We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paraiso Lindo Ooh Aah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just got back after two weeks at the Paraiso Lindo. Great resort in many ways, with a few minor shortcomings.
What made this resort really great was the day time entertainment staff. They were simply incredible. They were friendly, engaging, fun, and we definitely enjoyed their efforts. For the first time ever, I did aqua aerobics (11:30AM) every day which is doable whatever your fitness level. After aerobics, drop by the smoothie bar for a healthy fruit or vegetable drink, then have lunch with a cerveza or vino and you're on your way to a great day. Activities are pretty much nonstop from 11:30 to 5:00PM if you wish. Day care is available if you have kids. The kids looked like they were enjoying themselves.
The overall ambience is very good -- beautiful lobbies, ponds with fountains flamingoes and swans, open marbled hallways, and good rooms. The grounds are exceptionally lush and well manicured -- great habitat for birds, reptiles, fish, butterflies, and adorable coati. The pools provide lots of variety, some quiet, some quite party like. Lazy river was a tad dull -- a simple loop with some greenery and a few figurines alongside for the kids. There was a lot going on during the day, but the evenings are a bit slow, as most of the bars shut down before 6PM.
The food at buffets and restaurants is generally great, though flavours are toned down to the meet the average pallet. Don't want to mention it, but half of our party did suffer some intestinal problems.
Evenings were okay with two shows nightly (kids first, then adults), but bars limited to the lobby or theatre. Disco at 11:00 for the late crowd. The resort could do with some more activity down by the beach in the evening. A bar, open for the evening, closer to the beach would complete this very good resort.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
8  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear customer,

On behalf of the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo staff and managers, we would like to thank you for dedicating the time to share with other travelers, your honest opinion of your stay with us.

We are grateful to know that you were satisfied with the services and amenities offered, and that you had a great experience!

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities and services that the resort has to offer and we look forward to having the opportunity to host your vacation again.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,079)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,108 - 2,114 of 6,080 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have been to the Iberostar more than 6-times.....after a couple experiences that resulted in an experience far less than we had previously, we decided to let our travels take us elsewhere for a few years. This year, we decided to try Iberostar again and stayed at the Lindo. We had 13 people with us......almost everyone had a bad experience with the TERRIBLE FOOD AND BEVERAGE, several of the water features did not work, including the Lazy River of which had only a couple ancient rafts. The service was far less than desirable, almost the worst we have ever had in combination with the food product. On top of it all, almost anywhere you were on the resort smelled like urine. TRUELy AWEFUL!! IF you decide to visit Iberostar Mayan Riviera, prepare to be disappointed!! Maybe you might even get attacked by a Cotii, a cat like creature that droves my the dozens and jumps on ANYONE that has food......scared our little ones to death!! Bye bye Iberostar!! Good luck travelers!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear customer,

It was very disappointing for us to hear that you had a bad experience at our property. We are very sorry.

We apologize for the issues you describe with our facilities; Our Management, Maintenance, and housekeeping Department are constantly working on areas to be improved and our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to try to keep our areas and rooms impeccable and clean. We will keep working hard to improve these areas.

In regard to your comment about our food, we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our Chef is constantly working on creating different menus and new recipes, and he always welcomes our guests’ feedbacks to plan changes and adapt choices to our guests’ liking.

We regret the incident you mentioned with respect about coatis, they are wild animals that are part of the environment, however we have a special program in order to accommodate them in other areas. Your comments were referred to our Management.

Once again, we are truly sorry that your experience was spoiled and hope you let us know by email how we can help you.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I really loved this resort!! It's absolutely beautiful! Just a few notes:
The rooms:
Beautiful large and comfortable, we stayed in building 51 and it was the perfect location. Close to the pool and buffet as well as the beach. It's a little far to the front desk, but it's a pleasant walk. We were on the second floor so we had to do the stairs everyday but you get used to it, just be careful because all the floors are tiled including the stairs and it gets slippy if it's been raining. Also just a note about the housekeeping, it's fabulous are rooms were always well cleaned and everything was restocked every day (we left a 2 dollar tip each day) but when they wash the floors sometimes they are dry by the time you get back, so just be careful. The beds were very comfortable and I have a lot of back trouble but I never had a problem while I was there.

The buffet:
We loved the breakfast and lunch buffet, it had a fantastic variety of food and we were always able to find something we liked. We only ate at the dinner buffet once because we didn't like the selection they had, it's a great buffet it just wasn't to our liking.

The restaurants:
We ate at the Japanese which was fantastic. The Steakhouse which was good mostly because you had a salad bar with it which I really liked. And we ate at the Italian which was good but didn't have as much variety as I would have liked. ****One important note you have to book the restaurants with the concierge in your building, but book as soon as you get there otherwise you will be eating at 9p every night, and always make sure you find out where each is located early on because they can be really hard to find especially at night in the dark!!!

The Pool:
The pool is huge in this place, it's divided up into a bunch of sections, the quiet section closest to the beach, the activity pool, and the wave pool. We stayed in the quiet section mostly because there weren't as many people and it was often right in the sun. The swim up bar was fun too but it's in the activity section so you have to be careful you don't get caught up in whatever is going on! The wave pool is great but it's only on for a short while every hour or so, if you hear the horn you know the wave pool is starting up. They also have a lazy river, let me tell you that river is really lazy, it's hard to keep moving because the current is so slow you have to push yourself through it. That being said we still had a really fun time!

The Beach:
The beach was fantastic, the sand was beautiful there were no rocky parts at all in our section and they have a bar with self serve drinks! They also have a barbecue which we did once, and it wasn't bad. Watch out for the Coati's though, they really enjoy the barbecue too! They will get up on your table and beg for food, they're harmless but it can be annoying.

Resort Shopping:
There is a small shopping mall across the street from the resort which has gift shops, a taco place and creperie. The taco place was really good and creperie was fantastic! Great ice cream and you don't have to pay to eat there! Be careful of the shops though some of the jewelry stores on the resort and in the shopping mall are extremely expensive, and most of what they are selling can bought elsewhere much cheaper. They set up a small market at night which sells very nice items for much better prices.

Shows:
We went to the shows put on by Star Friends every night, they were definitely entertaining but sometimes a little silly, it's a good distraction at night if you are staying on the resort. They start at 9:30 every night and run for about an hour.

Excursions:
We booked an excursion through Sunwing and we took a catamaran trip to Tulum and then had a guided tour through the ruins. It was fantastic, the organizers were amazing, they went out of there way to make sure everyone had fun, and the guided tour was incredible. The only problem with this tour was the transportation it was a long bus trip getting there and back because we had to pick up people from other hotels. Keep that in mind when you book, and always make sure to book with someone through the hotel to be sure they are reliable.

All in all I loved the resort, the staff was absolutely amazing very friendly and always very happy to help. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone!!!!

Room Tip: Building 51 is close to everything!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Terrileigh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Your fabulous experience may encourage other travelers to choose us as their vacation destination in Mexico.

We are extremely proud to know that we have contributed to our guests' happiness. Thank you for this feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed all of our facilities like our restaurants, shopping center and our friendly staff. We take note of all of your constructive comments as well.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel and give you the excellent service that you and your family deserve.

Warm Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed last month. Here are the positives & negatives:
Positives:
I e-mailed the resort a few weeks before our arrival requesting that our group of 17 all be put in the same building. We arrived and it was done! Building 5300 is a great location. Rooms are very clean.
The grounds are beautiful-large but manageable. Nice pool areas-you can find quiet or lively.
Always available chairs on the beach/pool. Wave pool is great for kids.

Staff is so friendly- always smiling and helpful!

Negatives:
The buffet food for breakfast/lunch is always the same and gets boring fast. Restaurants for dinner offer variety. The Japanese is the most fun/tasty. Steakhouse was not great, Seafood was very good. It is helpful to have a concierge in each building to make reservations for you.

The beds are rock hard and pillows not much better. Was so ready to come home by the end of the week.

Kids club: under 12 area is for really little kids, I saw lots of small children and was not appropriate for my 11 yr old. The teen club for 13+ was great with video games/movies etc....however the BIG complaint is that they would not let my son in on any night, even when there was NO ONE in there. Ridiculous rule and very disappointing for him.

Lazy river: doesn't move! but is fun anyway.

Overall, we enjoyed our week. I have not been to a resort except for Iberostar so can't compare. I would probably return but would be willing to try somewhere else too.

Room Tip: Building 5300 is a great location as it is located halfway between lobby and beach area.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the General Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

We are glad to know you were happy with your accommodations and that you also enjoyed our facilities.

On the other hand; we are sorry we did not live up your expectations in our buffet & our steakhouse restaurant; our executive Chef is always working on improving the different options offered at our buffets and A la Carte restaurants and he does so following our guests’ recommendations, so yours will be sent to him.

In regard to your comment about our Teenagers club, we regret your discomfort about that matter; your observation will be sent to our Animation Manager in order to take this into account.

Regarding our beds, all the mattresses in our rooms comply with a standard; but we will certainly pass your feedback on to our Housekeeping Manager so that this can be taken into account when renewing mattresses and pillows. In the meantime, bed toppers can be requested to make the beds softer.

Once again, thank you for your constructive comments; we hope you give us the opportunity to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We just returned this week from our Lindo vacation and wedding. We had our wedding here and stayed for 11 days with about 45 friends and family. We had the most amazing time and can't say enough good things.

The wedding- Lily and her assistant were extremely helpful and we couldn’t have done all this without them! If you are planning your wedding one of the things to remember is that they do this all the time. I was stressed about some things that I should have just known that they know what they’re doing and they do it ALL the time. They handled everything perfectly and everything ran so smoothly. Email was sometimes a hard way to communicate since it took awhile at times to get a response. Also, there were some things we felt that were somewhat “hidden” charges or options that we would have liked to have known before hand. There was a beach reception while we were there and we didn’t even know this as an option. Overall, though, we wouldn’t have changed a thing about our wedding or reception. We had DJ Ricardo and he had all the American music and pretty much any song ever, but his English was a little “rusty” and he didn’t get our first dance song right, even though it was it’s own playlist and provided to him. He did keep up with us though and played the songs in a good order to keep the crowd going!

Adventure photography- WE LOVE THEM! They were amazing and having wedding photos is a huge part of your wedding. Our photos turned out beautifully and they were given to us before we left the resort!!! Our photographer, Nacho, was just awesome. He worked so hard to capture our most cherished day. Those pictures we will have for forever and couldn’t have imagined them turning out any better. The photo book was my favorite part!

The hotel- was just beautiful!!! Some complain about the walking, but I thought it was a great thing. There’s so much food everywhere and we were drinking a lot, so I’m glad I had to walk places. Everywhere you looked was so pretty too it made the walk that much better. The only thing that did stink is at night the only bar (other then in the restaurants) open was the lobby bar and that was really far from us. It would have been nice if there were another bar open closer to the beach.

The staff- They made our vacation wonderful. Everyone we met was so happy and friendly. They bent over backwards to make your stay magnificent. Housekeeping was over the top and everything was always so clean and they were always doing little things to make the room and hotel look 5-star. The bartenders and waiters were fast and never kept you waiting. Anything you needed you got. Tips went a long way, but I never felt like they were expected, just really appreciated.

The food was awesome. Breakfast was my favorite meal and I loved the omelet station. There were so many restaurants to choose from and there was always something new to try. Yes things taste different, but it’s a different country, where even McDonalds tastes different. As long as you know this going in there’s always something you can find that you like. The variety of foods is unlimited! The Japanese was one of our favorites. You definitely need to make sure you make your reservations early though, as they do book up.

The pool areas were always clean and you never had to fight to find a chair! Just make sure you keep track of your towels or have them with a beach bag, because they are easy to lose. The entertainment staff was awesome, and they were always smiling. “Frog hat guy” was one of our favorites.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear client,

On behalf of the Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Your fabulous experience may encourage other travelers to choose us as their wedding destination in Mexico.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable vacation and that you were pleased with the facilities and services provided by the hotel and staff. We really appreciate your recognition for our service.

We will forward your comments to Ms. Lilly & Larysha, they will be very glad to know that they were part of you happiness and will also take care of your feedback on the music; our apologies about that initial mishap.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you back in the near future; we will be more than glad to host you again.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Lindo, traveling with a group of friends. We have been traveling together for many years and everyone agrees that the Lindo is one of our favourite resorts. You really have to try hard to find fault with this place.

The service is really top-notch and the employees are very friendly and helpful. We're convinced that the resort must be cloning Diego because he seems to be everywhere, all the time. He really made our trip extra enjoyable this year. Another shout-out to Louise at the watersports hut for getting those boats out on the water, despite the sizable surf.

This is our second trip to this resort and the first time that we have ever re-visited a resort. I would return to this resort again without hesitation knowing that it would be pretty much a guaranteed good vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walt_Jessop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear client,

On behalf of the General Manager at our resort, please allow us to express our genuine gratitude for choosing our resort for your Caribbean experience.

Thank you for this feedback, we really appreciate your recognition to our resort. Your comments regarding the excellent service providing by our staff will also go far way in encouraging our team. Mr. Diego & Louise will be very happy to know about your perception of them.

Once more thank you for your loyalty and preference of our brand and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful. Well constructed, nice rooms, great amenities. The pool is nice, good service, rooms are good, easy access to beach, tennis courts, friendly staff, etc. In my opinion though, the physical resort is the easy bit and it's what you're producing for food and drink that really makes the difference when it comes to these all inclusives.

I visited the Paraiso Lindo last week with a group of about 90 people for a wedding. I think by the end of the week most of the group had succumb to one kinds of food related illness or another. Some had to take ciprofloxicin to fight uncontrollable vomiting and diarrhea while most of us just had to deal with very unpleasant stomach conditions and diarrhea.

The food at the buffets was average at best. I have traveled extensively and tried food from many different places as I consider eating the local creations a huge part of traveling experience. Eating at the buffets was a daily chore. I did manage to make some day trips into Tulum and Playa del Carmen and the quality of food I experienced there was night and day compared to the resort. Far more taste and far better quality in town.

The on site specialty restaurants were hit and miss. I tried the Japanese and the Mexican. The Mexican was half buffet anyways, and my main course consisted of a luke-warm snapper fillet which probably caused most of my stomach issues. The Japanese was better than the buffet experience and I'd give it an average rating. After all the main was still just chicken, beef, and shrimp all soaked in soy sauce.

The tropical type drinks (daiquiri, margarita, pina coloda) were all pretty average.

Overall, if you love all inclusive resorts and can deal with sub-par to average food in exchange for a nice resort, this will probably work for you. In my opinion I'd rather stay in Tulum or Playa del Carmen in a condo or some other nice accommodation that doesn't include food, and go search out the good spots myself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sj_mckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,401 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,340 reviews
6.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $215 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing