We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed from Jan.27-Feb.3rd.
Good, solid hotel, that is excellent for families with kids. Of course, there are better ones, but those would come with much higher price. There are 4 Iberostar resorts, one after another, with Lindo being 2nd best, after Maya. The difference would be in the quality of accommodations and restaurants ( some Maya restaurants are out of limit for the Lindo guests).
The room condition at the Lindo is poor, due to simply being too old for the 4 star resort. Old room aminities, misty smell, TV is not even the flat screen- everything indicates that it wasn't renovated for, at least 15 years,or so. That, personally for me, would be enough to not come back to this particular hotel.
All the restaurants in Maya, the seafood, steakhouse and mexican, were quet good: they even served the lobster. The " French" restaurant, in Lindo, is just O'k, and the main buffet restaurant has a very solid fare. The Japanese one in Iberostar Beach, is not worth visiting due to poor quality of food and service. The alcohol is NOT a top shelf. Don Julio is a lone exception.
The carousel in the Shopping center is a great addition to the resort. My kid was riding it every night for a good hour. Special thanx to the attendant-great work with kids. Next to it is a crepere that serves great stuff.
All the swimming pools are awesome, the beach is not bad, for the huge resort. It always was possible to find a free chair. The water was very rough for the kids and some adults to swim. As the professional swimmer and being 6'2", and a lifeguard in the past, I can say that it's not safe to swim there for older people or the young kids, even with adult supervision. From the previous reviews, it appears that it's permanent problem on this part of the shore.
The service, in general, was great. Everyone works hard from yarly morning till late night, and definetely deserve extra gratitude.
Overall, it's a great resort for the families with kids. Personally, I would not come back to this resort due to outdated rooms and rough seas, that makes swimming for the little kids out of question.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool will have the most noise from the loud music. There are no rooms that have a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3pleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Let me begin by extending a special word of thanks for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar Paraiso Lindo. We know there is a large range of options to choose from, and we are immensely happy you finally selected us.

Our main goal is to offer the best vacation experiences to our guests, thank you very much for all the positive points you mentioned.

We are very sorry to read that we could not fulfill your expectations. Regarding the comment about the rooms, we do have a maintenance program all year around, however, be sure that we have taken note of all your comments and we can assure you that we will do our best to improve our service and make renovations. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our restaurants. We are proud of our huge variety and quality, Iberostar has always been popular for its excellent food and restaurants not only for the variety but also for the quality.

We are happy you were very satisfied with our service. We are certainly aware that it is through our staff’s efforts that we are able to achieve our goal of complete guest satisfaction. We wish to have the opportunity to host you and your family again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,084)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,459 - 2,465 of 6,084 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Let me begin by stating that we are in our 70s and by no means is this the averge age at this resort.There were alot of young families there mostly with toddlers. The resort is big but the golf carts make it manageable. A 10 minute or less wait will bring you to the lounge or a ride to the beach or to your building. The rooms were very comfortable and the bed was firm just the way we like it. We were able to eat at a speciality restaurant every night if we wanted to. This was our 23rd time to Mexico and a AL. The food here is excellant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GloriaChicago_Il_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Paraiso Lindo for your recent stay in Mexico.

Accept our most sincere appreciations for choosing to be valued guests of our property. In addition, we are most grateful for the time you have taken to write a review on Trip Advisor about how your holiday experience went in our resort.

It was a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed our facilities and our gastronomy :-)

We hope to see you soon and have the opportunity to host again.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I just returned from a ten day stay at the Iberostar Paraiso Lindo (January 27 to February 6, 2013) for a wedding. The resort was beautiful the grounds were immaculate, our room was spacious and well maintained. We stayed in building 50 on the third floor, it was great as it was quiet and we could leave our sliding door open at night to hear the ocean. The pools are incredible but cool. The staff were amazing always friendly and professional, loved Jorge in the main buffet and Carlos at the lobby bar. The wedding was beautiful, well organized, the flowers were beautiful and the reception hall was stunning !!! Our Best day rep. Fredrico was absolutely outstanding he was always available and was just a really nice guy. The food was decent not outstanding but really no major complaints. The property was massive and you could walk for miles, there was a great deal of wildlife, peacocks, cats, swans, turtles it was beautiful !!

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are good as you don't have to hear all the foot traffic.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Yukongirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback on our services. We are pleased to hear that you had a special holiday and enjoyed the wedding!

It is a pleasure to have been given the chance to serve you. It was encouraging to hear that our service, food and various staff members had contributed in making your trip even more memorable.

Your constructive comments with respect to the jacuzzis and food will help us to improve our service for future guests to come, thank you for your point of view.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor, we hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I'll list the complaints in the order of when they happened. Check in was so fast we couldn't finish the cold drink they gave us at the reception/check in desk. The bellman was so nice I offered to carry our luggage. The room was as clean as a hospital operating room. I'll now get to the really Big Problems. The selection of food was so great that we wasted valuable eating time deciding what to eat. Its quality was sooooo good we over ate. The drinks were so cold we got frostbitten lips. The problems with some of the employees we met. Our concierge Estela Cordova was always trying to help us.Our waiter in the Mexican restaurant Romualdo explaining the menu and the wine choices. Because of superior service we went over our tipping budget. They have entertainers called Star Friends that get you involved in all the activities. But all the employees we met were Stars. There was one star that shined the brightest her name is Lidia Roque She welcomed us to ala carte's and the buffet with the biggest smile and all the warmth of someone in our own family. We still feel her hugs and hear Hola's The result of this is our out of control desire to return to expierence these problems again. A big THANK YOU to the whole team for making our vacation a wonderful memory and especially to Lander Gonzaler,Magdalena Alzina and Ana Beatriz Riscalli for being the glue that holds it alltogether. Santa Claus will be kind to you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Mayaregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and of course for choosing to stay at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo!

We are delighted to hear that you had a fabulous experience during your stay with us. When we read the subject of your comment, we thought that one guest was unhappy with our service. However as we carried on reading all your kind comments you really made us smile :-)

We were so happy to see that you were so pleased with our services, activities, food, rooms and our staff. Thank you for your preference. We have already passed on your nice comments and your thanks to the staff mentioned: Estela, Romualdo, the Star Friends, Lidia; and to the Management including Lander Gonzalez, Magdalena Alzina and Ana Riscalli to let them know they succeeded in providing you the service that you deserved.

Thank you once again for your preference and your kindness. We are looking forward to seeing you again at your home away from home very soon!

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just got home last night from our week at the Lindo. I had been reading the reviews on this hotel for the last few weeks. We traveled for the first time with our daughter, son-in-law and two granddaughters (ages 2 1/2 and 11 months). We were treated royally from the time we walked into the lobby to they time we left.

First let me talk about the staff. These people are fantastic! They were so helpful and friendly and each took time to talk to our grandchildren. Our concierge Rosanna in building 51 was so good to us looking after our needs on a daily basis. Everyone had a smile and spoke to us from the gardeners to the waiters and waitresses to the Star Friends to the great people who made up our rooms.

Second the food. It was awesome! From the buffets to the a la carte's we ate so well. And what can you say about ice cream cones! Our granddaughter thought she was in heaven.

Third the rooms. Our building was close to everything including the beach and the buffet. The rooms were kept clean (as was everything else in the resort) and the towel art was a great surprise each day.

Fourth the fun. From the wave pool to the lazy river to the kids water park and play area it was so much fun for all ages. Lots of chairs on the beach or around the pools and always activities.

If you are wondering about the Lindo wonder no more this was a wonderful resort. It was hard to leave but look forward to next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review! We are grateful you chose to stay at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo for your vacation in Mexico.

We are very happy to hear that you had a fabulous experience during your stay with us including the service received by our wonderful staff, the rooms, the food from buffets and a la carte restaurants and the activities and facilities available for your enjoyment.

Thank you for your preference and we look forward to seeing you again at our hotel and give you the excellent service that you and your family deserve.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for a week in January with my wife and two children. Overall a nice place for the money. To be more specific:
Room: Stayed in building 54, room was nice, always clean, lots of quirky little issues that were always addressed quickly. In fact they leave a door hanger in your room , if you have an issue just hang it on your door and usually they will address problems the same day. My only complaint was that having a first floor room allowed you to hear a lot of the foot traffic passing by at night, not fun if you sleep early, otherwise it's not a problem
Pool: Not much colder than your average New England pool in early June. The pools are fed from underground rivers, the water temp is always about 72 or so, cool, but refreshing. If you like a warm pool this is not for you. However, the pools here are incredible. There's a wave pool, a main pool, a lazy river, a few smaller hidden pools, always clean, kids can spend hours pool hopping and never get bored. Swim up pool bar is nice also. One of the best pool set ups I've seen anywhere. It would be nice if they heated the Jacuzzi tubs though. Cold Jacuzzi’s are not fun.
Beach: Nice set up, lots of chairs, food, bar and bathroom steps away. The ocean water is beautiful, usually lots of waves, which I like. There is a section that's rocky. Looking at the water it’s on left side of the beach, most people easily spot it and avoid it. The right half is rock free, most people seems to congregate there. One tip, avoid the lobster set up on the beach. One day a week they serve lobster and champagne on the beach. The "promoter" runs around with a bullhorn telling everyone to come get lobster. The cook puts about 50 lobster tails on the grill and the line starts forming. By the time they are cooked there is a BIG line. Then they let you "help yourself" everyone is line takes 4, 5, 6 pieces and in 3 minutes the lobster is gone. This went on for as long as I could bear to watch. Very poorly run. Didn't bother me though, I had a good laugh and I don't eat lobster.
Spa: Was given coupons when I arrived, pretty much the only reason I would think of having a $70 half hour massage. The poolside/beachside set up ranged from excellent to horrible, depending on the staff. The Spa itself is beautiful, great service, incredible warm salt water pool, really nice.
Food: Basically what you'd expect; it's not great, but it's certainly not bad. The main buffet is hectic at opening times (one pm and 6:30pm) If you go at these times the lines are huge and the cooks seem to have a hard time catching up once the initial supply of food is gone. Also, this buffet is very poorly organized. People hit the stations from the left, from the right and head on, creating a mess. They really should keep the lines going one way. The specialty restaurants were good, tried the Italian and seafood, which seemed to be nicer than the Japanese and the steakhouse , which we also tried. Note: House wines are AWFUL, trader Joe wouldn't sell them for $1.99 a bottle. They do have a wine list, but it's impossible to get anyone to understand that you want too see it. However, the wines are marked up 400-500%, so you'll pay a minimum of $50 to have a $10 bottle of slightly better wine with dinner. The staff at the restaurants are great, you will never have a hard time getting a drink, a water refill, anything. Oh, be aware that every restaurant serves desert buffet style. Also, every restaurant serves the exact same desserts on the buffet. Most of it is not good, but there were some that were OK.
Staff: Always friendly, tons of people everywhere, very clean grounds. Very nice (and plentiful) common areas.
Gym: BAD, bad, bad , bad. Nice equipment when it was new 10 years ago, obviously never maintained, the single gym seems to serve FOUR hotels, it looks like Planet Fitness on January 2nd when you go in. Forget about getting a machine in the morning. Can't quite understand why the treadmill area was always full, there are beautiful walking paths throughout the property, you can literally walk (run or jog) for miles without using the same path twice.
This is obviously not a "5 Star" hotel in the sense that Parrot Cay or Cap Juluca is a five star hotel, but keep in mind this hotel is 1/3rd the money. If you're looking for a really nice place without spending a ton of money this is as nice as you'll find.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are noisy from foot traffic outside...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnTenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff and the management of Paraiso Lindo, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your holiday in Mexico. Thank you for taking the time and write this review for Trip Advisor.

We have taken note of your constructive criticism and suggestions for the buffet, the lobster serving on the beach and the gym. The head managers for each department have been informed. We appreciate our guests’ comments as we are committed to maintaining high quality standards for customer service, and you give us the opportunity to work on the weaker areas.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Massive resort, great access to all of the other Iberostars in the complex (except the most expensive). They recently moved restaurants to different areas so be careful with the map and some of the staff aren't always sure where they moved to either.
Loved the seafood a la carte the most (had better steak then the steak house). The romantic one was also extremely nice. Wasn't crazy about the Italian and neither were those I went with, they put way too much cheese on the pizza. The Brazilian wasn't the greatest (in terms of meat) I felt ill afterwards too.
HATED that you have to pay for internet especially since on our second to last day I over heard that there was free wifi at the Paraiso Maya (literally 2 minute walk away.

Beaches were great, our room was upgraded on arrival (assuming because our original room wasn't ready) which was a very nice touch. The staff all around are excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank kittkat988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff and the entire management team at Iberostar Paraiso Lindo, thank you very much for choosing us for your vacation in Mexico.

We are pleased to hear that you have had a wonderful holiday with our staff and that you enjoyed the facilities. With respect the internet access, we have special packages with a special price; your concierge will give you more details. The Paraiso Maya does have free wifi at the lobby, which is restricted to the hotel’s guests.

Thank you for your feedback on the restaurants and the resort in general, we really appreciate it.

We look forward to be able to offer you our hospitality again at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,406 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,370 reviews
6.5 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Lindo

Address: Carr Chetumal - P Juarez km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $216 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Lindo 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of "Playa Paraiso" (Mexico). With the only wave pool on the Riviera Maya. 16 restaurants, 11 of them a-la-carte. 18-hole golf course and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, VISIT US, INC. , TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing