We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice; Kid Friendly Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice; Kid Friendly Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We traveled with another family and had 4 kids ranging in age from 6 to 1. All of them found something fascinating about the resort. The peacocks were a hit with the younger ones and the pool and beautiful beach was what the older ones loved. The rooms were fine and the food was reasonably good for an all inclusive. We eventually go used to the lack of internet availability in the hotel but were planning to update friends and family back home on a more consistent basis. The 11 year old could not comprehend why wireless connections were only available in the lobby for a hefty fee ( $3 per 5 minutes). Overall we enjoyed our stay, the beach, activities and the grounds of the resort are simply beautiful. The food is heavily influenced by local and European menu choices so that took a little getting used to.

Room Tip: Building 51 and 52 are closest to the beach and pool activities though it is a bit of a hike to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Friend,

It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback like yours; on behalf of the entire team here at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, we would like to express our most sincere gratitude for choosing our resort for your family vacation. We appreciate the fact that you took such care in detailing your vacation experience for all the readers on this medium.

Concerning to your comment about internet, we have just opened our “Teenie´s Club for kids” from 13 to 17 years old. It is located near the Lindo lobby and there are different games as X-box, WI, table games, TV, internet with no extra charge. We created this place for the reunion of the teenagers and help them make friends during their stay. They are always accompanied by a Star Friends member.

Please rest assured however that all your observations have been noted and will be passed along to the respective department managers, including those about the food.
One more time, thank you for your preference; we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,379
    1,588
    517
    180
    91
See reviews for
2,885
1,373
50
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I traveled with my husband, three adult kids, and their small toddlers for a 7 day family vacation. Getting to the resort using one of the bus services that we had reserved online worked great (I think it was USA transportation?), however, upon arrival, I realized that we didn't really need to make a reservation because there were many shuttle services and I suspect that all the prices were similar and easy to obtain. Upon arrival at the resort, we were very pleasantly surprised! The grounds were very nice, and the overall resort was very nice. We have all stayed an many other resorts and have paid considerably more, so we were not sure what to expect but the prices were reasonable and the rating/reviews were overall good, so we selected the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo as the best deal for what we were looking for overall. We were in different bldgs. but close to each other. Our room was in bldg. 53 and the others may have been in bldg. 51 and all of our locations were nice with good views overlooking the pools and in the middle of the resort for the most part. The room decor and furniture was indeed older but it was very clean and nice. Only issue in our room was that the tub did have a crack in the plastic flooring but that was not really a big deal considering there was no mold or visible mildew which I was grateful for. I knew we weren't getting a 5 star resort so we didn't expect that everything would be perfect but when you get very clean and rather nice, overall, you can't ask for much more for the price. I agree with all of the good things that other reviewers have said about the pools, restaurants, activities, etc. We did make our restaurant reservations before arrival couple weeks prior, which I'd recommend and that worked out well. The bldg. concierge was helpful when we needed to make changes and rather pleasant and approachable. The toddlers really enjoyed the evening shows that were geared towards all kids and was quite interactive. Their music and entertainment for the kids/toddlers was appropriate and fun for the kids. Then, after the kids show, the adult show started and that was a nice touch too. The Japanese and Steakhouse were our favorites but we enjoyed all of the restaurants. The buffets were just ok but to be expected. The Starfriends were nice and stopped by to visit with us often to say hi to the kids. The kids club was closed when we were there in Oct. 2012 which was disappointing. Oh, it would have been nice if the front desk would have placed our rooms a bit closer together or in the same bldg. as requested, that that was fine. Our first room was on the backside overlooking the garden and I asked to move to another room which actually was nicer and overlooked the pools. The front desk was helpful and accommodating, overall. It would have been nice to have internet in Lindo but we did pay for a daily pass when needed which was not too expensive. My husband said the drinks were not very strong or good but ok. Here is the worst part for us that makes me rate this resort a 3 instead of a 4: My adult daughter ordered evening room service of hamburger and fries and found a live worm on top of the lettuce in the hamburger. There was absolutely no excuse for this and I can't imagine that it wasn't noticed when fixing the darn sandwich. Needless to say, none of us ordered any more room service and I probably will never order room service again. When my daughter told the front desk about it the next day, they were not very apologetic and did not make an honest effort to make it up to her. Shame on them! A kind gesture and authentic show of concern goes a long way but they missed this opportunity and it didn't sound like they were all that surprised to hear about it. Made me wonder if this happens often or if they just don't care! Overall, we had a great time and made the best of our vacation together as a family! We were not looking for things to complain about so we focused on all the good things that Lindo had to offer. Oh, we did have massages on the beach and at the spa and by far, the massage on the beach was much better! It seems that they work a bit harder for your business and are bit for eager to please than at the spa. They went out of their way to give a good massage on the beach so I'd recommend the beach massage over the spa. The price is the same and I wish I could remember the ladies who gave our massages on the beach - they were good! The spa was nice but the pool area was not as large as expected. The staff was nice though. They do need a restaurant that is specifically for children with a play area inside or on the grounds near the restaurant for toddlers and food that woo children would be nice. Overall, we were pleased and would consider returning but we would have to think twice though given the incident and response regarding the worm in the food!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FayeCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with other travelers how your holiday went at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Regarding our rooms, please note that their style is being done accordingly to the hotel structure and decoration is to be matched with our tropical/ jungle style. However we do believe that renovations and improvements can be done and even though they are carried out throughout the year, they are done by blocks/areas since the hotel never closes and we need to ensure that there are no inconveniences to our guests during their stay at our resort. We of course take into consideration your comments.

We would also like to mention that our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working in areas to be improved. All our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to try to keep our areas and rooms impeccable. We apologize about the crack you mentioned; our Maintenance Manager has been informed.

We regret the situation with the internet connection, unfortunately the internet service at Lindo is not included into the all inclusive package. Internet is included only when booking into Paraiso Maya or Grand Paraiso (not at Paraiso Beach or Del Mar hotels). However, we will pass your comment on to the Management.

We really regret the incident happened with the food; it would have been a great help having your concierge alert of this incident so that they would have taken the necessary measures at the time. We apologize profusely about the front desk attitude; management has been informed of it.

We appreciate the constructive comments from our guests because they help us provide a better service. As mentioned, every point has been forwarded to each Department Manager in order to take the necessary correcting measures.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you back in the near future; we will be more than happy to have you back again.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Place looks nice from the pictures and reviews, but rooms are very outdated. Bath tab in my room (building 51) was refurbish, same as the one in the room I had to switch to, but it had cracks in the plastic, allow water to get in and get out with terrible brown stuff. Nasty!! I arrived with my 15 old son and was given room with on king size bed.!? I had to spend night with him under one blanket, nobody brought second one, I asked for it twice, but since I arrived late afternoon and I was too tired I gave up on it. The room I moved in to next day had two beds (finally!) , TV was from the last century with the remote control they should be ashamed of. Rooms were generally clean, but after bath tab incident I was skived out.
Service... I brought my own suitcases in to the room, and didn't take chance to ask for help when I was moving out, as so many other people. You could see them carrying their suitcases back and forth. Service was very slow or nonexistent.
Food... one buffet across the theater and all restaurants were very good, but buffet by the beach was awful.
It was a holiday weekend, the hotel was full. We had to wake up at 6 am to go on the beach to a reserve spot under the umbrella.
Would not recommend it, it’s not worth the money, and it is not cheap.
(Stayed at Grand Princes last year – Loved!! Its New, Clean, Food was good)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Lindo for your recent vacation in Mexico.
We regret any dissatisfaction you encountered during your stay. We are very sorry to read that we were not able fulfill your expectations.

Let us mention that all guests’ comments are our priority as they are very helpful in order to help us identify areas of concern.

Regarding our rooms, please note that their style is being done accordingly to the hotel structure and decoration is to be matched with our tropical/jungle style. However we do believe that renovations and improvements can be done and even though they are carried out throughout the year, they are done by blocks/areas since the hotel never closes and we need to ensure that there are no inconveniences to our guests during their stay at our resort. We of course take into consideration your comments.

Concerning your comments about the blankets, we would like to inform you that our guests can contact the Concierge in their building to request anything they need. The staff will always be more than happy to assist you with any situation.

When seeking the bell boy service in our hotel, considering the amount of guests we have, we suggest making your request 30 minutes prior to departure or room switch, or even one day in advance to provide better service. We are very sorry we could not provide you with the service you rightfully expected.

We hope you give us another opportunity in the future to change your point of view regarding the above mentioned services. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

PROS:

clean hotel with friendly staff.

2 very big pools with enough room to swim even during the swim break.

maintenance staff responds very quickly (to open a safe or fix a leak)

nice sandy beach where you can get a chair with ease

the evening shows are reasonably different every day so my 5 year old was engaged in them almost till the end.

CONS:

Kids club could be better. The hours are not that great and not much for kids to do

The food has much to be desired; while the Mediterranean and Steak house are very decent, the Italian is just horrible. I did not know every meal needs a pound of salt.

you HAVE to wake up at 6:30am or earlier if you want to find a seat by 2 larger pools. Otherwise you have to look for seats by smaller pools that are pretty far away

Room Tip: choose a room in the middle of the hotel so the walk to the beach/pool/dining is short.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voland2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all, thank you so much for choosing Iberostar. Our main goal is to offer the best vacational experiences to our guests, and reading your positive comments is very gratifying. Thank you very much for all the points you mentioned.

On other hand, regarding our pool areas, we provide of enough sun beds for all of our guests, however, occasionally our guests want to go back to the same area every time they go to the beach and unfortunately, this is not always possible. However, if you see that somebody occupies a sun bed for hours without even being there please inform any of our staff at the beach and they will pass the information on to the persons in charge.

With respect to your comments on the food, we are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have many options for our guest with food that cater different palates: five restaurants a la carte including Mexican French, Mediterranean, Steakhouse and Cajun, two buffet for breakfast and lunch and one for the dinner which has different theme every night. However we will forward your constructive comments to our Executive Chef to take into consideration, especially with the Italian restaurant.

Your feedback is always read and passed along to the concerned departments to follow up so that we can achieve complete customer satisfaction.

We sincerely hope that if ever returning to Mexico, you will not hesitate to visit our resort as we would consider an honor to be able to serve you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a nice place to bring a family. The kids have plenty to do and the food is pretty good. Be careful the check in process. We are a large family that requires two rooms. We booked four months in advance at the Maya and our main purpose to book that early was connecting rooms. The reception person went through the entire process including putting bands on all the kids and then said our rooms were side by side not connecting. He even showed me the comments on our reservation showing adjoining rooms. His explanation was that adjoining does not mean connecting. The only option was we could downgrade rooms to the Lindo and they would not refund the difference. Take it or leave it. This was out third time at this resort and we would be hard pressed to go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
3 Thank Colorado553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Lindo for your recent stay in Mexico. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We regret the situation with respect to your room. Concerning the room request, we are not able to guarantee any room, building, location or type of bed in advance for being subject to availability. We do our best to accommodate every guest´s requests but unfortunately, during high season sometimes we are not able to fulfill everybody’s expectations regarding room requests. Again, we are sorry that this caused dissatisfaction.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in the future to let us know of your requests at least 15 days before your arrival date with us. We hope to see you soon and have the opportunity to host again.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We traveled to the Lindo the week of March 25th with two young children (6 and 2). We had an amazing time! We were in building 53 which for us was perfectly situated close to the kiddie pools and resturants. We did not mind the amount of walking as the grounds are beautiful and we could always catch a "bus"(golf cart) if needed. Even though the resort was at full capacity, the resort never felt crowded and we never waited in lines at the bars or resturants. We made our dinner reservations online ahead of time, which was much easier than having to do it during the day.
The amenities for small children were great. The pools were warm and well maintained. The beach had something for everyone and we appreciated not feeling completely separated from the resort while on the beach, which is sometimes the case at larger resorts. Food, drinks, live music, activities were all available on the beach as well as around the pool.
The staff was incredible - very friendly and patient with children and always eager to please.
The best thing about this resort is that it offers so much variety in its entertainment, food and amenities. With so much variety to is hard to become bored, which is why we will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 333MichelleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Your fabulous experience may encourage other travelers to choose us as their vacation destination in Mexico.

This is the type of comments we love to receive from our guests after a wonderful stay as they motivate as to improve our service daily.

We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel. We feel honored to have contributed to make your stay unforgettable. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We specifically chose this resort as it said that they do not accept spring breakers. Well that was not true. We slept 2 out of 7 nights due to the rude noise from teens drinking yelling slamming doors throwing glasses one of which almost hit us in our building when returning from dinner. Yes we reported several times to customer relations. They finally took us serious after several reports. But by that time our vacation was over.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Smileashabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear customer,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Lindo for your recent stay in Mexico.

With respect to your comment about spring breakers, although spring breakers are not allowed, our hotel is a familiar hotel and we always receive clients of all different ages. We always try to have our security people checking that all is well in buildings but we can see we did not succeed in providing you an excellent and relaxing vacation and we apologize about that. Please rest assured that all your observations have been noted and have been passed along to the respective department managers.

Again, we are very sorry that we were not able to fulfill your expectations on your last stay.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you back in the near future so we can change your point of view in regards to these issues.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,480 reviews
6.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda
#92 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,920 reviews
10.0 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing