We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous resort and Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and 2 children (12 & 10) stayed here May 30 through June 6th and we can't say enough good things about this resort especially for the value. First of all the landscaping and grounds are gorgeous and very impeccably maintained with beautiful flowers and foliage and palm trees. I love how they left so much of the natural tropical jungle and created meandering paths and pretty lighting throughout. many people complain about the amount of walking but this was a main reason I chose this resort - so we would get excercise and not feel confined for a week. There was always a place to walk and explore and view wild animals too. We also used the shuttle car service and found it to be quite efficient. Any time you needed a ride just notify someone with a walkie talkie and they would call a ride for you.
The pool was hands down the best I have ever been to - huge and beautiful with so many chairs and grass hut cabanas and gorgeous palm trees - very natural setting. The pool had an active area near the bar but there were so many areas you could go to if you wanted a more quiet atmosphere - endless options. The water was a perfect temperature and Victor at the pool bar was great!
Service/people - the employees were SO friendly and kind, you just can't find that level of service in too many other countries - such a warm culture. The Star Friends were great - they planned activities, dance lessons, games etc a few times throughout the day. They cracked the funniest jokes during the competitions and we looked forward to their signature dances everday - still can't get those two songs out of my head and we miss them! The Service at the restaurants and bars was also very attentive. Whenever we needed anything at the hotel room they would bring it to us with a smile.
Food - I can't believe some of the comments about the food - anyone who complains is crazy! It's simply not true that there are only hot dogs and hamburgers! Those are always available but that is likely as a back-up for kids. Here is my take on the food - tons of variety and you will always find something great. Yes there were a few strange things I would ignore but I think they were trying to cater to various cultures (many Europeans). The main buffet restaurants near the Lobby were the best. Although we did have a couple breakfasts and lunches by the pool restaurant which was perfectly fine and convenient. The buffets always had great variety especially at dinner. They would change it up every night and had some delicious options. I avoided the pastas, pizza and breads and opted for whatever the creative specials were. They had so many amazing vegetable dishes - various grilled peppers, zuchinni, asparagus etc. They always had great salads like hearts of palm, artichokes, fresh green bean salad, lentils etc. - awesome! The mexican night dishes were authentic and super tasty and they greeted us at the door with a fresh Margarita. The Asian night featured some great tempura vegetables and various yummy dishes (sushi not the best but ok). Every dinner at the buffet was great and we would have been perfectly happy eating there every night. There was a variety of fresh fruits at every meal and nice not overly sweet desserts. If you want eggs, stick to made to order omelettes. The best thing they had was this challah like sweet bread every morning - addictive. Never tried the white stuff (pancakes, waffles etc.) We ate at the Japanese restaurant (sushi and tempura not great) but the food the chef prepared tableside was really tasty (chicken, rice, veggies). We did not like the Brazillian Restaurant, strange appetizers, dry meats lacking flavor. Mexico is not really known for its beef.. The Mediterranean was our favorite - delicious appetizer bar and the Red Snapper was so good. Pretty atmosphere too. Loved the 3 person strolling Mariachi band.
Rooms - this was the only area I thought was average and could use some updating. Maybe more modern, lighter colors, bedspreads and curtains. Shower water pressure was low. It was fine and we didn't spend much time there anyways. I will say it was pretty quiet, the beds were comfortable and the room darkening shades were great. We stayed in building 13 - close to the pool. Loved the towel art.
Beach - fabulous, gorgeous white sand (some seaweed would wash up but not much) plenty of chairs, nice breeze. Very nice stretch of beach.
Overall beautiful and awesome experience - thank you to all of the wonderful employees who made it extra special! We appreciate your hard work and efforts to keep the resort clean and pretty and for making us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: Pick 2nd or 3rd floor due to animals in the jungle, on the grounds. Face the pool side - the backsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ARVColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your recent stay, also for sending us all your comments and feedback.

We are delighted to know that your vacations were more than good at our Hotel, we appreciate you took the time to send us all this information, since our main goal is the satisfaction of all our guests.

Be sure that we will send all your comments to the Departments involved assuring all the employees know that we are on the right track to make all our guests have the best vacations they’ve ever had. We would also send your comments to the main Chef, I’m sure he would be glad to have feedback regarding the food, we are sorry to hear that the Brazilian restaurant was not good enough for you and your family, be sure we will improve the service and food quality to assure better dinners.

We would be more than glad to welcome you back to our Hotel and hope it could be in a near future, we would be more than happy to make sure your vacation goes perfect.

Kindest Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,377 - 2,383 of 4,892 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

We've stayed at the Ibersotar resorts in the Riviera Maya five times over the past 8-9 years. We stayed at the Iberostar Del Mar/Beach for the second time 5/27-6/2.

We felt that many of the amenities and services have been slipping since we first visited. There seemed to be a lot mosquitoes this time. I was the unluckiest with a total of 23 bites by weeks end.

It is a very long walk from the pool/beach to the lobby. This wasn't a problem before because of the shuttles, however, this time it took over 25 minutes in between trips. Walking isn't so bad, unless it is raining! Two nights it was raining and we had no ride in sight! Walking 1/2 mile in the rain before dinner isn't really my thing. Umbrellas were no where to be found.

The food it also slipping in quality. It feels like a school cafeteria or a diner where the 'special' is something odd because it is what was left over. Breakfast, however, is delicious!

I also felt that I was given the run around when I called the front desk for help. I don't know if there was a language barrier that didn't exist before or if they were just slacking, but it was frustrating.

I write this review out of love for the hotels I've spent so many great vacations at! Hopefully they can get back to where they were.

Room Tip: Upgrade to junior suites for bigger more comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank for being part of Iberostar family!

Allow us also to thank you for the privilege of serving you on your recent vacation at our resort. We appreciate that you took the time to remember us on your return home and decided to share your review with other travelers.

Customer satisfaction is exactly our commitment and we thank you for your suggestions as they allow us to understand exactly the points where we have to work harder to improve our services.

We are truly looking forward to welcome you back and restore all your confidence in Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, your home.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I spent 5-21 to 5-26 at the Iberostar Paraiso del Mar..overall we were pleased with our stay...
Check in: check in was very very easy and pleasant. We arrived well before check in time and were very happy to hear that our room was ready for us!! Daniel at the check in counter was very polite and informative, he gave us a map and explained to us the entire layout of the resort. When we got to our room, we had a room with 2 double beds (not really what you are looking for when you are staying as a couple), we called Daniel at the front desk, and within 10 minutes the bell boy was at our room ready to take us to another with a King bed.

Rooms: The rooms are fine, nothing special..but youll barely be in the room much anyway. The beds are a little hard, but we managed just fine. The mini bar was always refilled, the room was always clean...never had any problems with the ac, towels, bugs(and we were on the 1st floor) or any other issues.

Food: Like a lot of other reviews have stated this is the resorts biggest negative. The buffets just need a lot or work...I am a very picky eater and had some trouble finding things I like. I would compare the food to your typical diner..I by no means went hungry during our stay, but i was glad to get home, and have some better food. We were entitled to use 2 reservations at the other places...the japanese was very good, and you got a lot of food, and sushi...and the Italian which wasnt so good.

Pools: The pools were amazing, it is so big, that you never have trouble finding a spot in the shade or the sun. There is a beautiful waterfall, with a jacuzzi in the middle.

Beach: Very clean, and again no trouble finding chairs in the shade. The Iberostar has a nice stretch of beach, long enough to go for nice walks...some areas are very rocky though. The water was crystal clear and very warm...the only problem was during our stay it was very windy which made the water pretty rough at times (obviously not the resorts fault).

Staff: Everyone was very friendly and willing to help..did not encounter anyone who was rude. You will always get a "hello" when you pass them.

Entertainment: We went to one of the shows at night, and I have to say it was a little cheesy..for a family with kids it waas probably great, but when you are on a getaway with your spouse its not the best. We didnt go to the nightclub so I cant comment on that....

Overall it was a great trip, and I wish I was still there!!! The pool, beach, and all the interesting wild life, and beautiful landscaping you will encounter made the trip....Id also like to recommend Best Day for the airport transfers...they were priced right, and were on time...

Room Tip: Buildings 15-17 are centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdc817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Paraiso del Mar, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here.
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to bring these points to our attention. Your insightful comments are highly appreciated.
Your experience and the information you are providing may help others to choose Iberostar Paraiso del Mar for their next vacation in Mexico.
Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We went with our teenager and another family. It was our first time going to Mexico and we were rather nervous. We ended up having a fabulous time. We never left resort. We enjoyed the shows. The teenagers had a great time. We thought the food at the buffets was great....many choices....we especially loved breakfast. We were eligible for 2 reservations at the restaurants but actually got 4. We did see a few guests who were obnoxiously drunk....but the staff were right on it....with security if necessary.....(a drunk man stumbling in the pool and being quite a jerk). I felt the staff handled the situation extremely well. We loved the star friends. Our room was clean and neat and we loved the different towel animals everyday. It is a very large resort...so there is much walking to be done, though I did see a trolly going around. We however, did not mind the walking as we were eating quite a bit so it was good to walk. The paths are shady with all kinds of wildlife in the wooded areas. The buffets are open air so we did see birds flying in and out of the restaurant area. We did not have any issues with birds taking food from our plates....though we did see this happen at other tables. However, it only happened when people left food on their plates, and then left the table unattended. If you were seated at your table the birds did not come by. Overall, a lovely resort and I would return. I was unsure if I would like the whole all inclusive thing, but we loved it. We did not mind that the drinks were not super strong (though you could ask for a stronger drink and with a small tip get one). We enjoyed sipping on frozen drinks throughout the day at the beach and pool and if they were strong we would not have made it to dinner and we did not want to miss dinner....or any meal for that matter.....and food is always available.....Great resort...great staff...family friendly....

Room Tip: We were in building 14 which was about halfway between the main building where the restaurants were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Twenty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all We would like to thank you for your stay at IBEROSTAR and also for all your comments.

We are amazed and delighted to read all your comments and feedback . It is why all the Staff members work hard every day for. We are sure they would feel very proud to know all their work has made this experience fabulous for your family and your friends.

We are glad to know you had the opportunity to visit our a la carte restaurants more than 2 times and the fact that you enjoyed the food and drinks at the Hotel . T he Chef and all the staff will know about all your warm comments We will also provide all your feedback to our Housekeeping and Security department to assure they are in the right direction to make our guests feel cared at the room and always safe at the premises.

We would be honored if we can welcome you back to our Hotel in a near future to enjoy the service and facilities we have to offer you .

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

we got a good deal through Air Canada vacations and with a total of $1800 for two people we thought it was a good deal. Nice and clean. Staff was awesome. Food was ok but I hear that is common for mexican resorts. We would return.

Biggest disappointment of the trip was a trip to Chichen Itza and with it being over run by vendors it is sad that you cannot enjoy national parks in peace like you can in Canada and the USA.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_cosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments.

For us is really important to receive your feedback since it is the best way to improve our services and quality. We are glad to know that the staff was excepcional . We will pass all your comments to all the staff members . We are definitely sure they would really appreciate it.

It is sad to hear you did not enjoy your trip to Chichen Itza . We hope you return to rediscover the natural and cultural beauty Riviera Maya has to offer. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to the Hotel in a near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were at the Paraiso del Mar 5/7-5/17/2012...our 3rd time in Riveria Maya and our 22nd year of going to Mexico/Cancun..The shows were very entertaining...The food at the speciality restaurants is very good--not so good at the buffets--American food consisted of hotdogs & hamburgers. There is a great need of more of the "golf carts" for transportation purposes...the electric went off several times during our stay...the outdoor lighting needs repaired drastically, since it's pitch dark along the path to the main bldgs....We especially were upset with the amount of locals who paid a small fee to use the facility during the Mother's day weekend---the pools were overly crowded, the bathrooms a mess, the buffets looked like a free for all, kids-not being supervised-running all over the place & sitting at the pool bars, where there certainly should not have been...We were also upset with the amt of smoking--there was nowhere to go to get away from it...In Cancun, most of the hotels only allow smoking outdoors. I doubt if we will return to this resort in the future, although it was a very beautiful resort and the entertainment crew were very good, and a majority of the help also.....Our Apple rep was a pleasure to deal with as well...Just another small note, the beds were terrrible to sleep in---and the pillows just as bad...
Steelers Fan from Baltimore!!!

Room Tip: We were in bldg 1400--great location....near the pool/beach, and a fairly nice walk to dinner &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60SUED60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We regret the facts that your stay was not exceptional. Bringing these details to our attention allows us to improve .

We hope that you give us another opportunity to demonstrate our hospitality signature for which Iberostar brand is known.

We take all comments, both positive and negative, very seriously since we constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of our guests satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future and rediscover the beauty of our premises.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We visited this resort during march break this year. The grounds are beautiful- peacocks-deer and other animals. The rooms are large and decent. Pools are never ending and the beach is very nice.Getting to beach was easily a five minute walk but that was fine with us except, when we forgot our towel card in the room and had to go back. No amount of sweet talking or smiling was going to get us a towel without a card. Chairs by the beach were sometimes hard to come by. We travelled with two 14 year old girls and there was lots for them to do. We rarely saw them during the day- something i think perhaps they enjoyed!Tennis courts and gym were decent. The staff was nice. My biggest complaint was the food it was average at best but plentiful. however, some people we spoke to loved the volume and variety.( perhaps i am too picky) I really didn't like having to wait in line for an hour on our first day to book restaurants( 3 max- for a 7 day stay)The only restaurant we enjoyed was the japanese- very entertaining and tasty.At the brazilian location we were given massive amounts of food we couldn't possible eat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2,138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience and we are so pleased that you have had a wonderful visit at Iberostar.

On behalf of all the staff thank you for letting us know your observations regarding the food . We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations in this point . Your opinion allows us to continuously improve upon the high standards of service we strive for.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,101 reviews
15.8 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#74 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
13,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $176 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beach of "Playa Paraíso" (Mexico). High standard of comfort. Wide gastronomic variety. 18-hole golf course. PAD/SSI – diving school, massage at the beach and the pool. Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Mexico
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing