspiration to our team and allows us to continuously strive to achieve the utmost level in customer satisfaction.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at in the near future.
Kind regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We decided to stay here having spent a week and a half travelling around Cuba. This certainly exceeded our expectations. The complex in general was very clean, well maintained, and the staff were very friendly.
The restaurants were beautiful, food was perfect and overall we have recommended this hotel to many family and friends.
The activities on the beech are excellent, we used the scuba diving and jet ski facilities and had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of all the staff of Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience in our hotel and your recent visit to our resort.
We are pleased to know that you have had a great holiday at Iberostar and have exceeded your expectations, we feel honored to share with our staff and extend them your congratulations and compliments.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at in the next future.
Warmest Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We just returned today from this resort. After reading the reviews I was a little nervous, but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived the resort was absolutely beautiful. The grounds were kept immaculate by the staff. The restaurants were fantastic and we were always asked how the service was and if they could do anything better! The were lots of food choices and never went hungry. The entertainment staff work very hard to put on some great shows and always activities going on if you want to get involved. We would definitely go back! Wonderful time!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1552 and it was close to the pool /beach/buffet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank behappy2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of all the staff of Iberostar, I would like to send you my warmest appreciations for your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your experience in our hotel.
We feel really proud and honored reading your comments which we will be extremely pleased to share with our staff and extend them your congratulations and thanks.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at in the next future.
Warmest Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed October 16-23. Would like to thank Monica and the staff in Public Relations. They made our stay fabulous. We have stayed at this hotel many, many times. The pool was crystal clear, the maid service in the room was fantastic. Everyone is so friendly. This resort is big. There is a lot of walking - but if you can't - just call the bellman for a cart and they will be there shortly. These guys are great! We ate at the Brazilian, Steak House and Mediterranean restaurants - all were super! The bartenders will make the drinks as weak or as strong as you like. Just ask! All of the employees from the front desk to all the groundskeeping crew are friendly and always greet you with a smile. Thank you Iberostar!!!! We will definitely returning!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foxborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all our staff and management, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review and recent visit to Paraiso del Mar.
We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you once again for your comments. Looking forward to having the pleasure of hosting you soon, receive our warmest regards.
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The resort staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautifully kept clean. The nighttime live shows were a nice touch done by the staff. You could tell that the staff put a lot of time and effort in making our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank moose275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and share your comments.
It is always a great honor to be chosen as a host for a special celebration and it was our pleasure to make your honeymoon a memorable trip.
We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.
Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The grounds are beautiful with walkways through various flora to & from the room & restarants & the beach. The main buffet & reservation dining have marble walkways surrounded by water-very impressive. The food overall was mediocre. The only place you could get a decent drink was the lobby bar. They had only one swim-up bar open.All others were closed or under repairs. They had three days when every bar was out of vodka. Our room got cleaned only three times and we were gone for at least seven hours each day. We've been traveling for 20 years and actually we had worse. But the infiltration of coati (south american rodent) was a little much. There were hundreds ! This resort should not be rated a Golden 5.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank bjdsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Clients ,

We thank for your recent visit and comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beauty and natural environment of our hotel.

We regret not having met your expectations on this occasion as to the quality of food and beverages since we try to meet a wide variety and selection of each other however we take your comments into consideration as it allows us to improve every day .

In order to maintain our facilities in top condition these require periodic preventive maintenance and we have to close some of them, since we have a wide variety of bars and restaurants we try to alternate them in order to not affect the service, we do really apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.

As for coatis, we are taking the necessary actions with authorities in the matter because as protected species in the region and as part of our environmental sustainability policies, we must be careful with them.

Once again thank you for your comments we hope to have the opportunity to assist you in the near future and recover your confidence in our service and quality.
Kindest Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,090 reviews
13.9 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#50 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
6,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $183 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing