We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort--talk about integrity!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My sister and I vacationed here in late April 2014 to celebrate my completion of cancer treatment. I was ready for sun and relaxation and was not disappointed. This is a family oriented resort so if you are looking for crazy nightlife and couples activities, move on up to the Grand (adults only, right next door). There were plenty of things to do for children including poolside activities, shows, etc. After 9 at night, things are very quiet unless you go across the way to the Galaxy nightclub (opens at 11pm- crowd is mid-20's) Pools are fantastic! Lazy river is just what the name implies~ lazy! People have complained about the slow pace of the lazy river...the name is not rapid river so just relax and enjoy it :-) We did bring our own inflatable rings with us and were glad because all of the others were in use.Our room was right outside of the wave pool and I think we only heard the siren once- certainly not an annoyance. People do put their towels out on the chairs very early at both the pool and the beach- even though the hotel says it is not permitted. We just followed suit and it was okay. Rooms were clean and the staff did a great job keeping things stocked and leaving unique towel animals. It is not a brand new hotel, but there was certainly no "musty" smell as people have said. We saw a few ants in our room but only because we were careless with food. (it is a tropical location people, there are bugs!) Grounds are immaculate and they are constantly working on upkeep. The beach is super clean but use caution when getting in the water...there are stones/coral but if you go in slowly and are aware of them, it isn't a problem. This is the ocean and they are a natural occurrence. Make sure to visit the shopping center across from the main entrance. There is a tequila bar that actually serves outstanding espresso and cappuccino! Worth the walk! They also have decent prices on t-shirts, jewelry and souvenirs if you don't want to travel off the resort grounds. Great crepes can be found in this shopping center, too! The food was okay- certainly not gourmet but edible. We tried 4 of the restaurants and the hibachi style was our favorite. The poolside buffet was the least desirable. If you want to try them, I recommend emailing the resort a few weeks before your trip to make your reservation. You can reserve up to three restaurants in advance and they do fill up quickly. Make sure you try the "green juice" at the breakfast buffet. Looks unusual but it is delicious! Waitstaff was also wonderful and efficient. Wi-fi is available for free at the front lobby. It is a bit slow but, hey, we were on vacation and it was free of charge! A word of caution, watch your footing while walking around the numerous fountains/ walkway pools- we saw a few people fall in who weren't paying attention or who had paid TOO MUCH attention at the bar. You will do a good amount of walking as the resort is long and narrow with a short walk to the beach. The racoon-like Coati were adorable as long as you don't try to feed them. They tend to keep their distance and are very playful and fun to watch. Peacocks were everywhere and gorgeous. There were some deer in an enclosure on the way over to the shopping center and we took the liberty of sharing apples with them on our daily walk to get espresso.
Now the best part!! I accidentally left my wallet in the outdoor seating area while waiting for my limo to the airport. It contained credit cards, jewelry and 355 dollars in cash. I contacted them and they did find it! They returned all my belongings and EVERY PENNY OF MY MONEY! Now THAT is integrity, honesty and customer service!! Bottom line is: Great resort, decent food and amazing customer service. Go for it!

Room Tip: None of the rooms are beachfront- avoid ground floor if you want a little more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank ljdonley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the IBEROSTAR Paraiso Lindo Management, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation. Thank you also for posting such a pleasant review of our resort for the online community. It will certainly be very useful for our potential future guests.

We feel honored to have contributed to making your holiday paradisiacal and we are extremely thankful that you expressed your sincere satisfaction highlighting several aspects of our resort. We really appreciate your recognition for our service.

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities and services that the resort has to offer; we hope that you had a happy return home and we look forward to having the opportunity to host you again.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,826 - 1,832 of 6,135 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

Went with 4 families for 14 total people. Very relaxing vacation, our first all inclusive but other people who went on previously on ClubMed said this was better than those resorts. Overall everyone had a great time from 18 to 55.

Resort - Very nice, well kept up and clean. Staff was always cleaning and keeping up the maintenance. One room had a non-functioning toilet, we notified the concierge and it was fixed withing 1/2 hour. No elevators in the Lindo, but the Maya and Pariso have them.

Food - The main buffet restaurant by the west end of the resort (closted to the lobby) was very good (3 of 4 stars) for breastfast, lunch or dinner. Food was fresh and well prepared in vast majority. We went to several resort restaurants (Japanese at the Beach resort, French at the Lindo, and Mexican at the Maya), all were very good to great. The only negative on food was the meat in general was not the best, and was fatty at times. The seafood and poultry was excellent. The Drum fish at the Mexican was the best I've ever had. There was also a cookout at the beach for Paella and other Mexican dishes.

Staff - very helpful and attentive, not much more needs to be said. majority spoke English pretty well.

Beach - clean white sand, there are a few rocks in the sand as you walk into the water but other than that the beach is great. Even though signs tell you you cannot reserve a Palapa (beach cambana), I went down at 6AM to put t-shirts on beach chairs like everyone else did.

Drinks - there was variability in the drinks, some places had great bartenders others not so good. The beach bartenders were the best, we had excellent Mojitos and other mixed drinks. The wine was Mexican, not impressed by the reds but the Sauvignon Blanc was pretty good. Never tried the beer. There were bars in many locations, some were mellow and some are pretty hectic (pool bar).

Activities - plenty to do, enjoyed the beach yoga, sailing,... They need to invest in some new air rifles as most were old and some were in poor condition. The ocean sailing (Hobie catamarans) was great, the wind comes out of the east so it's very easy to sail up and down the beach. Also the ocean kayaks were fun and also easy to use. The pools are large and there are area's for low activity and others (by the pool bar) are quite busy. Easy to find a place that suits anyone.

Entertainment - did two shows (rock and disco), performers put in a very good show and put themselves out there. The nightclub was OK by my children's standard but still they had fun there.

Room Tip: Stay in building 52 or 53, it's about mid-way between the beach and restaurants/lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed review.

We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the services provided at our hotel, and to know that your holidays were special for you and your family; this type of comments motivates us to keep on providing an excellent service.

Thank you very much for trusting us and for your recommendations; we hope to see you again in our resort in the near future so that we can provide the service that you and your family deserve.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

All the great things:
1. The cleanliness of the property is superb. The property is well maintained!
2. The entertainment staff was very fun and engaging. The shows are really good.. Something to do for all ages.
3. The customer service of the staff was really friendly, everyone spoke and treated us politely.
4. Room service was amazing. We always had clean towels and linens.
5. Japanese and Mexican restaurants.

All the good things:
1.The buffets were so so. The selections didn't match well but my favorite thing about the buffets were the desserts. Yum!
2. Drinks were strong, some were nasty(depending on the bartender)
3. Fun guest! Everyone was there to have fun and relax. Great mixture of type of guest ( not too many kids and not too many teens)
4. The resort is spaced out. Even though there was a lot of vacationers, we still had a sense of privacy
5. Wifi in lobby is good.. Not the fastest though.

Warnings:
1. No elevators. It's not so bad that it's 3 flights but, when you are sun drunk or tipsy it's not fun.
2. The minibar in the rooms are lacking in selection. 2 beer choices is the only alcohol you will have in the fridge.. The fridge did not keep beverages cold.
3. The coatis(monkey-raccoon creature). They are not afraid of humans but they won't bother you unless you drop food around you. They are mostly around the beach.. I only seen one come around the resort.

Room Tip: If you don't like going up stair get on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kenyamclark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear guest,

Let us begin by thanking you for having chosen our resort IBEROSTAR Paraiso Lindo to spend your vacation! Also, thank you very much for your review.
Our main goal is the full satisfaction of our guests. We aim to impress you with our well kept grounds and the quality of our food, beverages, and activities. Our lovely staff will be very glad to know that you enjoyed our services.
We would also like to mention that our guests’ comments are truly important to us and these are taken very seriously. Indeed, they help us to identify our weaknesses so that we can take corrective actions where necessary.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at any BEROSTAR resort !

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The beach has lots of huts for shade but unless you get there early you're not getting one. Water has lots of rocks and seaweed. The pool is warm. Make sure you bring lots of $1.00 bills for tips since getting change is difficult. Make reservations for the specialty restaurants before you leave or you wont get that either. Poor selection of food; its always the same.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your review about your stay with us, since, despite the fact that you did not have a positive experience, your feedback helps us to identify areas of concern.

We do regret that during your visit you did not enjoy yourself as you would have wished, and as we always aim to.

We understand your frustration about the huts. We would like to inform you that reserving spots is not allowed in our resort, and it is something we are trying to resolve. Our Management and Security team are working together to avoid this practice from happening without upsetting our guests.

Concerning our food variety, we are very sorry about your disappointment. Our Executive Chef has a weekly menu that he constantly changes, even if some of the most basic and popular items are always available. He makes variations following our guests' feedback and tries to adapt to our national and international clientele's palates. We will send him your review for his consideration.

We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again so that we may prove to you our true commitment with our guests’ satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

the resort was beautiful. the rooms were average. The people were wonderful and the food sucked! if the resort could get the food at the local Sam's Club, they served it. very little real, fresh Mexican food. They did not even have fish tacos....

they tried to compensate by having different "resturaunts" like a French, Mediteranean, Japenesse Steak House, a steak house, etc. My son got sick on the steak - yikes! all food is prepared ahead and then warmed and then served. how else can they get 4,000 people through dinner? Dont go to Iberostar for the food. May be a great place for little kids, but not for me and my twenty something boys.

If you want to just stay at the hotel and do teh activities provided, you will be fine. if you are an adventure junky for foodie, then find another place to saty

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LisaSnead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the amenities and services provided by our resort.

In regard to your comment about our food, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We regret that your son had some stomach problems. At IBEROSTAR, Health & Safety is our top priority. Our Health & Safety Department is constantly checking our food quality from the moment it is delivered to our resort. They check that all our strict policies are followed in terms of temperature, conservation and food handling. An external company also audits us regularly, as well as Governmental Organizations and Tour Operators. We do hope that your son is completely recovered.

We are sorry that the circumstances mentioned affected your vacation experience and your perception of our hotel.

Thank you for your constructive comments. We hope to have another opportunity of hosting you in order to offer you the high quality service that you deserve.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I had a great experience, thanks to the workers, entertainment, and the environment was amazing! This resort really is a beautiful place. It's a great family resort to vacation on. There are plenty of activities to keep everyone busy, everything is clean and prepared properly, the workers are very polite and great to get to know, and there is a great variety of food to choose from. This was our second time visiting here, and won't be the last!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s0ccer18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for choosing to be valued guests of our property, IBEROSTAR Paraiso Lindo. We are very grateful for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely proud to understand from your comments that you had a memorable experience at our hotel and we truly appreciate your special mention about our food, entertainment, facilities and wonderful staff.

With your most recent trip to IBEROSTAR being so pleasurable, we hope that you will stay again at our hotel and therefore we sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My reviews are based on things you don't think to bring and tips to help you out before you go...based from my trip. First, make sure you email your restaurant choices beforehand. We did not know to do this, so pretty much all restaurants were booked at Lindo. There are 4 properties that are linked together. Del Mar, Lindo,(the kid resport) The Maya and then the Grand. In the order of "nicest". I'm not an expert on which are nicer in what areas. But that's how it was described to us and that the nicer ones are more for couples. All hotels can use the pool area at Lindo which has a bar and then the kiddie swim play area, wave pool and lazy river. Since all the restaurants were booked at our hotel, Lindo, we had to get the managers approval to book at the restaurants at the other hotels. But still every night we had an issue with them not having our reservation. And the concierge who booked it said the printer was broke, so we had no confirmation printed out. My recommendation is...book before you get there or get that piece of paper for proof. It was a mess and hassle and took up a lot of time waiting for calls back to find out what is going on and do we even get to eat tonight. Not a fun feeling. Other than that... the food was good. Even at the buffets. I usually do not like buffets.There are two at Lindo. we called them the good buffet which was bigger and nicer and then the pool buffet, which was just to grab a quick snack if you get hungry after swimmimg. My kids liked the nachoes. I just stuck with salad at that one. But the big buffet up front was awesome but you had to walk to the front of the hotel. The pool one is just more convienient. I can't really comment on the restaurants because we got sent to other hotels. Which you have to walk to or have a bell boy pick you up on a golf cart ahead of time.The restaurant they call "gourmet" was great but no kids allowed under 18. That's why it wasn't booked. We would take the kids to the buffet and then go later alone to eat there. Would have been nice to eat at the Japanese steak house everyone raves about but not one opening for our 5 days. Total let down. What made up for it was that they were very allergy friendly.Our son is gluten free and they catered to him very well. So, that was a huge plus. The Chef worked with us everyday at the buffet to make him something special!!
No problems with rooms. We asked for 2nd floor because we heard first floor was buggy and musty. Third floor was a climb with no elevator. Which we got third floor. So, we had a good workout everyday. But not a huge deal. The only thing that would help this place is a big water slide. The wave pool, the lazy river and regular pool got boring after awhile. They would have little chezzy shows but it needs a slide for sure. The beach is the beach. It was nice that sailboats were free and some diving, not sure what else. Parasailing was $60. You have to bring floaties for the pool or buy them there. I just packed the kind that fold up in a circle and that worked great. I think they should have some sort of drying rack in the room or hidden low on the balcony for smim suits because your in them every day.
I also brought my own powdered vanilla creamer which is just nice to have if you are used to drinking it that way. The staff is great. They don't treat you cold or snub you if they think your not a tipper. We always still give something $5-$10. You see people leave like a dollar which I just could not do, even though it's "all-inclusive". That's pretty sad to not leave anything. We brought good walking shoes but still had bluster issues. Prob since we got sent walking to the other hotels for dinner. We only did one tour to Chichen Itza. My and husband and I have been there before but rented a car and drove over. But with kids..the tour bus is much safer and easier. Just be sure to eat before you go. Their idea of "You get served breakfast on the bus" was a danish and banana. Not enough for us.
There is a dance club called Galaxy that opens at 11pm. We forced ourselves to stay up so we could go. It was mostly 25yr olds but we had a great time!

Room Tip: Buiding 52 and 53 are central locations. You can request over looking pool or over looking courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StaceyH769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our family resort and for taking a few moments to write a review on Trip Advisor about your experience at our hotel.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our facilities, our beautiful beach, our friendly staff, our food and especially the personalized service provided by our Chef, who will be congratulated for his attention regarding your son's free-gluten diet.
On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that you could not get the restaurant options you wished. We usually invite our guests to make their dinner reservations a la carte one day in advance when onsite, or two weeks prior to arrival. We also regret the inconvenience in relation with your confirmation ticket for the restaurant. When this occurs, our guests are able to get the confirmation numbers with the concierge in the next building. However, we understand this is not ideal, and we will review this with our Chief Concierge in order to avoid this in the future.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Lindo.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#68 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,488 reviews
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,482 reviews
24.4 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $212 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , TravelUp, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing