We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Parker, Colorado, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a lovely resort - the grounds are constantly maintained and beautiful. Our room (1210) was located close to the pool, ocean and one of the buffet areas and the so-so balcony looked out at a jungle of trees and trimmed bushes. The staff are all outstanding and very polite and friendly. Activities are well planned and kid friendly - plus full production evening shows. There are "tranquil" areas for adults at the pool for relaxing and reading and a "free" massage under the waterfall. We never left the resort - just ocean, pool and daily gym visits to counter the "all you can eat' buffets...that were great. There are restaurants available if one tires of the buffet. We went end of Sept. and the weather was beautiful. Packs of "lemurs?" and peacocks roam the grounds. Opportunistic birds and a few stray cats hang out in the buffet areas looking for scraps. My one tip would be to buy a big can of BUG SPRAY to combat the mosquitoes thriving in the swamp areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
5 Thank elitchygordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your recent stay at Iberostar and the amazing comments you have shared with everyone on Trip Advisor.

Our grounds are one of our most important assets at the Hotel. We have already sent all your comments to our gardeners and the maintenance department to make sure they keep on working to present amazing landscaping.
We feel great to know that the room you had during your stay was good, well located and close to the pool, the buffets and beach, we are completely sure that all of this contributed to the joy you experienced at the Resort.

Iberostar is honored to welcome all our guests and we are proud to offer outstanding and quality service, we are happy to know that every single effort made your stay one of the best. Our staff is always happy to serve you and to offer friendly and warm service every day.

We would be amazed to welcome you back to our hotel and enjoy another great vacation with us, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us at rpparaiso@iberostar.com.mx

Kind Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,301
    1,522
    536
    199
    112
See reviews for
1,737
1,433
60
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Ohio, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

we loved this place and had so much fun i will say be prepared to walk a lot but the crew there is so much fun we went to just relax and we did but we had a ball.the service was great in the hotel rooms and the maids did a great job stocking us each day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
4 Thank cindysgrooming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for such a nice review of your recent stay at our hotel, We were to glad to read that you enjoyed the friendly, warm and attentive service we provide all of our guests. It is always motivating for the staff to receive comments like yours. We hope to have the honor to welcome you back at the resort.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Let me start by saying this trip was amazing.We stayed from September 27- October 2 The Hotel itself is gorgeous. The grounds ware stunning and well maintianed. the wildlife from the flamigos,coatis,black swan (yup) a black swan the first time i have ever seen one, white swans,peacocks and yes the white peacock was awesome. Now let me just say that the peacocks have made themselves a home on the balconys in building 1800 just an FYI. So i will give a review of what i experienced. The good the good and the good as you can tell i had no bad taste left in my mouth. Iberostar was GREAT!!

Arrival :
It was around 3pm the reception desk was very pleasant they were friendly and very helpful and a nice Mimosa upon check in(yummy). The lobby is large and BEAUTIFUL! They took our bags and told us our room was ready, but before we went to our room we stopped by the Olympus rep desk to book excursions and let me tell you Bogar is the nicest rep that I have met. He was very informative although we already knew what excurisions we wanted he shed a little more light on what all the excursions would entail. I will tell you about our excursions shortly.

Room:
We were taken to our room by a golf cart(nice touch).In our room we had a welcome fruit basket which was a nice touch and unexpected also. There was towel animal on the bed (so cute) which we had a different one everyday Thanx Rosario(our maid) She kept our room tidy and well stocked everyday our room was cleaned and stocked with 4 towels and wash clothes everyday although i read reviews of not receiving towels and washclothes everyday. She also stocked our fridge every single day before 12noon. Rosario was the best maid ever never had to call her for a thing Our room was very nice despite the bad reviews of being outdated. The rooms are not outdated in my opinion they are mexican decor.We had a king bed and a huge shower no bath tub but not a prob for us. The room was very clean and cool if i might add as i have also read reviews about the A/C. The A/C was set already at 23c and that worked fine for us throughout our trip. There is also a ceiling fan that cooled the room down even more. We stayed in room 1025 oceanfront room in building 10 which is the only oceanview rooms in the resort right across from the pool and pool buffet. Sunrise from these rooms are to die for...just gorgeous!!!!!The TV was a large flat screen tv and worked fine never a problem. One thing wee learned is that the cable box is under the vanity where the tv sits so in order to change the channel you must point the remote under the vanity...lol...i read reviews where ppl say that the tv doesnt work..hahaha.

Food:
Food was not bad we found something to eat everyday. The food is all inclusive food. some people in my opinion like to complain about every little thing (for petes sake relax you are on vacation)There were things there that i would not touch in my wildest dreams as they are catering to many different cultures. The choices that we made from the paella to the whole roasted pig were DELICIOUS!! the ice cream i think i ate 5 bowls a day(not even kidding) so good. Breakfast was my fav pancakes waffles fresh fruit fresh fruit juices lots of pastries eggs made to order omlettes bacon sausage cereal should i go on. Cant comment on the beach grill as i didnt go there at all. We had 2 dinner reservations and did not have a problem getting into them either. We at the Japanese and the Steakhouse both we awesome. The Steakhouse was very accomodating I did not like my choice of steak so they prepared me a piece of salmon it was to die for...very very tasty. If you are a picky eater you can still find something to eat at the buffets. Now one thing i did not care for was the room service they were very speedy but the food was not good. But we did not let that discourage us. My suggestions are find the things you like and dont eat what you dont like and you will never go hungry.

Beach:
The beach was so lovely. The water was blue green. The sand is beautiful. We never had a problem with chairs or palapas. There are hammocks and beach beds there also.

Pool:
Did not use the pool at all but we did stroll by. It is huge it runs the whole length of the resort.

Excursions:
We went to Xplor ziplining amphibious vehicles river swimming and cave rafting was AMAZING it is a must do in Mexico..you also have included int this excursion a buffet that u can eat all all day long...it was very very good. We also went swimming with the dolphins at Dophinaris it is a must do in your lifetime.They are beautiful and lots of fun. My partner he was not a swimmer but was very comfortable in the water with them at all times. You must go!!!!

Getting to and from:
I have read reviews about not getting from here to there and the tram car not running> Dont believe it we called for a cart just about anytime that we did not feel up to walking and one was there in less than 5 mins each and everytime. Also at night we always saw them running. So feel free to call the front desk and they will send you a cart asap.

I hope that this helps out. Please do not let the bad reviews discourage you Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar is great. It is a great value with lots of friendly people the staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank goodgirl925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your favorable comments following your stay in September / October. We have shared your comments with our hotel team and we are all grateful for such feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Paraiso del Mar & Beach for their next vacation in Mexico. Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Del Mar from Sept. 21-28 and once again had a great time. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate your needs. We have always recommended the Del Mar to friends based on past experiences. We were somewhat disappointed in the overall resort this time. The room we stayed in (Bldg. 13) was in real need of updating. The bedspreads, curtains, sofa coverings are the same as they were 5 years ago. I have a feeling that they have never been cleaned since they felt and smelled dirty. The mirror in the bathroom was all pitted and looked very dirty. The outside hallways also looked dirty. Some of the sidewalks needed a good scrubbing. When we tried to book reservations to the Steak House we were told it was closed all week. Only later did we find out that this was not true. When we asked for a reservation, we were told we already had our 3 for the week. The property has become overrun with the coatis (raccoon like animals) and there are several cats roaming the restaurants. I know of one woman who was bitten by one of the cats and now has to undergo rabies shots. The pool needs some work, missing tiles, green algae around some of the concrete. When we were there last year, they seemed to appreciate the fact that we were repeat customers. This year, the attitude was that they could have cared less. We chose this resort as the price was excellent but we will be looking for somewhere else to spend our vacation dollars. The resort is no longer a golden apple resort but with some overall maintenance and updating it could be again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.
Your helpful point of view represents to us an opportunity to look for areas to enhance our hotel services and premises. We are sorry and extremely disappointed to hear that your experience did not live up to our usual level of services and standards this time.

Concerning the room, as you could notice, we are now equipped with flat screen TV. We are renovating and painting our buildings following a monthly plan. Indeed, we try our best to keep it up to our standards as the weather can deteriorate it really rapidly. Please be assured that we will take all your recommendation into account for further improvement on this matter.

Furthermore, our concierge department is checking the misunderstanding with your dinner reservation. This is certainly not the memory we intended for you to take with you and are really sorry for the situation mentioned.
Our repeat guest are our pride and part of our Iberostar family, we will be more than glad to welcome you back and assist you with anything you may need with the only intension of recovering your trust and loyalty for our hotel. Please, do not hesitate to contact us at the following email address rpparaiso@iberostar.com.mx

Best Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

me and my husband just came back and we had a great time. People were so nice and friednly, service was amazing food was delicious and everyone was soooo nice I was very impressed. I enjoyed the shows at night and I felt very welcoming there. Pool activities and everything else was just perfect. I was impressed cant say anything bad about it. Rooms were clean stuff super friendly and I felt calm relaxed and safe :))) Thank u everyone who works there u guys are awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sabina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay with Iberostar and for taking the time to share all your comments with us on trip Advisor.

Reading such a great feedback reinforce our determination to always to our utmost in customer care. We shared your words with all our staff and the people in charge of every department. The chef and the animation team would like to especially thank you for mentioning the delicious food and the great shows.

We would be delighted and honored to host you for your next vacation and make them an unforgettable experience for you and your husband, if this is the case, please do not hesitate to contact us at rpparaiso@iberostar.com.mx our Public Relations office would be glad to assist you with anything you may need.

Kind Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here Sept 22-28 and had another fabulous time. Our previous vacation here was in September 2011. Three things brought us back to this resort: the value, the location (only a half hour from the airport), and the incredible staff. That wonderful staff, especially the Star Friends and the bartenders, will be what brings us back again next year. They made our stay unforgettable, and we had a lot of fun getting to know them. Some of the activities that we participated in were the Paella Beach Party, the Taco Beach Party, mechanical bull-riding, dance lessons, the disco, and of course the crazy pool games. And we loved hanging out at the del Mar Lobby Bar. Our favorite evening shows were Boogie Nights and the Las Vegas show. No, not everything is perfect. The resort is getting older and you can see a little wear and tear around the edges, but they kept most things clean and well-maintained. And yes, it is a big resort, so if you don't like walking it may not be for you. There were trams, but we chose to walk through the beautiful grounds rather than wait for a ride. A lot of people comment on the food, but we didn't have any trouble with it. I don't expect 5-star dining when I go to an all-inclusive, but the food we ate was very good. We particularly enjoyed the Steak House, and were very pleased when we were able to get an additional reservation there. Since it is low season, there are some workers laid off, and not every restaurant is open every night, which is understandable. The only time the resort was somewhat full was on the weekend, when a lot of local families came in for a weekend special, but by Monday all was quiet and there was no trouble finding shade or sun around the pool and beach. Last year we stayed in building 12, which is the closest one to the beach without having to pay for an upgraded room. If you're going to be exclusively a "beach person" this may be a good choice for you. This year we were in building 15, and we had a partial view of the pool which was nice. It is more centrally located and for us it was perfect. We requested and got a foam mattress topper that made the firm bed more comfortable for us. The room had a new flat screen TV in it, but the hair-dryer was on its last legs, so I would suggest you bring your own along, just in case. Also, bring conditioner for your hair, and insect repellent. I seem to attract mosquitoes and ended up with several bites during our evening walks to dinner and the shows. If you are a first-timer here, you can email the resort and request a map. I also emailed them a week before arriving to give them my room preferences, and they have been able to accomodate me both times. Otherwise, I would just suggest relaxing and enjoying yourself, and if you can, get to know some of the staff. They are wonderful people and I miss them already.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank StLGirl118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear friend,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso del Mar again. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion and the one before.

We understand that all our guests are looking for a get away from the city and busy lives. Our location offers the perfect grounds, site and ambience to escape and relax.

We are thrilled to know that you were able to enjoy the Paella, taco party and the mechanical bull among some other games during your stay. Our entertainment staff is always striving to offer the best and to make sure all our guests are having a good time.

Thank you very much for mentioning our Front desk team who was able to accommodate your requests and our housekeeping team who made your bed more comfortable. It is very nice to know that your family could really enjoy and we will certainly congratulate all of our staff members for having contributed to your well being whilst staying with us.

We cannot wait to have you back on a future vacation and appreciate your recommendations. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you have any specific or personal requests for your next visit.

Warmest Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

the accomodations were ok, food ok,had to eat buffets too often and foods were fair, not high quality beverages offered,
inhouse refrig is stocked with beer, sodas, waters which is nice. but temp is only coolish not enough to keep sodas and beer cold. long walks to everywhere, not enough trans to take you places,pool bar beer tasted like rotten beer. bees were IN the liquer bottles, pool not kept clean... the beautiful waterfall in pool area that would have been nice to escape the frenzy at the pool bar area was filthy.when i go to an all-inclusive i don't like to be expected to tip (INCLUDE IT!),
weekends were packed with locals and their children using all amenities, i felt more like i was at our local beach than at an all-inclusive resort.
staff was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank dbvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for your vacation, as well as for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays among us. Surely we do regret that we did not meet your expectations in certain aspects but your feedback will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of your expectations. We have already shared your observation concerning the minibar, transportation and cleanliness in the pool area with every responsible in order to take immediate action to meet our standards again.

On the other hand it is nice to read that the overall service of our employees could please you, it is wonderful to see you could enjoy this part of the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you have any enquire, it will be a pleasure to meet you and be able to show you the improvements made.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,917 reviews
6.4 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,660 reviews
18.0 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
21,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Property: IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, VISIT US, INC. , Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing