We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing and fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 28, 2013

we love the resort. The service at the bar areas was very good we liked the premium liquor however make sure you ask for it they will not serve you premium unless you ask.the food was good we liked the extra amenities of the taco bar across the street. The games and attractions we're very good and lots of fun.Hugo and Julio were excellent bartenders and a lot of fun they are very accommodating and will get you whatever you need.we will definitely return to the iberostar Lindo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank mlmgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear client,

On behalf of the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo staff and managers, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation.

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities, our food like our taco bar; and our activities; likewise we are very pleased that our waiters Hugo and Julio have met your expectations and we can assure you that they will receive your lovely comments.

Our main goal is to offer the best vacation experiences to our guests, thank you very much for the positive points you mentioned.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,216 - 2,222 of 6,293 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed 5 days at the Lindo the week of Christmas. Overall, they stay was relaxing, and we enjoyed our trip. There were a few issues that we encountered though.
Our building/room was closest to the beach, right off of a wooden walkway. It was neat to be so close to the beach, and was convenient, but was very musty and smelly by our room. We couldn't enjoy the patio because of mosquitoes. Our view was very lacking as well, since we were on the first floor. The smell got worse each day that we were there, as if they were having septic issues. After exploring more of the hotel and buildings, we think we would have enjoyed our room more if were weren't in the building/room that we stayed in. All of the other buildings had better views, more elaborate entry ways and hallways. Ours shared a truck entrance to the restaurant which was always busy with service vehicles. If you get placed in building 50, ask to move! Also, the king size be is VERY had, we called 4 times to get a mattress pad, which helped a bit, but not much.
The food was decent, was often bland. We ate at some of the specialty restaurants, Jambalaya, and the Steak house. We had the Christmas Eve buffet, which really wasn't that different than the buffet any other night. Some of the problems we had with the restaurants were that they only had the 9:00 pm reservation available. A lot of the buffet/side entrees had run out by then. Also, we were not able to attend the shows because of the late dinner reservations.
The beach was by far our favorite part of the trip. It was hard to find a place to sit at times, because people were reserving seats. It does say not to, but it wasn't enforced.
My 7 year old daughter enjoyed swimming at the pool, but we were very limited as to where she could swim since most of the pools were over 4 feet deep, she couldn't reach the bottom. The zero entry areas were full of small kids, so it was hard to swim there as well. The wave pool was her favorite place to swim. We chose not to send her to the kids club.
Overall, we had a fun, relaxing week, despite the few issues we encountered. I'm not sure if we will stay at the Lindo again, though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback like yours, and on behalf of the entire team here at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude for taking such care in detailing your vacation experience for all the readers on this medium.

Our goal is the satisfaction of our guests and we are glad to hear that you noticed our personalized service. Thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned.

In regard to your comment about the musty smell we apologize about it, we would also like to mention that our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working on areas to be improved. All our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to try to keep our areas and rooms impeccable. We will take into consideration your comments and will review them with our Maintenance Manager.

We are sorry to hear that you only got seatings at 9:00 p.m. in our restaurants and that those were not of your liking; the concierge in your own building is always happy to assist you to make your dinner reservations from day one, and our team also makes dinner reservations a few weeks in advance. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any information.

We regret we did not live up your expectations in our buffet & our steakhouse restaurant, your comments will be forwarded to our Executive Chef.

We hope that you give us the opportunity of serving you at our resort again so we may prove to you, our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The last time we stayed at the Lindo was at Christmastime 2009.
We just got back from another Christmas vacation there yesterday.
(We stayed Mon. 12/23 through Fri. 12/27).
However, overall, it seems the quality has gone down a bit compared to the last time.
How you ask? Here’s the good, the bad & the ugly:

The grounds are still gorgeous; although in some places along the walking paths we noticed it smelled like urine and sewage.

The staff was still very friendly & helpful with always a smile on their face.

It was nice to still see a concierge in each building, although it would have been nice for them to distribute out a flyer to each room that would spell out the activities available for that day, the time & location on the property (or adjoining property) Otherwise, it appears there is little to nothing to do on the premises. We had no idea bicycle tours & a few other things were available because we were never told. Therefore, we were bored many times. It still seems there needs to be much more to do on the premises and more notification of it. A climbing wall, a simulated “surfing” area, a roller skating area, something!

The animals
We enjoy seeing the iguanas, peacocks & even the Cogii (little raccoon like animals) on the property and find it really cool and entertaining. With animals you never know what they may do so always be on guard. An added coy pond or adding fish (that the guests could feed) to some of their “water areas” by the walkway would be a nice touch, especially for the kids.

Walking is not a problem as long as you have comfortable shoes. (bring tennis shoes and insect repellant) The weather is gorgeous, even with the day we had the tropical rain.

The beds didn't bother us either (except for the hair & stains on the sheets) - I still got a good night’s rest there as when we went there before.

The coconut ice cream and the carousel at the shopping center were awesome as before as was the evening entertainment. They always do a fabulous job on the evening entertainment with a great band and beautiful costumes. They even have popcorn available now, which was nice. It would be very nice to have the evening "big" show start sooner than 9:30pm. Even 8:00pm would be an improvement since this is a family event. Smoking should no longer be allowed in the theatre area at all.

The trolley that used to be there was fun if you got bored &/or didn’t feel like walking. That was no longer an option.

Israel, (their former Star Show host that resembled Benjamin Bratt) was no longer there. He was fabulous & we missed him.

Our major complaints:
1.)THE BLACK MOLD IN THE ROOM
When we arrived, we were assigned to bldg. #52. This is close to the beach & pool.
We stayed in that building # before with only a slight musty smell so at first we weren't concerned. When we arrived to the room, we noticed our room smelled VERY musty. We unloaded everything & simply opened the patio door (no screen door, BTW -would have been nice if there was one) to air things out, which let in a bunch of mosquitoes. No relief on the smell. We shut the door & turned on the A/C. Particles of black dust (&/or mold maybe?) starts to blow out of the vent. After more inspection, we realize there is patches of black mold scattered here & there around the air vent and in many places on the ceiling. Not only is this gross & a health issue, I am asthmatic & very allergic to mold. We go to the front desk to complain. They were very nice & promptly switched rooms for us. They suggested bldg. 55, which is further away from the pool/beach so less of a likelihood of mold/mustiness. Problem is, not only should it not have been that way to start with & was a huge waste of our time.

2)THE BLACK HAIR IN THE ROOM, STAINED SHEETS, URINE SMELL
So we get to our new room in building #55 (room 5554) no mold, musty smell not as bad, but now we notice black hair here & there everywhere. It was on the toilet seat, it was on the tan bedspread & here & there in the floor - both in the room, bathroom & on the patio. Also noticed a slight urine smell and the sheets were stained with little spots of something. It was late; we were tired & had already changed rooms once. We didn't feel like changing rooms again so we complained to the front desk. They told us they would relay the message to housekeeping. We put out our "make the room" sign out every day. Throughout the week, the urine smell was pretty much gone, but there were always remaining traces of black hair here & there on the floors that wasn't ours & the stained sheets never got any better either.

More about the room:
- Did notice some ants in the room this time, but there weren’t too many of them so it wasn’t a problem.
- Still have very thin walls, but again not a deal breaker, just could hear the goings on around you.
- Still have a weird toilet flusher thingie, but again not a dealbreaker there either.
-Still no screen door for the patio, which could be improved. Management knows the musty smell and mosquitoes are a problem, so this should be a given. Further, the air vents need to be changed more frequently and the mop heads changed out with each room so as not to smear around urine smell & other people’s hair (something disposable for cleaning is in order)

INTERNET- still only in the front lobby. As a business owner, good thing we brought an IPad. Otherwise, we would have been charged $3 per 15 minutes to use their computer. Wasn’t too bad, because it made for a nice walk but it would be nice if management would spend the money to get it in the rooms as well.

THE POOLS are still beautiful but too cold. The hot tubs are also still beautiful but not hot or warm at all. There is lots of room for improvement in this area.
The lazy river is just plan gross. Lots of sand in the bottom, leaves and even frogs. (this is not supposed to be a real river people- better attention to cleaning this is definitely in order). The “towel game” is still alive & well. People are putting towels down to “save” lounge chairs as early as 7am, then leaving for breakfast & to do lord knows what. By 9 or 10 am the chairs are scarce but barely any people around. If you are going to stay here, be prepared to play the “towel game” or you may have a hard time getting a chair later in the day.

GIFT SHOP prices are terribly inflated. Don’t forget sunscreen, flip flops, aspirin, toiletries, etc or you will be charged triple what you would normally pay at WalMart. This is also the same way at the airport.

The DINNER RESERVATION process is still frustrating. The Japanese/hibachi grill is our favorite. The day we arrived we were told the Japanese/hibachi grill was booked the entire week we were there. All the other specialty restaurants only had 8:30 & 9pm openings. (which is much later than what we like to eat). We had to complain to management to get one day at the Japanese/hibachi grill. Other than that, we were stuck with the buffet. The best time to eat at the buffet is when they first open. (around 6pm). Otherwise, it becomes even more picked over with the kids putting their fingers on the ice cream scoop, adults using tongs then licking fingers, etc. There is still no hand sanitizer out by the buffets, which would be a very smart and economical move by management. There is no gluten free at all so unless you bring your own bread or food you can forget that. The quality of the buffet food leaves a whole lot to be desired, but if you look hard enough you can find something decent to eat. Taco Bell is better than their Mexican food & IHOP is better than their breakfast. (if you are familiar with those restaurants).

Overall, it was okay and we are glad we went, but we will definitely be reconsidering where we spend our travel dollars the next time. We probably will not be back unless we are sure things have improved and/or pay a lesser price overall.

We would be interested to hear from other reviewers that have been to the Lindo but found a better all inclusive in the general area.

Room Tip: If you have allergies, opt for building #55, this is a little further away from the beach & pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FtWorthTXmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our family of 11 arrived on November 12 and stayed until the 19th. We booked our stay at the Paraiso Beach and when we arrived we were offered an upgrade to the Paraiso Lindo which we accepted as there was free WiFi available as well as access to more areas on the property.The staff at this resort work so hard and are always ready to greet you with a smile. Our rooms were standard sized AI rooms but we had wonderful towel creations every single night and our room was always stocked well with fresh towels and lots of bottled water. There was always something amazing to try at the buffets and our Ala carte meals were wonderful! We had the Brazilian, which was an experience in itself, the Mediterranean where we had an amazing dinner of steak and lobster, and of course the Mexican, complete with a serenade.
Our rooms seemed to be in a perfect location, close to everything. We stayed in the 5200 building and the front desk managed to keep us all together as we needed 4 rooms to accommodate our group. The beach was well maintained and nice and sandy. There were always lots of chairs for everyone.Napoleon was an especially fun star friend and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast and visit with Eliser who also shared many funny and interesting stories with us. We booked all of our excursions through Carlos, our representative with air transat and felt very safe and confident with our choices.
This resort was a great option as our group ranged from grandparents to teenagers and there was always something for everyone at this resort. We were treated extremely well by everyone who worked here and have nothing but good things to say. We will definitely come back for another visit soon. Thank you Iberostar!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sheryl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear customer,

Please allow us to express our sincere appreciations not only for choosing our resort to spend your vacations with us, but also for taking the time to send your comments about your holiday at Iberostar.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable vacation and that you were pleased with the amenities, pools, and services provided by the hotel and staff.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you and your family back for another great vacation.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

the checking was fast, we didn't get much information from the hotel clerk, drinks were horrible, they can not make a good drink compared to other hotels we been to, no large signs on slippery floors, we wiped out a few times, bathroom in our room were dated and pluming was bad and ants were everywhere. Room service is good and staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurants a la carte were not very good, and they are set up as a buffet. This hotel is very large but they are not to many signs indicating lobby, beach, restaurants this makes easy to get lost. The wave pool was a hit with the kids, they loved it, and the lazy river was fun. they also have a shopping mall across the road, with a merry go around for the kids, disco for teens, a burger joint, an ice cream parlor, a mexican restaurant, creperie, all for free of charge, part of all inclusive. not a good value for what we paid, will not be back....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilOrellana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear client,

On behalf of the management team and all the staff of the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation in Mexico.

We are glad to know that your children loved our pools like our wave pool and lazy river.
We apologize if you felt that our check in was too fast and that our welcome drinks were not of your agreement. Our Front desk staff is always happy to help our guests with all the useful information and when our guests check in, our staff do their best to provide them with brief information on all our resort, but if our guests require more information at any time, our staff are more than happy to assist them. We will pass your comment on to our Front Desk manager and our Beverages & food department in order to take into account.

We regret that our rooms did not meet your expectations, our maintenance team is always aware of all the details to keep it clean; likewise we have a fumigation team to keep away the insects that live in this tropical area such as ants.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again here in the Riviera Maya to show that we are a great choice for your family vacation. We will take all your comments into account to make appropriate changes.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Very nice resort. Very large, be prepared to walk. Staff is great, Star Friends amazing. Very hard working and talented entertainers. Room was adequate size with a nice patio. Lobby bar and room smelled a little musty upon entering. Food was fine, about the same as many of these resorts. Sit down restaurants are fine as well. We liked the Mediterranean the best. Also ate at Mexican, steakhouse, Japanese, Brazilian and Gourmet. Liked Gourmet the least. Maya has own restaurants, lindo shares some with Beach and Del Mar. Included Wine is undrinkable. No real sports bar in the complex, if that's your thing. Room service was fine as well, with a limited menu. Many daily activities offered. One in our group got mugged on the beach on our first night there. This happened at 2 am. The beach is very secluded. You walk on a boardwalk through a mangrove forest about 200 feet, then get to the beach. It is very pretty by day, but very dark and secluded at night. 2- 24 year old guys wanted to see the beach, got separated by 50 feet or so, and 1 got jumped and beat up badly. The other one did not know it even happened due to the noise of the surf, and could not fiend his friend. Security helped bring the injured one back to the room. They don't patrol the beach at night, as it is public Mexican Federal property. The medical care was frightening. We saw the so called "Dr". in the morning and she said she could line up care for me at a hospital, either in Cancun or Playa Del Carmen, she did not know where though. She needed to locate a doctor and I could take a cab there. But I would have to pay her 109.00 first before she would do anything. No paramedics to bandage a wound. She refused to even evaluate the cut to see if it needed stiches, unless I gave her 109.00. Very poor service and medical care. Be aware of this. The medical office on site is a subcontract place.They can't do stiches for "liability" reasons. A resort of this size should have some routine emergency medical available. This is Mexico, and you will not get care like in the US. The boys were stupid for walking on the beach so late at night, but I still don't expect this to happen on vacation. Other than this incident vacation and resort were great. The staff was very sympathetic, but still offered no medical care.

Room Tip: Before coming I read the reviews and the said stay in the middle buildings (52-53). I requested thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BoboCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest,

Let us begin by thanking you for having chosen our resort to spend your vacation. Also, thank you very much for your review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacations with us and that our facilities were of your liking.

We regret to hear your comment about the incident on the beach; we really hope your friend recovered speedily. This type of incidents fortunately are not common, however, we do not recommend our guests to be on the beach at night, to prevent any incidents.

Regarding the situation mentioned about the medical service, we feel sorry to hear that you were disappointed with that. It is as an external company and independent of IBEROSTAR and therefore they have their own policies, however we will pass your comment on to their management, as this is an extremely important service.

We hope that you give us the opportunity of serving you at our resort again so we may prove to you, our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We recently returned from the Iberostar Lindo. We celebrated our parents' 50th anniversary over Thanksgiving week. We had a wonderful time. Recommend this hotel for families. My two sons (ages 12 and 15) had a wonderful time. The Star Friends, especially Diego, were a lot of fun. The boys had a great time every day. And the rest of the family found the pools to be very relaxing. Thank you for a wonderful vacation for our family!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive feedback like yours, and on behalf of the entire team here at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude for taking such care in detailing your vacation experience for all the readers on this medium.

We are very happy that you and your parents have enjoyed our facilities, and above all they have chosen us to celebrate their anniversary. For us to know that you and your family enjoyed an unforgettable holiday fill us with joy.

Thank you for your preference; we are quite confident that you will be staying again at Iberostar and we therefore anxiously await your next visit.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,342 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,894 reviews
1.1 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $221 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing