We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,553)
Filter reviews
4,553 results
Traveler rating
1,805
1,379
606
334
429
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,805
1,379
606
334
429
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshavana moonplaya del carmentimeshare presentationrented a carfront gatetime share presentationhappy hour ishigh pressuresmall kitchenone bedroom unittimeshare salesno cash policyminute walk to the poolmain gatemexican fiestagrocery shoppingthrough rci
Filter
Updating list...
2,059 - 2,064 of 4,553 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Mayan Palace from the second week in April 2013.

I did a lot of research before leaving on TA and other travel sites so I felt pretty comfortable knowing what we were getting in to- a lot of people expressed issues with the resort location, beach and beds. To those people all I have to say is you must have booked your trip at random knowing nothing about the Mayan Palace (location, beach) or be the type of person that can not be pleased and always looks for something wrong.

The location IS NOT in town- it was about a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport and another 20 min into Playa del Carmen. Taxi was $22 for 4 people- rates are pre-set, no negotiating (which is nice) and the same company runs throughout Cancun, Playa and all local resorts for same price so you know you can trust them. Most people come to the resort and never leave, it's meant to have everything you would need during your stay, so if you are looking for somewhere that you can walk to town at- go somewhere else.

Check-in was easy, we had 2 suites, one was ready at 11am the other at 1pm. Check out was just as easy, did not have any issues with our bill. We saved our receipts and periodically would walk down to the lobby for an updated room bill to be able to monitor our spending- it adds up quick, but everything is convenient and has a tip included.

Yes, this place is a bit expensive. However, your on vacation people! If you are looking to save some $$, take a taxi or the shuttle to Playa and visit the Mega or Walmart to stock your room for the week. The suites have a mini kitchen so you can keep lunch meats, eggs, etc. We cooked most breakfasts in room and had our own mini bar to save $ on drinks (got good use of our Bubba cups!)

Food was great! Here is a breakdown of where we ate:
Havana Moon: Great location on the beach, some outdoor seating. Average prices ($25/pp) but great food, very big portions and good selection. Good music here too.

Gong: Asian food. Felt odd going to this place in Mexico, but after a week of Mexican we appreciated the variety. AWESOME sushi! Great selection here as well, more expensive, but great decor. Located above the store.

Del Lago: We ate here for the breakfast buffet and the seafood buffet (with Princess show which is in fact a Disney Princess show- great for kids). Breakfast buffet was a 10, great fresh foods, fruits, hot dishes, and a donut tree!! A bit expensive, but should do once on your trip (I think it was $28/pp)
The seafood buffet was a big let down- no crab, lobster and minimal shrimp. Seems like we overpaid considering we pretty much just ate fish for $33/pp.

Taco Bar at the golf course: SOOO good! Not a huge selection, but cheap and great food. Open seating. Strong Margarita here!

Breakfast buffet at the golf course: Should have gone here the first day, we didn't find it until the very end. $18/pp good selection!

Poolside eating: You can order food/drinks at your chair/palapa or swim up bar. Great food and drinks! The nachos and fish sandwiches were our favorites!

The convenient store has a nice selection of foods and not too badly priced.

We got a palapa each day (HIGHLY recommended). Like others have said, you can reserve the day of and for the next day. The sun gets hot really quick so it's nice to have the option of shade, especially if you have little ones. Never had issues getting chairs by the pool, it's huge so no "towel fighting" here!

The beach is nice, good breeze and quiet. Not meant for swimming, but again, do your research and you will know that. We still saw people in the water, they also have jet skis and para-sailing, snorkeling through an on-site company.

They do have some options in the lobby for day trips. They do everything for you and the bus comes right to the lobby to pick you up- makes it easy! We didn't do this, but some in our group did the Xel-Ha and loved it!

You can not beat the service here! Always had great interaction with the staff, and there are a ton of them! If you need something, they will get it for you!

Room Tip: Building 1-7 otherwise be ready to walk!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank beens33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

First off you should know what you are getting into when you stay at a resort, if you are on a tight budget stay at a hostel and buy your own booze and food. Cook for yourself. I did it all on my trip to Mexico and this place is beautiful the staff was friendly. The Concierge was an incredible help helping me with driving directions and Spanish interpreting. I bought food and cooked in my room several nights. the hotel provided me with a blender and I whipped up our drinks. The room was cleaned daily and maids were excellent. The beach may be rocky but if you go out with the dive shop they will take you snorkeling or diving and the reef is beautiful with many colorful fish, Ronald is a fantastic dive master. I got this trip on a Groupon 7 night stay and it was one of the best trips I've been on. the only thing to improve is the hard beds we got a foam topper but it was flat. Memory foam is what is needed. My extra bill only came to $270.00 for two after 1 week. this place was a bargain and the pools are very clean and expansive. If you don't like music, kids and general liveliness don't come here. I always avoid the timeshare hype and never succumb to the many offers of trips and money. We loved it here.

Room Tip: We were in building 15 it was fine as the shuttle comes every 15 min.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Buyer Beware !!!!! We arrived at the Mayan Palace property via the time share sales pitch and were placed in their jungle hotel, the Ocean Breeze. This IS a traditional hotel with nothing more than 2 beds, a dresser, small television and bathroom. No wall decor, no coffee pot, not even a clock.
The Pros: Beds were extremely comfortable (pillows were not), free wi-fi in the lobby and mostly can't say enough positive about the staff there and through out all the properties at the OB & MP. They often made us feel better about being in such an awful property and I'm still unsure how. The rooms are very sound proof and we never heard any other noise from adjacent rooms (other than idiots in the hallway who had no consideration about their noise level at midnight and beyond). Bathroom was modern and spacious and the towels are terrific as are the toiletries . Access to the Mayan Palace grounds and all amenities there.

The Cons: You arrive to a beautiful property and are told you can't stay there. They put you in a golf cart and take you to the "Ocean Breeze". This property is as far away from the ocean as possible. Stepping off the golf cart and into the Ocean Breeze is like arriving at the Ritz Carlton and then they tell you your room is actually at the Days Inn. It's a small white lobby with very bright and harsh florescent lighting throughout. The shuttle is supposed to come every 15 minutes but you'll find for the Ocean Breeze, their 15 minutes is not the rest of the world's 15 minutes. Often carts would come every 5 minutes then you wouldn't see one for 30. The longest we waited was 42 minutes one afternoon. The sheets don't fit the bottom of the bed leaving you laying against the mattress pad every night/morning (yuck). Most horrible was the time share pitch. Honestly, six different people going from good guy to bad guy to you're an idiot guy... again, 90 minutes became 3 hours... BRUTAL!!! The restaurant at the OB... skip it. The food throughout the MP is outstanding (and you'll pay for it) but the food on this property was certainly nothing special. The cost of things... I think capitalism is a good thing but a bag of Fritos in the deli was $95 pesos or roughly $9.50 USD and the restaurants are extremely high. We had 2 beers, a soda and a serving of chips & guac @ the pool one afternoon which came to $460 pesos (or $46 USD). I think it would be less painful if our timeshare rep hadn't told us than the owner of this property lives in Texas and is the 2nd richest person in the world and that the people working in the resort earn roughly $15 USD per day for a 10 hour day which is why they rely on our tips. Ouch!

Overall I would go back to the Mayan Palace knowing what I was getting into but NEVER NEVER NEVER again to the Ocean Breeze. We made the best of the situation and had a wonderful vacation despite our unattactive and often inconvenient lodging.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susanincharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just returned home from a week at the Mayan Palace. The grounds are nice and the room was fine. The majority of people who work there are very friendly. However, beware when ordering drinks and food.
Happy Hour: Happy hour is a term used by the resort to indicate "2 for 1 drinks." Sounds great, until you get the bill and find out it means you have been drinking slightly LARGER drinks. We found out the hard way when along with another couple spend happy hour thinking we were getting 2 for one. Our bill was over $100 USD, drinks are about $10 USD a piece...no 2 for 1 there at all! The bar tender in the golf area then opened and served the guys a second beer without being asked. We thought it was on the house...it wasn't! He was just jacking up the bill.

Food: It is average and VERY expensive. It is cheaper to get off the premises to eat. We took a public bus right outside the resort for 20 pesos PP into Puerto Morales. We had a wonderful dinner, fresh fried fish, several beers, guac and chips and a bowl of the best seafood soup I have ever had. The bill was less than what we had paid for snacks and beers at the pool.

Tipping: The resort has a no tipping policy, a 15% gratuity is included. As we tip more than 15% we added a tip when at the pool, restaurants and bar. At one pool bar the bar tender asked for a tip when we didn't provide one the second time. We also tipped housekeeping each time our condo was cleaned. At the end of the stay an anvelope was left in our room asking for additional tips.

WIFI: We paid about $85 USD for the week. Reception is hit or miss...even in the room.

Time Share: DO NOT DO IT! We tried to say no until we were so tired of it we agreed to a 90 minute presentation for $100 USD per couple and 10% off of our charges for the week. The 90 minutes became 150 minutes. Each time they were ready to let us leave a different person prevented us from leaving. Very rude and dishonest. I had to express anger at the fifth person before they showed us the door. This left a sour taste in our mouths for the last few days.

The pools are beautiful the beach is rocky and unswimmable. It's an ok resort if you really do the research and know what you are getting into.

We won't be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FellowTraveler810086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at Mayan Palace at Vidanta Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Sheri&Todd :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at the Mayan Palace Riviera Maya.

However, we are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. Rest assured your comments and suggestions will be shared with the appropriate areas. Working to anticipate and exceed your every need is very important to us.

We hope to welcome you back and really impress you.
Warmest regards,
Mayan Palace Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great week at The Mayan Place. Our 2 beedroom apartment was wonderful. " teenagergirls in one beedromm with their own bathroom, me and my husband in another beedromm/bathroom and our soon i a big sofa in the livingroom (made up for him every day). Madeservice 2 times a day. Very very clean. No real balcony but we spent most of our time out. We had a rented car that was parked and deliveredby the hotel to us for extra 5 dollars per day. All staff we had contact with was so very nice and sevicemindeed.
We bought our groceries i Playa del Carmen and had two meals a day at home. Staff took the dishes for an extra dollar.Most fantatic poolarea we ever experienced. Also it was open late and we all enjoyed that. The beach was beautiful but not good for swimming.
Excursions we made by car ourself to Cancun, Tulum, Playa del Carmen and for snorkeling. We had a feew meals at the restaurants. A little expensive but nice.
We would be glad to come back some day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElseAhlgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews