We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family resort.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family resort.”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I read the reviews on here before we stayed so I was already prepared for hard beds and long walks to the pool. We were welcomed warmly but be forewarned that you are directed to a timeshare rep as soon as you check-in. They talk really fast and your head is swirling with trip info and free breakfast before you realize it and you could get pulled in. We just told them we weren't interested and they didn't bother us again.

The one issue we had was that since August seems to be off-season, they were doing quite a bit of construction on the property. We had to change rooms on the second day because the workers were in the ceiling over our room hammering and sawing. My 2 and 4 year olds were just beginning their afternoon nap and well you can imagine how that went over. After calling and not getting a response back (not many people speak enough English), we went to the front desk and they moved us from building 3 to 8. The walk to the pool was only a little bit longer but it was the only building not under construction for the week. During our stay, they also closed off two building exits and pathways outside. It was a bit of an eyesore and a bummer if you wanted to take a stroll outside through the jungle setting.

Also, our children LOVED the pool. It has a significant amount of spots that are just 1 ft deep and my 2 year old had so much fun playing in it. My 4 year old loved the 3 ft sections and tested her skills of going under water. They both became more confident "swimmers" during our stay which was really cool to see.

The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful. Our cabana waiter, Daniel Cruz, was such a pleasure and went out of his way to help us out with the girls' needs. I also highly recommend trying their "Chocolate Monkey" frozen drink. It was delicious!

We had professional photos taken by Claudia of Dreamart Photography at the resort. She was fantastic with the kids and took so really breathtaking photos. I thought this was such a cool bonus that a lot of resorts don't offer. Of course the photos are pricey ($250 for 10, $450 for 20, etc.) but you definitely get what you pay for. We have some really amazing photographs that we will cherish forever.

We also took a taxi to Crococun Zoo which I definitely recommend for families with young children. It's only 15 minutes from the resort and they offer a 90 minute guided tour, $4 for food to feed the animals and you get a really personal hands-on experience with snakes, turtles, crocs, deer, monkeys and Aztec dogs. My girls had a great time and it was just the right amount of time that they didn't lose interest and get cranky. PLUS, the entire zoo is shaded so it provides a huge relief from the hot Mexican sun!

We also booked an excursion through Mexican Travel for a catamaran to Tulum with Bleu Magic Mexico - fantastic trip. We even brought the girls and they had a great time. Although it was much too hot by the time we arrived at Tulum to wander around too much since there is very little shade there.

The beach here is beautiful and there is plenty of spots to lay out in the sun or under a shady palm. There are rocks in the water though so wear water shoes.

All in all we had a great family adventure that we will remember and cherish for a lifetime. We would definitely return in the future. My only wish was that it had an all-inclusive option.

Room Tip: Buildings 8-1 are closest to the pool (1 is closest). The first floors are a walk-through to all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danigirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Danigirl42 :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your detailed feedback about your recent stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day. We will gladly share your feedback with the staff mentioned, as working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us. The same way, it is pleasing to find out you liked our food options and pools.

Comments like yours inspire us to continue creating ideal vacation experiences.

We truly look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Happily,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    1,057
    468
    256
    301
See reviews for
1,228
986
31
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The only good thing about this resort is the pool and grounds, other than that the food is poor. The wait staffs are bad, the air conditioning is loud, There is construction during the daytime which prevented my child from sleeping. The want top charge you $500 for wifi that should be free. Every time you turn around they tell you there is a charge for everything. If you want to go to town or see any cultural sites they are all a minimum of forty five minutes from the resort. Save yourself the headache of a bad vacation and stay in another location period.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Just returned today from a 7 night stay at the Mayan Palace. Our room was in building 5, third floor. Very quiet, close to the pool and the front desk, jungle view. I read tons of trip advisor reviews before I left and was worried about the room, the bed and the air conditioner.

The room was very nice. Travertine floors and nice art. Full size lotion and hair shampoo. I recommend that you bring your own shampoo.

Air conditioner - Yes it is noisy. You can choose to have the air on, the fan on or both. We left the air on when we were out of the room, turned it to fan at night so it wasn't turning on and off.

Bed - The bed is firm but we found it to be comfortable. Slept very well.

Maids - We had the same morning and night maid for the week. We paid a daily tip because we didn't know, but I recommend deciding what you want to tip and save it for the envelope they leave you. Our room was cleaned well and often.

Buildings - 1-8 are close to the pool and you need to take the shuttle if you are farther away. We enjoyed walking to the pool/beach through the jungle.

Golf - They have some nice specials during August. I recommend that you bring your own balls. The course is difficult in spots and there is a lot of water. Cool to see the iguanas on the course.

Laundry - Open from 9-5. For 80 pesos you get the detergent, and tokens for the washer and dryer. Each will take a large load of clothes.

Time share presentations - We thought we were getting help with our shuttle when we arrived at the airport, but we were given to a time share presentation. We hadn't even exited the airport yet. We were prepared for the resort but not the airport!!! I recommend that you vacate the airport as soon as you have your bags and don't stop until you are out on the street!!! I think we look lost so they were able to nab us.

Pesos - I used the ATM to withdraw some pesos upon arrival, but when I go back to Cancun, I will just bring small US bills. Everything is listed both ways, so I think maybe you only need pesos for the collectivo.

Car rental - We did not rent a car, but I might try it next time. Definitely book before you go as the price is much better. The drivers are crazy but no worse than anywhere else. The rumble strips they mention are everywhere and can really do lots of damage. Didn't see many police cars when we were out and about.

Food - Tips are included in the food, but tips are appreciated. Be prepared to tip and decide how much you want to spend ahead of time.

No cost to leave the airport.

Mexican Fiesta - The Mexican fiesta and buffet was high quality. Lots of variety and we recommend it. It was expensive but a worthwhile splurge.

Go to the movie on the beach. It was great sitting under the stars and watching a movie through the palm trees with the sounds of the ocean.

The breakfast buffet is very good. You get a beautiful view of the lake. The Mayan Palace and the Grand Mayan are built around the lake. The resort has made a great effort to leave the jungle in tact as much as possible. You didn't feel like you were in the hotel zone with the jungle right there.

Buy the bigger containers of water. That way you can have water on hand to put into smaller containers.

There is a daily room tax of 23.50 which adds up.

Wifi- optional. We didn't use it.

Cell phone- We did not get service the entire time we were in Mexico, but I found out on the plane ride home that you can get the magicjack app and it will allow you to phone the states.

Room Tip: Recommend buildings 1-8 and an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoanieTooele_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Very nice resort... Not "all-inclusive", not even offered ! That aside , Very clean resort, pool area's were awesome . Food and drinks at the resort were expensive, along with the charges for wifi, which doesn't work in your room ! Vacation is what you make of it though...so please keep an open mind ! All said, we did enjoy our stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Suzanne S :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace, and we are delighted to know you liked the pools and accommodations.

It appears as though not all your expectations were met. Your comments are always welcomed and very important to us. We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts’ of similar quality.

We do hope to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel grounds are very nice. And the room though older wasnt bad. I heard from other guests that bldg 1 thru 10 are the newer ones. We did have ants in the room and I called twice and they came out promptly and sprayed. And one day the airconditioner leaked all over the floor and they fixed it pretty quickly. My main complaint is the exhorbitant charges for every little thing. From the shuttle $5 which they dont tell you about 1/2 mile out front you can catch the playa express for $2 and it runs every 10 min all the way until midnite versus the hotels 2 hour intervals and limited pickups. Happy hour drinks cost us $24 for 2 margaritas poolside. I think their idea of 2 for 1 is to charge you double for one drink. Laundry coins were $8 per load. I didnt like that instead of talking to the concierge and getting suggestions on places to see and eat around town, all they wanted to do was sell you their packages and have you eat within their property. We quickly ditched the plastic bracelets they put on you because it made you a target for every street vendor in town...calling out " hey remeber me from the mayan palace or mayan palace special today" Akumal has a beach that you can snorkel and find lots of sea turtles. We took the playa express to playa del carmen and from there its about 40 pesos and 45 min ride. They drop you off on the side of the road and you just cross over the bridge and walk to the beach. Bring a snorkel with you or expect to pay between $25 to $35 rental. We paid a street guy extra ($100) for a private guide, snorkels and fins and pictures for two. .Dos Ojos cenotes were fun in Tulome but fairly expensive. About 3 sea caves and $100 for 2 people with rentals and guide. If you exchange money for pesos we found the best rate in town at Playa del Carmen along the side streets...$12.40pesos for $1 u.s. We hopped the ferry ride to cozumel from Playa...$70 for two and rented a scooter for 500 pesos all day. Booked a catamaran ride/snorkel through the hotel but we were very annoyed when they put one guy in the water and expected 50 people to follow him. It ended up being a cluster and we wandered off even though they said stick together. There was only so much getting kicked in the face and bumped into by the crowd that we could take. The hotel beach is rocky, so bring water sandals if you want to swim there, otherwise you can rent the palapas (poolside covered lounges) a day in advance for $35 which is waived if you buy their overpriced margaritas and $15 sandwiches and it totals over $35 in food/bev. We ended up spending $70 with tip. The timeshare presentation had a really nice breakfast, and Havana moon restaurant has a great beachside atmosphere at night. We had some good experiences there but would rather vacation elsewhere and not deal with the constant pressuring to get you to spend your money.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank honeyelfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear honeyelfin :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your stay at Mayan Palace. It is nice to learn you liked our grounds.

All the same, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas in order to continue working towards exceeding all our guests’ expectations. We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

Your comments are always appreciated.

Warm regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

First the good this place is clean the staff is great and attentive. The pool was big but warm like bath water . Now the bad its a NO CASH RESORT so you the charge everything to your room and pay at the end of you vacation . If you didn't buy the all inclusive package the food and drinks are seriously over priced. The beach is rocky and smells really bad so go to other beach. The internet is $70 usd per week or $14 usd per day or $5 usd per hour too high. The resort has a lot of activities and golf courses, tennis court. Over all great resort for family fun.

Room Tip: rent a car if you stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elijah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Elijah J :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to find out that our staff was welcoming, as this is what we strive for every day.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide our guests everything that they need to make the most of their vacations with us. We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

Best regards,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I just spent a week at Mayan Palace with my wife and two girls and we are very happy with our experience. The hotel is beautiful, clean and the staff is very helpful, polite and the service is good. So why four dots and not five? Well, the place isn't perfect, there are a few small things that could have been better that would have pushed it up to a five dot rating, but giving it a four dot isn't bad, it's literally "Very Good" and I definately recommend this place. We had a suite with a kitchen and that came in really handy because we cooked a lot of meals there. The hotel has a store where you can buy a large assortment of food from dairy products to fruit and all types of beverages, plus when we rode into Playa del Carmen we would visit the Mega Comercial Mexicana for more groceries. The hotel has a full gym and the equipment is in good condition and it's clean, so I was happy about that. The entertainment staff in the pool area have fun activities for the family to keep people entertained during the day and if you have the "kids club" package, there's a lot of activities for the kiddies also. Room service was good, they would come twice a day. The first visit is obviously to make the beds, clean towels, etc and the second time in the evening was to ask if you needed anything else or in our case to make the sofa beds (being that we were using them). The food at the restaurants was good, although a bit pricey, but I was expecting that. A could of things I didn't like was the fact that our room was very far from the lobby which is where we would catch taxis, shuttle buses and vans and any lobby and any concierge type business. They have these little shuttle "golf carts" that drive up and down picking people up, but a couple of times we'd have to walk up to the lobby because the shuttles were taking too long. Not a huge deal but inconvenient at times. They have beautifull (and large) pool area, but I wish they would of had some sort of pool slides or tobogans for te kids. One last thing that was a bit annoying was that the hotel was under construction and a couple of days while trying to take naps, we heard really loud drilling which sounded as though it was right outside our room. I understand this was during the day and normally we would have been out and about, but by day 5 we needed a break from the sun and walking that we decided to take a nap and all the drilling and noise made it a bit hard to do it. One last thing I noticed about the beach I wasn't too crazy about was the sharp rocks. As a kid my parents used to take us to Ixtapa on vacation and the beaches were clean and no rocks. Here, the beaches were full of seaweed and these sharp rocks. I wasn't used to seeing the beack like that. Other than that, the experience was great. I love Mexico, I love the people I love everything about the beach resort experience. Again, I recommend this place.

Room Tip: It's kind of hard to say. I would say all rooms will be far from something. If you get a room cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Adrian L :

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your detailed impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun and you enjoyed our facilities, the accommodations , the pools and our staff’s service. Everyone works tirelessly - day and night, to make our guests’ visits the most comfortable experience ever.

Your feedback is very important to us, and we will gladly follow-up with the appropriate areas as creating ideal vacation experiences is our main goal.

We hope you allow us to make your next stay an unforgettable one.

Sincerely,

Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
11.9 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
11.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,710 reviews
12.8 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
11.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,791 reviews
11.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayan Palace Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Also Known As:
Mayan Riviera
Mayan Palace Cancun
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Cancun Grand Mayan
Grand Maya Mayan Riviera
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Mayan Palace Playa Del Carmen
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Mexico
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing