We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a nice place but it has some inconveniences” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's a nice place but it has some inconveniences”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Mayan Palace Riviera Maya on July 2013. We had previously visited Cancun and we loved it but we decided to give the Riviera Maya a try this time. The hotel is enormous since you have 3 hotels in one huge property. First, the positive. It's a 15 to 20 minute ride from the airport and due to the large distances from place to place there we rented a car. Check in was slow due to the large quantities of people there. It was peak season and there were a lot of people. They gave us two rooms one for my parents and my kids and another for me, my husband and my in-laws. The rooms were big but the whole place was a bit worn. At first, the whole place smelled of humidity but we turned on the AC to fix that. We were in Building 5 and my kids in Building 6 which was an inconvenience but not a big one. My parents had a bad experience in their room one day when the kitchen faucet leaked a lot of water and he slipped and fell while trying to open the door for the housekeeper. It was a bad fall but he eventually got better but we reported this to the hotel and they fixed the leak. Nothing else. My father-in-law has a bad hip so we were placed in the building closer to the pool area. Now, this hotel's extension is huge! Prepare to walk a lot or wait for the golf carts that constantly zip around the place. Sometimes you have to wait a while for the golf carts to show up. Oh, and the parking lots are a bit far away. It took my husband about 15 mins. to get the car each time. That said, walking within hotel grounds is a pleasant experience, very well kept. The Riviera Maya has a beautiful ecosystem and all the vegetation and wildlife ( yes, even in the hotel) is truly spectacular. The pool area is really great. The hotel was packed but we hardly felt it given the large pool area space. The hotel in not all-inclusive and pretty far away from any convenience store so we had to buy and acquire things from the hotel shop. It is well stocked but everything within the hotel is a bit pricey. We went out to a local supermarket to buy some snacks and drinks. We ate at the pool side, the cafe, the Italian restaurant and the Mexican restaurant. Pretty good, but poolside service is slow for meals. The service staff is so nice. All the people working at the hotel were really kind and helpful. Always with a smile. The down sides to this hotel are A. The beach. You can't swim in the sea because it's full of sharp rocks and coral. It's beautiful, yes but we wanted to spend the day at the beach swimming and this was not possible here. We had to go to other beaches for that. B. everything is a bit far away. Playa del Carmen and Cancun are about 30 to 40 minutes away ( depending on traffic). True, parks like Xcaret (wonderful) and Xel-ha are closer to Playa del Carmen than Cancun but it seemed that we spent a lo of time in the car. I couldn't help but compare this to my first experience when we stayed in Cancun and sincerely, if I ever return to Cancun, I would prefer to stay in a hotel in Cancun. The beach there is like no other in the world and you have a lot of things to do close by. So, The Mayan Palace is a great place to get away from it all but I still prefer Cancun.

Room Tip: Buildings 1-5 are the ones closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank beepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear beepages :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a detailed review about your experience while staying at Mayan Palace. We are happy to learn you enjoyed the pools and grounds; as well as for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Your comments are always welcomed. We will take note of your observations so that we can provide all our guests an extraordinary vacation experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and really impress you with what we have to offer.

With all good wishes,
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    1,036
    457
    248
    297
See reviews for
1,192
969
31
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aguascalientes
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

5 Star Room Installations, Very good Swimming Pool, Gardens And overall installations.
Very Friendly And attent staffs, like most SuthEast people from Mexico And Yucatán Península Área.
Great High Quality Food on all restaurants, specially the Fruits at the Breakfast, the Grilled Steaks And Italan Restaurant is Awesome, a little expensive but the Quality is Worth it.
TurnOvers in my percepción:
1. The Beach is full of Coral Reefs, so You Have to go to either Playa del Carmen or Cancún to Swim in the Sea. If you Love to Swim at the Ocean as me and my Family does, you must Drive at léast 20 min. To the nearest Beach.
2. You Have to walk moderately much from Room to Pool, Beach And Restaurant áreas, as Well from Room to Lobby, Parking And Taxi áreas, due to Installtions Layout. It is Ok to strong And healthy guests, not so convenient for Senior, kids or handicaped guests.

Room Tip: Ask for the Nearest Rooms to the Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jesus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Mayan Palace or Grand Mayan every year that they have been open and find it always fun and relaxing.

The staff is always very friendly and accommodating

Our only negative thing that we find is that you were so far from Playa del Carmen that if you are without a vehicle you have to take a resort shuttle or the city bus and it is inconvenient.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slomvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I checked out on 9/1/13 after a week with my mom, wife and her family. There were plenty of onsite activities to keep us busy, but we spent most of our time just relaxing at the pool. The resort is not all-inclusive, so expect to spend $50 a day or more with drinks. Food is moderately priced when you consider tip and service charge are included. The swim up bars were great, as well as the activities and evening show in the Havana Moon restaurant. My wife really enjoyed the spa and the cost was reasonable there too. You need to pay for each device you connect to wifi, with each additional device cheaper than the last. Connectivity was not great in our room 3063/5 and they ended up reducing the charge for me when I checked out. Decor of the room was circa 1980s and it was visible that cloth on sofas and pillows needed deep cleaning. Beds were basic but comfortable enough. Overall, I would not want to live there but it was fine for a week stay. Staff we great and very friendly. We felt like second class citizens because Mayan Palace people cannot go to the Grand Mayan pools, which are more secluded. For us, the objective was a relaxing vacation and that mission was accomplished here.

Room Tip: Building 1 is closest to the pool, beach and most restaurants. Building 8 is closest to the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mayan Resort in Playa DelCarmen for a full week in July 2013. I must say we had a wonderful relaxing vacation at a beautiful resort. We stayed in building 10, which is the same building as the main lobby. Very easy access to the daily shuttles right out front of the lobby, which would take you to various locations within the resort, as well as taxi's to take into town. Shuttles always available with only a few minute wait. Just a short walk to the very large and beautiful pools. The walkways are cleaned daily with lots of beautiful flowers and foliage to enjoy (and lots of iguanas). The restaurants were all very good. Other reviews indicate the restuarants are expensive, but we found that they were no more expensive than any restaurant in our hometown of Atlanta, Georgia. Highly recommend The Gong, the food was amazing! The staff were always very friendly and helpful. We did purchase groceries from the WalMart in town and made breakfast daily and lunch a few days. We only went into town once, which was a little pricey for the taxi ride. About $25 each way for the two of us. But worth the savings in food and alcohol purchased at WalMart. The resort shuttle does not drop you off near the WalMart. It is a few blocks away. The time share presentation was very long at 5 hours! We did get a $300 US dollar room credit as well as 10% off our entire bill, so to us the 5 hours was worth it. Just be prepared for very pushy sales people who do not take no for an answer. We got pushed along thru 5 different salesmen with the price get lower and lower each time. We did not buy as we were there on a timeshare trade we currently own in GA. If you buy, wait until the 5th guy, the deal was litterly cut by 75%! Overall we enjoyed our stay and recommend this resort. About 20 minutes from town, so take that into consideration.

Room Tip: Buildings 1 - 10 closet to the pools. Building 10 part of the main lobby and easy access to everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice rooms and beds very comfortable. Staff very accommodating, Beware that there are internet charges of 85.00 a week for each device. Also the big bottle of water in the room does have a charge on it. There is no price tag or notification on that bottle in which you would assume is included. There is a tax over and above an exchange fee of 3% if doing a timeshare exchange.

Room Tip: Buildings 1,2,and 3 closer to pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bunny20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast of B.C.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pleasant, efficient staff, with well-groomed, luxurious surroundings made our stay most relaxing and enjoyable. Pick-up at the airport, and delivery to the resort reception area, where we were greeted by the concierge with whom we had been in contact for the free transfer made our arrival pleasant. The shuttle service transfer to our rooms was easy, following which we enjoyed a fine Mexican meal at a poolside restaurant. All the shuttle drivers were most considerate of one member of our party using a wheelchair, as were all staff.
Accommodations were clean, quiet and comfortable. A bus took us (50 pesos each, each way) to Wallmart in Playa del Carmen, where we picked up groceries for several days at very reasonable prices, allowing us to use the quite adequate kitchen facilities for all our meals, except for a couple of special dinners out each of our 2 weeks. Poolside drinks were available at a fair price. It was disappointing that the beach had been largely denuded of sand by a hurricaine, so that ocean swimming was not much of an option.
The major highlight of our whole trip was a free tour to Chichen Itza, given in return for our attendance at a free breakfast to "receive information on an upgrade to our membership".
The pools were quite varied in their features to enjoy, and walking the various trails & paths through the well-tended 'Jungle', with its bird and animal life was also a nice feature.
Checkout was uneventful, and there was no problem with adjusting one small error in our bill. The only real downer was the rather exorbitant charge for (pretty poor) internet hookup.
We left happy to have experienced Costa del Maya and would consider returning sometime.

Room Tip: We kept our assigned room in the 'Mayan Jungle', and were quite happy with everything, excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaimana_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.5 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
#9 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayan Palace Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Also Known As:
Mayan Riviera
Mayan Palace Cancun
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Cancun Grand Mayan
Grand Maya Mayan Riviera
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Mayan Palace Playa Del Carmen
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Mexico
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing