We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Paraiso
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Groveton, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We took a taxi from the airport to this hotel and when we pulled up, we thought we were at the wrong place. It was beautiful even from the outside. We felt very safe because you have to have your reservation information to even get into the guarded entrance gate. The resort was huge. We had to walk about a 1/4 of a mile to get to our room which was great cause we like to walk. You can also take the little shuttle carts everywhere inside the resort. They are everywhere so you hardly ever have to wait for one to come to your building or the main office. Our room was so wonderful and the bathroom was excellent. We had a king size bed, a little fridge and a hottub for the bathtub that opened to the bedroom. Very romantic. The restaurant was good. The best thing about the entire stay was the pool. It goes on and on and on, never ending. lol. Seriously it is the largest pool I've ever seen. It's like 8 different pools attached to each other. You can rent a covered bed for $30 or buy $30 worth of food from the restaurant and have them deliver it to your covered bed and the fee would be waived. That was awesome cause it was like room service by the pool. There is a bar that you can swim up to in the pool which was nice, but we don't drink much but a diet coke or water is nice to have when it's hot. The hotel was very clean and everyone was very polite. We would loved this place and would stay again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,279
    1,064
    473
    259
    302
See reviews for
1,242
994
31
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Mayan Palace for 7 days during the second week of June. The actual resort grounds are pretty amazing with the Golf course, animals and obviously the pools are some of the best you'll ever see. Make sure you call the concierges desk a few days before you arrive so you can get free airport transportation! They charge you to take you back to the airport but its FREE to pick you up. And that'll be the last free thing you'll get from the resort. When you check in they'll try and sign you up for the Time Share free breakfast. We told them we were booked the first three mornings with tours and to check back with us later in the week. They called a few times but we just didn't answer or told them no again and that was that. We stayed in building 5 and didn't mind the walk to the pool through the green foliage to the pools.

There is a little market store and deli in the Jade that you can buy food and drinks but we went to Wal-Mart in Playa the first day and but everything we needed and for dirt cheap (I wish my local Wal-Mart had prices like the one in Playa). The Beach is great, but the water has rocks in every direction. We had water shoes so it wasn't to bad but its still by far the worst thing about the resort. The food at the resort isn't bad but its a little pricey compared to Playa. We actually only stayed in the resort during the day for two days. All the rest of the time we were doing tours (Chichen Izta, and Tulum are amazing) so we didn't do much at the resort. They charge you for everything!! NO FREE WIFI!! So expect to pay money anytime you want to connect with the outside world. They have lots of activity for kids, and very kid friendly from what we could tell.

You can hear everything while your in your rooms because of the travertine floors but our maid told us to turn the blower fan on the AC on and you won't hear as much, it worked very well. I would suggest getting Peso's when using Taxes or shuttle system. The Shuttle to Playa was 50 Pesos or $5 per person. So with two people and using Pesos you were saving 20 pesos. Doesn't seem like much but going there and back you could save 40 pesos almost another trip!! I'm not sure I'd recommend this resort to a friend. But now that I've been there I know what to do to save some money and would probably go again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in building 1-5 so you don't have to walk as far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SoUT-MountainBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear SoUT-MountainBiker

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at Mayan Palace. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed our pools, the golf course and grounds.

Your comments are very useful to us. Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We would like to point out as well that our prices are extremely competitive compared to other luxury resorts.

It will be our privilege to welcome you back!

Warmest regards,
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baja Sur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I traveled along the Mayan Riviera for 3 weeks last summer and we had book in the Mayan Palace for one week. We arrived and there weren't any bell boys at all, we offer that we could take our luggage ourselves but they held us for 30 minutes, then we check in, the reception office was very efficient and we are glad that they didn't take us to the timeshare tour.

They send us to the last tower in the back near the highway that communicates Cancun - Playa del Carmen and they told us to park beside the garbage deposit but to get there you need to do it trough a one lane little road that is made for electric carts that transport the guests all over the gigant resort so every time we came along with the electric cart it becomes an odyssey to maneuver.

The rooms were regular, clean but they are shared only apart by a wood door, wall to wall from our room there was so loud that we could not rest at all, we are not the big resort type but we decide it to give it a try, thanks to this experience we promise to never go back to one like that.

We felt that there was no quality vs what they market.

The staff is very polite and the distances from rooms to swimming pool and common areas were insane.

We left after four days and when we were leaving they offered us the timeshare breakfast meeting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JCABajaSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear JCABajaSur :

Thank you very much for submitting your review of your stay at Mayan Palace. We are delighted to find out that all our staff was helpful, as this is what we strive for every day.

Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities and services, and it willbe shared with the appropriate areas to continue providing the highest level of service. Thisis very useful to us.

Your comments and suggestions are always welcomed.

With all good wishes,
Mayan Palace Riviera Mayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Gardner, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Mayan Palace resort is beautiful, but beware, you will be stalked in an attempt to get you over to Guest Services to hear about vacation ownership. We were lured to the Mayan Palace presentation under the guise that we could trade a vacation plan we had with an all-inclusive resort into one with Grupo Mayan and not have an all inclusive fee. Well, this was not true and was only a sales tactic used to get us to the Mayan Palace property. Once there we were made to sit through the pressured sales pitch of one sales representative after another, as we continued to say we were not interested and wished to leave. As each sales representative was replaced by another the tactics used to force us to buy got more intense, until the final push was made by a German woman who was condescending to us and abusive. We were told we were stupid to refuse such a good deal, and we felt as though we were being held against our will and that we had to sign the contract if we were ever going to be able to leave. In fact we were at the mercy of the Mayan Palace to take us back to the resort we were staying at that week. We were at the Mayan Palace all day, from breakfast until after 6:00 pm, when we were the last people in the room and finally signed the contract just to get out of there. $10,000 later we felt as though we were robbed and will never go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SemiSweetBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace Riviera Maya, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear SemiSweetBS :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your visit to the Mayan Palace. We are delighted to learn you considered our resort to be beautiful.

It is disappointing to learn that your experience was not satisfactory. As one of the most successful companies in the Mexican tourism field, we clearly communicate the terms and conditions associated with accepting an invitation to our sales presentation. We appreciate their visit since we strive to make each and every one of our guests feel cared for, appreciated and respected.

If you would like to provide us further details, please contact us at customerservice@mayanpalace.com.

We are certain your current opinion of our services will change as soon as we are given the opportunity to help you make the best out of your vacation club with us.

Yours sincerely,
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the grande Luxxe residences for a week this August. Weather cooperated (but was hot...well you are in Mexico in August!). The facilities were clean and they were always cleaning, service was impeccable, the pools and activities were top notch, great room cleaning service and food was very good.
Resort is huge and requires you to have a golf cart pickup to all locations, walking is not recommended since there are no sidewalks.They were prompt and always availabe so no issue there.
If I see an area of improvement it is in the need for beach access on property (beach is too rockly to use) and they seem to have tried to make up for with miles of pools.
I would also recommend they look at an all inclusive option.
Also, not a lot of choices for breakfast.
other than that we had a great time.

Room Tip: All rooms looked equally as good............you are in the jungle so you will see trees anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from Mexico after spending a brilliant week at the Mayan Palace in Playa Paraiso. We were blown away by the facilities, the staff, and the incredible service!

We would highly recommend that you hire a car if you plan to do any tours or sight seeing. But if all you're looking for is some serious R&R, then the resort has everything you need.

We will most certainly return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh-Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The resort was nice; definitely take advantage of the happy hour prices. Beach could have been nicer, but there is a great beach just a short walk north.

Do not ever use dollar rent a car. They are liars and cheats. We had a car that broke down twice and they charged us and extra $300 because they said we broke it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jrs360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
5.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,746 reviews
11.9 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
Senses Riviera Maya By Artisan
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
246 reviews
11.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,677 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,040 reviews
11.6 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Mayan Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Km 48 Carretera Federal, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#10 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayan Palace Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Also Known As:
Mayan Riviera
Mayan Palace Cancun
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Cancun Grand Mayan
Grand Maya Mayan Riviera
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Mayan Palace Playa Del Carmen
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Mexico
Mayan Palace Riviera Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing