We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic vacation at the Mayan Palace...once again!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
bellmore, new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic vacation at the Mayan Palace...once again!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I don't often write reviews like this...but our most recent visit to the Mayan Palace deserves special consideration.

We spend President's week at the Mayan Palace each and every year. Just got back yesterday and can't wait to return again next year. We are a family of five and love everything about the Mayan Palace. The 2 bedroom master suite provides more than enough room to feel comfortable. There are two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, a living room and plenty of space to relax and feel wonderful. The rooms are cleaned no less than twice a day and the grounds are kept immaculate. The housekeepers are kind, friendly and do a fantastic job in keeping the suite clean and comfy. I would like to also acknowledge how wonderful Oscar Lope, the Reception Manager was in accommodating our wishes. He and his staff were attentive and friendly, and treated us like we were ambassadors from a foreign country!

The food and restaurants are outstanding! No issues or complaints whatsoever.

I would HIGHLY recommend the Mayan Palace for those who wish to enjoy a memorable, FUN-FILLED family vacation. My wife, my children and I look forward to returning again and again to the Mayan Palace!

To Oscar and his staff...keep up the good work!

Paul G. Bellmore, New York

Room Tip: The master suite is superb for a family of 5 or 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    1,083
    479
    262
    305
See reviews for
1,282
1,008
31
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Steele, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a great time for 2 weeks just getting home Feb. 23rd. Nice pools, food is a little expensive but tips are included in the bill so that is kind of nice now. WiFi is terribly expensive so when we went to Puerto Morales or Playa del Carmen there were all kinds of places with free WiFi.

I had a bag that was either taken or lost when we got to the resort and the resort somewhat tried to help me get it back but with no compensation which I was terribly disappointed in as they have insurance for that kind of thing. Kind of ruined the beginning of our vacation. I feel it was lost or stolen when we arrived there.

The weather was great. They really push on the presentations and do not like when you do not upgrade. We had a master suite at the Mayan Palace which was just fine but furnishings are a little old looking but nice flat screen TVs. We never spend much time in the room anyway.

All in all it is a nice resort but if you are too far away from the pool area you might want to take a shuttle. The golf course is nice and we really like the Green Break at the golf course to eat at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 499marilynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I read a lot of reviews here and don’t want to repeat everything, rather give some new information. In a nutshell, as others have said, it’s a fantastically beautiful place, the rooms are clean if a bit dated but very well kept, beds are firm but not hard, staff friendly, and the food is very good but expensive. And everything does cost money and it’s all expensive – food, activities, internet, drinks, etc. Now, on to the new things to mention.

First, I wanted to say that we had no problem with timeshare people. When we checked in they approached us and we said we weren’t interested, and we didn’t return any sales call messages. No one bothered us.

The store on site is very well supplied but quite expensive. You’ll want to take the trip into Playa if you are cooking at all and go to the new Chedrai and stock up – we even got 2 – 10 gallon water things and poured into the pitchers as we needed. You can get the odds and ends here.

The restaurants are very good, and prices like the States. Be selective and you will be fine, and at least the food is good. If you have kids and like to eat early, the Balche snackbar serves lunch until 5:30 and the food is great. The Del Lago breakfast is also very good if a bit pricey at 350 pesos / person. We did have one mixed experience there where we took a couple of apples when we were leaving for a snack and they told us they would call security and have us pay for another buffet if we took them. Seriously, for $25 / person for breakfast and you walk away with an apple?

No one mentioned the deal with the palapas so I will here. They are pretty wonderful, especially if you want some shade. You get a bed with linens under a shade palapa and 2 lounge chairs. It costs 350 pesos (roughly $30) but if you spend that much in food and drink it’s free. Easy to do for sure. And if you have kids they are great. Getting one isn’t as easy. The line is at Balche and begins at 7am, they start taking reservations for the next day at 7:20 or so. After that, they let people have those which have been cancelled for that day. There are often 75 people trying to reserve the 55 palapas so get there early.

If you are in building 11 or higher (most likely unless you are in Bliss) if you are on the even number rooms on the ground floor the little road is just outside your balcony. The odd number rooms are more private. If you are in buildings 1-10 the opposite is the case.

If you have kids the Havana Moon restaurant is great if you go early, they can play on the sand or there is space to move around. Food was very good, dinner with no drinks for 5 adults and 1 child was $100.

Do take the nature walk to check out the crocodiles and the flamingos, and lots of iguanas of different types. Head out through Del Lago. It’s good fun and a nice walk.

Lastly, as people said, be expected to walk. This place is really big. But it’s fun, it’s perfectly well kept, and it’s a great choice for your holiday if you aren’t looking for an all inclusive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank trientalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My fiance purchased a time share about 7 years ago and we had never used it. We finally decided to give it a try and got upgraded a class. This resort was really beautiful and well kept, but the food at the restaurants was average (El Lago supper buffet Saturday is best). The items at the store were all very overpriced, as well as the restaurants. A cab into town was almost $25.00 one way, so you almost feel STUCK at the resort - which some people may want. This is not the place to go if you want to see the sights and do your own thing. The beach was also VERY rocky - you have to walk about 20 minutes away to get to a beach where you can actually swim. The staff were all very friendly and most understood a little english, and the room service was fairly quick. The staff at the store were unattentive and slow. Our room was not very well cleaned - the bed sheets had stains daily and one of my pillows smelled dirty. The hallways were VERY echoy and could hear EVERY time someone was in the hallway. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in building #5 - it was about a 5 minute walk to the pool and beach. The closer buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just got back from two weeks at the Mayan Palace. This was our first trip to the Caribbean side of Mexico, and I had read many reviews before we went and want to add my observations. We did not stay on an "all inclusive" plan, as we really enjoy day trips and eating at many different restaurants. Our room was nice, but had a funny musty smell the whole time we were there. When we got home, all our clothes (even the clean ones) had to be washed because they smelled bad. The kitchenette is not well equipped. We planned to eat breakfast in our room but there was no frying pan. No paper towels, no wine bottle opener, no salt and pepper. Take your own or buy at the store. The fridge is REALLY SMALL. One reviewer had said there were no coffee filters so I brought my own, but there were some in our room. We were in building 17, quite a distance from the pool but the shuttle system works very well. The staff were all very friendly. We had arranged ahead of time for several day trips with a driver who was recommended by friends who have stayed in Playa del Carmen before. Our driver was not allowed to pick us up on the property, we had to walk out to the main entrance at the highway and meet him there. (The shuttle out to the main entrance does not start until 8:00 a.m. and we were leaving early on several occasions). The food at the restaurants was pretty good but a bit on the high side - we ate at Havana Moon (ceviche and shrimp tacos were delicious, and the pizza was good as well) and also at Green Break (really good tacos and quesadillas in the evening). The pool is impressive and we spent quite a bit of time there; however, the comments about getting there early to get a good location are all true. We went down around 9:00 and the majority of the chairs already had towels on them. Also true there is not much shade unless you rent a palapa. The beach is very rocky, but a 10 minute walk north there is a beautiful sandy beach and great swimming. There are laundry facilities on the property, but you have to pay (80 pesos) to do a load of laundry. They do give you laundry soap (I had read a review that stated you needed to take your own, so I did but it was not necessary). We took a shuttle in to Playa del Carmen several times and it worked really well. All in all, this is a nice place but we won't stay here again - would rather be closer to Playa del Carmen and someplace that is not so big.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erm9651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

There were 8 of us in two rooms for my husband's 50th birthday. The resort was able to accommodate our request for rooms nearby and also close to the lobby area/transportation area. Rooms were very nice, clean and well stocked with kitchen and bath supplies. The grounds were very walkable and made for some nice exercise. Some of our group used the fitness center and said it was more than adequate. I loved all the activities by the pool. We rented a palapa every day and that was heaven. Water aerobics, games and music, volleyball - there was always something going on. Food at the restaurants was good and comparably priced to all inclusive resorts. Wi-Fi was expensive so we chose not to use it and it was actually a nice break. Left our electronics locked in the safe and didn't look back. The Jade shop has computers you can use for printing your boarding passes. That was all we needed. Took one day-trip to Xel-Ha and it was really fun, although kind of a long drive. All in all - a trip to remember and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Building 8 is about 5 minutes walk to the pool and right next to the lobby area where the shuttles s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MinniMom2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you don't enjoy your vacation here, it is only because you didn't want to!!!

Spent 2 (warm/sunny/fabulous) weeks in Feb 2014

This resort has so many options and things to do in addition to a beautiful pool, delicious food (even room service) and the friendliest staff who always makes you feel welcome and special. We were impressed with how clean everything was, room/walkways/bathrooms. The food quality and portions were above our expectation, we especially enjoyed Tramanto restaurant. We did eat off the resort a couple times and found that we spent as much for dinner (including the taxi fair) as on the resort. If your looking for an inexpensive "all inclusive" vacation than don't choose this resort...If you are looking for great food and service with unlimited choices, and don't mind spending your money for quality....then this is the perfect resort.

We were greeted upon check in and invited to attend a presentation then receive discounts/gifts, we declined and then the next day there was a msg on our phone reminding us, after that we were never hounded about attending a presentation. Talked to other people that did attend presentations and said that they were difficult to accept a NO but if you were direct they backed off.
Per previous reviews here on TripAdvisor we did request to be in Bldg 1-8, we got in Bldg 4. It was perfect location, close to pool & restaurants, laundry, lobby. My husband played golf several times and was impressed with the course even tho it is a Par 3.

If you do go to Playa del Carman suggest you go in the late afternoon/evening, we went the first time in the late morning for lunch and were harassed our entire walk down 5th Ave. Decided we weren't going back until friends talked us into it for dinner. It was much busier and less sales people

Overall it was a perfect vacation and wouldn't change one part of it. Highly recommend this resort!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
5.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,850 reviews
11.9 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
259 reviews
11.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,138 reviews
4.3 mi away
Family Club at Grand Riviera Princess
Family Club at Grand Riviera Pri...
#58 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
448 reviews
17.9 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayan Palace Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Also Known As:
Mayan Riviera
Mayan Palace Cancun
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Cancun Grand Mayan
Grand Maya Mayan Riviera
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Mayan Palace Playa Del Carmen
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Mexico
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing