We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mayan Palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Save
You added Mayan Palace Riviera Maya to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mayan Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We have returned from a fabulous 2 weeks at the Mayan Palace resort. We were fortunate in being able to enjoy a suite with two bedrooms plus sleeping accommodation in the lounge area so the suite can accommodate at least 6 adults with ease. Visitors should note that there two main resorts on the site - the other one (The Grande Mayan) is newer and offers slightly higher grade rooms and is also being expanded with some luxury rooms as well. Both resorts share facilities like restaurants and some of the swimming pools and golf courses.

Overall, the standard of accommodation and facilities is very high and we were very impressed and pleased. Some points to note:-
1. Our rooms were out overlooking the golf course and thus a few minutes walk from Reception and about 5-10 minutes from the main pool area which has most restaurants and the shop. If you don't feel up to the walk, the hotel offers a fairly frequent shuttle service operated by electric carts.
2. Check your bill - we had two items on our bill which belonged to others. Reception soon remedied the errors but their cash-less system is not fool-proof!
3. Don’t use the credit card phones in the room. We had to ring our bank and was landed with a GBP60 bill for a 15 minute call back to the UK. If your bank does not accept return charges – use your mobile, its much cheaper!
4. The sales pitch for the new resort units is stated to be "about an hour" and currently includes a free breakfast and a cash rebate on you bill as inducement to attend. The benefits were worth the time but our session easily went to 3 hours before we called a halt.
5. The resort is about 15minutes north of Playa del Carmen and there is a mini-bus service linking the two. We used this several times to visit the Wal-Mart and local supermarket as well as Playa itself - its just much easier than trying to find parking and is reasonably priced.
6. We hired a car for a few days from the on-site car rental (Alamo) which worked well and allowed us to self-drive to Chichen Itza and take two days. We stayed locally to the site which allowed us to walk in to the ruins first thing in the morning when it is both cooler and far less crowded. Highly recommended. We also used the car to visit the ruins at Coba and swim in the cenotes (underground caves/rivers) again at times when they were virtually empty.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    961
    405
    238
    289
See reviews for
1,114
875
28
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

The hotel was beautiful, staff fantastic. Lots of activities for small children . We had a two bedroom suite very clean and very spacious. Yes I would tell you to go . BUT VERY IMPORTANT do NOT use their phone system because it is a scam. It tells you to give a 1800 # for your family to call you in your room if they want to be in touch with you , NOT only it put you on hold with their propaganda but also charges our family in Canada A collect call of 6$ a minute.The PHONE SYSTEM IS A BIG SCAM BEWARE.The reason that the service is a 3 is because of the phone system.The rest is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed in building 7. Great spacious one bedroom. Our family consisted of one 20 year old and a 14 year old, both boys. We acquired the room through Global Travel. Well worth the fee for the time share. Excellent grounds, pool was wonderful and the walk to the ocean/pool was relaxing. Carts came at regular times to help out if you didn't want to make the 10 minute walk. Room service was excellent. We rented a car which I highly recommend. We saved a lot of money by driving ourselves to and from the hotel to the airport, to the ruins and into Play Del Carma where we purchased most breakfast and lunch food at the local Walmart. Safe travel and a straight shot on the local highway. We even listened to a time share presentation on the grounds of the Myan which ended up paying for our rental and giving us 10% off anything we purchased at the resort. Weather was wonderful. Not crazy like Cancun can be at spring break time and enough on going activities to keep everybody busy but not too busy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnepfeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHEATON
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

The Mayan is big. we stay\ed in building 11, near the main lobby. it was a 10 minute walk to the pool and beach. there was tram service but we never used it. The pool is huge and most people seem to congregate around it. the beach was good with ample chairs and tents. but, if you do not have rubber sandals (not flip flops, sandals that have multiple straps) you will not be able to go in the ocean. there are rocks on rocks. the water was warm and clear so it was worth the effort.

There are four restaurants that are not considered High end. People are dressed in business casual and swim suits. Dinner for 2 averaged $100. this included one drink apeice and an appetizer. The guacomole is to die for. There are two other nicer restaurnats which we did not try and did not hear of anyone that had eaten in them. The menus are not child friendly but ok for adults. The food was well prepared but started to taste the same.

The Mayan is 25 to 60 minutes from Playa del Carmen, depending on traffic. There are shuttle buses (40 pesos/person) that run fairly regularly from the lobby to Playa. There are cabs galore, 200 pesos for the trip, 4 people max.

After paying $9 for a bag of pretzles at the Mayan "grocery", we found a trip to Wal Mart, in playa in order. There is a fridge and microwave in the room so we found that eating breakfast and lunch in the room worked better than eating all the restaurant food.

In playa, there is eating and shopping galore. The restaurants are varied in menu and price. Prices are what you would expect in a tourist trap town. There are cigar stores galore with over priced Cubans, but good prices on Mexican cigars, which are very good.

There are numerous outings offered by the Mayan. we did not try any because most were 10 -12 hours in length and we did not want to spend that much time. Most excursions were in the neighborhood of $100/person but deals can be found, especially if you want to sit thru another time share offering.

Mexican night at the Del Largo was very uneven. the Mariachi band was good. the Main show was like amateur hour. The buffet was excellant and varied. Would not go again but was worth the one show.

the grounds are beautiful. the golf course looked interesting but never saw it being used.

The beds are hard as a rock, pillows the same. the couchs act as abed and are harder than the beds if possible. the sitting is uncomfortable, not a comfortable chair in the place. the couchs are so deep that you must use pillows to get comfortable.


All in all it was a pleasant experience. We like the Mayan in Peurto Vallarto much better but would go back to Playa.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hevan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Overall a very nice resort. Nice rooms, comfortable beds. Great pools. The beach is rocky. RCI told us the rocky beach was due to dead coral washing up after a hurricane and that they were able to remove the dead coral in a section of beach. However, we did not find a non-rocky section of the beach. The food was very good, especially Restaurant Del Lago, although most food and drinks were pricey. $11 for a glass of house white wine. The fitness center was extra for RCI members. WIFI was 170 pesos ($16 USD per day). The 18 hole executive golf course was very good. For a family that is willing to cook most meals, this is a good option. Otherwise consider all-inclusive. Be sure to get reservations for the Mexican Fiesta on Thursday night. The rest of the week the buffet does not require a reservation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We traded through RCI for a one bedroom. This Mayan resort is not as posh as the one in Los Cabos and Puerta Vallarta, but was still excellent. Room was modern and lovely with a sitting room & two TVs. Daily housekeeping. We were in building 12, which was a pleasant 10 minute walk through a garden path to the beach. Pool was beautiful and there was a dive shop on site. Friendly, helpful staff. Because of some walking, this may not be a good choice for a frail or handicapped traveler, but you don't have to be an Olympic athlete to enjoy this resort. I would not want to remain at the resort all day, but it is a great place to return to after enjoying the many sights and activities in the area. We had a car, and enjoyed driving to tour Chitzen Itza (2 hours) & Tulum (1 hour), and ate dinner and strolled in Avenida Cinco in Playa del Carmen (30 minutes) every night (parking was no problem at the end of Constitucion Ave). Cozumel is a ferry ride away, but is very touristy compared to charming Playa del Carmen. Every restaurant in Playa was excellent, and there is a Mega supermarket nearby. We did not eat at the resort. Numerous Eco parks with zip lines and snorkeling are within a 30 minute drive. We dove the Cenotes (recommend Hidden Worlds eco park for diving, snorkeling zip lines, etc) and lunched in Playa Aventura, which has great little restaurants and is built around dolphin pools. On two mornings, a Coatimundi (see photo) visited us on our first floor balcony. This was one of the best vacations we have ever taken. The only down side was a slighly musty odor in the room, and a $7 a day, per person charge for the gym. Again, some folks may not want to drive everywhere or walk to the beach, but those things were no problem for us..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

I visited the Mayan Palace in Riviera in the middle of March 2010, and my husband and I truly enjoyed our stay. The property is very beautiful and well kept. Staff is incredibly courteous and do their best to accomodate you. The pool is incredible! At times, it was difficult to find a spot to lounge, but it was spring break for many. I visited the fitness center several times during the week, and the equipment was great. At the front desk, they did say that you would be charged, however, no one ever approached me for my name or room number, so I was never charged extra. There are about 5 or 6 restaurants at the hotel, so we had tried something different each night. The Del Lago restaurant had the MOST AMAZING breakfast buffet. Try the mexican hot chocolate!! The best! It's pricey, but the food is so good and authentic. The rooms are ok, nothing fancy, but comfortable. Many had suggested not going to the sales pitch. We went through it and ended up not buying anything, however by going through the presentation, we still did get great discounts on different tourist activities that we booked through the front desk, transportation included. So I personally felt that going through the 5 hour sales pitch was worth it. My husband used the golf course, it's a par 3, but very beautiful. All in all, I loved my stay at the resort. It is a wonderful place to stay. I would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calypso0o0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 stars 5,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 stars 10,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,333 reviews
7.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 5,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayan Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Also Known As:
Mayan Riviera
Mayan Palace Cancun
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Cancun Grand Mayan
Grand Maya Mayan Riviera
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Mayan Palace Playa Del Carmen
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Mexico
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing